Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mayo GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,490 ✭✭✭✭km79

mayo.mick wrote: »
    Over 60,000 tickets sold up to today I'm hearing!

wow shud be a great occasion so !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,286 ✭✭✭seligehgit

Hope all you guys make it in to support the Green and Red in the junior final!:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭JoeCole26

Big Mayo fan hoping to head to the games today. If anyone happens to have 2 spare for the Lower Hogan or Cusack let me know, thanks

no extra time in either senior game today apparently
    thank God cos the bus time is tight enuf as is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,630 ✭✭✭Squatman

anyone know where i can watch the match today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Good win for Mayo. It was comfortable after the second goal. They've a big challenge if they are to beat us Dubs though. I got great video of both goals, which are posted in the Photos and Videos Thread:

Lee Keegan's goal

Aidan O'Shea's goal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Super show by mayo. Held midfield from the start, never let go prevented Donegal getting anywhere near stopping ball into AOS.

The line was ruthless changing out Cunniffe after he spilled a couple of balls.

The second half changes locked up the game completely. AOS into the middle again.
    Thought SOS, Parsons, B Moran etc were great defensively. I think SOS is seriously underrated.

They kicked over the blanket (Higgins) played over it into AOS and ran through it too.
    A Moran did well when he came on.

Fast response from the line .
    Subs played well.
    Closed out the game comfortably
    Defended as well as I've seen.

It was a complete performance imo.
    I'm very concerned as a Dublin fan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 862 ✭✭✭lim4ev

Best of luck to Mayo in the quest for the holy grail this Limerick man plus I'd guess all neutrals will be shouting for you twud be some all irl if you could win it out.

Maigheo abuuuuuuuuuuuu

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Very impressed with your management today. Both the pre game match ups and decisions during the game.

Players were great but teams now more than ever take their cue from management.

Your midfield was outstanding. Before the game I thought it was good, now I think you could compete with Kerry in the middle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Colinf1212

Very impressed with your female support as usual today in Croke Park. Some real beauties in that county!

Also had Mayo -1 @11/10 which suited me grand.

Colinf1212 wrote: »
    Very impressed with your female support as usual today in Croke Park. Some real beauties in that county!

Also had Mayo -1 @11/10 which suited me grand.

backed a 7-9 pt win at 8\1
    paid for the pints :D
    Aido at 25\1 for POTY is still alive and kicking as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Who would want to be a full back. A Russian roulette position. Neil McGee was excellent and then one ball. This is the value of a direct option at full forward who can also play outfield. Gives the goal threat and takes a big presence like Neil or Eamon McGee away from goals. Overall a game with lots of good scores and passes by both sides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 302 ✭✭jjdonegal

Lads; one word - unreal. Absolutely unreal. Won every major battle and we were lucky to not lose by more. Thought at HT it would be a pure butchering. Best of luck in the quest for the Holy Grail; your not far away!

As a Kerryman I can honestly say, God I hope if we don't win it this year ye do! So much talent, so near the very pinnacle, if this team doesn't win an All Ireland it would be a travesty.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Alot of talk amongst footballing experts in Kerry this last week is an expectation that Mayo will defeat Dublin and todays defeat of Donegal was forecast to be by a far bigger margin. I think Mayo can make the final again this year. After that its only 70 minutes and Mayo should have beaten Kerry in both games last year, similarly they managed to dispose of Tyrone in the 2013 semi-final without huge effort. Mayo can do it, but the question is will they?

It's too early to think of Dublin. We need to respect this win for the moment. Dublin justifiably favorites, clearly much tactics and selections to be discussed closer to that game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Well done today. For God sake will ye ever go away and win the All Ireland now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Happy with that, but I'm starting to think about all Ireland's now. And if it happens that Mayo actually win it, what are we going to gripe about next year. 51 and all that...
    Maybe we can gripe about going for a double or even a three in a row.
    Ah fuk it I'm getting ahead of myself, but still it's nice to dream
    Dub match is shaping up to be a cracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 275 ✭✭Colinf1212

km79 wrote: »
    backed a 7-9 pt win at 8\1
    paid for the pints :D
    Aido at 25\1 for POTY is still alive and kicking as well

Fair play, you're a riskier gambler than me! How much had you on it? I had £50 on Tyrone to win @ 13/8 and £50 on Mayo -1 @11/10 so not a bad day for me.

But seriously... Has no one noticed how attractive girls from Mayo are? I remember being blown away last time Tyrone played Mayo at Croke Park (Mayo won) a few years back. They are attractive.

Very impressed with your management today. Both the pre game match ups and decisions during the game.

Players were great but teams now more than ever take their cue from management.

Your midfield was outstanding. Before the game I thought it was good, now I think you could compete with Kerry in the middle.

Could'nt agree more I thought our management team were outstanding today.

I thought AOS roasted both McGees. He got out a head of him well once in the first half but it very nearly went wrong for him. After that AOS won the majority of the balls played into him and I saw very little excellent play from NMcG. He's a great player but AOS won the battle hands down imho. Every time the ball was played in there was uncertainty from the Donegal backs. Even that great ball McGee won nearly went wrong and you gut the impression that he had to go for it as he'd conceded the contest for the ball in the air. We'd a great view of the Donegal backs in the first half.

They were by no means helped by the Donegal midfield and loads of ball went into the forwards.

if you enjoy football you'd want this team to be rewarded regardless of where you are from. Robbed last year and providers of great entertainment over the past four years.

Even though it was looking like Donegal might have made it to halftime only one point down you knew Mayo wouldn't drop off in the second half but that Donegal most likely would.

In all fairness this year Mayos route would be harder than Dublins and harder again than a potential Kerry route. Donegal in all fairness to them looked well travelled and you could see the impact of a tougher campaign on the players shoulders. The significance of the UF loss to Monaghan was very evident.

Up to the goal McGee was slightly edging it or at least breaking even. That is what I would call excellent given the difficulty in containing AOS.
    He won balls and had him shadowed to the sideline. Keegan and Doherty benefited from the extra space. I think any other three would have been shipping water badly from the off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

DDC1990 wrote: »
    It will take a very good Junior side to beat this Kerry selection. If ye do it'll be a good boost to the seniors as well I'd say.

After the Ulster Final I thought Mayo would win handily enough, but there were sparks in the Qualifier win over Galway that would make me fear for Mayo a bit.

Donegal have a set pattern of a quick start, a lull before half time and then a solid push all the way to Full Time. The key is to do what Monaghan did and hit Donegal hard during their lull and then restrict their scoring chances up until full time.

If Mayo go into this game thinking only about how they are going to attack Donegal's blanket defence, then I'd fear for them.

When Kerry beat them in the All Ireland, they worked on restricting Donegals attack and put Faith in the forwards to score enough with the chances that they got to win the game.

If Mayo do this then I think the likes of COC, AOS Moran and Dillon have enough football in them to win the game.

Should be a cracker.

From my watching of it from the canal end the bit in bold is exactly what happened.

Mayo put bodies back like I have never seen them do before in the first half and thwarted any Donegal attacks, while at the same time picking off points at the other end.

As expected the focus on AOS gave extra space for Doherty, Keggan and also McLoughlin, whom I thought had a good game.

Not great from Cillian, he missed a few frees but hopefully an off day, we know he can do better.

Also very impressed with the full black line, including Barry Moran, when Murphy went up and then started to lob balls into him.

Overall a good day from the management, they planned it well.

A bit disappointed that they went a spell in the middle of the second half without a score, that included at least three balls bropped short into Durkan's hands.

Overall a good night and lets see what Dublin brings, it will be a different type of game but should be fun.

By the way, Mayo are still very much "under the radar", by the time the build up to our SF starts all the talk will be about a Dublin v Kerry final.

Hard luck to the juniors but that is a very good Kerry team

So we are now 1 and 1 v Kerry when wearing black shirts !

Up to the goal McGee was slightly edging it or at least breaking even. That is what I would call excellent given the difficulty in containing AOS. He won balls and had him shadowed to the sideline. Keegan and Doherty benefited from the extra space. I think any other three would have been shipping water badly from the off.

Did you notice AOS tapping his chest making sure he followed him out , leaving space in the box for the others. True McGee got to some primary ball but he only broke most of it then AOS got to it before he did and was able to break his tackle on many occasions.

Stoner wrote: »
    Did you notice AOS tapping his chest making sure he followed him out , leaving space in the box for the others. True McGee got to some primary ball but he only broke most of it then AOS got to it before he did and was able to break his tackle on many occasions.
    Didn't see it. Tapped him like "Lets go".
    Think outfield was he sometimes passed on to Eamon McGee or was that only after Neil went off?
    Donegal committed huge numbers of defenders to the right wing of Mayos attack. Mayo were sending AOS/Parsons/Diarmuid OConnors into it and then working back out to the centre or the left.
    Diarmuid OConnor is interesting to watch closely. Seems to be able to always retain possession. In three games now has made something like 50 from 50 passes. His left handed handpass back from the wing 30 yards was a difficult thing made look easy.

Very happy with the win.

What impressed me most was the defensive solidity that Barry Moran brought.I thought he had a very decent game,caught a lot of vital ball.I had had grave concerns re his mobility for the position.It was nearly as important to not concede any goals today as any other objective outside winning the game.

I thought David Clarke was quite uncertain in goal during the first half,the quality of or lack of quality of his kick outs put undue pressure on us.He has always taken an eternity to restart the game.

I thought it was a tactical substitution but my mate believed Clarke was injured and had ice put on his leg??Anybody in a position to clarify this matter.Tom Cunniffe looked at times a tad jittery before his unfortunate injury.

Hats off to Ger Cafferkey who answered a lot of critics today with a solid performance.Murphy was still by far Donegal's best player but there was'nt largely a sniff of a goal.

Keith Higgins was back to his best,lovely score.Nice to see some forays up the pitch,he can break the line with his incredible pace in Croke Park.

Lee Keegan's performance was his best since his heady days of 2012 and 2013.2 wonderful scores,I can not say I believe he was going for the goal...Evidently he is the sole half back given the licence to add some penetration to the attack.

Colm Boyle and Donal Vaughan were quietly effective,I do wish Vaughan would temper his inclination to wander forward into no mans land and leave our defence exposed to the counter attack.

Seamus O Shea and Tom Parsons won the midfield battle hands down,they were very effective on the Donegal kick outs.Pushing up on those kick outs put huge pressure on Paul Durcan options..short or long.Some good turnovers.Tom Parsons has been a revelation this summer,superb tackling,great high fielding and always been available to link up the play.He has some motor on him,close run candidate for MOTM.

It was a day for the so called lesser lights to shine in attack although I thought Aidan O Shea came out well on top against Niall McGee.He won a number of frees,that so important goal.The ball delivery at times was not perfect but he still managed to keep the full back line occupied.

Very much an off day for Cillian O Connor,save a few handy frees and one awesome score from play.He was on occasion outmuscled by Paddy McGrath,his freetaking was undercooked and his shot selection less than ideal.

Jason Doherty shone today,3 great scores and a great work rate although initially he was inclined to bring the ball back into a Donegal swarm and learnt the lesson quickly.

Kevin McLoughlin will again have answered a few sideline critics :) with a solid performance and nice couple of scores,first a real beauty and quick thinking to intercept Lacey's handpass for the second.

Diamuid O Connor produced a solid work man like performance,nothing too spectacular but he has a great engine for the inevitably energy sapping game that lies ahead.

I would'nt be entirely surprised to see Robert Hennelly start the next day although he followed David Clarke's one out over the line too for good measure.

Delighted to see the oft maligned Alan Freeman get a score,I really at times never think he gets a fair crack of the whip.Chris Barrett was very solid when he came in.

Andy Moran does what he does best,brings experience.Although we were never in danger we dropped 3 or 4 unforgivable balls into Durcan's hands and Andy proceeds to send over an absolute beauty when just required to steady the ship.

What Kevin Keane did was silly,I can't understand him smiling leaving the pitch.Probably regretting a moment of madness.

So where does it leave us?I do think we need to put this performance in perspective,Donegal appeared to be a very tired team and a long summer campaign and many years on the road has taken their toll.The signs have been there for quite a while.We really should have won the game by a considerably bigger margin.The good news is we are still rank outsiders against Dublin according to the bookies and all the so called experts.Hype up that Dublin Kerry contest please.

It will be an entirely different set up for that game but I fancy we can get a lot of change out of them in the middle of the park and Aidan O Shea can potentially do some serious damage inside going on today's performance against as a good a full back as Niall McGee.Dublin looking in from the outside look a tad undercooked,something similar to 2012.Time will tell whither they can just switch on a big performance.Will they the hunger our lads have with the Celtic Cross medals already safely tucked away in their back pockets?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,857 ✭✭✭threeball

It will be interesting to see how Mayo react to conceding goals. Dublin will almost certainly score one if not two or more goals. They're ability to respond to that will be the key to them winning or losing the next day. They need to be mentally prepared that it will be a factor at least once or more in the game.

They should have the ascendency in midfield, Dublin's half forward line are superior to Mayo's half back line apart from the Keegan dual and they should break even in the other half forward line battle. I think this will result in O'Shea drifting out there to get possession or have an influence. Therefore I don't see him being as much of a threat close to goal and O'Carroll is athletic and large enough to grapple with him also.

Cillian O Connor will need to improve substantially from yesterday and provide that goal threat or I can't see how Mayo win bar absolute domination at midfield. If Mayo can get that goal early you may well see Dublins mental fragility come to the fore again.
    Predicting a game to rival last years semi finals in any case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,621 ✭✭✭ultrapercy

Question Time Can/will Keane appeal ala Keegan last year
    Is Vaughan also suspended for 2 black cards ?
    Was the Clarke substitution tactical or injury ?
    Why did the hand trip on AOS, that led to Doherty goal chance in 1st half, not result in a black card?
    Why does Vaughan not wear gloves ? He let at least 2 balls slip tru his fingers because of not wearing
    Gloves ?
    Why does a county like Donegal as genuine All Ireland contenders persist with a junior B goalkeeper
    Who cannot jump ?
    If isis were allowed compete in AI, would you prefer them or Tyrone to win it ? I'd go for isis myself.

ultrapercy wrote: »
    Question Time Can/will Keane appeal ala Keegan last year
    Is Vaughan also suspended for 2 black cards ?
    Was the Clarke substitution tactical or injury ?
    Why did the hand trip on AOS, that led to Doherty goal chance in 1st half, not result in a black card?
    Why does Vaughan not wear gloves ? He let at least 2 balls slip tru his fingers because of not wearing
    Gloves ?
    Why does a county like Donegal as genuine All Ireland contenders persist with a junior B goalkeeper
    Who cannot jump ?
    If isis were allowed compete in AI, would you prefer them or Tyrone to win it ? I'd go for isis myself.

Sky commentary mentioned Donie has received two black cards already this season so if he receives another he would miss a potential All Ireland final.