If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

How are the handbrake cables? my thinking is that looks like an adjuster for it well the other half of one. Did you have a look at the other side?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Stheno wrote: »
    It looks like something that sheared off

Any chance it was road debris that you picked up?

I don't think it sheared off. It was getting stuck between the drum and the brake shoe which is why it felt like the handbrake was applied. That obviously damaged the part quite a lot.

I'm not sure how something big like that could get into the drum though.
    Hal1 wrote: »
    How are the handbrake cables? my thinking is that looks like an adjuster for it well the other half of one. Did you have a look at the other side?

Everything I could see in the drum was fine. I looked at both sides and they looked identical :confused:

Can you get an exploaded diagram of the hub assembley. It would help in identifying the part and problem. What car do you drive?

I was looking at a diagram on http://toyotapartscatalog.com/ but I couldn't see anything like it.

It's a 1999 Toyota Yaris 1.0.

Are the handbrake cable mounts that secure it under the car intact? That would worry me and I wouldn't feel safe driving until I found out what it was.

I found this pic whilst doing a quick search. Since you have checked the hub assembly already.

Step32.jpg

Are the handbrake cable mounts that secure it under the car intact? That would worry me and I wouldn't feel safe driving until I found out what it was.

I found this pic whilst doing a quick search. Since you have checked the hub assembly already.

Yeah everything is secure. It doesn't even look like a bit that would be near the handbrake cable mounts and it was inside the drum itself.

I'm really confused :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

That's the non threaded side of an adjuster, the fork area is pushed away from the adjuster so that the shoes are adjusted correctly.
    It would be in contact with the shoe at the top or bottom.

Equivalent to this pic, sorry I'm on the phone at the minute. . .

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll285/DrgnWagnSteve/16-installtensioner.jpg

YbFocus wrote: »
    That's the non threaded side of an adjuster, the fork area is pushed away from the adjuster so that the shoes are adjusted correctly.
    It would be in contact with the shoe at the top or bottom.

Equivalent to this pic, sorry I'm on the phone at the minute. . .

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/ll285/DrgnWagnSteve/16-installtensioner.jpg

Could be but it doesn't look like it would fit on the type of adjuster that's on my car. Nothing similar with a part like that.

I will probably have to rip the whole drum apart to find it :pac:

EDIT: It's off the brake cylinder inside the drum, feck :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Ok a quick question if you scrap a car (scrappage allowance) for a new car can the garage resell the car??

Ah sceisser, welp at least you now know and not half way down the road.

Fun times. I can't even order a new one without pulling the drum back off because my car had 2 different types of brake cylinders with a different nipple connector. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,326 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Autosport wrote: »
    Ok a quick question if you scrap a car (scrappage allowance) for a new car can the garage resell the car??

Yes. It's really a trade in bonus dressed up

With the government scrap page scheme you couldn't though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Yes. It's really a trade in bonus dressed up

With the government scrap page scheme you couldn't though.

Thanks for that, my father saw his old car that he scrapped 4 years ago, he was in pure shock to see it.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Pov06 wrote: »
    Fun times. I can't even order a new one without pulling the drum back off because my car had 2 different types of brake cylinders with a different nipple connector. :pac:

Look at least you found it before you'd another written off car in the house :) could have been a lot worse

Did you sort the claim on your mother's car?

Look at least you found it before you'd another written off car in the house :) could have been a lot worse

Did you sort the claim on your mother's car?

We're really unlucky in the past month or so :( At least the front brakes are good though.

I see on other cars the pin screws out but mine seems like it just sits in the cylinder so I'm hoping it's just a matter of putting it back in. I will see anyway, the wheel cylinders aren't expensive, roughly 20 euro.

Mother's car is still fcuked. I will be ringing the insurance company (for the 100th time) tomorrow. We didn't get any further offers from them, I think they're trying to drag it out so we just take the low ball offer and get a replacement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,655 ✭✭✭CIP4

This is the lowest I've seen my fuel gauge in months currently letting it run down to to see if it will help the range to stop reading so high kind of reset based on the last tank. I normally just fill it once a week so 3 bars down. Still it's only just dropped to half tank so a bit of going to run the tank down yet.

E8055D73-17FD-4F90-B172-B7A8A7BB9036_zpsatddtp7z.jpg

Ah the more I drive this megane the more I like it very comfortable car on long trips. Still though at the back of my head no matter how hard I try I can't shake the want for a golf. A nice 2.0tdi 140bhp highline golf is definitely next on the cards I'll keep this one till end of 2016 either way and maybe longer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

My fuel gauge does rarely be that high 
    Especially during the Summer

Not a good sign if you are yearning for another car so quick man!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I too thought this

That instrument panel would drive me bonkers CIP every time you post a pic of it I dislike it more

That said mine lights up with everything in bright orange, it's horrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Too many cars, too little time. Sure ya have to try them all to find what you like best.

Ah no not yearning as such I like the megane but I always knew I'd end up getting another golf eventually. I won't be changing it till end of next year at the earliest it's very far down my list of priorities at the moment I've spent to much time on cars and need to now work on sorting a job and some important things like that first interview in the next few weeks hopefully haven't even updated my cv yet. Also considering it's a Renault megane when I do to sell it I'll probably get a loud of low ball offers and end up keeping it out of spite :pac:

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Too many cars, too little time. Sure ya have to try them all to find what you like best.

I started on petrol, made the jump to diesel for a while and now know I'm happiest paying through the nose doing 40k a year in a 2.5 petrol :D

I too thought this

That instrument panel would drive me bonkers CIP every time you post a pic of it I dislike it more

That said mine lights up with everything in bright orange, it's horrible

Not sure about it myself it looks abit out of proportion or something in saying all that I really like the digital speedo handy to glance at and know exactly what speed your doing.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Ah no not yearning as such I like the megane but I always knew I'd end up getting another golf eventually. I won't be changing it till end of next year at the earliest it's very far down my list of priorities at the moment I've spent to much time on cars and need to now work on sorting a job and some important things like that first interview in the next few weeks hopefully haven't even updated my cv yet. Also considering it's a Renault megane when I do to sell it I'll probably get a loud of low ball offers and end up keeping it out of spite :pac:

I have a great cv outlay that was done out professionally If you want it to use as a template sir?
    You being a grad engineer too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

I started on petrol, made the jump to diesel for a while and now know I'm happiest paying through the nose doing 40k a year in a 2.5 petrol :D

I've done 530 miles since Thursday in my yoke, don't think I'd want to do it in any other car I could have at my age. The fuel bill is eye watering but oh so worth it :D

I loved the murderous torque of the 530d but it has nothing on the drive of the petrol :)

I'm wondering if CIP will ever drive a petrol
    CIP have you ever driven a petrol?

I have a great cv outlay that was done out professionally If you want it to use as a template sir?
    You being a grad engineer too!

Nice one thanks I might drop you a PM when I start it I'm not too bad have a good base that I made up with one of these college careers experts and no one complained about it in the placement interviews so I think I'll just build on that. Kind of scary in a way as even though I did loads of interviews for placement last year but even then it was always only placement whereas as now it's interviews for graduate programmes and permanent jobs. Plus the first interview I'm doing is for the company I really want to get its where I'm on placement for now. Would have been grand to do a few for companies I was abit meh about you know get some more experience but sure it is what it is I'll do my best and there is plenty of other jobs if I fcuk up :pac:

They must of saw something in me when they hired me the first time so hopefully it will come through in this interview.

CIP4 wrote: »
    Nice one thanks I might drop you a PM when I start it I'm not too bad have a good base that I made up with one of these college careers experts and no one complained about it in the placement interviews so I think I'll just build on that. Kind of scary in a way as even though I did loads of interviews for placement last year but even then it was always only placement whereas as now it's interviews for graduate programmes and permanent jobs. Plus the first interview I'm doing is for the company I really want to get its where I'm on placement for now. Would have been grand to do a few for companies I was abit meh about you know get some more experience but sure it is what it is I'll do my best and there is plenty of other jobs if I fcuk up :pac:

They must of saw something in me when they hired me the first time so hopefully it will come through in this interview.

If you are doing well with your placement company that's a massive advantage

Ohs son now works full-time where he did his placement

I'm wondering if CIP will ever drive a petrol
    CIP have you ever driven a petrol?

Ye I drove a 1.0l Clio when I was learning to drive instructors car I didn't like it :pac: our ride on lawnmower felt a lot quicker :) I suppose it depends on where I get a job too I may well end up commuting abit for the first few years we will have to wait and see. I will certainly own petrol cars just not in the next few years I recon.