If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

dgt wrote: »
    Goodness, I'm here just over 5 years. Doesn't the time fly by! :)

Ah the memories, the ups and downs :)

Jaysis, I'm here twice that.

Blowin :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Best of luck matey. You've got me out of many a pickle and given me a disease for alfas that i probably wouldn't have had without your in put.....see you soon, you'll be welcomed back by one and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

One of the people I know the best all thanks to this forum. A truly wonderful chap with an intelligence level that often goes unnoticed on this forum. You shall forever be known as king of "The Today I did something to my Car Thread"...!

We might see you back soon once you have owned all the 406's in the country..:D

A true friend, best of luck chap. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Ahh balls

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Best of luck matey. You've got me out of many a pickle and given me a disease for alfas that i probably wouldn't have had without your in put.....see you soon, you'll be welcomed back by one and all
    166man wrote: »
    One of the people I know the best all thanks to this forum. A truly wonderful chap with an intelligence level that often goes unnoticed on this forum. You shall forever be known as king of "The Today I did something to my Car Thread"...!

We might see you back soon once you have owned all the 406's in the country..:D

A true friend, best of luck chap. :)

Just noticed he closed his account

Shame, great contributor :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,190 ✭✭✭Mister Jingles

Another valued poster gone just like that....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,280 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Will miss him and his 406 :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Jesus dgt gone, he didn't post as often lately and then started posting a bit more frequently recently. I didn't know him or his old posts as I didn't frequent the motors forum here on boards but the time s I did see his posts he done some amazing things to cars. Shame he is gone and I wonder if he will still go to the meets, probably not, he probably has more important things to be doing now. So best of luck dgt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,534 ✭✭✭gaiscioch

The Speed camera vans: are the cameras pointing out the back window only (at traffic coming towards them on their side), or the front as well? (at traffic on the other side of the road)

(I always assumed they were only at the back of the van.)

Jesus dgt gone, he didn't post as often lately and then started posting a bit more frequently recently. I didn't know him or his old posts as I didn't frequent the motors forum here on boards but the time s I did see his posts he done some amazing things to cars. Shame he is gone and I wonder if he will still go to the meets, probably not, he probably has more important things to be doing now. So best of luck dgt.

TBH there are some right pricks on here lately who seem to be headlining the forum with their brand obsessed attitudes, and taking pot shots when they feel like it.

I can see why members leave. I wouldn't be anywhere near the level of dgt as a poster of value on here, but I've regularly felt like either unfollowing the forum or closing my boards account lately mainly due to how ****e this place is recently

Problem is alot of posters snipe from a detached view.

Go to a meet and you will see that there are some genuinely great people behind the usernames.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Stheno wrote:
    I can see why members leave. I wouldn't be anywhere near the level of dgt as a poster of value on here, but I've regularly felt like either unfollowing the forum or closing my boards account lately mainly due to how ****e this place is recently

There is a few pups around here lately, and are only here to act the maggot and stir controversy. I hope that mods are keeping an eye on such people.

Pity there isn't more genuine helpful guys/gals around.

Problem is alot of posters snipe from a detached view.

Go to a meet and you will see that there are some genuinely great people behind the usernames.

Well that's the thing, anyone I've met from here has been dead on, I've never gone to a meet as they are generally on Sundays when the OH has his kids over and we plan stuff to do, but I've met at least ten regular posters on here. All of them have been sound out, helped out if they've been able to, I've helped out where I could, some have been to my place and vice versa.

Others have just given great advice.

Then you've the people who'll never meet anyone here, who come on with their high horse/troll attitudes, with no interest in helping anyone or contributing positively.

It's the latter I find in the majority lately

gaiscioch wrote: »
    The Speed camera vans: are the cameras pointing out the back window only (at traffic coming towards them on their side), or the front as well? (at traffic on the other side of the road)

(I always assumed they were only at the back of the van.)

If you search on here you'll see plenty of posts that they can monitor both sides of the road.

There is a few pups around here lately, and are only here to act the maggot and stir controversy. I hope that mods are keeping an eye on such people.

Pity there isn't more genuine helpful guys/gals around.

There are still plenty of helpful people on here, god knows plenty of people were patient with me with my weird accelerator problem on the Honda :) There were a few who took the piss, but mostly in a nice way :)

And in fairness to the mods, anytime I report stuff, they deal with it. I've also seen them deal with loutish behaviour without prompting. I can think of about three users at the minute that are within the boundaries of appropriate behaviour, I imagine the mods are just waiting for them to step out of line to deal with them

It's cyclical, tends to be worse in summer, so this too shall pass :)

Shots fired!
    2yoxxma.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,911 ✭✭✭✭ShadowHearth

Talking off BMW...

I tried online to get a quote for E60 525d with Liberty... 1300eu! I pay with them 800eu for Subaru WRX! Madness!

Talking off BMW...

I tried online to get a quote for E60 525d with Liberty... 1300eu! I pay with them 800eu for Subaru WRX! Madness!

Thats mental

and it's of not off SH :)

We must be the only 3 saddos not out :pac:

Lol I was out for dinner/lunch with the OH and his daughter earlier.

Came across a pig ignorant shower of people who completely invaded our table, to the point of using the one spare chair and plonking their drinks on our table.

I wanted a restful weekend this weekend and have gotten it, enjoyed the time out earlier then a few drinks at home.

Very enjoyable :)

I'm old though, almost as old as pred, what's your excuse?

Pred is probably having some sort of old person treatment given how bockety he is:D

On a fecking sunday hah

Stheno wrote:

I was out Fri and Sat night, too much jig acting is what's wrong with me ha!

Trying to organise tickets and travel for Mayos matches in croker next Sat. Trying to get the uncle to bring a crowd of us!

On a fecking sunday hah

Bank Holiday hai. Great buzz around lawwwwd

I was out Fri and Sat night, too much jig acting is what's wrong with me ha!

Trying to organise tickets and travel for Mayos matches in croker next Sat. Trying to get the uncle to bring a crowd of us!

Now I'm not trying to tear the scab off old wounds, but where are Mayo in the GAA this year (not a great follower)?

Stheno wrote: »
    Lol I was out for dinner/lunch with the OH and his daughter earlier.

Came across a pig ignorant shower of people who completely invaded our table, to the point of using the one spare chair and plonking their drinks on our table.

I wanted a restful weekend this weekend and have gotten it, enjoyed the time out earlier then a few drinks at home.

Very enjoyable :)

Pred is probably having some sort of old person treatment given how bockety he is:D

cat.jpg?quality=85&strip=all&w=640

Stheno wrote:
    Now I'm not trying to tear the scab off old wounds, but where are Mayo in the GAA this year (not a great follower)?

Quarter finals next weekend, against Donegal. Mightn't get much further so I'd better make sure I go!

cat.jpg?quality=85&strip=all&w=640

That was me, every time they stopped talking I mentioned having to put up with ignorant people who intruded

They said sorry five times, but got worse.

Thankfully we left and found a nicer place, we are regulars where we were, these were just bank holiday blo ins

Quarter finals next weekend, against Donegal. Mightn't get much further so I'd better make sure I go!

Donegal are doing well enough, but I'm rooting for Mayo, how many nearlys has it been now, three?

Are they potentially facing Dublin in the semis?

Stheno wrote:
    Donegal are doing well enough, but I'm rooting for Mayo, how many nearlys has it been now, three?Are they potentially facing Dublin in the semis?

I've lost count at this stage, but ya Dublin face them if they get that far.

Now if ye'll excuse me I am on taxi duty and have to collect family peoples who will probably be in a bit of a state!

I've lost count at this stage, but ya Dublin face them if they get that far.

Now if ye'll excuse me I am on taxi duty and have to collect family peoples who will probably be in a bit of a state!

Enjoy, and have a great day out if you get to the match!

Best of luck to yiz!