Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

DDC1990 wrote:
    Backs get away with murder off the ball these days, and when they showed the player cam of the two, McGee just judo wrestled McManus to the ground off the ball with no provocation, both players got yellow cards and McGee was delighted. Job done.

If you are a defender and you don't want pats on the back or someone screaming at you when they score don't carry on like McGee or Shields.

I'm sure the two defenders didn't mind they knew the risks when they decided to kick it off.

McManus getting a yellow was a joke.

I saw one case where only one yellow was handed out for that sort of play over the weekend. It'll come to me but it was good stuff.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,149 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

what Geaney did is not sledging in my books, and there is far too made of this sledging crap anyway and trying to make out any sort of chat between players is sledging. There is a line, and by all accounts, it was crossed this year (and other times too). There are places you dont go when mouthing to opposition, but keeping it in the game is all 100% legit in my eyes.

One example from my own time I remember was a defender absolutely kicking lumps out of me all game. Late tackles, hitting off the ball, the usual stuff. I was doing ok, but we were down by 2 late on. He kept in my ear, "what are you going to do now", "you're useless", again, all the usual stuff. I got a ball about 20 yards out, and scored one of the better goals in my career, and as I kicked it, he came in with another late tackle and both of us ended on the floor. I was quicker up, and as he lay on the ground, I pointed at the goal and roared at him "there's your f**king answer". If that is considered sledging, then so be it.

Geaneys goal and "sledging" seemed much the same. If you think a player can keep his cool after being dogged all game, scoring a goal to essentially win a munster final against age old rivals, then you know damn all about the game. If Shields had to have done nothing, then Geaney would have done nothing. These things happen in sport. If they didnt, we'd have monotonous robots playing with no emotion. It shouldnt even be an issue whatsoever. And I doubt Shields would have an issue with it either, much like any defender, they generally know how to give it, but know how to accept it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Stoner wrote: »
    If you are a defender and you don't want pats on the back or someone screaming at you when they score don't carry on like McGee or Shields.

I'm sure the two defenders didn't mind they knew the risks when they decided to kick it off.

McManus getting a yellow was a joke.

I saw one case where only one yellow was handed out for that sort of play over the weekend. It'll come to me but it was good stuff.

Stephen O'Brien got his first yellow for off the ball nonsense. Himself and Dorman or O'Sullivan maybe, scuffled over a sideline ball. Both threw a few pushes in each other's direction, nothing crazy but O'Brien was the only one to get a yellow, and deservedly so. He had delayed a Cork free kick earlier, and again instigated the shoving over the sideline. Deegans was correct to give 1 yellow, As not only did O'Brien start it, but it was his second incident in a few minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Module 1.1 in GAA referee's training: If in doubt, book both players. If there is a mass brawl, book one player per team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭iDave

Joe Brolly slouched on the couch totally disinterested.
    Is he actually trying to get fired?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Jaysus Donal Og not holding back here...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

Donal Og's comparison of Cork to a "bad school", epic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,570 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That table/graph that Donal Og really highlights how bad Cork hurling has become over the last six years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭Gael85

Strong words from Cusack on Cork county board

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,570 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

They should have just played the Glynn interview from earlier in the day :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

iDave wrote: »

It wouldn't matter what he did he wouldn't get fired.

Also what is seriously begging to piss me off is the fact that not only do Brolly and O'Rourke have nice jobs with RTE they also have columns in the Sunday Independent ( I have no choice on the paper bought in our house) where they basically repeat the exact same stuff over and over again just like they do on the TV programme. Neither of them have any great enthusiasm for the game anymore and yet the football fans are having them inflicted on them constantly.

I suspect most football fans would like a broader range of opinions in the media than what we are currently getting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Donal Og in fine voice tonight

That table/graph that Donal Og really highlights how bad Cork hurling has become over the last six years.

It's actually worse than that. Could be wrong, but they haven't won a minor or U21 since 2001.

It's now going to be eleven years since Cork won a senior all ireland .

Is that the longest they have went without an all ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 138 ✭✭Fear Ciarrai

iDave wrote:
    Joe Brolly slouched on the couch totally disinterested. Is he actually trying to get fired?

Hopefully

iDave wrote: »

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,571 ✭✭✭0byme75341jo28

No, they went from 1904-1918 without winning one but I think we'll go more than 14 years without winning one now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,816 ✭✭✭Baggy Trousers

Jaysus Donal Og not holding back here...

Fair play to him! He tells it how it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭zetecescort

had a 12 or 13 year gap in the 50s to 64 I think. sad how far we have fallen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,449 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Cork All-Ireland Championship droughts:

1. 1903-1919 (15 seasons)
    2. 1954-1966 (11 seasons)
    3. 2005-now (10 seasons and counting)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Camera panning to Joe Brolly with his "lap dance seated position"!!!!!

Ridiculous in my opinion that Austin Gleeson wasn't nominated for Man of the Match , he took over the game after half time and that was the most influential player in Waterfords best period of the game

Who got it?

Gleeson wasn't in the game at all in the first half, so didn't really do enough

Also what is seriously begging to piss me off is the fact that not only do Brolly and O'Rourke have nice jobs with RTE they also have columns in the Sunday Independent ( I have no choice on the paper bought in our house) where they basically repeat the exact same stuff over and over again just like they do on the TV programme.

While the TV Licence man can put you in prison if you refuse to pay, you really should have a choice with the Sindo!

Who got it?

Maurice Shanahan got it, any of him, Gleeson or Bennett would have been fair.

I'm seriously impressed at how Waterford have managed to form a brand new team out of nowhere (not literally nowhere, as they have had underage success of course), and how they have all fit in seamlessly. It's both fascinating and very encouraging.

And lastly, Austin Gleeson. What a phenomenal talent. Mother of god. He is everything you want in a modern day hurler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47 Kenajonn

Donal Og just called Henry Shefflin stupid very poor form Donal Og

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Something needs to be done with Cork hurling. This is unbelievable that it will be 10 years and counting since we won Liam Mccarthy. Who would have thought back in 2005 when Sean Og made the victory speech that Cork wouldnt see Liam again for 10+ years. Unbelievable.

hopefully Brolly will be left speak tonight, cut Cork asunder and hopefully Cuthbert won't be left near another Cork team at any level.

Amprodude wrote: »
    Something needs to be done with Cork hurling. This is unbelievable that it will be 10 years and counting since we won Liam Mccarthy. Who would have thought back in 2005 when Sean Og made the victory speech that Cork wouldnt see Liam again for 10+ years. Unbelievable.

gotten to stage that Croke Park need to get involved but they will never go over Frank's head.

Who got it?

Maurice Shanahan won Man of the Match.

He didn't do as much in the first half alright but he was brilliant in the second half and I think the player who had the most influence on Waterford winning the game.

I could accept it if didn't win it but he should have at least been nominated.