Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭keano25

What was the story with Cadogan? He did the warm up and was warming up on the sideline.

Can't help but think he would of caused something positive on the field.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

keano25 wrote: »
    What was the story with Cadogan? He did the warm up and was warming up on the sideline.

Can't help but think he would of caused something positive on the field.

Torn hamstring apparently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Figsy32 wrote: »
    Torn hamstring apparently.

He was warming up vigorously on the sideline in Killarney..way too vigorously for it to be a hamstring tear, unless it's a very minor one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Yeah - CORKDOUBLE - the difference between success and failure is very slim. Some of the whinging on this thread is pretty sicking - with all due respect to the whingers LOL.

Kealy probably won the Munster Title for Kerry with that save.

We have superb players - unfortunately we are having a serious run of injuries - Clancy, O Rourke, Crowley, Vaughan, Deane, Maguire etc - these would all probably be major players for us this year but injuries have hampered their development.

I'm delighted with the effort of the players - we can't blame them for the incompetence of Paudie Hughes. We have 2 serious defenders now in BOD and Cronin and they will really benefit from the 2 games in Killarney.

If Cork were able to pick themselves up last season, then I'm fairly sure they'll do so again. We can't talk of Dublin until we (hopefully) beat Kildare.

I don't know what to make of Cuthbert - but management has improved an awful lot this season. I believed that he should not be judged until after the Munster Final and as he was robbed of victory then I think we'll have to reserve judgement until our season ends.

There's very little to choose between Donegal, Kerry, Mayo and ourselves - Dublin look the team to beat but they can always be caught cold.
    Your unreal let's be honest you have done enough that yourself so called whinging as you put it have you not regards cork managment past times
    Nobody is whinging but just being realistic with games yesterday

You changed view too many times you forget which one you support be honest at this stage imo

Don't kid anyone that nonsense
    Monaghan and Donegal are ahead cork
    Mayo have not been tested and Cork probably beat
    Dublin so far ahead cork not even funny and just cause you fail acknowledge this well two week time will show it

You don't know what make management yet you think they improved
    Which is it black or white it can't be both

Galway much better coached side cork

You name Crowley clancy yet you fail realise cork only pick three half backs

O rourke was never favourite this cork team Management

Deane fully fit last year couldn't get game now he's fit again can't get game

Vaughan would not started

Your naming players for sake it without realising cork stronger players some cases

Cork had strong team for yesterday but best team wasn't picked and colm Driscoll should been sub Collins moving out

Tell me what area please management improved this team
    You ignored the other questions I asked in your with respect cherry picking what you want to see with management
    What players improved under cuthbhertt

Halloran finally back to form but he always was good despite you demanding yes you demanding he never play for Cork again when he kick outs were poor despite failing realise no midfield aim to
    O Connor helped him this year to degree
    But just a hint for you with respect when Dublin high press cork kick outs and dominate our midfield like kerry did at midfield don't go back blaming ken as you do

Shields form has never improved from this coaching he was good long before cuthbhertt
    Sullivan like wise league final four years ago but took ages cuthbhertt realise full back only position
    Loughrey didn't have good game in donughe time again got ball ist created scores
    Loughrey is no where near player he can be under this management

Cronin as you will recollect I cried out for him get games but he brought too late but against kerry twice while good man marking wrong players
    Better corner back and won't become great player under this set up
    O Driscoll has always been great but is wasted defence centre back should be wing back or a ten
    He was always great but you could argue held back under this management and Dublin will expose lack holding six
    Barry o Driscoll one good game but poor in defence Saturday and taken off
    He's not half back never was

O Connor always great warrior but like said day one should not being recalled
    Honey moon over he had one great game but kerry underestimated him
    He was dominated last day and Dublin will expose lack pace
    He was good midfield long before cuthbhertt

Collins kelly were always good and cuthbhertt hasn't improved them in fact with kelly imo hindered him
    Kevin o Driscoll be fair has improved hugely so yes I'll say job well done however Driscoll shouldn't be asked create but immense credit he's been excellent all year and showed tough streak
    Deserves start next game in defence role as not creator however when you have him or tom clancy for defence role it's harsh on Driscoll but clancy seems better player in clancy under age been stand out defender
    Kevin would be better defence than Barry though as Kevin can defend
    Kevin isn't a scorer or creative player and management shouldn't ask him to do it
    He showed great hunger battle last two games so while I pick clancy ahead him just my preference if starts on form he deserves it

Hurley and colm have gone backwards huge huge rate progression despite wonderful talent as even you surely realise great players need the ball
    If kerry had same panel like tomas o se said would win the all ireland

That will never change in football
    Donnacha always great but again management take him off incorrectly time and again

Upon review your assessment is imo with greatest respect flawed and totally innaccurte and Cork are not as good you make them out be and non improvement defence in attack appalling team selection and slow sub changes show management is problem and no one no one knows what there doing bar flangan and McCarthy possibly
    Now I suggest next time Cork train league do challenge matches you watch them and watch them train cause it's clear as day you haven't a clue what your talking about if you think this coaching is anywhere near good Donegal monaghan or Dublin etc or mayo with donie Buckley
    Again please debate any points above but you again won't as you actually have nothing to counter debate with
    This is not a rant but when you say other views are sickening just cause it's dose realism well you need be told logic

Be interesting when unfortunately cork loose Dublin your views management you'll probably as you done past go against management
    I no problem with fella views but with respect One minute you laud this set up praise then next day critse them and you know too well that's true just look your old posts with respect
    Where do you exactly stand with management
    Are you resting on moral victory against mayo and kerry
    I take it you're man United fan by name
    Fair play truly great club
    Imo you have huge conflict interest in mentality in United are winners don't do moral victory and have minimum standard so much rightly so sacked Moyle that they want more for united
    In cork football though by your posts you seem to accept the moral victory one point defeat to mayo and draw kerry as acceptable
    The irony of it
    Roy keane motto was prepared to fail fail prepared

Cork football team don't come close in terms preparation like kerry
    You do realise kerry used gps sunday ist football team gaelic-games use it
    Why do you think put warm weather camp back from April to summer
    They rates Dublin and simply did not rate Cork challenge
    As bad at times kerry were Saturday they will unlike cork as kerry do improve with every game
    Cork at best will stay the same

In fairness your not alone
    The ccb neglect cork football in don't treat it seriously at club and senior level and by look minor football appointment it shows again the neglect they have cork football with poor management again likely be in charge
    As another poster wonderfully said kerry don't do anything else bar football so it's treated seriously bar rugby course producing great mick Galway mick doyle and jj hanahrahan
    But still of cork treated football seriously they could compete with kerry

Again Dublin wont be caught cold like Donegal last year
    Cork draw kerry is bad news for Cork as Dublin are going to be focused
    How we did pick ourselves up last season
    Moral victory one point defeat mayo is in your eyes good
    Get real how in God's name will cork ever improve with attuide like yours we celebrate moral victory

Your the cork football view well we'd moral victory v kerry we only drew yes referee was awful but in truth cork should finished game off anyway, we beaten kerry you blame everything you can't control like weather the referee then we'll beat Kildare and hosed by Dublin and you will cod yourself again next year we have players we have this we on any given day rubbish can win when under two years manager and one selector cuthbhertt has awful record yet you don't see that but you then unfortunately like all cork fans will have suffered same pain when cork loose again next year make no progress

Eammon Sweeney was right he's exact words were they are management in sport talk bullshi#,in article I linked he said it where get old cliches and snippets and think using them there great manager
    They fail under standsble basic coaching and cuthbhertt minor and senior look teams defence statics he doesn't understand defence organisation at all at all

But cuthbhert comes out nonsense arm band cork team do not surrender in Irish
    It's good if it's mixed with good coaching
    But it's not and imo it's cop out in its management only throw dice and imo blaming players when things go wrong in putting onus them not on managment in when cork loose imo like the circle trust broken when that's do not surrender is uselessness when you pick exact same team exactly same tactics to play kerry in replay

Management spoke after the game how cork control game and game managed weather bar the last fifteen minutes
    Wrong wrong wrong wrong complete horse manure with respect in cork failed score around twenty six minutes kerry dominated midfield
    It was the usual nonsense players they said stopped doing what should done
    This management need new motto forget about do not surrender more tactics innovation
    Do not surrender isn't worth a dime if team is systematically out witted time and time again

What's next for Cork football
    Win against awful Kildare and people naive as yourself say cork improving when you fail realise Kildare are awful
    Dublin will hose this team despite your pre match talk nonsense cork can beat Dublin
    Just look at mark ingle and sherlock with Gavin compared cork set up
    There world's apart
    And don't be naive say well catch Dublin cold
    Like ireland play all blacks three test games game one you surprise them games two and three you don't
    Element surprise with Cork gone and Dublin Donegal lesson will have them focused

Worry cork is no changes be made as this appalling management purely terms football sense will actually think we played well v kerry and we'll improve again and same team bar cadogan with hamstring will start and Dublin half forward line will destroy cork all out attack and midfield will be cleaned out and o Connor saddens me say great player exposed lack pace croke park

Limerick loss kk I said last year worse thing happened limerick in gave Ryan new three year term
    Draw in kerry is worse thing Cork football in management will get a new term
    Kerry couldn't scripted it better when you look at it how it turned out, cork gave them a scare and they lucky with under strength team to survive but now have had two games Dublin haven't but also in the ist game made cork look better than what they are and given management new term and kerry don't rate this cork managment and know too well there no threat to cork football when they remain in charge

Most sickening thing of all again is when you hear the usual nonsense again by some Cork football hasn't the talent to compete with the best
    It has absoultey it just needs coaching
    Cork football has shown no improvement two years but gone backwards and creedon derry manager bealin even tomas flaherta all left or were sacked and John Owen huge pressure in roscommon yet our manager will get new term
    If management stay cork will be like limerick hurling this year in have outgrown management and team will get worse as Galway are coming team and Cork imo now top six team if even that
    Tough tough times ahead unless we change things cork football

He was warming up vigorously on the sideline in Killarney..way too vigorously for it to be a hamstring tear, unless it's a very minor one.

Talk is he's 50/50 for Kildare next weekend so it must be a minor one alright.

He should not be rushed at all as he won't be needed against Kildare and sullivan well up task
    But this management doesn't do logical football decisions
    Kerry were laughing at cork when brought on Paul galvin and saw alan Connor going full forward with mahony sweeper
    That's summed up cork in again proved we had no plan b but hail Marys in square hope for a break
    You wouldn't see it in the school boy games now days
    Cork wanted target man well then play natural one dan maceoin
    O Connor caught ball no guarantee he's score anyway as not forward
    Maceoin is but not on the panel
    Last twenty minutes Kerry were toying with Cork
    Like is this the best ye got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 kilmac14

He should not be rushed at all as he won't be needed against Kildare and sullivan well up task
    But this management doesn't do logical football decisions
    Kerry were laughing at cork when brought on Paul galvin and saw alan Connor going full forward with mahony sweeper
    That's summed up cork in again proved we had no plan b but hail Marys in square hope for a break
    You wouldn't see it in the school boy games now days
    Cork wanted target man well then play natural one dan maceoin
    O Connor caught ball no guarantee he's score anyway as not forward
    Maceoin is but not on the panel
    Last twenty minutes Kerry were toying with Cork
    Like is this the best ye got

You want Dan MacEoin as a natural full forward and target man...hahaha have you ever seen him playing for his club, no workrate off the ball and waits for the ball to be played down his throat the whole time.

TTM while I admire your knowledge of Cork GAA sometimes you need to think before you type.

You constantly have a go at the management team and the lack of tactical ability amongst them (bar Pat Flanagan) but who, and Ive said this before to you, are the credible alternatives for the job; you've namedropped Gene O Driscoll and Ned English a number of times and neither have the quality to coach at the top level IMO.

Ned English's style of football is extremely negative and involves some much handpassing it would make you sick.

As for O Driscoll, did nothing with Carbery, bar a county semi final two years ago where they didnt turn up on the day. He has some very good ideas but again has the tactical ability to manage at senior IC.

You have a go at Colm O Neill in an earlier post about his movement inside. The man has had three cruciate operations and come back to play at IC level, he deserves more respect than that and is our most talented forward by a country mile at the moment.

The issues that really affects Cork football is the lack of quality kickpassers at all grades in the county. No team at any level in Cork (from what Ive seen) have the quality or ability to kick the ball accurately or into the correct areas to give or forwards the best chance of scores. Its a problem from Junior B level up to Senior and needs to be addressed urgently along with other defiences like High fielding and tackling

kilmac14 wrote: »
    You want Dan MacEoin as a natural full forward and target man...hahaha have you ever seen him playing for his club, no workrate off the ball and waits for the ball to be played down his throat the whole time.

TTM while I admire your knowledge of Cork GAA sometimes you need to think before you type.

You constantly have a go at the management team and the lack of tactical ability amongst them (bar Pat Flanagan) but who, and Ive said this before to you, are the credible alternatives for the job; you've namedropped Gene O Driscoll and Ned English a number of times and neither have the quality to coach at the top level IMO.

Ned English's style of football is extremely negative and involves some much handpassing it would make you sick.

As for O Driscoll, did nothing with Carbery, bar a county semi final two years ago where they didnt turn up on the day. He has some very good ideas but again has the tactical ability to manage at senior IC.

You have a go at Colm O Neill in an earlier post about his movement inside. The man has had three cruciate operations and come back to play at IC level, he deserves more respect than that and is our most talented forward by a country mile at the moment.

The issues that really affects Cork football is the lack of quality kickpassers at all grades in the county. No team at any level in Cork (from what Ive seen) have the quality or ability to kick the ball accurately or into the correct areas to give or forwards the best chance of scores. Its a problem from Junior B level up to Senior and needs to be addressed urgently along with other defiences like High fielding and tackling

Wrong wrong wrong WRONG POSTER KIDDO
    Never once had go o Neill movement

Recheck with common courtesy lad

In huge fan o Neill only one didn't critse him after drawn game
    I said him hurley going backwards under management as there getting no ball

You just gave a master class in irony saying I need to think before I speak
    I never questioned o Neill movement
    He's awful gets no ball and I don't blame o Neill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 kilmac14

What I said if you read my post correctly was "you need to think before you type" that was referring to your posts not me.

Regarding Colm O Neill I apologise for taking up your post incorrectly..

When we compare management options I have given simply point is while yes no one can say win all ireland with certainty but what is certain is cuthbhertt and management worse those option

I'll simply explain this is not rocket science

Cuthbhertt doing nothing at club football absoultey nothing
    Cork minors all ireland final Yes but haunted in conceding huge scores five goals Galway nineteenth point armagh
    You get away it in minor not senior

Selector under couninhan and two years manager record appalling in football sense as blankets defence not blankly defence or close to it
    Attack is ponderous methodical and laboured rugby league style

English much better cuthbhertt in for one clyda or duhallow always do better what should rarely hammered and clyds perfect blanket defence to tee
    English cork would have effective blanket and wouldn't be more awful watching teams tesd though out defence and have no clue how to defend
    Cleary English were going in if got it and you had blend attack and defence
    English got waterford ist win championship twenty years my going in coach six week before championship years ago v clare with no one giving them a chance
    Coached drom munster football club title a limited team he got everything out of them

English got clyds win intermediate county and also duhallow county final and all teams die boots on
    He training better than cuthbhertt and cuthbhertt wouldn't tie he's shoe laces

Gene Driscoll yes Carbery not always good but won all ireland coach o Donovan rosss huge success under twenty one team over kerry and ran tippeary close with huge injuries

And referee robbed cork v roscommon

He's coaching for any doubt you have is still ten times better cuthbhertt

Sexton and sullivan and Davis have done Nothing absoultey NOTHING IN CLUB MANAGEMENT and no expirence so options I gave simply can't be any worse what I mentioned

Ephie Fitzgerald has doubters but still won nemo dromcollogjrr limerick selector limerick senior football run all ireland quarter final done more cuthbhertt ever done
    It's actually the point this management so bad there's much better
    Flangan fitness brilliant but as Kieran shannon said o Neill kerry is equal and same mark ingle Dublin is same so Cork advantage flangan good v Kildare not enough beat top four teams

Flangan is proven at all levels coaching and none other cork selection team is a point that cork media and pundits some conviently never mentioned again

Sweeney article in the indo correctly said cuthbhertt management record was poor
    This isn't opinion but a fact
    Just look at the teams and results with teams he managed in fairness

What I said if you read my post correctly was "you need to think before you type" that was referring to your posts not me.

Regarding Colm O Neill I apologise for taking up your post incorrectly..

No problem I agree with your other points and yes your right lot other candidates huge concerns all ireland sense but all im saying can't be as bad current set up
    Fair enough no worries just I would never critse o Neill movement after three cruciate
    I huge huge respect him

Huge game in the hurling sunday

All eyes on that game now from hurling sense
    Football on sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Lads ye are far too negative.

Ye have a serious defensive system in place, which Kerry who have a great forward line struggled to break down.

Ye were undone by a bit of magic from Cooper, and Cork were inches away from 2 more goals, Cronin's miss and the quick free kick, which Jonathan Lyne got a hand to to prevent a 1 on 1 shot.

Ye were beaten around the middle of the field by Moran and Maher, in my opinion the best midfield in the game.

A few individual errors coming out if defence cost ye 2 points.

There is plenty to work on, but he have the foundation of a seriously competitive team.

I think that Cuthbert needs to be more reactive on the line. I'd have had Hurley off after 20 minutes. Enright clearly had his number inside. Kerrigan is good for 35 minutes and disappears.

Gould is not the player Cuthbert thinks he is. Minimal impact off the bench. Is Ruaraí Deane a better option?

Finally the patience Cork had in the first game deserted he in the replay. Focus on the mental side and not only will ye beat Kildare, but ye'll give the Dubs a good scare.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 155 ✭✭HighKing33

Cork do have playmakers though. Mark Collins, Donncha O'Connor and Paddy Kelly are all fine kickers of the ball. Question is how do you use them? I don't think Cuthbert knows at this stage. For example, in the first game Paddy Kelly was outstanding at centre-half yet in the replay he plays facing up the pitch and Cork are much poorer. It's a conundrum.

For what it's worth I felt Cuthbert's best team featured Kelly at 6 and Kerrigan at 11.

DDC1990 wrote: »

Ye have a serious defensive system in place, which Kerry who have a great forward line struggled to break down.

Ye were undone by a bit of magic from Cooper, and Cork were inches away from 2 more goals, Cronin's miss and the quick free kick, which Jonathan Lyne got a hand to to prevent a 1 on 1 shot.

Ye were beaten around the middle of the field by Moran and Maher, in my opinion the best midfield in the game.

There is plenty to work on, but he have the foundation of a seriously competitive team.

I think that Cuthbert needs to be more reactive on the line. I'd have had Hurley off after 20 minutes. Enright clearly had his number inside. Kerrigan is good for 35 minutes and disappears.

Gould is not the player Cuthbert thinks he is. Minimal impact off the bench. Is Ruaraí Deane a better option?

Finally the patience Cork had in the first game deserted he in the replay. Focus on the mental side and not only will ye beat Kildare, but ye'll give the Dubs a good scare.

Congratulations on your win but typical kerry attuide in my opinion don't patronise us with nonsense

Some will belive you and their entitled to their opinion
    I and few realists here certainly won't I'd guess to think
    You actually imo proved your not correct when you said Cork have great defending system

Do you want me to go through every challenge game league and championship and shows scores clearly clearly prove we don't have defence structure?
    Kerry picked us off at will and weather helped cork defence become tighter just like limerick one point kk defeat last year defence was awful and when dry came clare and tippeary and Dublin got seven goals

This talk by inches width post referee etc moment brilliant imo kerry usual nonsense rub salt in wounds kerry way kill cork with kindness but having a dig
    Like mick o dwyer kerry beat Cork year in year cork second best in ireland which was not true most defeats
    This cork team has huge issues and fair palmer on radio said only cork goal feared bigger defeat as bar that cork were actually farther off kerry

Kerry have huge defensive problem but will improve every game and longer there in it harder to beat
    Cork won't evolve as same problems in can't defend, link attack and defence no midfield in fairness and you know from reading my posts I said this all year and even last year so I can't fathom when hasn't improved two years how will improve in three weeks

Kerry only focus all year has been Dublin wont say that but dog in street knows this just like tipp only focus is kk and Donegal ist training session last year Dublin
    Cork flangan fitness wise peaked for kerry didn't know have replay and three games three week

Expect tired cork team with zero tactics and game plan be blown away second half v Dublin who are fresh hungry and ruthless and unlike kerry have more youth and pace and westmeath performance wasn't great so expect much improved Dublin

Cork won't change game plan as they changed so many times can't change it
    Real problem is any game plan we have isn't properly coaches liked Cian o Neill and mark ingle and great great donie Buckley with kerry

Kerry much the better team and unlike cork always kept score board ticking over
    Monaghan and Donegal two well coached team and Donegal will still have say championship but not winning it
    Monaghan Donegal would beat Cork as would Galway
    Mayo dominate possessions v Cork but Cork better forwards just sneak it as mayo despite the huge score v sligo don't have enough quality forwards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

DDC1990 wrote: »

That's a good sensible post.

The negativity is unreal.

TTM - let's get one thing staight - I thought our management was brutal last year. I thought that Cuthbert should not have got the job as he had no CV and John Cleary was the obvious choice.

Players had huge reservations after first season but decided to air their complaints and hope for the best.

I don't have direct contact with any squad member but my infomration suggests that morale is much better this season. Management have made mistakes this season but it's a huge improvement from last season. It's silly saying someone else could do better just like O Se's inane suggestion that FitzM would do a better job with the Cork Players.

Management put out a side 2 weeks ago that was superbly prepared and motivated and came back after a few body blows and were desperately unlucky to be pegged back by a mis-hit lob.
    You have an obvious agenda wrt Cuthbert even being as childish as ridiculing the wrist bands used the first day.
    You have a good knowledge of Cork GAA but you've lost the plot here. You are even preparing to criticise if we beat Kildare. Just give it a rest and wait to see how the season pans out.

As for KOH - I thought he could never improve his re-starts. He's no Cluxton but has improved a lot and I'm happy to say I was wrong - try it, its a good liberating feeling.

+1 on KO'H. Happy to say I was wrong about his kickouts. He's been excellent in the two games.

I mentioned about Hurley and O'Neill's movement. Obviously I've massive massive respect for O'Neill and all he's been through, he's a warrior for coming back time and time again.

The point I was trying to make is that often when the ball was being carried into Kerry's half and players were looking for options, him and Hurley were motionless inside and not making any runs to become available. We do have good passers out the pitch but even if we had the best kick passers in the game they wouldn't have been able to find them.

One of the few times a run was mad it led to our goal.

It's almost as if they're told not to make runs until Donnacha or Paddy Kelly get the ball. As I said earlier, the difference between our inside line looking for ball compared to the Kerry inside forwards was incredible. Maybe they're told to hang inside to help a running game, I dont know, but it definitely hurt us especially in the second half where we had a bit of a breeze.

+1 on KO'H. Happy to say I was wrong about his kickouts. He's been excellent in the two games.

I mentioned about Hurley and O'Neill's movement. Obviously I've massive massive respect for O'Neill and all he's been through, he's a warrior for coming back time and time again.

The point I was trying to make is that often when the ball was being carried into Kerry's half and players were looking for options, him and Hurley were motionless inside and not making any runs to become available. We do have good passers out the pitch but even if we had the best kick passers in the game they wouldn't have been able to find them.

One of the few times a run was mad it led to our goal.

It's almost as if they're told not to make runs until Donnacha or Paddy Kelly get the ball. As I said earlier, the difference between our inside line looking for ball compared to the Kerry inside forwards was incredible. Maybe they're told to hang inside to help a running game, I dont know, but it definitely hurt us especially in the second half where we had a bit of a breeze.

I'm in the same boat - I wouldn't criticise Hurley or CON but the movement from JOD and Geaney was unreal.

Hurley needs a few scores - it was a shame for him and Cork that his narrow wide didn't go over. However, I've seen enough of him at club and IC to know that he's a quality forward and he'll be fine once he raises a few white flags.

We are only developing a system - we had no time last year to do meaningful work and the league isn't much good as it lacks intensity - the Clare game - we didn't want to show our hand and set up in a traditional way. So the drawn game was the first real test of our new system and there was a few blips. The same on Saturday.

We face a massive test to get our spirits lifted again for Kildare - very few beaten provincial finalists can deal with a week turnaround.

Our players and management need support and not criticism now - let's hope that people will travel to Thurles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Just out of curiosity how many here have managed or coached teams or have had any role in the structure of thegaa.edit my involvement has been at underage level only

keep going wrote: »
    Just out of curiosity how many here have managed or coached teams or have had any role in the structure of thegaa

Everyone, surely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I don't think anybody needs to apologise for giving O'Neill some stick, along with the rest of Corks FF line the other day - you're analysing one match, two if you're taking the drawn game into it - not a players entire career. O'Neill is a very talented footballer, as are many of the Cork team, but playing in patches isn't enough. O'Connor drove Cork forwards after Moran got black carded the first day - he was negated at midfield this time around and I was expecting one of the half back line or half forward line to pick up the mantle and try drag Cork back into it - unfortunately it didn't materialise and Kerry were comfortable around the middle 8 for the majority of the game

I said in another thread the other day - Tomás O'Sé stated that Cork tended to lack a plan B when things aren't going their way - and it showed again with O'Connor going in full forward - looked like it hadn't been practiced atall. You should have enough to get past Kildare, I genuinely hope you do, but if you face Dublin after that then a plan B has to be in the works that either negates Dublin going forwards or causes them problems at the back - you have the players to do both, it just needs work in order to be implemented better. However now, with the qualifiers, means you're under time pressure.

That's a good sensible post.

The negativity is unreal.

TTM - let's get one thing staight - I thought our management was brutal last year. I thought that Cuthbert should not have got the job as he had no CV and John Cleary was the obvious choice.

Players had huge reservations after first season but decided to air their complaints and hope for the best.

I don't have direct contact with any squad member but my infomration suggests that morale is much better this season. Management have made mistakes this season but it's a huge improvement from last season. It's silly saying someone else could do better just like O Se's inane suggestion that FitzM would do a better job with the Cork Players.

Management put out a side 2 weeks ago that was superbly prepared and motivated and came back after a few body blows and were desperately unlucky to be pegged back by a mis-hit lob.
    You have an obvious agenda wrt Cuthbert even being as childish as ridiculing the wrist bands used the first day.
    You have a good knowledge of Cork GAA but you've lost the plot here. You are even preparing to criticise if we beat Kildare. Just give it a rest and wait to see how the season pans out.

As for KOH - I thought he could never improve his re-starts. He's no Cluxton but has improved a lot and I'm happy to say I was wrong - try it, its a good liberating feeling.

Get real now in fairness does cork football actually mean that much to you that you won't be realistic and set expectations high
    We should beat Kildare to be fair

What do you want cork beat Kildare and have open top buss down south mall and media say we're all ireland contenders
    Kildare are absolutley awful in Ryan is good coach to point but Kildare lost host big players

Cork will get zero credit if midfield isn't fixed year in two years still the same zero credit unless full forward line get ball and zero credit if half forward line don't create and defence conceded huge score despite possible Kildare so poor cork can win just like clare game but fact is performance shows problem

I let's be clear now crystal clear never once unlike your good self made critsim personal regards cuthbhertt
    Never once
    I yes severely critsed on managment only managment just like Spillane with mcgenney and sweeny with cuthbhertt and o se and masters purely only field play

Are you that hard up that again you fail counter debate questions I asked you regards team only come back is usual lazy excuse is anyone critsed set up player has agenda
    No no no no no no agenda but yes my agenda is want cork football be best that can be
    Simple really

For what it worth cuthbhertt should be administration as good at that stuff in development plans under age etc and huge part development quads

Just like humphrey Kellher fantastic blue print for Dublin hurling
    However they are great those skills but as both proved not management skills
    That's not slight them person all it is saying poor management on field play

You say you have no information close players but you have information moral is good
    Donnacha didn't look too happy coming off did he now
    With respect I don't care either way whether you think I'm negative
    I'm not I'm just being realistic
    Cork had one way game v kerry that your blowing out of proportion
    Look Denis Walsh beat tipperary's munster and was poor
    Limerick one game v kk last year that was it
    Matt o Connor came within close extra time beat championship toulon but leinster weren't fooled in one game never made it in so poor v bath and all year that all season not one off back wall scenario saved him they realised he coaching good other teams not for leinster

Cuthbhertt like Connor isn't best coaching fit cork
    No agenda just on managment alone
    I'm cork like you I want cork win all Ireland not celebrate draw against complacent weaker kerry the ist day
    Wrist band reference is imo total again focus on players mentality by management in if cork failed it like players total reason
    There at fault
    Cuthbhertt unlike jbm and Gavin never once never once admitted he's management were completely wrong after defeat and unlike jbm and Gavin by not doing do put huge onus players and imo players will self doubt there confidence and Cork didn't look confidence team

D'Agger wrote: »
    I don't think anybody needs to apologise for giving O'Neill some stick, along with the rest of Corks FF line the other day - you're analysing one match, two if you're taking the drawn game into it - not a players entire career. O'Neill is a very talented footballer, as are many of the Cork team, but playing in patches isn't enough. O'Connor drove Cork forwards after Moran got black carded the first day - he was negated at midfield this time around and I was expecting one of the half back line or half forward line to pick up the mantle and try drag Cork back into it - unfortunately it didn't materialise and Kerry were comfortable around the middle 8 for the majority of the game

I said in another thread the other day - Tomás O'Sé stated that Cork tended to lack a plan B when things aren't going their way - and it showed again with O'Connor going in full forward - looked like it hadn't been practiced atall. You should have enough to get past Kildare, I genuinely hope you do, but if you face Dublin after that then a plan B has to be in the works that either negates Dublin going forwards or causes them problems at the back - you have the players to do both, it just needs work in order to be implemented better. However now, with the qualifiers, means you're under time pressure.

Agree o se was right with Cork

I'm in the same boat - I wouldn't criticise Hurley or CON but the movement from JOD and Geaney was unreal.

Hurley needs a few scores - it was a shame for him and Cork that his narrow wide didn't go over. However, I've seen enough of him at club and IC to know that he's a quality forward and he'll be fine once he raises a few white flags.

We are only developing a system - we had no time last year to do meaningful work and the league isn't much good as it lacks intensity - the Clare game - we didn't want to show our hand and set up in a traditional way. So the drawn game was the first real test of our new system and there was a few blips. The same on Saturday.

We face a massive test to get our spirits lifted again for Kildare - very few beaten provincial finalists can deal with a week turnaround.

Our players and management need support and not criticism now - let's hope that people will travel to Thurles.
    We have been building since sligo this system last year
    Dublin completely change their system in one year and only started in November
    Nobody saying don't support cork football

But what is true support, say nothing when real problem in team and nothing changes were same position next year
    Man United improved as honesty this year know change needed
    That's all fans want is honesty in cork football
    No excuse for time and league when most teams defy your logic
    Cork had plenty time to prepare
    Look at cork hurling change system in two games huge improvement
    Five championship games since last year and lot old problem remain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

**** building for the future, blooding players etc the future is now. Cokr football is always talking about the future..........imo we did ok with kerrry up to a point on Saturday, a moments lapse in the defence and kery got a goal - after that cork fell apart and here is where things get very bleak.
    The good teams are able to change things on the pitch with direction from the line, going long to a target man is a perfectly acceptable plan b, but it must be rehearsed and must involve a man playing on the square who is comfortable there, NOT a hard working midfielder who has never played there ffs.......Kerry couldn't believe their luck. If cork want that as plan b then they should have persevered with young peter Kelleher instead of having 3 exact same type of forwards on the bench like hodnett, hayes and goulding........would that have worked, probably not but at least it would have shown a plan b instead of the full on panic that emenated from the line and translated onto the pitch with players taking crazy pot shots. That could easily have been built into the team since the forst game, but what do cork do......nothing exact same system again vs Kerry ffs you wouldn't do it at junior b level as teams would find you out.
    Brian hurley is playing poorly but he is also playing too far from goal and is the right man to have next to a ball winning full forward as is daniael goulding the forgotten man of this set up.
    For the next day start goulding, give the man 50 minutes, give hurley a rest and bring him on, bring the likes of Kelleher into the squad instead of the ineffective hayes or hodnett, they need to think again about barry o driscoll if they are serious, a decent player going forward Dublin definitely but Kildare also will follow the Kerry blueprint and push him towards his own goal. Midfield with oconnor and deane to start with an odrsicoll to come in because at this stage fintan has ran his race imo.
    Cork must shake it up, actually work on a plan b instead of just talk about it (one of this managements great strengths is talking - they talk a great game) or else possibly Kildare but certainly Dublin will absolutely destroy cork

sean mac wrote: »
    **** building for the future, blooding players etc the future is now. Cokr football is always talking about the future..........imo we did ok with kerrry up to a point on Saturday, a moments lapse in the defence and kery got a goal - after that cork fell apart and here is where things get very bleak.
    The good teams are able to change things on the pitch with direction from the line, going long to a target man is a perfectly acceptable plan b, but it must be rehearsed and must involve a man playing on the square who is comfortable there, NOT a hard working midfielder who has never played there ffs.......Kerry couldn't believe their luck. If cork want that as plan b then they should have persevered with young peter Kelleher instead of having 3 exact same type of forwards on the bench like hodnett, hayes and goulding........would that have worked, probably not but at least it would have shown a plan b instead of the full on panic that emenated from the line and translated onto the pitch with players taking crazy pot shots. That could easily have been built into the team since the forst game, but what do cork do......nothing exact same system again vs Kerry ffs you wouldn't do it at junior b level as teams would find you out.
    Brian hurley is playing poorly but he is also playing too far from goal and is the right man to have next to a ball winning full forward as is daniael goulding the forgotten man of this set up.
    For the next day start goulding, give the man 50 minutes, give hurley a rest and bring him on, bring the likes of Kelleher into the squad instead of the ineffective hayes or hodnett, they need to think again about barry o driscoll if they are serious, a decent player going forward Dublin definitely but Kildare also will follow the Kerry blueprint and push him towards his own goal. Midfield with oconnor and deane to start with an odrsicoll to come in because at this stage fintan has ran his race imo.
    Cork must shake it up, actually work on a plan b instead of just talk about it (one of this managements great strengths is talking - they talk a great game) or else possibly Kildare but certainly Dublin will absolutely destroy cork
    Blunt harsh not an easy read but totally totally one hundred percent correct

Christ above Dublin will absoultey destroy cork if changes aren't made

Sean would you agree with the view i have kerry were complacent and off the boil ist game and Cork one off game

Would you think management improved at all this year and where
    Do you belive in weather lady luck against cork and if so is it time for hundred hail Marys and we should ask future games be played under a roof

How would you rate Cork defensive wise
    Regarding management do they deserve a second term and if not who would you put in
    Your an absolute astute poster judge player how would you rate maceoin
    What would be your team v Kildare with Dublin in mind

Do you think some here being harsh regards sunday or just realistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

Anyone else having trouble with season ticket web site

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,299 ✭✭✭slingerz

just my thoughts on things

I actually reckon things arent that bad for Cork footballers. Losing a replay to Kerry in Killarney isnt a shock nor is it something to be ashamed of. I think Cork played as well as they can expect really. In terms of ranking Kerry and Dublin have better players/athletes than Cork, Donegal are possibly further along in their development as a team as are Mayo with Cork coming behind them along with Monaghan & Tyrone.

Cork struggled in the transition from defence to attack, Kerry have better footballers to distribute the ball into their forwards than Cork do using kick passes and also possess a target man and an inside forward with movement that Cork dont possess. The use of the sweeper by Cork was the correct tactical decision however the insistance on running the ball into the forward line given the weather conditions was unwise and a targetman would have been more ideal really.

I think Cuthbert is an ok manager, nothing great but not as bad as he is often made out to be. He's not good enough to win something especially with a group that would not be the strongest group in the competition which is something really good managers can do.

I think in moving on Pierce O'Neill, Kissane, Canty, Noel O'Leary, Alan O'Connor last season was unwise. Certainly Noel O'Leary's performances in the club championship indicate that he cant cut it anymore as injuries have caught up with him but i think the others would be certainly good influences on the side, if not to start then definitely from the bench.

I think Cork are in a state of transition at present and the coach that comes in needs to build a squad and panel and be given time and the resources to do so. I dont think Cuthbert had that sort of development in mind and has fallen between 2 stools in a way. The defections of Walsh and Cahalane to the hurlers have hurt the football chances and it is a pity that those 2 are not available not to mention Ciaran Sheehan as things would be in a different state entirely if they were around with a good coaching setup.

I think Cork may beat Kildare next week but the end of the line is coming on the August Bank holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

Game fixed for Thurles Saturday evening, 1/4 finals involving Dublin and Kerry on Sunday August 2nd.

slingerz wrote: »
    just my thoughts on things

I actually reckon things arent that bad for Cork footballers. Losing a replay to Kerry in Killarney isnt a shock nor is it something to be ashamed of. I think Cork played as well as they can expect really. In terms of ranking Kerry and Dublin have better players/athletes than Cork, Donegal are possibly further along in their development as a team as are Mayo with Cork coming behind them along with Monaghan & Tyrone.

Cork struggled in the transition from defence to attack, Kerry have better footballers to distribute the ball into their forwards than Cork do using kick passes and also possess a target man and an inside forward with movement that Cork dont possess. The use of the sweeper by Cork was the correct tactical decision however the insistance on running the ball into the forward line given the weather conditions was unwise and a targetman would have been more ideal really.

I think Cuthbert is an ok manager, nothing great but not as bad as he is often made out to be. He's not good enough to win something especially with a group that would not be the strongest group in the competition which is something really good managers can do.

I think in moving on Pierce O'Neill, Kissane, Canty, Noel O'Leary, Alan O'Connor last season was unwise. Certainly Noel O'Leary's performances in the club championship indicate that he cant cut it anymore as injuries have caught up with him but i think the others would be certainly good influences on the side, if not to start then definitely from the bench.

I think Cork are in a state of transition at present and the coach that comes in needs to build a squad and panel and be given time and the resources to do so. I dont think Cuthbert had that sort of development in mind and has fallen between 2 stools in a way. The defections of Walsh and Cahalane to the hurlers have hurt the football chances and it is a pity that those 2 are not available not to mention Ciaran Sheehan as things would be in a different state entirely if they were around with a good coaching setup.

I think Cork may beat Kildare next week but the end of the line is coming on the August Bank holiday

Some valid point
    But Cork football should just give up with respect if we entertainment loosing kerry no big deal

How gods name can cork football change legacy if accept loosing kerry okay

When mcguimness came Donegal he sick being always humiliation Tyrone
    He told players no more
    They expected beat Tyrone and now dominate them

Cork ladies football had culture failures
    New management Ryan changes that mental attributes as expected wanted beat kerry and demanded it
    If we don't see loosing kerry is failure let's be honest were just aiming second best and in truth will never change attuide one all ireland twenty years fine

Cork three years ago should been ahead kerry in transition
    Kerry now beaten cork three years row
    Your view is roll over accept it
    With respect cork football deserves more and proper coaching could complete with kerry
    I agree other points though