Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The 2015 All Ireland Senior Football Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

Jayop wrote: »
    I don't think the championship results have been as bad as is made out nor has the slip been as severe. Donegal have had the hex over us in Ulster for the last 5 years and it's really choking any progress as we're having to go in at round 1 or 2 of the qualifiers every year.

We won back to back Ulster championships in 09/10

2011 - beat by Donegal in Ulster and Dublin in Quarter Final
    2012 - beat by Donegal in Ulster and Kerry in Qualifiers in Tralee
    2013 - beat by Donegal in Ulster and Mayo in Semi Finals
    2014 - beat by Monaghan in Ulster and Armagh in Qualifiers
    2015 - beat by Donegal in Ulster and still in championship

So in the last 5 years we've only lost to one side we should really have beaten in Armagh. Losing to Donegal, Dublin, Kerry and a decent Monaghan side isn't the big slide into mediocrity it was made out to be.

I'm not suggesting that Tyrone are down among the dregs but there does look to be a fair bit of a gap between Tyrone and the top teams. There's little to no evidence that Harte has shown any sort of ability to close this gap.

The qualifiers results in those 5 years have been mediocre, especially when you look at it in terms of challenging for Sam - there's been little to nothing to suggest that Harte is capable of getting the team capable of seriously challenging for Sam in the future. Tyrone have put away a couple of the also-rans by large margins but the last 3 years in particular, Tyrone have had 4 games won by 2 point margins against middling opposition.

This year Tyrone beat Limerick by 9 and Meath by 2
    Last year beat Louth by 17 and Kildare by 2
    2013 beat Offaly by 22 points and Roscommon by 2 and Kildare by 2
    2012 beat Roscommon by 11
    2011 beat Longford by 5, Armagh by 6 and Roscommon by 11

Overall there is very little to point at when you look at the results, that you can use to say that Harte is the right man for the job. Throw in the fact that Tyrone will be down in what looks like it will be a tricky enough Division 2 next year [if you want to develop lads who have just won an U21 All-Ireland, you want them to be playing in Division 1 as opposed to in division 2] It was Harte's opinion a few years back that it was virtually impossible[i'm not 100% on the wording] to win Sam if a team wasn't playing in Division 1.

If it were only the results it would be one thing, but when the relationship with the county board is poor and the media is poor and you have lots of lads opting out, it's very hard to see him staying on. When push comes to shove do the GAA folk of Tyrone see Harte turning things around if he is given another 2/3 years or are Tyrone's chances of competing for Sam likely to be improved if there is someone new brought in. At what point do Tyrone GAA step in and say thanks for all you did but those past victories don't mean you have the manager job in perpituity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Look, I'm off the opinion that things need to change in Tyrone and the U21 management team should be given the chance, but I'm just making the point that it's not all doom and gloom. It feels like we've been in transition for 5 years now and that's clearly too long but the fact is, we're not a Dublin, Kerry, or Mayo that can expect to win a provincial every year and get to the AI final every two years. We've only been in 4 AI finals in our history and only one of them pre-dates Harte's time in charge. People have high expectations of Tyrone both inside and outside the county and that's all down to what Harte has done in the past. He's a bit of a victim of his own success.

Even that list of winning results that you've shown up there doesn't make for bad reading for me. We hammered a lot of teams and the sides we only beat by 2 are what I'd call tier 2 teams who generally set up very defensive against us. An All Ireland semi final less than two years ago tells me we're not a millions miles away, especially one we were well in up till Harte went off in the second half after one of the hardest shoulders I can remember. We lost that game by 6 points in the end but we were leading well into the second half iirc.

As for the 6 lads who walked away, TBF they were fringe players but you'd still like to see them busting for a place rather than quitting.

This next month will tell a lot. If we can get past Tipp (difficult) then we'll probably face Sligo or Monaghan in the 4th round. I'd give us a chance against Monaghan and make us strong favourites against Sligo. The next match will be key to deciding if Harte stays. Beat Mayo or Donegal in the quarters and he gets another year. Lose and he's probably gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,513 ✭✭✭seanhynes

He's outstayed his last in my opinion he should have stepped down last season or maybe walked away 10 years on from 03 after the Mayo loss in the semis 2years ago,whats wrong with him and RTE what's happened there? I wasn't aware of any trouble

seanhynes wrote: »
    He's outstayed his last in my opinion he should have stepped down last season or maybe walked away 10 years on from 03 after the Mayo loss in the semis 2years ago,whats wrong with him and RTE what's happened there? I wasn't aware of any trouble

The issues with RTE are all stemming from a sketch on the John Murray show shortly after his daughter was murdered lampooning Harte as a moron going to see the Dali Lama singing pretty little girl from Omagh. It was pretty shocking insensitivity from them.

he also took issue with someone in RTE sport being passed up for a job iirc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86 ✭✭MattB11

That's disgusting from RTE, On Harte I think he will go when he himself decides its time 3 AI wins in 5 yrs will allow that , although IMO a change in management team may be exactly what they need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

I've great respect for Tyrones style of football. Indeed I credit trying to beat it as a main driver for my teams change of style. The Donegal lads might not admit it but going past Tyrone or bringing that style on again was a defining achievement for them too.

Thing is for Tyrone they are kind of a yard stick now, they have been the team to out muscle now since 2010. Kerry aside, Mayo, Dublin and Donegal all put a special effort in to physically dominate Tyrone, not just to win. Indeed having done so puts you at the table of being one of the top teams, all the above teams have done that and throw Monaghan in there too, that was huge for them to beat Tyrone, doing so seemed to defined their season that year, it looked like an all Ireland win at the time. I saw Dublin beating Tyrone as more significant than beating Kerry in 2011.

In many ways Tyrone are a victim of their own success. They are never taken for granted and there are a number of squads that seem to have an axe to grind with Tyrone, we still identify them with the old squad even thought it's more or less a different team now.

When you think of it the top four/six teams all still consider Tyrone a scalp. When you look at things you have the top teams followed by Tyrone followed by the next layer IMO.

IMO, Outside of Cork, Dublin, Kerry, Donegal, Mayo , Monaghan if a team beats Tyrone it's a shock. If Tyrone were to beat one of those six teams they'd possibly take their place at the table.

I don't think they will build a new team with the current management team.
    They may have the basis to do it, and there is a good foundation. If MH left he's still very highly regarded and the under 21 are coming through, the development infrastructure is working.

That's my twisted take on it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

He has stabilised them as a top 8 team that are regular QF/Semi Finalists. Not bad but given their track record and under age success he needs to progress.

It's damning that Donegal and arguably Monaghan (despite the foot trip) are ahead of them, and points too Harte not adapting that well to the changes in the game over the last few years.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,313 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Stoner, no Donegal person, well maybe a very odd one, has a problem admitting how significant beating Tyrone and out Tyroning them was. We take what seems to be our annual Championship match against them very seriously.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,010 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I think Harte should go, purely because I don't think its a good thing for any manager to stay for too long. But it does seem like people are overestimating the players Tyrone currently have and so underestimating the job Harte is doing.

Tyrone are quite similar to Armagh in that they are still seen as one of the powerhouse teams, but its a perception based on previous successful teams and not on the players they currently have.

The point being, if people think that Harte should go because he doesn't have Tyrone competing, well they really should be careful what they wish for. Is any other manager going to get that squad to an All-Ireland title? I very much doubt it. Tyrone could easily find themselves in a long term slump like Armagh, or be like Kildare who got rid of McGeeney and now find that actually he wasn't doing too bad with the raw material he had available.

I do think Harte should go, a fresh approach is always needed. But if he does go I still wouldn't expect to see Tyrone lifting Sam any time soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

Look, I'm off the opinion that things need to change in Tyrone and the U21 management team should be given the chance, but I'm just making the point that it's not all doom and gloom. It feels like we've been in transition for 5 years now and that's clearly too long but the fact is, we're not a Dublin, Kerry, or Mayo that can expect to win a provincial every year and get to the AI final every two years. We've only been in 4 AI finals in our history and only one of them pre-dates Harte's time in charge. People have high expectations of Tyrone both inside and outside the county and that's all down to what Harte has done in the past. He's a bit of a victim of his own success.

Even that list of winning results that you've shown up there doesn't make for bad reading for me. We hammered a lot of teams and the sides we only beat by 2 are what I'd call tier 2 teams who generally set up very defensive against us. An All Ireland semi final less than two years ago tells me we're not a millions miles away, especially one we were well in up till Harte went off in the second half after one of the hardest shoulders I can remember. We lost that game by 6 points in the end but we were leading well into the second half iirc.

As for the 6 lads who walked away, TBF they were fringe players but you'd still like to see them busting for a place rather than quitting.

This next month will tell a lot. If we can get past Tipp (difficult) then we'll probably face Sligo or Monaghan in the 4th round. I'd give us a chance against Monaghan and make us strong favourites against Sligo. The next match will be key to deciding if Harte stays. Beat Mayo or Donegal in the quarters and he gets another year. Lose and he's probably gone.

Did you forget 1986 or 1995??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

A little blog I wrote defending the current state of the game (brianshazam.blogspot.ie):

If you are to believe the hype, then it's time to don the black suit and form a sombre guard of honour. Because apparently gaelic football as we know it is dead and gone. It has been replaced by some unappealing hybrid of basketball and soccer, and "ain't what it used to be". Just this week, the most successful All-Ireland winning football manager of all-time, Mick O'Dwyer spoke out against how the game has evolved, and painted a picture of this bleak scene whereby the ball is moved through the hand far too often and the art of the kick-pass has been de-valued by managers favouring horse-power and stamina over honest effort and subtlety. While he is right to a point that the hand-pass is far more prevalent in the game today, I genuinely believe that those who bemoan it as a bad thing are firmly caught in the sands of time.

For a start, the timing of his lament couldn't be more fitting, coming as it does in the week after the Dubs steamrolled another team in Leinster with their "athletic" style of play. There was very little talk about the malaise of the game the previous week after Cork and Kerry played out that classic draw in Killarney. In fact, the football championship this year has already sprung up many a surprise, and produced a fair few entertaining games, such as Sligo defeating Roscommon, Westmeath's unlikely recovery to record their first ever championship win against Meath, Antrim beating Laois, Fermanagh beating Roscommon, and Wexford defeating Down. This is in stark contrast to a hurling championship which has seen increasingly more teams adopt the "revolutionary" game-plan of playing a sweeper in front of the defence, with the result being very few entertaining contests and no real under-dogs having their day (yes Laois beat Offaly for the first time in a generation, but such is Offaly's current fall from grace, that losing away to Laois was far from earth-shattering). In fact, that one bastion of sporting entertainment in the summer, the Munster hurling final, was a tactical dog-fight devoid of the usual break-neck speed hurling that advertises the ancient sport at it's best.

People also tend to point to Dublin's dominance of Leinster as a doomsday sign that the end of the big-ball code is near, well in reality their provincial hegemony is to their detriment when they enter the dangerous waters of the knockout-stages, emphasised by their winning of only three All-Ireland's in the last twenty years. Tyrone have won the same amount of Sam Maguire's in that period, and apparently the game was turning into a defensive quagmire with very little discernible excitement when they were having their day in the sun too. It just appears that it's those stars we see on Laochra Gael and All Ireland Gold, who have now ventured into punditry and media,pine for the days when Men were Men and tactics were the reserve of Army Generals. They are not for changing. The standard at which the top tier football teams play at has never been higher, and just because Dominant Team A defeats Smaller Team B by a high margin nine times out of ten, isn't a sleight at the game as a whole. It just seems that Gaelic football is the one sport where there is a clamour for rule-changes and a sense of forlorn about the future of the game based on one team hammering another on any given weekend.

(I seem to recall Sunderland getting thrashed 8-0 in the Premier League last season. They are professional players so it should be a much more level playing field. Time to split the Premier League in half etc.!!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 587 ✭✭✭JB81

Personally I have no outright opinion whether he should go or not go.
    But i think a different approach is needed, whether that be a different approach with Harte at the helm or not i don't really care. Harte for me has done as much as he can with what we have available.
    We obviously don't have the same talent there that we did in the 2000's. And may never get as good a group together at the same time.
    But we do have talent and can compete and would love to see a new approach in terms of tactic, on the field going forward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

I think Harte should go, purely because I don't think its a good thing for any manager to stay for too long. But it does seem like people are overestimating the players Tyrone currently have and so underestimating the job Harte is doing.

Tyrone are quite similar to Armagh in that they are still seen as one of the powerhouse teams, but its a perception based on previous successful teams and not on the players they currently have.

The point being, if people think that Harte should go because he doesn't have Tyrone competing, well they really should be careful what they wish for. Is any other manager going to get that squad to an All-Ireland title? I very much doubt it. Tyrone could easily find themselves in a long term slump like Armagh, or be like Kildare who got rid of McGeeney and now find that actually he wasn't doing too bad with the raw material he had available.

I do think Harte should go, a fresh approach is always needed. But if he does go I still wouldn't expect to see Tyrone lifting Sam any time soon.
    Completely agree with this. I think Tyrone have a lot of decent players but only a few excellent players (Cavanagh, Peter Harte, Mattie Donnelly spring to mind, after that I'm struggling). MH still has them feared as a team but tbh I think part of that is based on their past reputation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    Completely agree with this. I think Tyrone have a lot of decent players but only a few excellent players (Cavanagh, Peter Harte, Mattie Donnelly spring to mind, after that I'm struggling). MH still has them feared as a team but tbh I think part of that is based on their past reputation.

I'm not sure that they are feared as a team either. They are still viewed as a Top 6 team (I don't think they are) which makes them a big scalp for a Division 2 or 3 team. I know in my own county Tipp, supporters are really fancying their chances of an upset on Saturday whereas against the Kerry, the hope was just to push them close.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,175 ✭✭✭Ceist_Beag

robbiezero wrote: »
    I'm not sure that they are feared as a team either. They are still viewed as a Top 6 team (I don't think they are) which makes them a big scalp for a Division 2 or 3 team. I know in my own county Tipp, supporters are really fancying their chances of an upset on Saturday whereas against the Kerry, the hope was just to push them close.

I think Tipp have a good chance of an upset here but they would be wise not to get too cocky! If they can match the Tyrone workrate and physicality they have a real chance but as Nidge said earlier, there is every chance Tyrone could go out and teach them a lesson if their attitude is not 100% right. Tyrone were still a division 1 team this year while Tipp failed to get promotion from division 3 so Tyrone will still be strong favourites for this match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Ceist_Beag wrote: »
    I think Tipp have a good chance of an upset here but they would be wise not to get too cocky! If they can match the Tyrone workrate and physicality they have a real chance but as Nidge said earlier, there is every chance Tyrone could go out and teach them a lesson if their attitude is not 100% right. Tyrone were still a division 1 team this year while Tipp failed to get promotion from division 3 so Tyrone will still be strong favourites for this match.

I would say they are hopeful more than overly confident. It would have been long before my time since Tipp took a major scalp at senior level so there is no reason for them to be cocky. They generally are a very hard working team so I would have no worries on that score. My feeling is that it will be a close defensive game, but that little bit of extra quality that the likes of Cavanagh and Donnelly etc bring might just see Tyrone through.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

The issues with RTE are all stemming from a sketch on the John Murray show shortly after his daughter was murdered lampooning Harte as a moron going to see the Dali Lama singing pretty little girl from Omagh. It was pretty shocking insensitivity from them.

he also took issue with someone in RTE sport being passed up for a job iirc.

That's not really what it was about.

The sketch was having a go at Mickey because he made a big deal over Brian Carthy being passed over for a big position at RTE. Harte made a big deal out of it at the time and refused to talk to RTE.

The sketch was based around John Murray ringing Mickey to ask for permission to run the show the way he wanted, having a go at Mickey interfering in RTE business.

Mickey wasn't visiting the Dalai Lama or singing Pretty Little Girl from Omagh, but Murray was asking him what would be acceptable on the show, and while I don't get the Dalai Lama reference, Pretty Little Girl from Omagh was most likely referred to as it is a song about Tyrone rather then aimed at Michaela.

It was stupid from RTE, but they were quite clearly not trying to have a go at Michaela, or call MH a moron, but telling him to mind his own business when it comes to RTE appointments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,607 ✭✭✭patmac

Are the quarter-final draws done? The Indo is saying the winner of Cork/Kerry plays Fermanagh/Westmeath and the losers face Dublin. Having said that the QF's could be the best time to meet the Dubs after their snooze through Leinster winning by an average of almost 20 points per game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,367 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

patmac wrote: »
    Are the quarter-final draws done? The Indo is saying the winner of Cork/Kerry plays Fermanagh/Westmeath and the losers face Dublin. Having said that the QF's could be the best time to meet the Dubs after their snooze through Leinster winning by an average of almost 20 points per game.

Winners of Cork\Kerry can play either winner of Fermanagh\Westemath or Kildare if Kildare beat the loser of Cork\Kerry

Loser of Cork\Kerry plays Kildare and if they win that they play Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,101 ✭✭✭klairondavis

If Munster runners up & Westmeath win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Munster runners up, Munster winners v Westmeath

If Kildare & Westmeath win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Kildare, Munster winners v Westmeath

If Munster runners up & Fermanagh win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Munster runners up, Munster winners v Fermanagh

If Kildare & Fermanagh win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Fermanagh, Munster winners v Kildare

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

If Munster runners up & Westmeath win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Munster runners up, Munster winners v Westmeath

If Kildare & Westmeath win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Kildare, Munster winners v Westmeath

If Munster runners up & Fermanagh win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Munster runners up, Munster winners v Fermanagh

If Kildare & Fermanagh win in R4 - Quarter Finals: Dublin v Fermanagh, Munster winners v Kildare

My brain hurts after that!!

Basically the only team the Munster runner up can get if they win in R4 is Dublin and the only team Westmeath can meet is the Munster winners. Kildare and Fermanagh could get either provincial winner depending on who wins the other qualifier tie. In the last scenario where both Kildare and Fermanagh win Kildare would have to face the Munster runners up because Dublin v Kildare is a repeat tie. Dublin v Kildare would happen if Kildare and Westmeath win because Dublin v Westmeath is a repeat provincial final tie.

To the best of my knowledge the only repeat ties that are not allowed are the ones where the provincial champ plays the team that they beat in their provincial final, i.e Dublin v Westmeath would not be allowed if Westmeath beat Fermanagh.

Other repeat ties do seem to be allowed, because we have already seen Offaly v Longford and Fermanagh v Antrim twice this year.

To the best of my knowledge the only repeat ties that are not allowed are the ones where the provincial champ plays the team that they beat in their provincial final, i.e Dublin v Westmeath would not be allowed if Westmeath beat Fermanagh.

Other repeat ties do seem to be allowed, because we have already seen Offaly v Longford and Fermanagh v Antrim twice this year.

Seemingly that goes out the window at the quarter final stage. Repeat provincial final ties will definitely not happen. If a repeat provincial tie that wasn't a final can be avoided (as in the last scenario with Kildare & Fermanagh being the "A" qualifier teams) then the quarter finals will be fixed to avoid it.

Where are you getting the information that repeat ties are out the window at the quarter final stage.

On you other point this is the first season that they have adjusted the A and B side to prevent a provincial final repeat as early as the SF

In 2014 the 2 A side winners (Cork, Galway) played Connacht (Mayo) and Munster (Kerry)
    B side winners (Armagh, Monaghan), played Ulster (Donegal) and Leisnter (Dublin)
    Then you had the regular SF rotation, i.e Munster v Connacht, Leinster v Ulster.

In the 2005 and 2006 they did something similar, I think it may have been reduce the chances of an all single province final as we saw in 2003.

In those years the loser of a province or their 4th round victor played the winner of the province that corresponded to the SF rotation.
    i.e
    QF = Loser of Connacht/qualifter v Munster, loser of Munster/qualifier v Connacht,
    SF = Connact v Munstrer.

However this year you have the A side playing Munster and Leinster and the B side playing Ulster and Connacht and then you have the regular SF rotation, i.e Munster/A v Ulster/B and Leinster/A v Connacht/B

JB81 wrote: »
    Did you forget 1986 or 1995??

86, sure I was only 4 at the time in my defence!
    DDC1990 wrote: »
    That's not really what it was about.

The sketch was having a go at Mickey because he made a big deal over Brian Carthy being passed over for a big position at RTE. Harte made a big deal out of it at the time and refused to talk to RTE.

The sketch was based around John Murray ringing Mickey to ask for permission to run the show the way he wanted, having a go at Mickey interfering in RTE business.

Mickey wasn't visiting the Dalai Lama or singing Pretty Little Girl from Omagh, but Murray was asking him what would be acceptable on the show, and while I don't get the Dalai Lama reference, Pretty Little Girl from Omagh was most likely referred to as it is a song about Tyrone rather then aimed at Michaela.

It was stupid from RTE, but they were quite clearly not trying to have a go at Michaela, or call MH a moron, but telling him to mind his own business when it comes to RTE appointments.

I may have worded my post badly but I didn't mean they had him singing the song, but the sung was being sung. The song being played at all was at very best downright insensitivity and at worst a more sinister warning to Harte that RTE won't be messed with. There was DL reference and I don't get it myself apart from it was something that was happening at the time and perhaps they were suggesting he would have to go to get some enlightenment. They most certainly did portray him as a moron in the sketch and while it was all as a result of his commenting on RTE appointments (which as a public company we all have a right to do), it strikes me as something that RTE did on purpose as a shot across the bows to anyone who would have the cheek to question them.

Tyrone have since then been a pet hate of RTE and have come in for complete undue and OTT criticism from them which has in turn badly effected public perception and quite possibly how our games are being refereed.

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/gaa/rte-apologise-to-harte-for-offence-163387.html

Part of the Tyrone camp’s statement read: “Inappropriate references to the fact that the Tyrone manager Mickey Harte was associated with the Dali [sic] Lama conference in Limerick and the choice of the song “Pretty Little Girl from Omagh” will give you an indication of the complete lack of sensitivity the presenter in question afforded the Harte family and Michaela’s husband John McAreavey, in what remains for them a very difficult time

Where are you getting the information that repeat ties are out the window at the quarter final stage.

From a Leinster Council delegate.

I also think repeat ties were only permitted in rounds 1 & 2 this year and not in rounds 3 & 4 onwards but I'm not 100% sure on that.

The only repeat tie that can happen on the "A" side in the quarter finals is Dublin v Kildare and that will only happen if Kildare and Westmeath win their respective round 4 qualifiers. Clear as mud!

From a Leinster Council delegate.

I also think repeat ties were only permitted in rounds 1 & 2 this year and not in rounds 3 & 4 onwards but I'm not 100% sure on that.

The only repeat tie that can happen on the "A" side in the quarter finals is Dublin v Kildare and that will only happen if Kildare and Westmeath win their respective round 4 qualifiers. Clear as mud!

If the losers of the ulster and connaught finals win their games in round 4 then they could be drawn against the winners of the finals again in the QF's unless, if as you say, there's a ruling against it but I've not read it anywhere.

If Ulster loser wins R4 they will play Connacht winner and if Connacht loser wins R4 they will play Ulster winner.

Repeat provincial final ties are not permitted at 1/4 final stage. Repeat ties of other prior provincial matches (first round, quarter finals, semi finals) are permitted but will be avoided where possible.

No they can't, because a provincial winner cannot play the team they beat in the final in their next game.

If the losers of Connacht, lets say Mayo and Donegal for example, win their 4th round games then Mayo cannot play Sligo and Donegal cannot play Monaghan
    So Mayo will play Monaghan and Donegal will play Sligo.