If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,006 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Mother: "Darling, will you answer the phone!"

Father: "Ahhhh, ok. Hello?"

Mother: "You're back quick. Who was it?"

Father: "Well, there was that initial time delay, and as I expected, I could hear some Asian voices, so I hung up immediately."

Mother: "Bloody call centres! Back to sleep so. Goodnight dear."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

How did this crowd even make it to the correct departure gate at Dublin Airport?

Simple. They flew out of Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

No, C4 people holiday inn West Cork. West Cork natives do not speak like C4 people. When I was in first year in college I shared a house with 4 guys from Skibbereen/Schull/Ballydehob etc. When I came home at the weekends my mother was "mortified" at how my accent had morphed into indecipherable gobbledegook.

And has remained so ever since!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Whenever I am on a trip like that I always have a Plan B and if I can a Plan C, they didn't even have a Plan A.

Im going on holidays to a foreign country but we wont organise or plan anything, and sure don't worry about ignoring local laws and customs....a sure it'll be grand!! OMG! LOL!! :):P:pac:<3

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

GAA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,596 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

How did people ever manage abroad with no mobiles to contact mammy and daddy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Was his brother called Lazarus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Lavhline gold!

How did people ever manage abroad with no mobiles to contact mammy and daddy?
    Public telephones!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Firefox11 wrote: »
    Im going on holidays to a foreign country but we wont organise or plan anything, and sure don't worry ignoring local laws and customs....a sure it'll be grand!! OMG! LOL!! :):P:pac:<3

Totes awkky mo-mo

Totally awkward moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

they have nick named him Lazarus....no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

So that's Lourdes, Fatima & Knock out of business
    Munster Finals from now on for cures

grassy knoll...

"I tink he iz dead"

Roger_007 wrote: »
    And has remained so ever since!:D

Lol. Funny - and true - story from that time.

I would have had a very neutral accent and after many years of elocution and a snobby mother I certainly knew how to mind my Ps and Qs and would go out of my way to pronounce every word correctly, avoiding slang, etc. etc. (basically I was a twat). After about 2 weeks of living with the West Cork Mafia, one of the lads asked one of others one day "did Butterssuki go to school in Australia?'. He was 100% serious.

Whenever I am on a trip like that I always have a Plan B and if I can a Plan C, they didn't even have a Plan A.

So you take the Carlsberg approach.

43000 at a Waferfurd/Tipp match?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

There was a doctors' and nurses' convention in the vicinity of Semple Stadium......

"deflibiwillilutor"

De-fib-YOU- lay-turr.

So that's Lourdes, Fatima & Knock out of business
    Munster Finals from now on for cures

replay this Saturday- is the brother going?

snubbleste wrote: »
    "deflibiwillilutor"

Joe's jealous.

there isn't that many Irish doctors in nurses in a single hospital in Ireland

Another call that Joe would have loved. Imagine the details he'd have got from it.

I went out with a doctor for a while. Anytime we were out she went miles out of her way to avoid situations where she might have to help.

hope he goes himself for a check up..would be wise thing to do I think..

Flukey wrote: »
    Another call that Joe would have loved. Imagine the details he'd have got from it.

WHOY did he DHOY?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,215 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

So what's the point of this story -- if you're going to have a heart attack, the Munster Final is the place to have it?

Kath-Hurrinn Peeee-turs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 23 djohnsongmx

Just killing the hours while Joe is away... Not that liveline is ever brave enough to discuss the topical issues any more..

You know, I'd love a discussion on that fight between the Dublin and Armagh players..