Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,414 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Postcodes in the UK, do you need to purchase them for business use?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭Uncle Ben

Cost of generating random codes: €0.01
    Consultant fees: €26,999,999.99

Your right. How did I forget them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Classic Ireland **** up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Richmond Ultra

Am missing some of this discussion as work keeps getting in the way
    What happens with these post codes - do you just put the postcode on the letter and leave out the address, or put the address plus the postcode on the letter

What does it matter about the postcode if the postman knows where you live

You can use just the code but an post can't guarantee it will be delivered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

What does it matter about the postcode if the postman knows where you live
    There is still some addressing software that throws a wobbly if you don't put a postcode in, but not as much as there used to be, as I've found from two decades of online ordering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Meathlass

It's actually Windsor Castle from the sky and an angle it's not normally photographed from. It is open to the public but even in the summer they close at around 5/5:30 so be warned (I learned this to my cost). Windsor is about 20mins (max) in a taxi from Heathrow and there's public transport too from the airport if required. As castles go, it's right up there with any I've visited. See Meathlass, we have so much in common…...;):D

Thanks, it looks fantastic. Unusual to see a motte preserved in such a site which has obviously been updated through the years. That's the next trip to London sorted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Cost of generating random codes: €0.01
    Consultant fees: €26,999,999.99

That figure of €0.01 needs to be investigated. It's suspiciously high IMO.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Wake up woman!!!!

GDY151

Good on ye, feck your misery mining.

Firefox11 wrote: »
    I would love to get a letter with harps on it! :P
    Just don't pay your property tax. You'll get them quick enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,515 ✭✭✭Firefox11

Woman not interested in eircode....Alleluia!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

How does it differ from standard post then? :rolleyes:

Brilliant, only in Ireland. The smart economy.

GDY151

Joe has some competition, there's a UFC fighter with the same name...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Duffy_%28fighter%29

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Roger_007 wrote: »
    Looks like Windsor Castle to me..........Y'know, Lizzies gaff!

Ah, that's where Joe is today. He's gone over to collect the rent from her. I hope she hasn't trashed the place on him. He'll be ringing PBH tomorrow if she has.

How does it differ from standard post then? :rolleyes:

Saves on ink.

Meathlass wrote: »
    Thanks, it looks fantastic. Unusual to see a motte preserved in such a site which has obviously been updated through the years. That's the next trip to London sorted.

If you're going there in the summer, check the times and be there as early as possible. I think 99% of the American and Japanese tourists to the UK were there the day I went. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,846 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Digging up a 2 year old misery story

a bit of a drinker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Why did this lady ring up? So we'd all know about her good work?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

BOOTIFOOL!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Having a beautiful send off really makes up for the way he died.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

Digging up a 2 year old misery story

a bit of a drinker

Hopefully, not literally digging up!:eek:

ennisfm

Joe has some competition, there's a UFC fighter with the same name...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joseph_Duffy_%28fighter%29

Lol. Imagine Joe covering it "I do be do be do be seeing that Joseph Duffy - no relation I assure you - does be doing dis UFC killings stuff now"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

lazygal wrote: »
    Having a beautiful send off really makes up for the way he died.
    He received a lot of help from the local community but his addiction killed him in the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

If you're going there in the summer, check the times and be there as early as possible. I think 99% of the American and Japanese tourists to the UK were there the day I went. :mad:

The other 1% had taken a day trip to Clontarf to see Joe's place. It is handy enough from the airport.

MrsD007 wrote: »

Eircode paid her. It's called deflection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭constitutionus

hang on did he just ask of a guys thats dead "was it always so tough for him?"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,129 ✭✭✭my friend

MrsD007 wrote: »

When this lady says Yep, yep = don't ask me anymore, don't probe

you have thanked them now feck off