Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

UFC 189 - McGregor v Mendes *READ MOD WARNING IN 1st POST*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭Dietsquirt

martyos121 wrote: »
    Wouldn't put money near a guy who is 4-0 in the UFC (method of victories aside) and is fighting a fighter on the decline with thousands of Irish supporting him?

I'd genuinely like to hear why you would write him off so emphatically.

Need I say more?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Don't know how mcgregor got out of that choke. His neck was twisted right around. I thought he was ****ed. Shows the fight in him to get out of it. Got up then and knocked him out. Some man. Go on mc Gregor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,933 ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

DeVore wrote: »
    So, just waking up after that night of fights... That card was *stacked*... I was really hoping Conor would finish it with a flying knee just to keep it on theme! :)

The fight went pretty much how I predicted, Conor couldn't stop Mendes taking him down, Mendes couldn't stop Conor getting back up and Conor was absolutely dominant on the feet.

The game plan was smart, Mendes is carrying an *awful* lot of muscle on him and that drains blood and oxygen so I thought he might have problems with cardio. Clearly so did JK and Conor... from the off they targeted his body and Conor is right, if you've never been teeped in the gut you would dismiss them as annoyance kicks but man they drain your energy like nothing else. From the first round Mendes looked like he was in trouble with his cardio and it showed. At the end he was gassed imho and he was pretty much out on his feet before the left-straight.

Conor might be putting on a brave face but his ground game, to borrow a phrase from himself, was basic. He never looked like getting out from under Mendes and that wasn't a full mount, he was in Conor's guard! Against the likes of a cardio bunny like Edgar, that wont do.

All that said, what a cracking night to be an Irish fight fan.
    Edgar really should push now for the next opportunity and skip Aldo, he's got all the tools to beat Conor, cardio, ground game and he's survived some hard punches before.

I still don't like him, but fair play to McGregor all the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭Feckthis

Lots of people jumping on a bandwagon on Facebook saying it was fixed to finish in second round. And awful convinent it finished just at the end of the second round. Saying it was stopped to quick. Don't think so myself. What uses think here? There is hardly fixing at that sort of level?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Feckthis wrote: »
    Lots of people jumping on a bandwagon on Facebook saying it was fixed to finish in second round. And awful convinent it finished just at the end of the second round. Saying it was stopped to quick. Don't think so myself. What uses think here? There is hardly fixing at that sort of level?

don't be ridiculous. Anybody who thinks it was fixed hasn't a clue abot mma

• Closed Accounts Posts: 994 ✭✭✭Tilikum

stephenl15 wrote: »
    don't be ridiculous. Anybody who thinks it was fixed hasn't a clue abot mma

I don't think it was fixed but it was stopped very, very quickly. Most of the fights I've seen will see yer man take more punishment than he should. I was very surprised to see it stopped - Mendes was covered up with 3secs left Ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,502 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

darced wrote: »

That fight was one of the most brutal things I've ever seen that could be deemed 'legal'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Mendes 100% fit would've been more interesting but his ground game didn't really threaten Conor tbh. Unless he could lay on him for 5 or sap his energy he wasn't going to win by wrestling, there was no threat of a sub or ko on the ground IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Tilikum wrote: »
    I don't think it was fixed but it was stopped very, very quickly. Most of the fights I've seen will see yer man take more punishment than he should. I was very surprised to see it stopped - Mendes was covered up with 3secs left Ffs.

Tbh, I think a fight should be stopped pretty quickly if somebody goes into turtle mode. They are telling the ref that they are too shook to defend themselves.

Do you think they should let him come out for the next round punch drunk and possibly concussed, just in case he might be able to carry on?

Mendes should have done more to defend, but I think Herb was very eager to jump in.

What was weirder to me was seeing Mendes tired 30 seconds in, I know he took it on short notice but that didn't add up for me seeing hes usually a cardio machine.

Delighted for Gunnar , great result for him.

and 2 flying knee ko's in one night too.

darced wrote: »
    Believe me that guillotine was as close as it gets.

I remember for a second thinking he was done actually, you're right. Conor defended really well though. Take down defence needs huge work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭cloudatlas

I thought Conor was as good as expected on the ground, escaped the guillotine twice, he skipped out of holds a few times too.

People still aren't giving him due respect, he had a game plan, attack the body shots wear Chad down go for endurance, get chad breathing hard.

Did herb Dean stop the fight too early given that the round was running out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

sonofenoch wrote: »
    That fight was one of the most brutal things I've ever seen that could be deemed 'legal'

Couldn't agree more, he's some man to stand and trade with Robbie with his face being crushed into the back of his head

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

cloudatlas wrote: »
    I thought Conor was as good as expected on the ground, escaped the guillotine twice, he skipped out of holds a few times too.

People still aren't giving him due respect, he had a game plan, attack the body shots wear Chad down go for endurance, get chad breathing hard.

Did herb Dean stop the fight too early given that the round was running out?
    Why does it matter if the round was nearly over

He was floored and done, game over whether 3 minutes or 3 seconds

He said it himself.

Its devastating how close Rory was but he was a broken man in that 5th round. 10 more seconds in r3 and he might have won.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,104 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

Tbh, I think a fight should be stopped pretty quickly if somebody goes into turtle mode. They are telling the ref that they are too shook to defend themselves.

Do you think they should let him come out for the next round punch drunk and possibly concussed, just in case he might be able to carry on?

First rugby and now you're on the MMA bandwagon. If Shels ever start winning again you'll be straight back to Tolka. :-P

Completely agree though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

Why did he not chop his hair it was getting in his face a good bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Mendes should have done more to defend, but I think Herb was very eager to jump in.

What was weirder to me was seeing Mendes tired 30 seconds in, I know he took it on short notice but that didn't add up for me seeing hes usually a cardio machine.

It was Conor's first few kicks to Mendes's midsection

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,161 ✭✭✭Amazingfun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭rottie 11

First time watching mcgregor live last night . Watched all his fights on YouTube tho. Really enjoyed it tho , was funking shaking watching it lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭Davei141

What a card! Has there ever been so much build up and everything delivered? Loved the bit of respect and emotion at the end. Aldo fight is going to be on a different planet! i'm wrecked after that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

dave1982 wrote: »
    aMKEbtW.gif

Well, it's almost as if jumping up on things has no bearing on a fight!! Who'd a thunk it??

JJayoo wrote: »
    It was Conor's first few kicks to Mendes's midsection

Kicks taking effect that quickly doesn't seem realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,804 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Kicks taking effect that quickly doesn't seem realistic.

To the mid section they can work instantly, Imagine taking a shot to the stomach and being completely winded and then having to fight on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,965 ✭✭✭Help!!!!

Would all the people saying the fight got stopped early prefer Herb Dean ( who is regarded as the best ref in the UFC ) had not stopped it & Mendes ended up in hospital?
    Mendes got hit with two clean shots to the head & went down, he was very dazed. He himself said if Herb stopped it then it was the right thing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

Well, it's almost as if jumping up on things has no bearing on a fight!! Who'd a thunk it??

ah go way, Its just a funny video. I'm sure even Conor would see the funny side.