If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

GvidoR wrote: »
    Are you heading to the Galway C&C too, Mycroft?

Galway's a bit too far :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Oh... okay then... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

GvidoR wrote:
    Are you heading to the Galway C&C too, Mycroft?

Where abouts in Galway is it Gvidor? Headford road car park?

Dunnes stores SC car park, Briarhill

Quick decision, michelins or pirellis? Vague I know, but still if it was your car?

Michelin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I'm heading over to Ireland in October and I was thinking of changing my licence as it's getting quite destroyed (paper version).
    I do though need my licence when I go abroad which would be one week later. I heard I could say I "lost" it and that would let me keep my licence and also apply for the one.
    2 questions, 1) my paper licence expires in September 2016 - so if I get a new licence would it be valid for the year or for 10 years? Site is a big vague on that regarding the changes from June 2015.
    2) Is the licence sent out in the post or do you need to pick it up at the NDLS center?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

bear1 wrote: »
    I'm heading over to Ireland in October and I was thinking of changing my licence as it's getting quite destroyed (paper version).
    I do though need my licence when I go abroad which would be one week later. I heard I could say I "lost" it and that would let me keep my licence and also apply for the one.
    2 questions, 1) my paper licence expires in September 2016 - so if I get a new licence would it be valid for the year or for 10 years? Site is a big vague on that regarding the changes from June 2015.
    2) Is the licence sent out in the post or do you need to pick it up at the NDLS center?

Professional driver only 5 years and less for certain heallth conditions.

10years yes but you could be waiting a good few weeks for it in the post.

Sent by post yes

Quick decision, michelins or pirellis? Vague I know, but still if it was your car?

I'm not really a tyre expert, I'd just compare the ABCD ratings on the two I can afford and take the better ones, but I think Pirelli has a better ring to it.

So are you coming to the C&C? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Professional driver only 5 years and less for certain heallth conditions.

10years yes but you could be waiting a good few weeks for it in the post.

Sent by post yes

Sound, doesn't matter to me if I have to wait if I have my old one still with me. I can just get the parents to send it over..
    Stupid though, 35e if I've lost the licence and I'm given one for 10 years or I just renew the licence for 10 years and pay 55e.

GvidoR wrote:
    So are you coming to the C&C?

Naa, might be up in Gtown tomorrow evening, but for a different reason.

So I bit the bullet and bought 4 michelin energy savers for the focus. 205 55 16. B rating on fuel and an A on wet roads. 70 db. 100 a corner, but worth it, the minute I drove off I could feel the difference, quieter, and smoother.

The fitter said he would be disgusted if he only got 7k miles out of tyres (landsail). He wrote my mileage on the receipt, so I can see how long they last.

That's me done with budget tyres anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So I was driving to work earlier and just joined the Link, put the boot down and nothing, transmission went into failsafe and locked itself into 4th gear. Turned the car off and on again at the lights and it was back to normal. Not sure if it just got confused as I had just taken a corner when I accelerated and was just in standard Drive, which is a bit dumb to be fair. Been shifting and working fine up to now so hoping it was just a fluke.

So I bit the bullet and bought 4 michelin energy savers for the focus. 205 55 16. B rating on fuel and an A on wet roads. 70 db. 100 a corner, but worth it, the minute I drove off I could feel the difference, quieter, and smoother.

The fitter said he would be disgusted if he only got 7k miles out of tyres (landsail). He wrote my mileage on the receipt, so I can see how long they last.

My parents got insane mileage out of the energy savers on the C5. The car was bought with 15k miles on them and I'm pretty sure they were the ones out of the factory. I think they were changed near 90,000 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

I put goodyears in mine with much better ratings and cheaper too at the time and id stand by them as the better tyre any day of the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I paid €80 for my Michelin energy in that size.

Still, you could have paid a lot more. Advance wanted 120 each for barums

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

Filled my Diesel car full of petrol today

cost me €250 for a full tank in the end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

I will be at the C+C, look for the thick looking fecker in the Galway hoodie (Im nice really :p)

Awesome, you're coming with the ST, right?

Look out for the odd looking 01 Punto :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Yup, it's my daily :)

It's also covered in ****e and full of crap lol

colm_mcm wrote:
    I paid €80 for my Michelin energy in that size.
    Still, you could have paid a lot more. Advance wanted 120 each for barums

How do you find them colm? Mileage especially. I know it depends on your driving, I tend to be doing a lot of harsh cornering at speed, and my shoe tends to be fairly heavy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

any luck getting new wing and bonnet?
    did u go castlewellan last sunday i forgot to ask

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

How do you find them colm? Mileage especially. I know it depends on your driving, I tend to be doing a lot of harsh cornering at speed, and my shoe tends to be fairly heavy.

Had em on two cars. They are better than most budget tyres but they are not performance tyres. Quiet and should wear well and evenly. Herself would give up the silence to get back some of the sharpness of handling that the noisy pirellis had.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,855 ✭✭✭nd

One of the co founders of micksgarage was on newstalk this morning.

I found it interesting

http://www.newstalk.com/podcasts/Down_To_Business/Down_To_Business/96965/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Bah. One of the brake pad sets went grand, the other couldn't have went worse - the piston fell out! That caliper has been giving me trouble for a while now, so I'm just going to get it replaced. Any ideas what to do with it, car isn't in a state to drive. I'll need a mechanic to come out to me I guess....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

Block a brake hose, if you're really desperate to drive it to a mech. Very risky though...

No I'm not taking the car anywhere, it's already lost most of its brake fluid I reckon. Atlas in Drumcondra are open tomorrow, but they hardly do callouts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Is the calliper definately goosed?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Is the calliper definately goosed?
    Not necessarily, but I suspect it's been the cause of a couple of problems over the last year - my brake disk effectively exploded at one point last year, and recently the pads haven't been loosening properly. Today, I simply couldn't rewind the thing back, other side was easy but I must have spent an hour rotating this one today and I got nowhere. Then I did a stupid thing and pressed the brake....obviously it fell out entirely with no pads to keep it in.

Now it's either a matter of getting it back in without damaging the seal, making sure everything involved is clean, and possibly bleeding the brake lines? Honestly, it's beyond me now, it was my first time doing the pads and while the other side is good, I need a mechanic now, either to fix the existing caliper or to fit a new one (incidentally, are calipers a problem item stock-wise?)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Not necessarily, but I suspect it's been the cause of a couple of problems over the last year - my brake disk effectively exploded at one point last year, and recently the pads haven't been loosening properly. Today, I simply couldn't rewind the thing back, other side was easy but I must have spent an hour rotating this one today and I got nowhere. Then I did a stupid thing and pressed the brake....obviously it fell out entirely with no pads to keep it in.

Now it's either a matter of getting it back in without damaging the seal, making sure everything involved is clean, and possibly bleeding the brake lines? Honestly, it's beyond me now, it was my first time doing the pads and while the other side is good, I need a mechanic now, either to fix the existing caliper or to fit a new one (incidentally, are calipers a problem item stock-wise?)

Sounds very like it's for the bin. Order a refubed caliper in a motor factor monday morning and you should have it that evening or next day. 120 - 150 euro or so. You could fit the caliper your self but bleeding the system will be tricky now.