If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

It's convenient.
    I don't see what's wrong with getting an email or text notification, it doesn't cost anything these days.

Every other renewal, insurance, motor tax, TV licence, you get a renewal notice. What's so wrong about being consistent.

I reckon if they kept the old system where you were issued with a date we wouldn't have the backlog that was there recently.

A similar system is in place with the new driving licences I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Looking forward to cars and coffee on Sunday. Have my Punto almost ready for it. Should be good. :)

According to the forecast, there shouldn't be any rain either.

YbFocus wrote: »
    This is Ireland, most people need to be spoon fed everything or they'll curl up and die.

Didn't test reminders come in the post once upon a time?

Speaking of reminders, my tax one arrived yesterday. Feels like I only forked over the last 200 quid a week ago :(

Also, spotted three 152's today for the first time. First was a Micra (dissapoint), second was an Duster (christ) and then the motoring gods finally delivered with a stunning white 4 series GC. Didn't see what engine it was. Passed me too quickly but its was smashing!

I spotted a lot of 152's today.

BMW X5, Audi A5, Land Rover Discovery, Dacia Duster and a few other ones. Seemed like there was a 152 on every other corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Dartz

The difference between an old air filter and dirty MAF, and a new air filter and cleaned MAF...

50-60km in 15 Litres, versus 90-100km in 15 Litres. Similar sort of mix of cruising driving, and city driving. Mostly city traffic. That's impressive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,209 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Dartz wrote: »
    The difference between an old air filter and dirty MAF, and a new air filter and cleaned MAF...

50-60km in 15 Litres, versus 90-100km in 15 Litres. Similar sort of mix of cruising driving, and city driving. Mostly city traffic. That's impressive.

You now have about 10mpg. What is it, an artic?? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭Dartz

jimgoose wrote: »
    You now have about 10mpg. What is it, an artic?? :)

Just a little 1.3 Mazda 4-door.

It'll do 10-12L/100 on the motorway. It just guzzles around town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Pov06 wrote: »

Report report report. .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

YbFocus wrote: »
    Report report report. .

Jack up the rear and push it away :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Dartz wrote: »
    Just a little 1.3 Mazda 4-door.
    Haha, I see what you did there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Just back from Germany and I took the Honda to see if the car performs well enough at speed.
    Still a slight dead spot but I got it up to 130mph which I was surprised with tbh... It was at 4000rpms but chickened out pushing it harder.
    So I can more or less confirm the car is better :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Pov06 wrote: »
    Jack up the rear and push it away :pac:

I know you're joking, but legally you actually are allowed to do that.
    113.—(1) A person shall not, without lawful authority or reasonable cause, interfere or attempt to interfere with the mechanism of a mechanically propelled vehicle while it is stationary in a public place, or get on or into or attempt to get on or into the vehicle while it is so stationary.

(2) A person who contravenes subsection (1) of this section shall be guilty of an offence.

(3) Where a member of the Garda Síochána has reasonable grounds for believing that a person is committing an offence under this section, he may arrest the person without warrant.

(4) This section shall not apply to a person taking, in relation to a mechanically propelled vehicle which is obstructing his lawful ingress or egress to or from any place, such steps as are reasonably necessary to move the vehicle by human propulsion for a distance sufficient to terminate the obstruction.

(5) Where a person is charged with an offence under this section, it shall be a good defence to the charge for him to show that, when he did the act alleged to constitute the offence, he believed, and had reasonable grounds for believing, that he had lawful authority for doing that act.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Anyone know how much a 2004 Ford Focus 1.4 petrol should be going for? NCT'd until 30-03-16 and tax'd until 08-15. Car is in an okay condition and has 154k miles on the clock.
    (5 door, on steel wheels with plastic trimmings, recently serviced, TN reg car and all its previous owners are living within a mile of eachother AFAIK).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,222 ✭✭✭✭Marty McFly

So plast dip

I don't know much about it, is it easy to use? We're is the best place to buy it?

Thinking of blacking out the grill on the e60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

GvidoR wrote: »
    Looking forward to cars and coffee on Sunday. Have my Punto almost ready for it. Should be good. :)

did you get the new gold panels yet?

So plast dip

I don't know much about it, is it easy to use? We're is the best place to buy it?

Yes, it's easy to use. The best thing about is that you don't have to sand the surface you're painting (just give it a good clean though) and you can peel it off easily if you mess up, or decide you don't like the look, as long as you sprayed 3+ coats.

I got a can from eBay. Maybe you can get them locally but I haven't seen them.
    davycc wrote: »
    did you get the new gold panels yet?

Nope, not yet. Might leave that for a little while since I'm a little stuck on cash right now. I'll try to get them as soon as I can anyway.

Yes, it's easy to use. The best thing about is that you don't have to sand the surface you're painting (just give it a good clean though) and you can peel it off easily if you mess up, or decide you don't like the look, as long as you sprayed 3+ coats.

I got a can from eBay. Maybe you can get them locally but I haven't seen them.

Nope, not yet. Might leave that for a little while since I'm a little stuck on cash right now. I'll try to get them as soon as I can anyway.

Does it tend to look good when it's done or does it have the look of a d.i.y job written all over it?

Here are 2 of my plasti dip jobs:

VW badge

Colt boot - Pic 1, Pic 2

Both came out pretty good, I think.

Here are 2 of my plasti dip jobs:

VW badge

Colt boot - Pic 1, Pic 2

Both came out pretty good, I think.

Looks and sounds like it might work for me. Do you find it durable or would it start to break away after a while and need to be re done?

Spray 4 or more coats and it'll be durable enough. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

So plast dip

Both myself and BBari have it done now, I did my E39's grills and then he did his F10's. It's very easy to use and you can spray it directly onto the paintwork and just peel off the excess.

Also, was behind Mik_Da_Man is his RS4 today on the Link out of the city, that car has so much road presence!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anyone know how much a 2004 Ford Focus 1.4 petrol should be going for? NCT'd until 30-03-16 and tax'd until 08-15. Car is in an okay condition and has 154k miles on the clock. (5 door, on steel wheels with plastic trimmings, recently serviced, TN reg car and all its previous owners are living within a mile of eachother AFAIK).

2k?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Was out with the lads for a few quite ones tonight. I was the designated driver. Coming out of the town was a check point, just passed a bend, you were on top of it before you realised, thus no one was going to escape. I roll up, the guard shines a light at the tax etc, all ok, asks for my licence, checks it out. Then addresses me by my first name from then on which was pretty nice :pac: Goes to the back of the car, I had my foot on the brake, he says to pull the handbrake (so he could test the rear lights), all were fine. Then he gets technical. My name is garda xyz, under section 9 (i think he said) of the road traffic act, I'm requesting you to take a mandatory breathalyser test. Never used one before so he explained how to use it. Blow for 6 seconds, until it beeps, I was able to do it, but older people must struggle. Passed that grand. Then seeing as I was all in order, he gives a dig about my front "fog lights". Do you have your front fog lights on? I pretend to look for the switch and say oh ya they seem to be. He goes they should be only used in snow poor driving conditions. I say alright and flick them off (on again 30 seconds down the road). Honestly, a pair of ting fog lights, about 5cm in diameter that wouldn't light/blind shyte, and he comments on them. I especially fitted those, so they will stay on thanks.

One of those lads that has to pick up on something. Wasn't the traffic corps, just local gardai. The first time I ever had any dealings with a checkpoint, other then a quick glance at the window.

If that's the nitpicking they're at over a completely oem 11 year old focus, then I pity anyone with any modifications, they would go to town on them.

Spray 4 or more coats and it'll be durable enough. :)
    Both myself and BBari have it done now, I did my E39's grills and then he did his F10's. It's very easy to use and you can spray it directly onto the paintwork and just peel off the excess.

Also, was behind Mik_Da_Man is his RS4 today on the Link out of the city, that car has so much road presence!

Cheers think I'll pick myself up some so give it a try, thinking pretty much de chroming the car around the windows and grill just blacking it out think it will look a lot better and cleaner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,921 ✭✭✭✭bear1

I have a funny feeling that that post is going to cause a **** storm..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

At least you got away without issue! 3 points in the post for 109 in the 100 zone along the n4@ mullingar!

Sorry one more question what tape did you use for taping off? Meguiars masking tape is recommended when doing a Google search but can't find were to buy it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Meet up?

I'd a similar headlight experience there last night. Driving home from Wexford to Kildare and the nearside dipped light goes. Like the only time I've not had a spare. Even stopped at 2 24hr stations to see if they'd spare bulbs to get me home. No such luck. Even then it would have been a pig to change.

The offside light was so poor that I may as well have had a few tea lights thrown in the light housing. Very poor light out of it.

Apologies to all the people on the M9 last night who I blinded by not being able to use the dips :pac::pac:

Are you heading to the Galway C&C too, Mycroft?