Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clare GAA discussion thread

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

1 man full forward line and that man was having a nightmare, replacing a player with someone that was already taken off, terrible skills and the teams didn't look fit at the end, not good enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭irish coldplayer

if he had any sense he'd resign this evening but i still think he will try to stay on....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,053 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Nah, there'll be a big song and dance made out of it, don't forget he has a PR team now. Expect him to offer his resignation but for the team to refuse to accept it so he stays on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Clareman wrote: »
    Nah, there'll be a big song and dance made out of it, don't forget he has a PR team now. Expect him to offer his resignation but for the team to refuse to accept it so he stays on.

I don't know. Maybe he has pushed them too far. There wasn't the die for the team attitude out there.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Back in 1b no meaningful championship win in two years its time to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭Copa Mundial

Fitzgerald has to go. The talent that's there has a far greater potential than the results they've been getting. Thanks for 2013 Davy, but you've run your race.

Whatever about talent or potential, we aren't just talking about a team with 3 Under 21s, we're talking about All Ireland Champions from 2 years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Shortstop12

I know it's easy to criticise players but Darach Honan has to be one of the worst hurlers to ever wear a Clare jersey, he offers absolutely nothing. Fitzy should walk away from it now before he drags us into another year of misery but I'd be very surprised if he did, he'll always have the backing from the County board(Daddy). I really feel sorry for the lads because as the losses keep amounting the pressure is building on when the next win will be, not only that but it has to be demoralising putting in the hard graft and seeing no rewards

Wow, worst player ever, he's scored something like 3-20 for Clare in ~10 games, that's a strike rate of over 2 points a game and he's not a free taker, that's a great return, there's an awful lot of past players that were a whole lot worse than him. He's also been pretty much riddled with injuries for the last few years.

Of the 6 starting forwards today he was far from the worst performing player.

No, I didn't call him the worst player ever I said he was ONE of the worst players ever. He might well have scored 3-20(I don't think he has) but it's the amount of work he puts in. Everybody else are busting a nut and he's swanning around the place..Doesn't have the pace to chase players when he doesn't have the ball either. I'll take the excuse about him being injured, but if that's the case why not bring somebody else onto the panel that isn't injured? He's occupying an important position on the field, if he can't do it he shouldn't be there, simple as that..

He covers an unbelievable amount of ground cause of the size of him, he tracked back a lot of today. I'm not saying he's the best player ever but he's not in the top 10 worst Clare players of all time by any stretch, we'd an awful lot of bad years don't forget.

Wow, it didn't take someone long to setup a facebook campaign to get rid of Davey https://www.facebook.com/ClareManager

He covers an unbelievable amount of ground cause of the size of him, he tracked back a lot of today. I'm not saying he's the best player ever but he's not in the top 10 worst Clare players of all time by any stretch, we'd an awful lot of bad years don't forget.

We'll have to agree to disagree my friend ;) I suppose that's what the forum is for, a good debate :) I will agree with you on the amount of bad years we've had though ;) Let's just hope something changes soon..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,952 ✭✭✭dixiefly

And lets not forget this behaviour from a guy who complained about being bullied as a youth

http://www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/hurling/clare-hurler-humiliated-by-double-standard-treatment-1.2139431

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

Wow, it didn't take someone long to setup a facebook campaign to get rid of Davey https://www.facebook.com/ClareManager

Not surprising. Like you said, we've had a lot of bad years so it makes it even more frustrating to see all that talent wasted. Davy causes more problems than he solves.

He clearly loves the county so hopefully he steps down without too much fuss.

A massive annoyance for me in every facet of life is inconsistency, I've no problem with someone's convictions if they can show that they stand by them, but Davy has decided to go on about a lot of things once it suits his own agenda.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,513 ✭✭✭whupdedo

What's the difference between loughnane and Fitzy , only 31 counties hated loughnane

I wouldn't say I hate him, in fact I know him in the real world fairly well, I wouldn't say I like him either, I would say that I'm sick of him and his antics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Davey out. We've regressed despite having the best young side and best player in the country. Worst part for me was that today was entirely predictable. I genuinely didn't expect Clare to win despite everyone tipping them to come good. That's why it was so tedious to watch it unfold. Same old standard of performance that leaves a lot to be desired. Nothing won in midfield in the 2nd half. Shocking wides. Silly frees. Only for Cork hitting even more shocking wides they would have won by 7 or 8. Cork were poor and will get beaten the next day.

I wouldn't say we have regressed since he took over, he took over at an extremely low ebb and got us an All Ireland, but he has been proven to be out of his depth, fights with media and players just isn't good enough when results aren't there, time to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,366 ✭✭✭letowski

I would prefer if this was Davys last season too.

I wont go into it too much, all I really want is this Clare team to go out and hurl with that ability we all know they have. But their 2 years underperforming now.

I think today was the saddest I felt leaving a game, might be just daying it. We were two points in the lead with 8 minutes to go, after Galvin hit a brilliant point in front of the old stand. But we lost the fight too the finish...
    Cork have a good team and heart as always, but we were the team with all the medals. They have never been found wanting in any game Ive seen, but today no doubt about it at all Cork wanted more.

I think this will hurt Davy the most this evening. A guy who ptides himself on passion, hunger, motivation, drive, etc. His time is up unfortunately, theres no shame in it.

I wouldn't say we have regressed since he took over, he took over at an extremely low ebb and got us an All Ireland, but he has been proven to be out of his depth, fights with media and players just isn't good enough when results aren't there, time to go.

No, we've regressed since winning the All Ireland. Relegation from 1a and one championship win against Offaly from September 2013 to at least May 2016 with that team? That's just unacceptable. Especially when in that time there's been more negativity coming out of the Clare camp than any other county.

Agreed, we've gone backwards since 2013, but he took over when we were at a very low ebb as well, take 2013 out of it and we are in the same place as we were when he took over, BUT 2013 is there and he deserves some credit for it

He does deserve credit for 2013 but that was 2 years ago now and likewise he deserves criticism for the poor performances and negativity surrounding this side ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,137 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Maybe these players are not as good as we think. First touch was poor. Shocking wides. Maybe it's just all hype. How good is an U21 all Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

Commiserations if cork lost ye know here huge davy fan management would cheered ye on so but Cork be gutted ye

Yes galvin should imo started and poor decision however cork gave masterclass tactically so tough clare

Yes no one deny he has be reviewed now

But if players want him stay on no better candidate comes on and Kinnerk comes back he could stay

Imo players have control
    If they want him gone outgrown then has to go simply has to

Players will hold the key and it will be interesting their view

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,274 ✭✭✭Figerty

That is the most ridiculous comment about a player. You need to take a hard look at your understanding of hurling. It had to be frustrating as a player to day when Clare effectively played 7 backs,, 3 midfield 3 half forwards and 1 full forward..

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

I hate Thurles! Hates a strong word but that place doesn't give us too many happy times at senior level. Today we were just so disorganised. Why was SOD chasing balls back in his own half, why was Conor McGrath playing midfield?

Absolutely fed up now. Something has to give.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,318 ✭✭✭blackcard

Keano wrote: »
    I hate Thurles! Hates a strong word but that place doesn't give us too many happy times at senior level. Today we were just so disorganised. Why was SOD chasing balls back in his own half, why was Conor McGrath playing midefield?

Absolutely fed up now. Something has to give.

I think the problem is your manager. Clare have brilliant players so why not play a conventional game. I think Davy wants to be seen as a tactical genius so plays a 1 man full forward line, takes off a player and brings him back on again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 891 ✭✭✭pajoguy

A talented bunch of hurlers are there in clare. But u-21 is a completely different level. No comparison so it doesnt automatically transfer into senior. Although 3 in a row and the other one in 09 should leave in in good health in another few years. It takes time but it might never come. Look at limerick.