Cruel reality of life for Gardai

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Santa Cruz

Im fed up of all the whingers private sector and public sector. THE WORLD DOES NOT OWE YOU A LIVING.
    Clerys closes down. So what. It was losing money. Guards Nurses Teachers get pay cuts. So what. Get out and do a nixer. Teachers have two months holidays. Thers an opportunity for work. Scum on welfare. Fxxxthem

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

percy212 wrote: »
    I don't know how the Dail isn't burned to the ground.
    Because AGS are here to beat any protestors, especially he peaceful ones, to a bloody pulp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

Your government does owe you a living. That is one of its functions. It should encourage conditions that create employment, and indeed it should hire its own citizens, so that it can collect taxes to provide services to those people.

It should not prey on it's people and sell them piles of **** like shares in eircom, and property markets that belong in countries with large cities and large economies. It should not back its own people up against the wall with stealth taxes. It should not be filled with cadres of malignancy that seek to further only their own agendas and wealth.

Nobody in full time employment in a developed nation should have to do a "nixer" in order to survive.
    Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Im fed up of all the whingers private sector and public sector. THE WORLD DOES NOT OWE YOU A LIVING.
    Clerys closes down. So what. It was losing money. Guards Nurses Teachers get pay cuts. So what. Get out and do a nixer. Teachers have two months holidays. Thers an opportunity for work. Scum on welfare. Fxxxthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,027 ✭✭✭il gatto

Santa Cruz wrote: »

Secondary teachers get 3 months. And that's just for the summer. And even though they're being paid a full wage, get paid again if they correct exams. Nice.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Your government does owe you a living. That is one of its functions. It should encourage conditions that create employment, and indeed it should hire its own citizens, so that it can collect taxes to provide services to those people.

It should not prey on it's people and sell them piles of **** like shares in eircom, and property markets that belong in countries with large cities and large economies. It should not back its own people up against the wall with stealth taxes. It should not be filled with cadres of malignancy that seek to further only their own agendas and wealth.

Nobody in full time employment in a developed nation should have to do a "nixer" in order to survive.

The government creates the environment in which companies do business.
    You as a citizen have the right to vie for jobs in these companies along with every other citizen.
    The government also needs employees, same rules apply, if you meet the criteria, you might get hired.
    Other than that you are entitled to (very generous) social welfare. (Germany €391 a month after you sell your assets and live off that first)
    Apart from that you are entitled to complain, try to improve the situation by maybe not complaining, but getting stuck in and trying to contribute, or you (as in everyone, not you in particular) are free to try and find better luck elsewhere.
    Them's pretty much your entitlement. After that, you're on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Way to over simplify things. Change career, go back to college? It's that simple, to just quit a job, get another one, or go back to college. Never mind that these people may (and probably do) have mortgages, bills, families to cover. You think these people can just quit their job, find another one just like that, or even manage to go back through college? You think the banks and loan companies would be completely understanding that they may not get a penny back for

More excuses. .

Only an idiot would quit a job and then look for another. Are you seriously saying that a family man cannot change career? Give me a break, study at night, hand the keys back, go bankrupt in the UK.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Because AGS are here to beat any protestors, especially he peaceful ones, to a bloody pulp.

o look a traffic cone leaps into the air and smashed a female garda in the face all on its own !

mynamejeff wrote: »
    o look a traffic cone leaps into the air and smashed a female garda in the face all on its own !

It's like south central LA alright. Was it a yellow garda cone?
    Does the state just pay whatever guards want because one b@llix threw a plastic cone at a guard? You realise you can't make any job 100% safe? Anyone who signs up to be in the police surely expects they might occasionally have to deal with violence? Nobody's that naive.

il gatto wrote: »
    Does the state just pay whatever guards want because one b@llix threw a plastic cone at a guard? You realise you can't make any job 100% safe? Anyone who signs up to be in the police surely expects they might occasionally have to deal with violence? Nobody's that naive.

yes its an isolated incident no one ever attacked a police man or woman just because of thier job :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

theres a difference between occasionally encountering violence and actively seeking it out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭percy212

You highlighted one sentence in my post and then repeated my content as if you were making a point. I don't see one.

I did not mention social welfare benefits anywhere, and I object to the use of the word entitlements in general when referring to government social safety nets.
    The government creates the environment in which companies do business.
    You as a citizen have the right to vie for jobs in these companies along with every other citizen.
    The government also needs employees, same rules apply, if you meet the criteria, you might get hired.
    Other than that you are entitled to (very generous) social welfare. (Germany €391 a month after you sell your assets and live off that first)
    Apart from that you are entitled to complain, try to improve the situation by maybe not complaining, but getting stuck in and trying to contribute, or you (as in everyone, not you in particular) are free to try and find better luck elsewhere.
    Them's pretty much your entitlement. After that, you're on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,638 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

The budget is coming, the budget is coming..

yes its an isolated incident no one ever attacked a police man or woman just because of thier job :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

theres a difference between occasionally encountering violence and actively seeking it out

Bouncers. No Scott medals, no Injuries Board, no job security. Even being investigated their licence is suspended with no onus on their employer to pay them.
    And how do we quantify it? Will the guards say "ah sure, that's enough to be giving us". Will they f@ck.
    If it never dawned on people that the police are tasked with dealing with violent people from time to time, the entrance exam needs to be toughened up somewhat. As has been said if you don't want to do the job at the money, go job hunting. There's plenty who will do it instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,101 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

The Gardai are over subscribed even now. Even with the poor mouth stories in the press.
    And in the private sector, most people get a rise at the whim of their employer. You don't automatically get one. You want more money, you go job hunting.
    And ultimately the fact is that a guard's job is safe. None of them lost their jobs as happened hundreds of thousands in the private sector.

By over subscribed, do you mean there's too many?

You can also earn more in the private sector, the increments are there to make the job appeal to people. Frontline public services need something to make people apply, otherwise no one would probably apply. Why would someone work as a Garda or nurse, doctor, fireman, etc if the wages weren't good, or if you could easily earn more in the private sector?

And no, the Gardas job is not safe. Many have been dismissed over the years. Reason you don't hear of more is because there are only 12,000 Gardai, and it costs so much to train that they are given more chances than one would in the private sector.

Bouncers. No Scott medals, no Injuries Board, no job security. Even being investigated their licence is suspended with no onus on their employer to pay them.
    And how do we quantify it? Will the guards say "ah sure, that's enough to be giving us". Will they f@ck.
    If it never dawned on people that the police are tasked with dealing with violent people from time to time, the entrance exam needs to be toughened up somewhat. As has been said if you don't want to do the job at the money, go job hunting. There's plenty who will do it instead.

you believe that bouncing is comparable to policing do you ? lol

i worked doors myself long long ago and its hardly south central LA either

By over subscribed, do you mean there's too many?

You can also earn more in the private sector, the increments are there to make the job appeal to people. Frontline public services need something to make people apply, otherwise no one would probably apply. Why would someone work as a Garda or nurse, doctor, fireman, etc if the wages weren't good, or if you could easily earn more in the private sector?

And no, the Gardas job is not safe. Many have been dismissed over the years. Reason you don't hear of more is because there are only 12,000 Gardai, and it costs so much to train that they are given more chances than one would in the private sector.

No. I mean loads apply for a few jobs. It's the very definition of oversubscribed.
    How can someone with 32 weeks training end up earning more? It's possible but highly unlikely. Unlike being a guard, where if you do it long enough, your wage automatically rises.
    I didn't say the wages shouldn't be good. Of course they should. But it seems those in receipt of those wages have other ideas about what is good and what leaves them eating cereal and sleeping in their cars. Wages and job security others would kill for is deemed a disgrace by the GRA and anonymous guards in the media.
    And of course there's a few dismissed in a force of 12,000. But that's when you f@ck up. That's not losing your job through no fault of your own. To equate being caught doing something illegal in a job where you uphold the law to someone who gets laid off because an accountant said to make cuts, is frankly deluded. If you do your job and keep your nose clean, it is a job for life. No comparison.

Indeed it's not, but the fact is you are a target for violence as a routine part of your job. And it's not comparable because you have no pepper spray, no cuffs, no batons, no legal authority and you will be suspended without pay pending investigation. I know bouncers who've been stabbed, eye gouged, had a gun stuck in their gut. I know guards who've had similar but also guards who've barely had a slap thrown at them. And if a bouncer dealt with violent members of the public like the guards do (and I think the guards should be able to use force), they'd be in prison.

so what pay would you deem acceptable ?
    say for policing O'Connell street or temple bar
    also both bouncers and gardai end up in jail

I'm asking what's acceptable to the guards. A starting wage which is pretty much what the CSO states is the"average yearly earnings" which incrementally rises throughout your career regardless of performance is pretty sweet. And yet we're bombarded with vague stories of cornflakes and no petrol. Vague, not because the garda can't be named but vague because there's never a mention of figures. If they think they have a genuine case, come out and state how much the salaries are, how they get €4,000 in "rent allowance", and whatever other surreptitious methods governments have used to give tax free pay rises on the quiet.
    The state has been quite generous heretofore. I'm not attempting to pluck a figure out of the air, just looking at what's there and thinking it looks pretty alright.
    I'm sure Gardai can end up in jail. Would many serving guards end up in prison? Or is it just speculation that they can. In a group of 12,000 men between the age of 20 and 55, I'd expect more than a few. That'd be equivalent to a town of about 50,000. I'd imagine a town of that size would have a few dozen in prison.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Honestly this sentence is so ill formed and incoherent I can't understand it enough to cut it to shreds.

Or in other words can't make a valid counter argument.

Ireland's water protest have on an European level been extremely peaceful, a few professional protestors do not make the whole event anarchy on the streets. It depends what side you are on as well. As a woman Garda being hit seems to trump a woman protestor thrown around.

Which makes the news where 100s of baton assaults don't.
    Nice lying BTW, does that Bean Gardas face wrap around the entirety of her head, which is where she was hit?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,127 ✭✭✭✭kerry4sam

kupus wrote: »
    Ah the annual poor mouth brigade is ramping up again.
    eviltwin wrote: »
    I'm surviving on a lot less than that. I'd like to see his outgoings.

That was my initial thinking. Where are the days of the older members where you wouldn't be seeing so many self-centered pity-parties and running to the media with their woes.
    The older generation of members were considerably far worse off and you wouldn't have seen a fraction of this modern-day-pity parties by members.
    Pocoyo wrote: »
    ''I’ll go as far as to say bullying is rife in An Garda Siochana and those who are doing it are advancing up the ladder at the expense of everyone else.''

Anyone who personally knows a member of the gardai has heard this statement before,Now think about that these are the people policing our streets,They need a radical overhaul, Their conflict resolution skills are appalling,The majority of security guards would have better resolution skills than a large number of the gardai.

Conflict Resolutions is only put into effect when it comes to member of the organisation and members of the public. How many members have found themselves before the courts over their behaviour with their colleagues?! Not nearly enough being done, but you can't have time for everything; they can't be everywhere at once have you not heard; so much wasted time by members but they seemed more concerned with their representative bodies and not breaking a nail if they spent more time working when they are on-duty we would have a considerably better police force in this country.
    Cruel Life for Gardaí: I was queuing in a shop recently and conversation turned to this very article, seldom will you hear praise by members of the public when the self-pity-parties start by them.
    I love how the article touches on nearly every aspect of being a Garda, but everyone concentrates on the cereal... Yes, stupid comment, but this entire thread is focusing on the stupidest part of the article, and not the whole of it.

Anyway...

Gardai have to make a split second decision in very trying, sometimes dangerous, circumstances. This decision, whatever it may be, or however it may happen (intent could be x, but y happens), can then be judged by everyone who suddenly have BA's in Criminal Law, and can take all the time in the world to decide if it was right or wrong. That's what he's worried about. Imagine if he's intervening in a fight, he knows what he has to do, he knows the laws being broken, he knows his powers of arrest and detention. He goes to grab one lads arm with the intent of pulling him away/arresting him. Instead of it going smoothly, the guy whips his arm and the Garda's hand flys into the face of the other guy. Police Brutality. GSOC investigation. Months of worrying if you may lose your job or even go to jail. That's what he's worried about.

Most Gardai i know (quite a few) have one property. And who doesn't do nixers? Got the skills? Know someone who needs help? Few quid for the help. Sorted. Problem? Although, most Gardai i know don't do nixers. I've said it so it must be true. :rolleyes:

Actually, if you quit without good reason, you're not eligible for the dole for quite some time.

Difference is that the Gardai don't have a union. They have a representative association. Looks the same, but has no legal powers like unions have. It was challenged in the EU courts last year. Won the right to strike and to form as a union. Irish Government still giving them the 2 finger salute.

And i don't know if i could call it screwing the newbies. Think about it. Cuts were needed, and the main priority was preventing as much as possible from being taken from the then current membership. Part of the negotiations took the form of reduced wages and allowances for any potential new recruits, instead of another cut to current members wages. The Government was also stopping recruitment. So worked out for the current serving members as their wages were not cut more. Predictions were that no more recruitment would start until the recession was over, and by then they will be in a position to talk and get new recruits wages restored. Didn't work out like that, but it was the best decision for the current members. The GRA haven't forgotten this, but are only now possibly getting the bargaining power (backed by EU courts) to restore new recruits wages. It's just that recruitment started back before Union status was achieved/recession was over (and that's due to mass resignation and retirement, not the end of the recession).

They do. They may earn €1k a week (back in the "good days" when overtime was a given, 100+ hours a month OT). What he probably meant was that it averaged that, because the basic starting wage (prior to the new rates) would get you not too near €1k a week, but with 100+ hours OT, plus the weekly wage, the "big cheque" (allowances paid once a month) had potential to be massive, possibly averaging out at €1k a week. Then tax it. Roughly 49%-51% gone, depending on tax brackets and what extra benefits you might be paying in to (injury cover - high likelihood, mortgage protection, other stuff which is not necessary but highly recommended due to the level of danger/potential for injury in the job).

Problem is, Gardai are not allowed defend themselves. They're not allowed identify themselves as Gardai in any public forum, be it online or in person, unless they want to execute their duty (yes, we all know they flash the badge to get free into a nightclub, build a bridge). As such, there's no one to defend them except relatives or friends of Gardai. Small amount of people if you think about it. Anyway, because of this, people think it's this secret society with all hush hush conversations. To a degree, it is. Because of public scrutiny, every public speech or talk has to be perfect in every sense, because you can't offend anyones religion, sex, ethnicity, etc, etc. It's not just a person talking, it's an organisation, and as such there's massive room for people to sue, which as we all knows is quickly becoming the "thing" to do.

Add to this that discipline awaits anyone who breaks the silence, because it's a breach of some code to identify yourself as a Garda online. Truth may be spoken, lies may be told, but regardless that member is open to discipline. So that's why you don't get Gardai on here defending their actions, be it individual or collective. That's why they have to "rely" on anonymous articles from "serving members". I'm sure we've all seen someone, at some stage, identify themselves as one, and usually rarely to be heard from again. Possibly due to making a mistake, and cancelling the account. Possibly due to the level of bullying i've seen on here (sticks and stones may break bones, but words can be even more hurtful). Maybe, just maybe, they got in bother in work. Who knows?!

Anyway, continue with the bashing, ye always do (except the few who are actually willing to listen and debate, rather than accuse and roast).

You've made it known what you do for a living. Your posts scream the same, are you tucked up in the PR-office by any chance? I'd be with the Government with the 2-finger-salute to our Irish Police Force forming a Union. Heavens Above, having them call the shots, get outta town!

Bashing is only done by people once they have work to start from. With our Irish Police Force, sadly we have too much negativity to throw.
    So much more work needs to be done. These self-centered pity-parties by members need to stop! It is far from Professional. & Yes our Irish Police Force are down in paper as being Professional.

I've met some Wonderful members through the years; worked with some as a Volunteer Garda Reserve. Some don't stop working from the moment they start their shift until they leave, at times later than rostered such is the dedication.
    The Force though needs to curtail their self-centered-pity-parties as it does nothing but harm the image of the Force.
    All people have to do is google.
    Now, as for members not being able to ID themselves online <- this rule must be in its infancy?!

Life of a Guard is far far from Cruel! So many more far worse off and they don't run to the media to speak their stories. Maybe some serving members can be learned from them.

Thanks,
    kerry4sam

Cobblers. AGS are more likely to get a gold star on their record than a reprimand for assaulting peaceful protestors or people going about their business.

Aw look, he f**ked up his own argument by agreeing AGS have pretty much nothing really dangerous to deal with in Ireland (presuming they even log the call, never mind turn up).
    You didn't even notice though did you?

Maybe when AGS start policing those areas we could come up with a suitable salary?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

I didn't say they did. But you get it when you assigned after 32 weeks. You're being very disingenuous.
    You're being disingenuous. I never mentioned new recruits. Only what sum is received as a salary at 32 weeks. Once assigned the rent allowance is paid, even of you don't pay rent.
    Was it with quoting me to point out something I didn't even say?

I wasn't. I was merely clarifying a point that you missed.
    Ireland's water protest have on an European level been extremely peaceful, a few professional protestors do not make the whole event anarchy on the streets. It depends what side you are on as well. As a woman Garda being hit seems to trump a woman protestor thrown around.
    kerry4sam wrote: »
    Life of a Guard is far far from Cruel! So many more far worse off and they don't run to the media to speak their stories. Maybe some serving members can be learned from them.

I'm sure your time in the reserves in some country town showed you real policing and true corruption. I remember your thread about the horrors of the Garda who let a local kid cycle his bike around a yard (Did you ever get him disciplined?). But lets assume for a moment that you haven't experienced the full policing experience. Up until two years ago the shifts that were forced on Gardaí were illegal. They have no union representation. Meal breaks are a perk. I'm sure you worked an 8 hour shift or two but that doesn't even give you a glimpse of what shiftwork does to you. This is an experience unique to Gardaí and hospital staff because while other jobs do have night shifts, very few are as constantly demanding as policing and helath care. Even the firemen get to sleep between calls.

As I said above, three Gardaí are injured every day in the course of their duty. This isn't as a result of some site accident, it's as a result of malicious intent. I'm tired of people like you putting down the work of Gardaí because you once saw something that looked like police work or because you think you know how things should be. Try getting yourself embedded with the Gardaí in West Dublin some time. It's constant dangerous work and having to listen to nonsense like the above posts just makes it all that harder to do. Yeah I get it, you read about some protester who was pushed around and you think that's the worst Gardaí have to put up with. Take a trip down some of the rougher estates on a weekend night and see how you get on.

You go on about making a job 100% safe? How about 50%? How about an operational uniform suitable to police requirements? How about an intelligence system that wasn't bought on the cheap because it was deemed obsolete by another police force 20 years ago? How about stab vests that weren't rejected by the Met for being too awkward? How about cars that are suitable for policing instead of family cars bought and the cheap and given a paint job? How about enough staff to actually police an area effectively and support each other? What about proper sentences for people who assault you in the line of work? Proper legal representation for prosecutions?

I'm not going to come on here and cry about the money. Sure things are week to week but I get by. I have no idea how new recruits will survive, especially those that are stationed far from home. There are a lot of deductions that come out of the cheque that people don't know about. You can make an argument that it just requires good financial management and you might be right but don't come here with that bull**** about the job not being extremely hard or dangerous.

I wasn't. I was merely clarifying a point that you missed.

I'm sure your time in the reserves in some country town showed you real policing and true corruption. I remember your thread about the horrors of the Garda who let a local kid cycle his bike around a yard (Did you ever get him disciplined?). But lets assume for a moment that you haven't experienced the full policing experience. Up until two years ago the shifts that were forced on Gardaí were illegal. They have no union representation. Meal breaks are a perk. I'm sure you worked an 8 hour shift or two but that doesn't even give you a glimpse of what shiftwork does to you. This is an experience unique to Gardaí and hospital staff because while other jobs do have night shifts, very few are as constantly demanding as policing and helath care. Even the firemen get to sleep between calls.

As I said above, three Gardaí are injured every day in the course of their duty. This isn't as a result of some site accident, it's as a result of malicious intent. I'm tired of people like you putting down the work of Gardaí because you once saw something that looked like police work or because you think you know how things should be. Try getting yourself embedded with the Gardaí in West Dublin some time. It's constant dangerous work and having to listen to nonsense like the above posts just makes it all that harder to do. Yeah I get it, you read about some protester who was pushed around and you think that's the worst Gardaí have to put up with. Take a trip down some of the rougher estates on a weekend night and see how you get on.

You go on about making a job 100% safe? How about 50%? How about an operational uniform suitable to police requirements? How about an intelligence system that wasn't bought on the cheap because it was deemed obsolete by another police force 20 years ago? How about stab vests that weren't rejected by the Met for being too awkward? How about cars that are suitable for policing instead of family cars bought and the cheap and given a paint job? How about enough staff to actually police an area effectively and support each other? What about proper sentences for people who assault you in the line of work? Proper legal representation for prosecutions?

I'm not going to come on here and cry about the money. Sure things are week to week but I get by. I have no idea how new recruits will survive, especially those that are stationed far from home. There are a lot of deductions that come out of the cheque that people don't know about. You can make an argument that it just requires good financial management and you might be right but don't come here with that bull**** about the job not being extremely hard or dangerous.

Being a law abiding citizen my dealings with the Garda are limited to stop checks on the road. And times We have had to call them. They are extremely courteous efficient and well mannered. In my limited dealings they all seemed to be kitted out correctly stab vests and decent cars.

Which makes the news where 100s of baton assaults don't.
    Nice lying BTW, does that Bean Gardas face wrap around the entirety of her head, which is where she was hit?

Aaaa here !! we arent going to start this rubbish again are we ?

baton charge my hole , a bit of pushing and shoving spitting and screaming abuse and thrown bottles and traffic cones from the " peaceful " protesters

Hundreds or assaults ? sure there was less than forty professional protesters there and if one of them had so much as gotten a hangnail it would have been rammed up on youtube and facebook before soon.

there a water thread somewhere for you to talk that sort of nonsense

Er is that the female "protester " that jumped in front of a moving car ?

every one screaming about the horrible thump she got off the iron bollard ?

except it turned out that the horrible thump was some gardas knee as he protected the woman from injuring her self ?

European protests tend to be professionals or students ie truckers or farmers protecting thier livelihoods not what we have

Cobblers. AGS are more likely to get a gold star on their record than a reprimand for assaulting peaceful protestors or people going about their business.

Maybe when AGS start policing those areas we could come up with a suitable salary?

Aw look, he f**ked up his own argument by agreeing AGS have pretty much nothing really dangerous to deal with in Ireland (presuming they even log the call, never mind turn up).
    You didn't even notice though did you?

thats some chip your carrying around there dan :pac::pac:

let me guess you've had a bad experience AGS? some one upset you ? stopped you for speeding ? told you to go home coz your drunk? took a bag of weed off you ?:D

best read and understand before you go posting again though