Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rally For Life!!!

• Moderators Posts: 52,029 ✭✭✭✭Delirium

hinault wrote: »
    Your post count suggests otherwise.

So a person can only contribute to a thread if they're 'bothered' by the topic? They can't be motivated by interest in the topic or a desire to find out the truth behind conflicting reports?

If you can read this, you're too close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

SW wrote: »
    So a person can only contribute to a thread if they're 'bothered' by the topic? They can't be motivated by interest in the topic or a desire to find out the truth behind conflicting reports?

I didn't say that.

You're exercised by the fact that 20,000 folk attended the rally.
    I'm just curious as to why this you're exercised by that number attending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭robdonn

I just sent a quick email to the Garda Press Office asking if they had any figures and received this in reply:
    Robert,

No figures available

Regards

Jim Molloy Sergeant
    Garda Press & Public Relations Office

This, obviously, does not mean that the estimate of 25,000 - 35,000 is correct, but the Garda Press Office does not offer any official figures.

So, they don't seem to be giving out any official figures at the moment, or possibly just couldn't be bothered looking them up for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,653 ✭✭✭✭amdublin

I didn't say that.

It would be nice to have that number independently reported e.g. by the guards who I assume would need to know for crowd control reasons.

But in any case I could care less how many go to a march or not it still doesn't change that I want the choice to do what I want with body and my baby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,932 ✭✭✭hinault

amdublin wrote: »
    It would be nice to have that number independently reported e.g. by the guards who I assume would need to know for crowd control reasons.

But in any case I could care less how many go to a march or not it still doesn't change that I want the choice to do what I want with body and my baby.

You can do what you want with your body and your baby regardless.
    The fact of the matter you'll be held accountable for that at some point in the future too.

The issue upon which the pro life movement was marching is much bigger than your individual choice

I salute all those who attend the Pro Life demo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

I didn't say that.

Someone is lying, if campaign groups, the national broadcaster or other newspapers are supplying false information I would want to know so they can be ignored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

The fact of the matter you'll be held accountable for that at some point in the future too.

The issue upon which the pro life movement was marching is much bigger than your individual choice

I salute all those who attend the Pro Life demo.
    What do you mean by this? If I have an abortion elsewhere, where its legal to do so, will I be held accountable for that in Ireland? Should I be?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 676 ✭✭✭am946745

robp wrote: »
    No. I am stating that there was no official Garda estimate and I struggle to see one can be constantly referred to without any verification from the Gardai. Journalists don't independently verify sources.

Don't feed the troll.

am946745 wrote: »
    Don't feed the troll.

MOD NOTE

Don't accuse posters of being a troll on thread. Report a post if you have a problem with it.

In addition, if you think a mod is trolling one of their forums, then take it to Helpdesk or a CMod.

Thanks for your attention.

SW wrote: »
    MOD NOTE

Don't accuse posters of being a troll on thread. Report a post if you have a problem with it.

In addition, if you think a mod is trolling one of their forums, then take it to Helpdesk or a CMod.

Thanks for your attention.

Then be Christian for Gods sack. Is a Christianity forum and you treat posters like we are dishonest. I was there. You were not.

Your bias against anything Christian is pretty obvious. (or agains me as you have closed 2 of my threads)

By whom?

But that's the problem, the focus of the pro-life movement is so focussed on 'the other' that they completely forget about the life of the woman who is pregnant.

Then be Christian for Gods sack. Is a Christianity forum and you treat posters like we are dishonest. I was there. You were not.

Your bias against anything Christian is pretty obvious. (or agains me as you have closed 2 of my threads)

MOD NOTE

If you have a problem
    with moderation, you can post in the Feedback thread about the forum.

Back on topic please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

I was there too as I have been for the last three years. There was a huge crowd but not a patch on the last two years. Maybe the public is getting sick of YD, Life Institute etc and their lack of compassion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

The pro life crowd or anti choice crowd would do well to disassociate themselves from the likes of YD, Life institute etc. They are doing that side no favours at all.

That came from several pro life people I know who would have marched only for the fact that they are being inadvertently represented by these right wing lunatics!!

eviltwin wrote: »
    I was there too as I have been for the last three years. There was a huge crowd but not a patch on the last two years. Maybe the public is getting sick of YD, Life Institute etc and their lack of compassion.

We had great support from the public. I was glad to see that there were many non catholic families who turned out to support the rally.

But did anyone make any point as to why abortion should remain illegal?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

You were there and yet couldnt tell the difference between the rally for life and vigil for life in 2013?

You have yet to acknowledge the mistake and posted a picture from the actually rally for life and even responded with a picture saying "2013 as well?" as if the first picture was still right. The picture wasnt even from the provided link.

We had great support from the public. I was glad to see that there were many non catholic families who turned out to support the rally.
    How did you know they were non catholic families?

lazygal wrote: »
    How did you know they were non catholic families?

Because they said so. Actually my neighbour who is a protestant pastor was the one who drove us to Dublin which is family and 2 dozen from his church. There were also many from the norths churchs.

And was anyone calling for the protection for the unborn to be extended to prevent the unborn being taken elsewhere to be aborted?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Really? I don't know a single person who even mentioned the rally.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

And was anyone calling for the protection for the unborn to be extended to prevent the unborn being taken elsewhere to be aborted?

Yes. We regularly protest in the UK too.

newmug wrote: »
    Yes. We regularly protest in the UK too.
    Do you protest against women leaving Ireland to travel to kill the unborn? At airports and ferry ports? Should the right to travel and information be repealed? What about Irish maternity hospitals that did 26 abortions last year, do you regularly protest outside them? Or clinics that freeze embryos, denying them the right to life, do you protest there?

Apart from suicide, if the procedures are to save a mothers life then they were ALWAYS legal in Ireland. There is NOTHING wrong with saving a mothers live if it means that sometimes the baby dies.
    As experienced practitioners and researchers in obstetrics and gynaecology, we affirm that direct abortion – the purposeful destruction of the unborn child – is not medically necessary to save the life of a woman.

We uphold that there is a fundamental difference between abortion, and necessary medical treatments that are carried out to save the life of the mother, even if such treatment results in the loss of life of her unborn child.

Apart from suicide, if the procedures are to save a mothers life then they were ALWAYS legal in Ireland. There is NOTHING wrong with saving a months live if it means that sometimes the baby dies.

Why? I thought the baby's life was exactly the same as the woman's life. Seems odd that when there's a conflict one life suddenly has more rights than the other.

Should the suicide clause in the constitution be repealed too, so that women who's lives are at risk in such a fashion cannot avail of abortion?

Why? I thought the baby's life was exactly the same as the woman's life. Seems odd that when there's a conflict one life suddenly has more rights than the other.

Should the suicide clause in the constitution be repealed too, so that women who's lives are at risk in such a fashion cannot avail of abortion?

What does our constitution say?

It says the unborn has the right to life, but women have the right to information on how and where to take away that right and have the right to travel to violate that right. And that a threat to life from suicide is a valid reason to kill the unborn, like other risks to life where its ok to kill the unborn. Should all those rights exist?

Did anyone at the rally for life protest outside Holles Street on the way to Merrion Square? Or take a detour to SIMS? Or Dublin airport where women travel to kill the unborn every day?

It says the unborn has the right to life, but women have the right to information on how and where to take away that right and have the right to travel to violate that right. And that a threat to life from suicide is a valid reason to kill the unborn, like other risks to life where its ok to kill the unborn. Should all those rights exist?

Did anyone at the rally for life protest outside Holles Street on the way to Merrion Square? Or take a detour to SIMS? Or Dublin airport where women travel to kill the unborn every day?

Sorry.. You didn't answer my question What does our constitution say?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,571 ✭✭✭newmug

You seem to have a very skewed view on pro-life's motives. Why?

Yes, some pro-life people protest at abortion clinics and protest at women leaving the country to have abortions, and at cryogen facilities. Did you not know this? No matter where you have an abortion, it is wrong.

No, the right to travel should not be "repealed". Bad choice of word there by you because there is nothing to repeal in terms of the right to travel, but we cant stop every flight / ship in or out of Ireland because a few women want to do away with their children elsewhere - it is tragic, but there is very little we can do to stop it, except keep doing what we're doing - keep protesting.

The hospitals that conducted abortions did so to save the mothers life in all cases except 3. Now, it was ALWAYS legal to abort a child if the mother's life was in danger, but the recent legislation now covers suicide aswell. However, what we're p1ssed off at, is that instead of terminating a pregnancy where there is a risk of suicide, they just kill the baby. There is a difference. Your mothers pregnancy with YOU was terminated. So was mine. But we are still alive. And also, these mothers who are so depressed at the thoughts of having a baby, dont get the psychiatric treatment they need. Its as if killing the child is a cure for their depression.

newmug wrote: »
    The hospitals that conducted abortions did so to save the mothers life in all cases except 3. Now, it was ALWAYS legal to abort a child if the mother's life was in danger, but the recent legislation now covers suicide aswell. However, what we're p1ssed off at, is that instead of terminating a pregnancy where there is a risk of suicide, they just kill the baby. There is a difference. Your mothers pregnancy with YOU was terminated. So was mine. But we are still alive. And also, these mothers who are so depressed at the thoughts of having a baby, dont get the psychiatric treatment they need. Its as if killing the child is a cure for their depression.

Was Miss Y's baby killed? Or was the pregnancy terminated? What about Ms X, raped, pregnant, suicidal and a child who had travelled to kill the unborn, was the Attorney General right to ask her to return to Ireland?

Calling one thing a termination and another an abortion is just playing word games to satisfy the pro gestation belief that my uterus should gestate every pregnancy regardless of the consequences, unless I'm at risk of death or I have the means and ability to travel.