The Weird, Wacky and Awesome World of the NFL - General Banter thread V2

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 374 ✭✭Jjiipp79

Paully D wrote: »
    68 days left lads. Keep calm :D

Well all I've got to say to this is... C'mon the falcons

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,326 ✭✭✭✭paulie21

CJF0UOtXAAAcLHf.jpg

Hard to believe it's been 6 years

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

left and died before i really became a titans fan but watching tape, he was something special

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 42,030 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Loved watching McNair play ball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Traded to Baltimore for 4th rounder and as starting QB had a 13-3 record. Had a poor game against Indy and the Ravens went one & done.

2007 was a year too far and multiple games missed.

Remains the Ravens best regular season record

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

dont know how much truth is in this, doesnt sound to good if it is!
    https://twitter.com/AndySlater/status/617785024302194688

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Doesn't sound good at all.

Jeremy Dawson ‏@JDawsonSports 31m31 minutes ago
    Trying to get all the details on Jason Pierre-Paul's injury but if what I'm hearing so far is completely true, it's a career ender.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,645 ✭✭✭phatkev

Plaxico 2.0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,475 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Honestly sounds nearly career ending from what I can find.

He hasn't signed his 14.8m tender, and is out of contract as well. Even as idiotic as this is, I feel bad for the man.

From a Giants perspective, its pretty terrible news too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Knex. wrote: »
    Honestly sounds nearly career ending from what I can find.

He hasn't signed his 14.8m tender , and is out of contract as well. Even as idiotic as this is, I feel bad for the man.

From a Giants perspective, its pretty terrible news too.

Well he won't be able to now anyway :P

As dumb as this is, you have to feel for the guy, especially if it's career ending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

That's awful. I mean yeah it's dumb and while he is a great player at times, I am not a huge fan of his in general over the Prince Amukamara and such, it looks like he was just trying to have a good time and give his neighbours a bit of a surprise with a massive haul of fireworks for July 4th (and they f***ing love fireworks on July 4th over there). Hoping whatever happened (reports over career ending so quickly make me worry he might have lost a hand or something?) isn't as bad a first feared, and he can get back to playing at some point. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 929 ✭✭✭JCTO

I honestly don't feel bad for him at all. The amount of idiots I saw yesterday fooking around with Fireworks in their hands or trying to light them with small windows to get away once lit. How stupid people become around fireworks here is baffling.

Thing with fireworks is, even following all protocols and taking all safety measures etc, sometimes they still go wrong.

Yeah, as a professional football player he shouldn't be near them, but saying you don't feel sorry for him is a bit harsh. Especially without knowing the full story.

There's reports at the moment that he might even need amputation. Assuming the mean fingers there, and not hand, but still pretty horrible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

TMZ comments can be brilliant sometimes.
    Eli Manning has also injured himself in a sparkler accident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,967 ✭✭✭Morrison J

Schefter calming things down a bit

Adam Schefter ‏@AdamSchefter 6m6 minutes ago
    Jason Pierre-Paul expected to meet with doctors, they will have their say, but early indications are, hand injury is not career threatening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 929 ✭✭✭JCTO

Thing with fireworks is, even following all protocols and taking all safety measures etc, sometimes they still go wrong.

Yeah, as a professional football player he shouldn't be near them, but saying you don't feel sorry for him is a bit harsh. Especially without knowing the full story.

There's reports at the moment that he might even need amputation. Assuming the mean fingers there, and not hand, but still pretty horrible.

No one should be near them or handling lit fireworks in their hands. There is a reason why they tell people to leave it to professionals. The fireworks they sell here are as powerful as a hand grenade in some cases and the amount of people handling them with mis care is baffling. Even some of the basic fireworks are powerful enough to tear your skin off.

As for the assumption yes I shouldn't be making it but for his hand to blow off means he was most likely handling a lit firework. Now unless someone shot one at him or threw one at him and he caught it fair enough he may have been unlucky or he jumped on one to save someone else from being hurt fair enough.

But why should I feel sorry for stupidity? Have we now become a society of feeling sorry for people doing stupid things with items they know can hurt themselves or people around them. Did you feel sorry for Plaxcio when he shot himself in the leg?
    even following all protocols and taking all safety measures etc, sometimes they still go wrong.

They generally don't and here in the US very few follow any safety protocols. I was on a small beach yesterday with Firework shooting off no less 50 yards away from me but the only two handling them were two guys shooting them off. But even still they were not really following any safety protocols neither do many on July 4th. Drink, big groups and people not trained to handle them lead to accidents every July 4th. I am almost sure Pierre Paul was not the only one yesterday in the US that did himself damage due to them.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 5,208 Mod ✭✭✭✭GoldFour4

You'd think a pro football player would hire someone to put off the fireworks, especially JPP whose been around a while and has seen teammates do stupid things and others have career threatening injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,166 ✭✭✭Beefy78

JCTO wrote: »
    I am almost sure Pierre Paul was not the only one yesterday in the US that did himself damage due to them.

He definitely wasn't:

http://www.rawstory.com/2015/07/maine-man-tries-to-launch-fireworks-off-top-of-his-head-dies-instantly/

Beefy78 wrote: »

What the actual fuck?

I don't use this word often, but that's absolutely retarded.

Feel bad for his family and friends, but that's a darwin award right there.

Christ almighty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,794 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

What the actual fuck?

I don't use this word often, but that's absolutely retarded.

Feel bad for his family and friends, but that's a darwin award right there.

Christ almighty.

I think my favourite WTF america darwin award was a guy shot and killed his best mate, not much too crazy about that, except he shot and killed him by trying to shoot the button off the top of his baseball cap and this was apparently a thing they had done multiple times

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,829 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,052 ✭✭✭poldebruin

Thanks for the link to that - it was an interesting read. Always good to hear another side to the story.

That said - and maybe A Washington fan can correct me here - Haynesworth really dogged it for two years in DC, was unplayable at the end of his time there (not in a good way unplayable) and couldn't get it done in New England with Belichick either. A simpler explanation might have been he got paid and mailed it in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,510 ✭✭✭Hazys

Russell Wilson was on fire today.

When asked what his preference is between baseball and football, he said "Both".

He said God spoke to him directly after the Super Bowl Interception. “The play happens, and they pick the ball off. And I take three steps,” Wilson said. “And on the third step God says to me, ‘I’m using you. . . . I want to see how you respond. But most importantly I want them to see how you respond.” I puked all over my keyboard after typing that.

Then...
    Wilson went into detail about his decision to abstain from pre-marital sex with Ciara, saying that the couple came to the decision early on in their relationship while she was on tour.

“She was on tour, she was traveling. I was looking at her in the mirror. She was in the dressing room getting ready to go before she went on stage, and she was sitting there, and God spoke to me and said, ‘I need you to lead her.’ And I was like, ‘Really?’ And he was like, ‘No, I want you to lead her.’ So I told her, ‘What would you do if we took all of that extra stuff off the table and just did it Jesus’ way?’ And she was relieved.'”

This is who god is telling Russell Wilson not to have sex with...
    LThQdjP.jpg

Fcuking hell, Wilson you are an utter bell end

PS if I'm wrong and God is really talking to Wilson, fcuk going to heaven if thats the type of show there are running up there. Heaven seems like a sh1t time, Hell is where the craic is

The whole God speaking to him thing freaks me out a little, tbh.

He's a ****ing pleb. God is using him?? **** off you utter ****ing twat.

yeah, fcuk god, id be smashing her through the headboard everynight.

Maybe he bats for the other team

Baseball pun intended.. and the god stuff is just a cover

anyone who talks to god I always assume, mentally retarded in some way or brain tumor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭BaronVon

anyone who talks to god I always assume, mentally retarded in some way or brain tumor

Yes, it might explain the delay in the new contract. Do Seattle really want to be giving their QB, who repeatedly hears voices in his head, a multi million dollar ling term contract?

and another ****ing thing russel ****ing wilson, If you believe in your god so much how can yuou justify him influincing the superbowl where the millionaires are yet kids still get cancer, aids is a thing. **** i hate russel wilson,what a ****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 121 ✭✭Langdon Alger

Russell Wilson is insufferable