Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

Why aren't you on miles? DCM is 26.2 miles. What's with the km again? So confusing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

aquinn wrote: »
    Why aren't you on miles? DCM is 26.2 miles. What's with the km again? So confusing.

Finally some sense. She wouldn't need that converter app she's been hyping up elsewhere if she didn't need to convert every run, pace, split, total. Do it Anna. Make the switch......do it......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

aquinn wrote: »

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Finally some sense. She wouldn't need that converter app she's been hyping up elsewhere if she didn't need to convert every run, pace, split, total. Do it Anna. Make the switch......do it......

Lads, it's also 42.2 km.... I'm only bloody converting to do yiz a favour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Miles for runners, km for tri-athletes. You'll be buying a bike with tri bars & swimming in Dollyer next!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

tang1 wrote: »
    Miles for runners, km for tri-athletes.

I always say to the pace groups when someone's garmin bleeps at 0.62 miles 'No triathletes welcome here, runners only'.
    Funnily enough the first time I heard this said (CL in Limerick 2013; I have been plagiarising the line ever since), the offending garmin did in fact belong to tri forum regular AKW. Sometimes though the offender does happen to be a French runner....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,451 ✭✭✭spaceylou

annapr wrote: »
    Lads, it's also 42.2 km.... I'm only bloody converting to do yiz a favour.

You tell em Anna - feckin luddites still using the imperial system!

spaceylou wrote: »
    You tell em Anna - feckin luddites still using the imperial system!

At last a voice of reason!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

Kilometres work because decimals. And because they're easier to work with.
    I know what 100m looks like, but what in the hell is a yard :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Stick with the km Anna, the others will catch up eventually! DCM has markers every 5km as well as mile markers. Just saying...

libelula wrote: »

LOL... Exactly! And where is the logic in converting a 5k to 3.1 miles... I mean, it's called a 5K!!!

Tis the bit of concrete at the back of the house before you get to the grass and garden proper!! :D

chickey2 wrote: »
    Stick with the km Anna, the others will catch up eventually! DCM has markers every 5km as well as mile markers. Just saying...

Ooh, we have a little rebel band here :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Ooh, we have a little rebel band here :D

There will be no pompoms or jelly babies at Km signs during DCM. Just sayin'...Hi fives will be at mile markers exclusively

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    There will be no pompoms or jelly babies at Km signs during DCM. Just sayin'...Hi fives will be at mile markers exclusively

I'm not bothered about pom poms or jelly babies but I could be turned by flapjacks! ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

There's a reason why you have mile markers nice and regularly. And then 5km thrown in as an afterthought. It's to keep weirdos like them happy and placate them.

BG - we're arguing with a woman who has questionable swimming pool etiquette and listens to podcasts about the lice and their anus. Sometimes you have to realise when you're not dealing with reasonable people and it's time to back away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,779 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

The lice. A grand bunch of lads.

I'm not bothered about pom poms or jelly babies but I could be turned by flapjacks! ;-)

Pretty sure Dubgal doesn't do Kms either :P

There's a reason why you have mile markers nice and regularly. And then 5km thrown in as an afterthought. It's to keep weirdos like them happy and placate them.

BG - we're arguing with a woman who has questionable swimming pool etiquette and listens to podcasts about the lice and their anus. Sometimes you have to realise when you're not dealing with reasonable people and it's time to back away

OH now thinks I've lost the plot completely as I was laughing very loudly reading this :D:D:D

I'm feeling very misunderstood... sob, sob.... not sharing any more fun facts here :p

Friday, July 3: Rest
    Spent the afternoon at the beach to give the legs a rest... gorgeous day, spectacular setting, kids had a blast. We used to go to this beach all the time as kids, but it's only when you come back, you realise how lovely it is.

By the end of the day, my legs were feeling great, ready for (running) action.

Saturday, July 4: 14 Mile LSR

2:28; 14.06 mi @ 10:29/mi; 22.63 km @ 6:31/km
    Elevation gain 158m :eek:

Decided to switch the LSR to today, because I'm driving back to Dublin tomorrow. Set off with FBOT's words of warning about pace in mind, and decided I would keep it at 6:15/km+ (over 10 min/mi). Turned out that wasn't so hard today.

Picked an out and back route, down St John's Point, sea and mountains on both sides, really lovely place to run, but... the hills. By the time I turned around at about 11.5k, my legs were complaining non stop... no amount of wand waving was making them feel any better and I knew the last 5k was mainly uphill.

Never mind the hills, the views were fantastic, the light changing all the time, weather coming in from the Atlantic.

About 10k from home a black and white collie came bounding out of a garden towards me, leaping the wall into the road in front of me... uh-oh, I thought, dogs around here usually bark but don't leave their own territory... turns out the dog was really friendly and accompanied me for about 5k. In true collie style, it was herding me down the road, coming back to check on me, going off to investigate various fields then arriving beside me again. As time went on, with no sign of the dog leaving me, I started to worry about being responsible for it... what if it got lost, or knocked down. There was no way I could run back to its home at this stage, and I didn't want it following me across the main road.

As I was starting to fret about it, the dog nosed into something in the ditch ahead, it looked like a plastic bag or something, but it was a woman crouched in the ditch! We were both equally startled, 'I was sheltering from the rain' she explained... eh, right. The dog looked very pleased about all this social activity.

Eventually, I turned around to the dog and told him sternly, GO HOME. He looked at me sadly, but didn't come any further. I felt a bit mean, and he was great company. He probably covered twice the distance I did and was full of enthusiasm.

Alone again, I succumbed to the misery of how knackered I was and slowly ticked off the Km the rest of the way home... thoughts like: how the hell do I think I can do 26 miles ever? i really don't want to do one of these every week til October, etc... I tried to balance these with, it's good practice running on tired legs, it's ok to be really slow, you're nearly there... it's over, thank fcuk.

So, this was a really hard run... you think you're so great (as the kids say) and then what should be an easy LSR is so hard... nothing like a bit of humility to keep us focused, I suppose.

I had a weird sensation on my left leg at times during this... it felt like a piece of string was touching it above the knee, gently... i looked down a few times and could see nothing, then realised that the piece of string felt like it was inside my knee/thigh... I half expected something to snap :eek: but it was grand...

Need a nap now... Zzzzzz

Brilliant long run report A!
    I drove that road, if it's the one I think you mean a few months back as a detour on the way to Slieve League and my god it's beautiful.
    In fairness though, my poor little car struggled on some parts- god love your legs! It'll all stand to you though, that's another few hills and miles in the back pocket ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

What was your wan at in the ditch Anna?

I never have adventures like this on my long runs!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Great report Anna, i feel for your legs, it'll all be worth it when you cross the life after 26.2 miles :) and i hope next weeks is easier for you

Neady83 wrote: »
    Great report Anna, i feel for your legs, it'll all be worth it when you cross the life after 26.2 miles :) and i hope next weeks is easier for you

Freudian slip or wha :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Freudian slip or wha :pac:

:D:D dam predictive text, I'm not gonna edit it, it's too good :)

I never have adventures like this on my long runs!

neither do I usually!
    tang1 wrote: »
    What was your wan at in the ditch Anna?

Only she and the dog know, B... 'sheltering from the rain' seemed a bit odd, because she was wearing waterproofs...

Neady83 wrote: »

I'm such a wimp complaining, compared to the week you had!! I'm in awe of the training the likes of yourself and CM are doing.

Sunday, July 5: Recovery again
    39:25; 6K @ 6:30; 3.8 mi @ 10:28

For the first couple of minutes of this, I thought I might have to abandon it, my legs were so creaky... no niggles or twinges, just every muscle making itself felt. The miracle of the recovery run though is that after about 15 mins, my legs started feeling better. Ended up enjoying this run.

Nothing in the ditch today other than a hare.

Drove back to Dublin and my legs had seized up so much I could hardly stand up straight getting out of the car... nearly needed the zimmer frame to get into the house :P ...Sitting is way harder than running! I will have to get into the foam rolling habit (not while driving obviously).

Finally hit the target for the week: 58 Km/36 miles :) (even if it is the lowest end of the range)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Sunday, July 5: Recovery again
    39:25; 6K @ 6:30; 3.8 mi @ 10:28

For the first couple of minutes of this, I thought I might have to abandon it, my legs were so creaky... no niggles or twinges, just every muscle making itself felt. The miracle of the recovery run though is that after about 15 mins, my legs started feeling better. Ended up enjoying this run.

Nothing in the ditch today other than a hare.

Drove back to Dublin and my legs had seized up so much I could hardly stand up straight getting out of the car... nearly needed the zimmer frame to get into the house :P ...Sitting is way harder than running! I will have to get into the foam rolling habit (not while driving obviously).

Finally hit the target for the week: 58 Km/36 miles :) (even if it is the lowest end of the range)

Well done Anna maybe they will do a 2 for 1 offer on zimmer frames you can get me one too !!!