Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running in the Real World

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done Anna maybe they will do a 2 for 1 offer on zimmer frames you can get me one too !!!

Haha, we'd look good coming down the Avenue in St. Anne's with them :)

Did I see somewhere that you're off on hols again? If so, hope it's somewhere lovely and ENJOY!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭aquinn

annapr wrote:
    Alone again, I succumbed to the misery of how knackered I was and slowly ticked off the Km the rest of the way home... thoughts like: how the hell do I think I can do 26 miles ever? i really don't want to do one of these every week til October, etc... I tried to balance these with, it's good practice running on tired legs, it's ok to be really slow, you're nearly there... it's over, thank fcuk.

Woo hoo MILES! So impressed but 26.2 actually but a good start.
    Thanks for the coffee earlier. Exhausted now so water on for a bath and massive sleep hopefully.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

annapr wrote: »
    Haha, we'd look good coming down the Avenue in St. Anne's with them :)

Did I see somewhere that you're off on hols again? If so, hope it's somewhere lovely and ENJOY!!

Yes in Portugal for the week very hot but getting the runs in early !

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Yes in Portugal for the week very hot but getting the runs in early !

Good woman, very dedicated!

Monday, July 6 -- rest (planned)

Tuesday, July 7 -- rest (unplanned, bit of a dodgy tummy and lack of sleep)

Wednesday, July 8 -- 11.7Km @ 6:16/7.27 mi @ 10:05

Warmed up running in to town, then cantered around the city centre with aquinn and firedance, startling office workers by coming up behind them chatting loudly (aquinn). Firedance put her XC elbow skills to good use on the crowded footpaths. Always nice to have the company. Easy run into town and easy cooldown with a faster (and chattier) 4 miles in the middle. Can I claim this as a mini-session, I wonder...

Thursday, July 9 -- pathetic 23 mins easy!
    3.6Km @ 6:31; 2.2Mi @ 10:29

Used my time set aside for running to get a body fat composition assessment in DCU... being offered free by recently qualified sports science researchers. Which confirmed that I have a healthy BMI and body fat % (somewhere between above average and excellent :), big improvement from when I was assessed last time)... which left me with about 20 minutes for a run around Albert College Park :mad:. I was so disgusted with myself that I almost abandoned it completely, but thought of the plan target of 36 miles for the week and kept going, even 2 miles helps! Can I claim this as a mini-recovery from my mini-session yesterday... :p

Friday, July 10 -- Easy 12.3Km @ 6:19; 7.64 mi @ 10:09

Out the coast, lovely shady loop of St. Anne's and back in the Howth Road with a stop for water in Killester. By the time I got to the water stop, at about 9K, I was really feeling the need of it. Stuck to grass as much as I could, feeling the concrete in my legs. I love this route, but was just feeling blah today, not much energy, but glad to get it done.

So, I have managed to skip the session for this week through apathy/bad planning. Oh well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Jezus Anna, I usually like to say nice things about my running dates, you seem to have been out with a loudmouth and a gurrier, poor aquinn and Firedance, I'm sure ye're very nice people!

Ps I don't Valencia would suit ye girls :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Out the coast, lovely shady loop of St. Anne's

Did you see they've done away with the lovely trail along the Coast road/Watermill Road and are turning it into a footpath :mad: That was my favourite part of the loop!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Jezus Anna, I usually like to say nice things about my running dates, you seem to have been out with a loudmouth and a gurrier, poor aquinn and Firedance, I'm sure ye're very nice people!

Ps I don't Valencia would suit ye girls :)

TbL

I was thinking the same thing!!! she forgot to mention that I using my elbows to power up a hill and I didn't knock anyone over :D aquinn can defend herself :p

Firedance wrote: »
    I was thinking the same thing!!! she forgot to mention that I using my elbows to power up a hill and I didn't knock anyone over :D aquinn can defend herself :p

Don't mind TbL, he's just coming over here stirring up trouble!!! :pac:

I was complimenting you both!

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Did you see they've done away with the lovely trail along the Coast road/Watermill Road and are turning it into a footpath :mad: That was my favourite part of the loop!

I did notice that, pity because it's such a quiet side of the park... Now they'll encourage other people to use it!!

Anna now **** listed and walking to Fingal.
    D you currently have a spot.
    FD and myself will train then and merrily so.
    Sniff.

Sunday 12th July:12 miles LSR easy
    2:03; 10;16/mi; 19.4Km @ 6:23/km

I have not been feeling energetic this week, and this morning was no different. Went out around 10, in through town -- first time ever running down O'Connell St, surprising how busy it was even at that time on a Sunday morning, then down the quays to the Park, dodging pedestrians all the way. Very enjoyable running through town for a change.

Into the Park, in all its glory, turned left at the monument and revisited those Irish Runner 5 mile hills... wait, it's hardly a hill at all ;). The lovely S bends and up the infamous Upper Glen Road drag before heading for the trails.

The park was really glorious, views of the river and the Dublin mountains, dozens of runners (encountered a few serious looking club groups, recognised 1 or 2 Crusaders passing me at a fair clip). For a while, I was feeling great, a good to be alive kind of run.

After about 8k, I started to feel just wiped out, no energy in my legs, even at a proper slow pace, even with water. Considered the precautionary Leap card in my pocket and whether this might be the day I use it to get home, and what route to take towards public transport... The trails gave me a bit of a boost as they always do, so quiet and traffic free, but decided to leave the park at Ashtown Gate and head home along the canal... I knew this meant I wouldn't hit the planned 13 miles, but I wouldn't have the option to use the Leap card. I decided I didn't actually care about the mileage target.

The canal gave me another bit of a boost, heading downhill towards home always helps and these were my fastest km of the day, partly inspired by a pair of swans (and two nearly full grown cygnets) blocking the path :eek:. The two adults were settled right across the path, a couple of feet apart. There was no way round them that was out of pecking distance... there was no way i was getting between them... or canal side! As I was carefully passing, the one closest to me reared up and that was my fastest 100m :) Two cyclists coming the other way laughed and I did too... I stopped to look back as the cyclists passed very carefully, making sure the bikes were between them and the swans, the swan reared up again spreading its wings high and wide and wagging its tail... they are big scary birds. That was fun.

Finished up on Clonliffe Road, among the Westmeath fans arriving early, trying to find Croke Park (sorry Tang!). One asked a steward where the Cusack Stand was... you're nearly there love, he says, only another 3 or 4 miles to go. Ah, the oul' Dublin wit.

So, 12 miles/19.4 Km done, a mile short of the plan. I walked the last Km home, legs like jelly, just weary.

On the plus side, the Liffey, the Park, the canal... Dublin has some great places to run.

WTD: 29 Miles/47Km... plan called for minimum 36 miles :( but I just wasn't feeling the endorphins this week. D reassured me that the first time he did this plan, he only hit 90% of the lower end of the mileage range and not to get too hung up on that... hoping to get the buzz back next week.

Ah it was you I spotted crossing over at the castleknock gate, did you have earphones in? Well done for not using the leap card, the heat is very draining but according to one of my clubmates itll stand to us all come winter :)

I did have earphones although I was even fed up with my podcasts by then! Where were you? It wasn't even hot today, perfect running conditions.

I was just getting into my car, you were heading into the trails on the left of the gate - thought about calling out but spotted the headphones - I was sweaty mess after only 4 miles!!

sorry I missed you... company would have been nice this morning!

+1! Id like to do that canal route sometime but too chicken to try alone (some dubs are big wuses)

we should definitely coordinate one of these weekends, it's a lovely route, but better with company (you can tackle the swans :))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,388 ✭✭✭laura_ac3

Give me a shout if you fancy some company this week!

laura_ac3 wrote: »
    Give me a shout if you fancy some company this week!

Lucky lady of leisure, enjoy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Finished up on Clonliffe Road, among the Westmeath fans arriving early, trying to find Croke Park (sorry Tang!). One asked a steward where the Cusack Stand was... you're nearly there love, he says, only another 3 or 4 miles to go. Ah, the oul' Dublin wit.

Seemingly Mullingar Hospital was manic last night with loads of Westmeath people reporting to A&E with broken hearts..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

tang1 wrote: »
    Seemingly Mullingar Hospital was manic last night with loads of Westmeath people reporting to A&E with broken hearts..........

Not a bad draw for the next round though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

kit3 wrote: »
    Not a bad draw for the next round though

Its favourable alright, depends how they get over yesterday. Definitely capable of beating Fermanagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,038 ✭✭✭Neady83

Well done on not using the leap card, I'd have been so tempted but it sounds like you had an entertaining run all the same, you forget about the pain when there's people about to be watching and dodging :)

I think you and I were having the same issues last week, I felt rubbish all week too, no energy or drive to get out. Here's hoping this week will be a better on for both of us :):)

Neady83 wrote: »
    Well done on not using the leap card, I'd have been so tempted but it sounds like you had an entertaining run all the same, you forget about the pain when there's people about to be watching and dodging :)

I think you and I were having the same issues last week, I felt rubbish all week too, no energy or drive to get out. Here's hoping this week will be a better on for both of us :):)

Thanks N... although you have way more reason to feel like that than me!! I haven't earned the right to whine :)

Hope this week is off to a better start for you.

tang1 wrote: »
    Its favourable alright, depends how they get over yesterday. Definitely capable of beating Fermanagh.

Should be interesting alright, will have to support the neighbours on this one... but it's great that one of them will get to a quarter final anyway.

Tuesday, July 14: 5.6 mi/9Km easy
    57 min; 6:19/km; 10:10/mi.

Met up with Laura in lovely St. Anne's for this one. Chatted our way around in many circles of the park (I think Laura had a route in mind but we lost track of where we were), as always nice to have company and distracted me from any lingering self pity after my lsr. Treated myself to a takeout coffee and scone afterwards (replacing all the calories from the run!) from the impressive new cafe in the Red Stables.

Fingal 10k on Saturday, so the plan incorporates that -- with the longest run (about 10 miles) in there for tomorrow... :)

annapr wrote:
    Fingal 10k on Saturday, so the plan incorporates that -- with the longest run (about 10 miles) in there for tomorrow...

Race is Sunday.
    Café connected to Moloughneys I believe.

Wednesday, July 16: 10 Miles (16.1 Km) 'Lsr'
    1:42; 10:15/mi; 6:22/Km

The plan incorporates the Fingal 10k and so the longer run was prescribed for Wednesday -- LSR, but suggesting to include some strides. Did this at lunchtime, headed out the sea front to stay on grass and from there onto Dollymount strand... the tide was in, there was a lovely cooling breeze, perfect running conditions, kids diving off the wooden bridge, people were swimming in the bay (intentionally, unlike aquinn at the weekend), the yacht club juniors were out, lots of people on the Bull Wall and beach. I noticed several examples of a traditional Irish seaside practice, sometimes described as 'going for a walk': sitting in your car reading the paper, sitting beside your car on a pull out chair smoking and blocking the path... :rolleyes:

Back to the run -- not feeling great this week still, very little energy, but for the first 7-8k (i.e., on the way out into the breeze), I felt very good, comfortable, energetic, turned the podcast off to listen to the waves. I did 1k on the beach at approximately 10k pace, which felt challenging but fine.

Then I turned around and by the 10th Km, I was just wiped out again... no energy in the legs at all. Just like in the park on Sunday, I really struggled home, the last 4-5k felt like the second half of the marathon. There was no way I could do strides at the end. When I eventually hit the 10 miles and walked the 500m home, my legs were like jelly again.

It was hotter on the way back, but I had water... I was a bit hungry setting out, but that shouldn't have done it. Anyway, I was fine on Tuesday doing a shorter run, so not sure what's going on.

Taking a break today, and I'll see how I feel ahead of Fingal 10k, rapidly revising targets downwards for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

I had a similar run last week Anna, and I'm pretty sure it was down to being hungry starting off. Definitely need to up the calorie intake along with the mileage. I think you get away with it on the shorter runs but on the longer ones you need to be well fed :D