Big Brother UK 2015 **Use spoiler tags, mod warning post #1 & 3037**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,274 ✭✭✭duffman13

Eyepatch wrote: »
    Sad! Why pic one individual to target it at? It's not just writing an essay is it?

Ah there is two of them in it with the essays, there's an ignore function if it's too tedious to read the long posts. Not a fan myself but just skip over them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,677 ✭✭✭Eyepatch

duffman13 wrote: »
    Ah there is two of them in it with the essays, there's an ignore function if it's too tedious to read the long posts. Not a fan myself but just skip over them.
    I wouldn't go so far as Ignore - but I do skip over the essays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

Back to the essays again! Who can be bothered to read them? It's all about right fighting! Carry on, guys. There can be no winners - only losers.

I read it, after an initial 'oh God, this is long...' :pac:

Lemlin makes very good points which I totally agree with.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

duffman13 wrote:
    Sam just wants to be liked by everyone, makes her so dull to watch. Her and Jack to go this week

I'd expect that only for Harrys carry on the last few days. The public seem to love Nick - although for the life of me I can't quite figure out why - and her strop on his birthday is going to lead to her downfall imo. I wouldn't care either way between Sam or Harry to leave though to be honest.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 58,128 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

duffman13 wrote:

Was just going to say the same thing myself. It's hardly targeting when they're both at the same thing!

Necrominus wrote: »
    I'd expect that only for Harrys carry on the last few days. The public seem to love Nick - although for the life of me I can't quite figure out why - and her strop on his birthday is going to lead to her downfall imo. I wouldn't care either way between Sam or Harry to leave though to be honest.

I found Nick likeable before he got involved with Harry. He was upto then very good at reading people, but Harry in the nip was a bit like Melisandre in Game of Thrones to him and he became Stannis and captivated by her.
    No there are no GoT spoilers there...

RobertKK wrote:
    Lemlin makes very good points which I totally agree with.

+1 on this. There's a bit of selective viewing going on at times on this thread and what's acceptable from some housemates: (eg NO mention bar my own of Brian trying to influence nominations after the hullabaloo over Marc the previous day.) is deemed as vicious, cruel and bullying by other HMs.

RobertKK wrote:
    I found Nick likeable before he got involved with Harry. He was upto then very good at reading people, but Harry in the nip was a bit like Melisandre in Game of Thrones to him and he became Stannis and captivated by her. No there are no GoT spoilers there...

I wouldn't say I would have liked him before Harry, I felt sorry for him because he obviously suffers badly from social anxiety. But Jade was just evicted on the back of supposed 'bed hopping' antics that Nick has been guilty of throughout the last six weeks! Nikki next on the list I expect!

I must admit, I suffer from mild dyslexia. After about three lines of an "essay", I lose focus and can't continue. No offence meant! Carry on guys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

housetypeb wrote: »
    This bull**** of having to give a reason for nominating someone is BB's way of causing even more conflict in the house,thought Joel let himself down and was a bit of a bollox for not accepting the nomination for what it was, rather than picking at the reasons.
    Simon or Sam will probably be gone at the weekend.
    Am I the only one who thinks Sam is beautiful and sexy,personality aside.

I find very unattractive in every sense of the word physically. Definitely not my cup of tea but I might not be her's either:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,247 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

Sad! Why pick one individual to target it at? It's not just writing an essay is it?

It's targetted at the clique but, in fairness, one individual makes all their decisions for them!
    I must admit, I suffer from mild dyslexia. After about three lines of an "essay", I lose focus and can't continue. No offence meant! Carry on guys!

I'm repeating myself here but nobody is forcing you to read it. Others have said they thought it included some good points and that's good enough for me.

I'm more of a Marc than a Danny - you can't try and please everyone!

From Housetypb:
    Am I the only one who thinks Sam is beautiful and sexy,personality aside.

Count me in in that! I posted on that, way way back. I think she's gorgeous. Some disagreed at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,940 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

I wouldn't say I would have liked him before Harry, I felt sorry for him because he obviously suffers badly from social anxiety. But Jade was just evicted on the back of supposed 'bed hopping' antics that Nick has been guilty of throughout the last six weeks! Nikki next on the list I expect!

That's it, at the start it was a kind of pity because of the social awkwardness, but he pigeon holed himself by spending most of his time with Jade & then Harri. Now I'm just ambivalent towards him, which is a shame as he was actually quite funny.

Lemlin wrote: »
    It's targetted at the clique but, in fairness, one individual makes all their decisions for them!

I'm more of a Marc than a Danny - you can't try and please everyone!
    Not interested in cliques!
    I'm repeating myself here but nobody is forcing you to read it. Others have said they thought it included some good points and that's good enough for me.
    I got your message the first time!

Eyepatch wrote:
    Count me in in that! I posted on that, way way back. I think she's gorgeous. Some disagreed at the time.

Yeah I was one that disagreed, don't see it at all. Marcs comments were out of line though. Wouldn't fancy any of the remaining women in the house at all tbh!

skipper_G wrote:
    That's it, at the start it was a kind of pity because of the social awkwardness, but he pigeon holed himself by spending most of his time with Jade & then Harri. Now I'm just ambivalent towards him, which is a shame as he was actually quite funny.

It actually amazed me that at one point he was favorite to win, because as far as I can see Nick does the same thing as Jack, lounging around in his dressing gown when he's not in bed with Harry. I expect the one difference that seperates their actions is Jacks constant bitching, whining and moaning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,940 ✭✭✭✭skipper_G

It actually amazed me that at one point he was favorite to win, because as far as I can see Nick does the same thing as Jack, lounging around in his dressing gown when he's not in bed with Harry. I expect the one difference that seperates their actions is Jacks constant bitching, whining and moaning.

And the nose picking, oh dear god the nose picking..... even on his birthday, and at the table!

Not particularly fond of Nick but I thought the "I'm not ****ing snoring" bit was comedy gold last night though.
    Yeah I was one that disagreed, don't see it at all. Marcs comments were out of line though. Wouldn't fancy any of the remaining women in the house at all tbh!

What were Marc's comments to Sam? For some reason, Sky Plus didn't get the start of last night's episode so I only got from where Showbiz was ending his nomination.

Lemlin wrote:
    What were Marc's comments to Sam? For some reason, Sky Plus didn't get the start of last night's episode so I only got from where Showbiz was ending his nomination.

He meant it as 'banter' (oh how I hate that word) but was basically calling her fat a number of times when she was exercising.

skipper_G wrote: »
    And the nose picking, oh dear god the nose picking..... even on his birthday, and at the table!

...and even picking his nose with a spoon...footage on BBBOTS.

No wonder Nikki painted him with a big nose.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

I think I have figured out Brian. He's far from being the "village idiot". That was just a ploy that worked for him, his first time round, with the twins, "Samanda". He has a very good heart and is angered when he perceives an "underdog" to be mistreated. He can speak nicely.

What sets Brian apart from all of the rest of us is, he is driven and controlled by his emotions. In a highly charged emotional situation, such as an arguement or confrontatation, Brian becomes overwhelmed by the emotional atmospnere that prevails in that situation. He responds with an emotional outbusrt of anger.

I do believe, when Brian was in the toilet, supposedly crying over Jade, that he actually was crying because he was overwhelmed emotionally by the whole atmosphere that had been develping in the group after the Time-warp housemates had entered the house.

Also, he is feeling powerless, in the face of the lack of respect he has been feeling from them during his time with them in the Bunker. The emotions boil up and he reponds with anger. His intellect recedes and he is once again governed by his emotions - i.e. out of control.

If Brian becomes enamored of a woman and is rejected, there is every chance he could become a stalker, as again, his emotions rule him. The more intense his emotions, the less he can draw on his thinking facilities, and is likely to act out of control.

He is a lovely guy, but a bit of a danger to himself and others, because of the huge burden of emotions that rule him.

He is humble and says he will try to "work on this", when someone points it out to him.

He's a creep. He would have hopped on any of the girls and, whichever one he got lucky with first, he would have developed feelings for. Less than a week in there and he is thinking of someone he has just met as his girlfriend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Crimsonforce

Peist2007 wrote: »
    He's a creep. He would have hopped on any of the girls and, whichever one he got lucky with first, he would have developed feelings for. Less than a week in there and he is thinking of someone he has just met as his girlfriend.

I can see him in a Hannibal lector jumpsuit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

This thread makes me laugh at times because there is some on here who moan about how the show has become sh*t with all the noms and C5 creating rows the whole time and its not the same as when feckin Tyrone Tom and Nasty Nick was in it.
    Yet the same posters daily become almost aggressive in their reply's if you say anything about their favourites and woe betide you if you disagree with their posts and say anything positive about their personal enemys in the show .

There would be no BB if they stuck with the old format,simple as.

And don't forget its a feckin GAMESHOW!!

tipptom wrote: »
    This thread makes me laugh at times because there is some on here who moan about how the show has become sh*t with all the noms and C5 creating rows the whole time and its not the same as when feckin Tyrone Tom and Nasty Nick was in it.
    Yet the same posters daily become almost aggressive in their reply's if you say anything about their favourites and woe betide you if you disagree with their posts and say anything positive about their personal enemys in the show .

I agree with your point but I don't think people overly moan about it on here. The bottom line for me is that the show has moved from being originally a sort of social experiment to now purely being an entertainment show. As I said previously, the original idea was that the HMs had no contact with the outside world and that has been totally turned on its head. Remember the furore there used to be when some Joe Public would shout stuff into the house in the early years?

That's why I don't agree when Emma Willis argues that quiet HMs like Christian, Chloe and Showbiz have a right to be there. They actually don't and they are only there because they lied in their original VTs. I mean, come on, Christian, a housemate so lacking in personality and originality, that the best he could do to liven things up was switching the sugar/salt and copying Marc banging some pots.

Joel and Nick can get by because they are somewhat eccentric which unintentionally leads to comedy moments but that wouldn't have been enough to carry the series, the house really needed Marc and the Timewarp housemates to pull it apart.

That effect is now disappearing though so a new change to the dynamic is going to be quickly needed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

tipptom wrote: »

Indeed, remember the highlights apart from nasty nick in bb1 was some guy feeding the chickens and giving them names

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

I agree with your point but I don't think people overly moan about it on here. The bottom line for me is that the show has moved from being originally a social experiment to now purely being an entertainment show.

That's why I don't agree when Emma Willis argues that quiet HMs like Christian, Chloe and Showbiz have a right to be there. They actually don't and they are only there because they lied in their original VTs.

Joel and Nick can get by because they are somewhat eccentric but that wouldn't have been enough to carry the series, the house really needed Marc and the Timewarp housemates to pull it apart.
    Agree with you but I think people have moved on from the social experiment now because it has been done to death and want to see fireworks more often hence the nominations every day now rather than watch them lazing around for days on end,crass as that may be.

Emma Willis should not have been so antsy towards Jade the other night because she gave her opinion on Christian the other night about him being boring as she was the one living with him 24/7 and was entitled to her opinion as she was a HM not an interviewer.

I like Nick in ways but I think he was probably the most dishonest looking back on him going in to the house as he put on a persona of I don't do anything and its ridiculous asking someone like me if I have a job because I am so posh.
    The producers thought they had TV gold with some upper class toff goading the rest of them for being working class but really just picks his nose nervously and becomes very passive if someone asks him about his background,almost ashamed of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,915 ✭✭✭United Chester Men

Bit of an odd one, Mark........................ "I really hope you do get cancer"..............

http://cancerwontbeatme.com/2015/06/02/troll-of-the-big-brother-house/#more-1110

I agree with your point but I don't think people overly moan about it on here. The bottom line for me is that the show has moved from being originally a sort of social experiment to now purely being an entertainment show. As I said previously, the original idea was that the HMs had no contact with the outside world and that has been totally turned on its head. Remember the furore there used to be when some Joe Public would shout stuff into the house in the early years?

That's why I don't agree when Emma Willis argues that quiet HMs like Christian, Chloe and Showbiz have a right to be there. They actually don't and they are only there because they lied in their original VTs. I mean, come on, Christian, a housemate so lacking in personality and originality, that the best he could do to liven things up was switching the sugar/salt and copying Marc banging some pots.

Joel and Nick can get by because they are somewhat eccentric which unintentionally leads to comedy moments but that wouldn't have been enough to carry the series, the house really needed Marc and the Timewarp housemates to pull it apart.

That effect is now disappearing though so a new change to the dynamic is going to be quickly needed.

who does deserve to be there?! I would have thought Simon is exactly the sort of person Channel 5 are targetting. Someone in the media who is over extrovert and camp and acting to a character

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,818 ✭✭✭Chris_Bradley

Bit of an odd one, Mark........................ "I really hope you do get cancer"..............

http://cancerwontbeatme.com/2015/06/02/troll-of-the-big-brother-house/#more-1110

If that's true that he said that he's even more of an absolute eejit then we thought.

he is a total to**er. Makes every scenario about his own agenda. Self absorbed and lacking in empathy. The whole "I am a scientist" thing to qualify every attempt at intellectual debate is also fraudulent.

He has just finished a basic udergraduate degree that most finish when they are 21/22. I understand he repeated years but thats beside the point. He is awaiting results for said degree which happens to be in science discipline. That does not make him a scientist!! Someone with a BA in economics or a BA in Philosophy isn't an economist or a philosopher, respectively.

You earn such titles through further study and research work, post grads, doctorates, career work, achievments etc in your field.

His job is essentially lab technician for a drug company, pending his results. Good job but nowhere near a position to call himself a scientist!

The cheek to troll someone on the internet and say he hopes they get cancer because he was told where to go is baffling!!