Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

synopsis about monaghan was pretty much a mixed bag , better then most teams in the country but maybe that bit short of the likes of kerry and dublin , likley to cause donegal problems there next day (should they get there) but will probably fall short

in the game its self probably didnt reach there full potential a far better footballing side then fermanagh and probably playing within themselves

descent looking squad to be brining on the likes of dick cleckin half way through the game

you could read all that back in the tone of kevin mcstay or pat spilane or both , because they were pretty much singing from the same hymm sheet , the rte player will have it over night at some stage they were reluctent to say anything good or bad , as a neutral its kinda hard to argue with them though

thanks very much. that's pretty close to what i expected. sure, it's nice to be in the conversation with those teams at least. not too long ago, the idea of being mentioned in the same breath as dublin and kerry would have been ludicrous.

hopefully we can push on even further.

southstand wrote: »
    I am a Tipperary man and sometimes he does seem to be over critical of Tipp but he was right in what he was saying, if Tipp were playing KK today they would have taken over in that first ten mins of 2nd half and won.
    I wouldn't be getting too carried away about the perfomance today as limerick were very poor

You make good points but i take exceptions i take to Loughnanes comments in that

a) He stated that Clare 'wont be a one hit wonder like Tipp' and yet they havent won a championship game since they won the all ireland in 2013

b) Its also a bit unfair considering that we contested 4 of the last 6 all ireland finals so we are hardly a one hit wonder. We have went toe to toe with a side that few can get near and while we have suffered bad defeats such as 11 and 12 we have been very unlucky in 2009, won in 2010 and came within an inch of stealing it last year. We were also that little bit unlucky in 2013 where we played well but couldnt take our scores

Not reading too much into today either. Championship only really hots up at knockout stage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 251 ✭✭patsyrockem

alot of these pundits expect the division 4 teams to be as good as the division 1 teams pat spilane is dead right its hugely important that the exilies get a look in , obviously cake has'nt been abroad too much , ruislip is one of the best venues in the gaa and is probably one of the most bitter sweet places you could visit , what ever about results london is probably one of the most important aspacts of the gaa , i would much prefer if london were introduced into the munster championship to give them a chance ,

Oh he has for sure, on a free lunch!!
    Fair play paul coggins, got London to a Connaught final against all the odds and with a bit of class and humility. Cake/caca and his mates could do a lot worse than to get Paul home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,517 ✭✭✭windy shepard henderson

jethro081 wrote: »
    thanks very much. that's pretty close to what i expected. sure, it's nice to be in the conversation with those teams at least. not too long ago, the idea of being mentioned in the same breath as dublin and kerry would have been ludicrous.

hopefully we can push on even further.

agreed they did consider ye as one of the more experienced and seasoned sides in the championship and to be fair they are right , i think too much can be made of under age success and things like that

its not that long ago monaghan were sluging it out with the likes of clare in dvision 3 and 4 and are in truth one of the top sides in the country , all done by hard graft , people dont seem to realise that they are pretty much on the sceane with the last 10 years since they won the division 2 league final against wexford

maybe its a signal of where other counties are going wrong, how long is the current management in place ? 3 /4 years , has all the hallmarks of a stable set up at the moment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 556 ✭✭✭jethro081

agreed they did consider ye as one of the more experienced and seasoned sides in the championship and to be fair they are right , i think too much can be made of under age success and things like that

its not that long ago monaghan were sluging it out with the likes of clare in dvision 3 and 4 and are in truth one of the top sides in the country , all done by hard graft , people dont seem to realise that they are pretty much on the sceane with the last 10 years since they won the division 2 league final against wexford

maybe its a signal of where other counties are going wrong, how long is the current management in place ? 3 /4 years , has all the hallmarks of a stable set up at the moment

Malachy O'Rourke is in his third year in charge. he's done an amazing job to be fair. under the banty Monaghan were a threat, but not at the level we're seeing now. then we had a couple of real bad years under eamonn mc enaney, but O'Rourke has come in there and done sterling work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

London manager laying into Shane Curran now. Hope to f*ck this man never appears on live TV again.

I think what Shane Curran was right. What is the point in London entering into the championship and getting hammered? none. They need to play in a competition that they have a chance of winning. It's all a pointless exercise, in which no team benefits.

Always remember some of these championship matches are expensive to get into watch. It was €30 to get into Nowlan Park to watch Kilkenny hammer Wexford. It's a waste of money, with little to no entertainment value.
    So what is the point in paying money to go and watch London, Longford etc getting hammered? None. London will never ever win a provincial championship, or an All Ireland. I'm sorry to piss on people's bonfire, but Shane Curran told the truth.

I hope Sunday Game doesn't turn into the Soccer coverage over on Sky Sports, where the pundits are ass lickers, that are always too afraid to offend.
    You should never tell the people what they want to hear, tell them what they need to hear.

Conas wrote: »
    I think what Shane Curran was right. What is the point in London entering into the championship and getting hammered? none. They need to play in a competition that they have a chance of winning. It's all a pointless exercise, in which no team benefits.

Always remember some of these championship matches are expensive to get into watch. It was €30 to get into Nowlan Park to watch Kilkenny hammer Wexford. It's a waste of money, with little to no entertainment value.
    So what is the point in paying money to go and watch London, Longford etc getting hammered? None. London will never ever win a provincial championship, or an All Ireland. I'm sorry to piss on people's bonfire, but Shane Curran told the truth.

I hope Sunday Game doesn't turn into the Soccer coverage over on Sky Sports, where the pundits are ass lickers, that are always too afraid to offend.
    You should never tell the people what they want to hear, tell them what they need to hear.

i think what angered people about curren was he was'nt making an alternative for london he just seemed to want them out of the senior championship

but one thing you have to realize is in gaa be it football or hurling you will see teams get hammered more regularly , there is little hideing spots on a gaa field if its not going to be your day unlike lets say soccer wheere a team might lose 2-0 and played off the park for 90mns in gaa if you get played off the park you will lose heavily

longford v offaly and dublin v monaghan would be my examples for this year where one team got hammered one week and bounced back the next day and went toe to toe against the same opposition its all on the day really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81 ✭✭paddy13

I really do think something needs to change. For example my own county Waterford will at least get one hammerings in the championship every year. How is that ever going to improve football in our county or similar counties? Something needs to done in football and maybe in hurling too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,428 ✭✭✭Powerhouse

Using Curran's logic that you promote why not equally argue that Wexford hurlers should be put into a different competition too? What is the point in them getting hammered? Do we not need to hear that too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Curran wasn't right because he went on a rant against London and didn't even mention anything about a bad championship structure it was purely a dig aimed at London and the apparent inconvenience it was for Roscommon to play them.

If he made a point about the championship structure resulting in too many mismatches and the need perhaps to split it into divisions he would have had a valid point and not many people would have had an issue with that.

Fair play to Paul Coggins for pointing out his bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

so if London were to pull out, you would support the demise of another 12-14 counties who win nothing any year and normally end up getting hammered when they play a decent team?

bare in mind that London got to the Connacht final 2 year ago and in the qualifiers beat several teams - i assume you want all of them out also?

Shane Curran should never again be allowed on live TV - not because of his comments, but because overall he is a terrible pundit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,516 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

paddy13 wrote: »
    I really do think something needs to change. For example my own county Waterford will at least get one hammerings in the championship every year. How is that ever going to improve football in our county or similar counties? Something needs to done in football and maybe in hurling too.

If Waterford footballers had to play Cork/Kerry/Dublin etc. then I'd question the system and suggest they were thrown to the lions.

Waterford played Div 4 football, to ensure they only play the weakest counties.
    And then Tipp (Div 3) and Offaly (another Div 4 team, and at home) in the championship, the Munster draw is fixed so that they cannot go straight into a game with Cork or Kerry.

If the draw should be fixed to avoid games such as Offaly at home, then you're running out of counties to play.

Perhaps it's more of an internal issue in the county ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

tanko wrote: »
    McStay talking through his hole trying to make excuses for the cake fool. He reckons there more than one London in the championship, actually there isn't Kevin.

His point was there is more than one equivalent of London in the championship, which is correct.
    Whatever Curran's general point, he was wrong to single out London.

Myself, I believe every county and I include London in that should have a shot at the All-Ireland title, but some work is surely needed especially or maybe only in Leinster.
    The situation where Dublin could play Longford, Wicklow or Offaly in the first round of Leinster does nobody any good. Dublin straight to the semi-final is not a bad idea or is forcing them to play away from home for all bar the final.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭willabur

For me it is an invalid point - we want to grow the game not shrink it.
    What needs to be done is the smaller counties need to be helped to level the playing field. We need to put money second sometimes and make the likes of Dublin play their fair share of games outside of the capitol. Sure they would have beaten longford but the game would have been closer had it been played in Pearse Park and there would have been a significant knock on effect to the local economy of Longford town.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

paddy13 wrote: »

There's nobody to blame for situations like that only their own county boards, you can't help those who dont want to be helped!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

"ger loughnane in anti tipperary rant shock horror"

i have never known a man to hate another county like he dose always sticking in the boot

I don't think anyone takes anything he says about Tipp serious anymore, its becomning a bit tired at this stage and has been going on since 1993 and the Nicky incident that he fabricated (it actually worked perfectly)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,387 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

willabur wrote: »
    For me it is an invalid point - we want to grow the game not shrink it.
    What needs to be done is the smaller counties need to be helped to level the playing field. We need to put money second sometimes and make the likes of Dublin play their fair share of games outside of the capitol. Sure they would have beaten longford but the game would have been closer had it been played in Pearse Park and there would have been a significant knock on effect to the local economy of Longford town.

I couldn't agree more. I seem to remember Dublin playing a qualifier in Clones a few years back and it was a great occasion. More of that!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 327 ✭✭Jampip

Jayop wrote: »
    I couldn't agree more. I seem to remember Dublin playing a qualifier in Clones a few years back and it was a great occasion. More of that!

That "few years back" was 12 years ago in 2003! I remember it well because the Dubs stopped off in a good few Cavan towns like Virginia on the way back. It was good craic.

Jampip wrote: »
    That "few years back" was 12 years ago in 2003! I remember it well because the Dubs stopped off in a good few Cavan towns like Virginia on the way back. It was good craic.

Christ, I'd have said 5/6 years tops. The wife is from Cootehill and there's family up in Clones so I heard it was supposed to be a great occasion. When the Dubs come to town they come in numbers and take over the place but I've always had mighty craic with them any time I've encountered them, be it Dublin soccer teams or GAA.

The few games Tyrone played with Dublin up in Croker there in the last decade were some of the best days out at football I've had. The craic was just 90 with them providing you're not soft skinned!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

robbiezero wrote:
    His point was there is more than one equivalent of London in the championship, which is correct. Whatever Curran's general point, he was wrong to single out London.

As you said that was his point, but not Currens, he singled out London, and McStay was trying to bail him out, as far as I'm concerned it didn't work. McStay was asked about what Curren said, not for his opinion on the issue.

His effort to say it was just a pair of Roscommon men taking meant nothing.
    Thought Spillane was a lot closer to the mark. My own nephew just joined a GAA club in London two weeks ago. His words struck home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,738 ✭✭✭robbiezero

Stoner wrote: »
    As you said that was his point, but not Currens, he singled out London, and McStay was trying to bail him out, as far as I'm concerned it didn't work. McStay was asked about what Curren said, not for his opinion on the issue.

His effort to say it was just a pair of Roscommon men taking meant nothing.
    Thought Spillane was a lot closer to the mark. My own nephew just joined a GAA club in London two weeks ago. His words struck home.

Curran expressed his point very poorly. I am unsure if he meant to single out London (which if he was, his point is just ridiculous) or the general point about the system allowing the weakest to face the strongest straight off. Either way it was a very poor ill-thought out comment from Curran and McStays defence of it was pretty half hearted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,019 ✭✭✭TCDStudent1

Doesnt every sporting competition have weak teams?

People talk about the champions league format, but I'd rarely watch the early group matches to see big teams easily beat weaker teams. Sometimes there will be a surprise, just like sometimes there will be a surprise in GAA (London in Connacht a couple of years ago, Sligo & Antrim last weekend). Not sure I can think of any competition that does not have weaker teams.

I am not so sure that the issue is with the structure of the competitions. It is more with the fact that these weaker teams are not doing enough to make themselves competitive. Look at the Leinster hurling qualifying group - weaker teams getting matches against similar standard teams. A good structure for them and in theory, this should improve them. But they still dont beat the big boys after they come through it :-(

Doesnt every sporting competition have weak teams?

People talk about the champions league format, but I'd rarely watch the early group matches to see big teams easily beat weaker teams. Sometimes there will be a surprise, just like sometimes there will be a surprise in GAA (London in Connacht a couple of years ago, Sligo & Antrim last weekend). Not sure I can think of any competition that does not have weaker teams.

I am not so sure that the issue is with the structure of the competitions. It is more with the fact that these weaker teams are not doing enough to make themselves competitive. Look at the Leinster hurling qualifying group - weaker teams getting matches against similar standard teams. A good structure for them and in theory, this should improve them. But they still dont beat the big boys after they come through it :-(

Agreed 100% , the reality no mater what format you use there is still only 3 realistic contenders for the football championship and maybe 3/4 in the hurling championship , so by changing the format you are not going to make it any easier for teams to progress

as i said earlier in the thread , the monaghan way is the way to go for most teams , stick it out let managers see out there 2 or 3 year plan , be patient when teams are in development stage they will pick up bad results from time to time , chopping and changing managers every 5 minuets is not the way to go
    and in truth you could have the biggest center of excellence center in the country but it would count for nothing if there is'nt propper cohesion between all teams from 14s 16s development stage to senior set ups everyone has to be singing from the same hymm sheet for teams to improve

Agreed 100% , the reality no mater what format you use there is still only 3 realistic contenders for the football championship and maybe 3/4 in the hurling championship , so by changing the format you are not going to make it any easier for teams to progress

as i said earlier in the thread , the monaghan way is the way to go for most teams , stick it out let managers see out there 2 or 3 year plan , be patient when teams are in development stage they will pick up bad results from time to time , chopping and changing managers every 5 minuets is not the way to go
    and in truth you could have the biggest center of excellence center in the country but it would count for nothing if there is'nt propper cohesion between all teams from 14s 16s development stage to senior set ups everyone has to be singing from the same hymm sheet for teams to improve

3 for football? 4 surely!

donegal , dublin and kerry , in my opinion would be a bit too far ahead of the rest at the moment you could make a case for the likes of tyrone, mayo, cork but i still think there is a gap between both groups

Mayo have been in 15 of the last 10 allireland finals. Despite being perennial nearly men you've got to make them contenders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

Mayo have been in 15 of the last 10 allireland finals.

Some going that.

Obviously it was an attempt at sarcasm but living on the mayo border that's certainly what it feels like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,222 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

I think there is very little between Kerry, Donegal and Mayo.

Kerry beat Mayo last year in extra time of a replay, and beat Donegal where the differece was a mistake by the goal keeper.
    They all had pretty similar leagues.
    On any given Sunday any of them could beat the other.

Dublin is harder to judge in the context of how much better than the other 3 they may be.
    I think they may be marginally better based on the depth of the panel and this year's desire to win back the All Ireland, but as we say from 2014 they are not unbeatable