Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

First one all yr. Worst one I've ever seen here

I had a calf this year with bad bloat. Gave him buscapan I think was the drug and dosed him with cooking oil. Watched him and when he got really bloated I punctured him with a thick calcium needle. Gave him a shot of norbritin for 3 days to cover him for infection after the needle and he was perfect afterwards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

First one all yr. Worst one I've ever seen here

Some gom I am. It was mid lactation milk fever. Never seen or heard of it before. Says the bloat was secondary but not the cause
    gave 4 cows cidr and one receptol. I'm to estrumate 4 ciws in 6 days pull cidr in 7 and serve 72 hrs later

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Some gom I am. It was mid lactation milk fever. Never seen or heard of it before. Says the bloat was secondary but not the cause
    gave 4 cows cidr and one receptol. I'm to estrumate 4 ciws in 6 days pull cidr in 7 and serve 72 hrs later

Every days a school day. Aren't you dosing with water?

Yep only with trace elements. No calcium in them. This cow had milk fever at calving too.
    Big cow givin 38l last recording 2 wks ago

Off to lift her now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

leg wax wrote: »
    anyone going to kilkenny today to the fr open day.

2 weeks ago yes, but as usual work got in the way. Going to go to Moorepark for sure though.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Sometimes the handling is enough to bring them on

A "sweep". I don't think GG will know what I'm on about ;)

As well as this observe for heat from 36hrs after removing coil and serve at normal interval after observed standing heat. Having them all coming together will help them both to come bulling and show it.

just do it wrote: »
    2 weeks ago yes, but as usual work got in the way. Going to go to Moorepark for sure though.

I'll see your there. I'll be in the expansion village

Price of start-up is coming down again. If only I could get the house built and I could plough into it then. Priorities...

Should have swindled another 100k in mortgage for the yard ;)

In the topic of open days and which to attend. That all have something to offer but I'd put the Irish Grassland Summer Tour up with the best.

Anyone serious about grassland mgt should make or their business to attend this event. The quality of the questions alone make it worthwhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭dar31

In the topic of open days and which to attend. That all have something to offer but I'd put the Irish Grassland Summer Tour up with the best.

Anyone serious about grassland mgt should make or their business to attend this event. The quality of the questions alone make it worthwhile.

Where's it on this year frazz. Haven't seen or heard much yet about it, .. Might help if I looked
    Going to head to moorepark and visit heifers while I'm down there.

Frazz

Is there much benefit to joining IGA?

Frazz

Half price entry to all their events as well as getting their journals. I find the networking to be the most valuable part

dar31 wrote: »
    Where's it on this year frazz. Haven't seen or heard much yet about it, .. Might help if I looked

West I hear, but that could be nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,714 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

On farm walks there's a particularly good one on in Jim delahuntys in burr this Wednesday .a guy id put in same category as Stan.high ebi,hol fr herd ,huge emphasis on producing large volumes of milk from grass,excellent grassland management with high Sr been there a few times and is a trend setter in the area for what he dose as well as been a no bull**** straight talking bloke.

mahoney_j wrote: »
    On farm walks there's a particularly good one on in Jim delahuntys in burr this Wednesday .a guy id put in same category as Stan.high ebi,hol fr herd ,huge emphasis on producing large volumes of milk from grass,excellent grassland management with high Sr been there a few times and is a trend setter in the area for what he dose as well as been a no bull**** straight talking bloke.
    Are you going?
    Hoping to make it up.
    Not criticising but for the high sr he is operating at I would have expected him to be growing more grass tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

A lot of br friesan in the backbreeding of those cows too. Was near enough all br fr when he won the ebi competion .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

Noel O Toole

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Two Galway farms in late July I think this yr, on the same week, as the Galway Races from what I can gather. Just saying!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Frazz

Half price entry to all their events as well as getting their journals. I find the networking to be the most valuable part
    Great organisation, tbh.

Along with the half price entry, you get access to a load of papers online on their website.

And, as frazzled says, talking to different people there is fantastic. Lads at different stages of farming and discussing different issues they have at lunch is very interesting. And funny at times.

Booking site below.

http://www.irishgrassland.com/events-and-reviews/dairy-summer-tour.asp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Grassland nextdoor to you in reasonably good order whats it worth, but may require some infrastructure investment on my side , bulk tank and cow accommodation mainly .cows are more or less ready to go , well at a stocking rate id be happy (2.5hec)with for the first year.anyone care to play with a few figures on what rent to pay and what id make out of it

Well feck it any, work meeting next Wednesday and AC/DC in 1st. That rules out both those field days :(

Some changes on this farming forum since I joined in '09. There was hardly a dairy farmer to be seen, farming chit chat was about farming, and there was more talk about treating rushes than measuring grass! Now the dairy thread is nearing the magic 10k posts and the beef thread only occasionally pops is head up. And finally very few, if any, of the posters from then have the same username!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

keep going wrote: »
    Grassland nextdoor to you in reasonably good order whats it worth, but may require some infrastructure investment on my side , bulk tank and cow accommodation mainly .cows are more or less ready to go , well at a stocking rate id be happy (2.5hec)with for the first year.anyone care to play with a few figures on what rent to pay and what id make out of it

What are u doing right that ur getting all this ground nxt door to u?!! Present milk price will certainly change what u can pay for it. Land making €300/acre for grazing six months, might be got for €250 or less now.
    Not sure if this is a west cork way of thinking or what, but when ground like that comes up right nxt door, can u afford not to take it?

Well feck it any, work meeting next Wednesday and AC/DC in 1st. That rules out both those field days :(

I'm away on holidays Wednesday and acdc also on 1st July ,catch vivat the bar,first round on u!!

What are u doing right that ur getting all this ground nxt door to u?!! Present milk price will certainly change what u can pay for it. Land making €300/acre for grazing six months, might be got for €250 or less now.
    Not sure if this is a west cork way of thinking or what, but when ground like that comes up right nxt door, can u afford not to take it?

Last line of your post is exactly how I'd be thinking as well.id be burning midnight oil trying to figure a way of making it work.land next to your milk block like that may be a once in a generation thing.saying that though if figures don't stack up then no point crippling yourself and putting rest of operation under pressure

I'm away on holidays Wednesday and acdc also on 1st July ,catch vivat the bar,first round on u!!

It will have to be, the long hair isgone and I'm just about able for 2 rounds at this stage!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,773 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Last line of your post is exactly how I'd be thinking as well.id be burning midnight oil trying to figure a way of making it work.land next to your milk block like that may be a once in a generation thing.saying that though if figures don't stack up then no point crippling yourself and putting rest of operation under pressure
    Neighbour has expanded big time. He has dry ground. 30 acres reseeded since April which hasn't grown. Feeding silage under serious pressure. He rented extra ground beside him last year

Friend of dad's rang him today. Bought a bull to serve cows this yr.
    Had him fertility tested etc. Perfect.
    Says when he's seem him serving cows he pulls one stone up in himself. Hopes he isn't throwing all bulls out of that stone :D