Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Last year price was at a record high. Where did the money made disappear to?

I hope people start to pay attention to this difficulty and not forget it. This is the real world we're in now.

Stop spending money regardless of price, target p&k, ph, roads, grass utilisation and forget adding cost to getting grub into cows.

Plan your SR and stock accordingly no need for machines. Breed good strong durable cows and close your ears if someone mentions yield.

Yield comes with breeding and grazing with targeted supplement aswell as compact calving.

All the sheds and machines can't do it. Tell the next sales rep to return when price hits 38c and if you can manage till then show him the road.

The price WILL recover and that's a guarantee. We cannot predict just when.

Was a at a very refreshing walk today. Lads pushing things to the last and knew there costs inside out and werent afraid of changing tack be it sell stock planned for increasing there own herd or if opportunity presents itself take it. Really in the ball and can see how they have grown very quick

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Was a at a very refreshing walk today. Lads pushing things to the last and knew there costs inside out and werent afraid of changing tack be it sell stock planned for increasing there own herd or if opportunity presents itself take it. Really in the ball and can see how they have grown very quick

Very important to never paint yourself into a corner. Guys like that are switched on and I'll bet my milk cheque they have heavy borrowings, good profit and more importantly good cash flow.

Profit is important but business' can go under even with healthy profit its only when coupled with cash flow that it opens doors.

Those guys you met today have given themselves options and its only when you run out of options does low price kill a business

Whatever you saw today I'd advise you to write down and analyse. Cash flow is what all business need.

A common mistake among small business owners is paying off loans too quickly or worst still not borrowing and working out of cash flow.

Tax planning is another thing that guys forget till accountant posts you the ROS form to sign. Too late then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭solwhit12

Jaysus lads ye will want the quota back againðŸ˜

solwhit12 wrote: »
    Jaysus lads ye will want the quota back againðŸ˜

???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mf240 wrote: »
    No super levy this year

Not shortage of fodder or grass . Hopefully weather will play ball for rest of year.

Culls cows great money.

Calves great money.

Fert on the way down. Meal will be back by winter.

Glass is half full.

That's the spirit.
    Not changing tack for this year. No major capex planned. (Wouldn't mind doing something for housing calves but we'll see how things go. That could be done next Jan, and paid for in 2016.)Going to see if I can put a little squeeze on the meal supplier and see if he will play ball. Driving on with fert and grass. Will continue to pick off excess bales, and build up stocks for the winter. One thing that would fcuk me is a hard back end or long spring. No SL to worry about this year. Last year I was on OAD from sept and dried off 1st of November. Will be milking an extra 6 weeks this year. That's going to be a big bonus. Bulls will be left with cows well into July. I don't want a lot of culls going and then a price improvement in Spring. Planning to milk more next year. If price stays down, the culls will be culled regardless in the spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

And what happens then?

Depends on the markets closer to the time hopefully holds

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

Ah Lads!
    Quotas haven't gone a couple of months and there is a smell of shyte off this thread.
    Welcome to the real world.

Small farms will go to the wall and the big will get bigger. It's inevitable...

Maybe not now as QE has softened the blow. But sooner or later, the small will go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭solwhit12

???

The place will be flooded with milk price only goes one way then .every country is going to supply more who's going to buy it .China is going to be the saviour according to coveney what sh*t.the only thing to improve it is a spell of bad weather in one of the major producing countries unless that happens I see many years of 27-30 cent and they ain't a whole of money in that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,805 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

mf240 wrote: »
    No super levy this year

Not shortage of fodder or grass . Hopefully weather will play ball for rest of year.

Culls cows great money.

Calves great money.

Fert on the way down. Meal will be back by winter.

Glass is half full.

Same here. Touch wood. Pr at 3.54 last collection never had it as high before. Scc below 150. Topping and baling away :) i know it can change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,726 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Dawggone wrote: »
    Ah Lads!
    Quotas haven't gone a couple of months and there is a smell of shyte off this thread.

Maybe not now as QE has softened the blow. But sooner or later, the small will go.

Agh dwag bit of a vulture in you!!,define a small farm??,been on lots of farm walks over last few years and a lot of guys if of seen milking up to say 100 cows are some of the most efficient operators you could ever meet.every acre counts,every animal counts every litre of milk counts .been on places too where lads just loaded on cows cause they had the land to and run absolute ****e operations efficiency will be key,scale would be great but not if managed correctly

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Agh dwag bit of a vulture in you!!,define a small farm??,been on lots of farm walks over last few years and a lot of guys if of seen milking up to say 100 cows are some of the most efficient operators you could ever meet.every acre counts,every animal counts every litre of milk counts .been on places too where lads just loaded on cows cause they had the land to and run absolute ****e operations efficiency will be key,scale would be great but not if managed correctly

No vulture here Mahoney.
    Just telling it like it is.

Small dairy farms would not be on my radar.

I've said many times before....be careful what you wish for...

Now I'm going to be shouted down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Agree about machinery, have one tractor doing what some lads would have 4 tractors, pain in the whole yoking on tho! im not sure about expansion tho, think dog eat dog wont happen for another generation as lot of lads in theyre 40-50s gona stay going for awhile longer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

No vulture here Mahoney.

Agh sure you know best.

No vulture here Mahoney.

I agree its dog eat dog but don't agree about small 100 cow farms.

Irish dairy farm of the future 90-140 cows with one labour unit some relief and a laying hen. 400-500 dairies not doable here cause of land. Don't think it would be good for rural communities either

No vulture here Mahoney.

Dawg, didn't you post your COP somewhere earlier, trying to remember, but wasn't labour cost an issue. Is labour cost an inefficiency of scale?

farmerjj wrote: »
    Agh sure you know best.

Maybe. Maybe not. But I'm willing to discuss...:).

Irish dairy farm of the future 90-140 cows with one labour unit some relief and a laying hen. 400-500 dairies not doable here cause of land. Don't think it would be good for rural communities either
    Also think this country and its family farms are a bit unique ,there's an awful (good or bad)atrachement to a praticular plot of land that doesn't seem to exist in other country's .there will certainly be more 300 to 1000 cow operations but they will be the minority's .the 90/140 ish single unit operations with the laying hen will be more the norm

Some lads milk more cows for status, i know a guy who refers to other med-large d farmers as "the big lads". This has never been discussed here, i betcha ye all know a few lads locally with this mentality

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Some lads milk more cows for status, i know a guy who refers to other med-large d farmers as "the big lads". This has never been discussed here, i betcha ye all know a few lads locally with this mentality

Yes but a lot of it is bull crap know lads saying they have x amount of cow's and they have no where near that. Don't care what anyone else has look after what I have

Laying hens are another form of grant/subsidy...

Since when Frazz are 100cow herds 'small'?

In fairness Frazz I'm just saying it like is.
    Not looking for an argument.

kevthegaff wrote: »

We all know them,you milk 100 cows he has to milk 110 etc etc,too many more worried about what everyone else thinks or wanting to be the big lad in the area than running an efficient ship .a few around our area of different scales who id have no problem asking for advice and also a few who I wouldn't ask what time of the day it is....

Maybe. Maybe not. But I'm willing to discuss...:).

It's actually a discussion that needs to be had. If its only to reassure people

Sure, I've been gobbing on about this for some time now...

Ah Lads!

Possibly one of my better posts and not one thanks.
    Speaks volumes.

Possibly one of my better posts and not one thanks.
    Speaks volumes.

So what is small?

Insightful stuff lads off to bed, had a lad for a few weeks so on my own again:-(, budgetcuts! Hopefully ill have a few pages to read over the brekkie in the morning wondering am i a big fella or small fella:-D

Sure, I've been gobbing on about this for some time now...

I'm heading to the charger will join in tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

Dawggone wrote:

Can you explain how QE has softened the blow Dawg?

case885 wrote: »

€/$

case885 wrote: »

If we were getting paid in old money ( 2013 euros or older) we'd be getting about 24c/l