Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

41.94 3 yr average

42.92 for 2014
    45.20 for 2013
    37.7 for 2012
    highest price we ever got was 50.82/l for milk in Nov 2012

High solids was our saviour in the bad yrs here

I was quoting base price

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

@kowtow. 'Terroir' and provenance is what it's about' I wish you well. Create magic!

@Frazz. 40 xbreds can pay an industrial wage @ 40hrs work? I'm doing something wrong...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

Similar story here, and it does bug me the way one poster constantly refers to the family farm as "the land I got from my father for nothing".
    Have been paying a weekly fee to my mum since my father died and I took over the place 13 yrs ago. Also had to help finance 4 younger siblings through second and third level education, and travelling etc for some of them!
    Got the farm signed over 4 yrs ago, but I expect the payments to my mum will go on indefinitely, which she is entitled too.
    Have 2 sisters getting married this yr, just wondering should I be giving them something more than a wedding present in lieu of my dad?

You educated them and are looking after your mother, Imo you have done more than enough. Wrap up that toaster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

I was quoting base price

I did all that work for nothing so
    200kgs solids sold per cow up to 31st May so far 183 kg sold per cow on same date last yr.
    I'm a happy camper for the evening :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭stretch film

mayota wrote: »
    You educated them and are looking after your mother, Imo you have done more than enough. Wrap up that toaster.

is it not the symbolism of a father releasing his daughter into the care of another man that DSW is trying to capture... he took on aspects of his fathers role previously,education etc, so I reckon its a fitting gesture .
    his was the post of the day..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Now would the land charge be a bit like the borrowed labour or like depreciation in that you add back to bottom line.

Am I making sense?

Absolutely making sense.

Imagine putting the unpaid labour and the land charge in a money box and living off the single labour unit wage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

is it not the symbolism of a father releasing his daughter into the care of another man that DSW is trying to capture... he took on aspects of his fathers role previously,education etc, so I reckon its a fitting gesture .

No, the post was about how inheriting a farm costs money. DSW shouldn't feel obliged to give either of them a gift.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

I reckon he should give his new BIL a few JEx bull calves ;):D

Dawggone wrote: »
    @kowtow. 'Terroir' and provenance is what it's about' I wish you well. Create magic!

@Frazz. 40 xbreds can pay an industrial wage @ 40hrs work? I'm doing something wrong...

Well one thing for sure 40 xbred bull calves wouldn't buy much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

31.057 gross incl vat. @ 3.54p and 3.93bf. Dairygold base 28c/L

Bottom 10% got 27.81 @ 3.27p and 3.61bf and top 10% got 31.73 @ 3.61p and 4.19bf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I wounder what sort of litres cows in them bottom 10% do? Are the most of them high input/output HOs or just farms with poor grassland management grazing heavy steamy covers? If they are at 27 now how much pressure can they take if/when the base drops even more?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,726 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Timmaay wrote: »
    I wounder what sort of litres cows in them bottom 10% do? Are the most of them high input/output HOs or just farms with poor grassland management grazing heavy steamy covers? If they are at 27 now how much pressure can they take if/when the base drops even more?
    Know of one guy bear me,big Ihfa guy,big typey hol herd calving fair chunk of year.cows doing 37 Ltrs 3.10 fat 3.43 p feeding average of 6.8 kg meal fry and 3 kg maize/Brewers/straw mix going in as a buffer .seen what he is grazing and it is what most of us here would be baling as surpluses .dont know his milk price and wasn't told his costs but to look at his cows and what there milking instead....know which boat I'd prefer be in....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Know of one guy bear me,big Ihfa guy,big typey hol herd calving fair chunk of year.cows doing 37 Ltrs 3.10 fat 3.43 p feeding average of 6.8 kg meal fry and 3 kg maize/Brewers/straw mix going in as a buffer .seen what he is grazing and it is what most of us here would be baling as surpluses .dont know his milk price and wasn't told his costs but to look at his cows and what there milking instead....know which boat I'd prefer be in....

If he pulled out the buffer and made more effort to get grass right hed probably hold litres and improve protien. The meal is probably a real expensive nut too with some fancy additives and such.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Could be a bit of both Tim or possibly former liquid herds with spread out calving patterns or those breeding the show cows as mahoney_j said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/milk-price-recovery-unlikely-until-late-2015-at-best-rabobank/ theyre prediction has changed somewhat, wonder will banks be lending at 30+c a litre now!

kevthegaff wrote: »
    http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/milk-price-recovery-unlikely-until-late-2015-at-best-rabobank/ theyre prediction has changed somewhat, wonder will banks be lending at 30+c a litre now!

Not a very cheerful report..

Worth noting (and remembering in future years) that on today's production figures the world is in oversupply, and China is (apparently) fully stocked and about to slow buying even further as a result.

Whichever way you read it the oft quoted 30c is not an equilibrium price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

kowtow wrote: »

Whichever way you read it the oft quoted 30c is not an equilibrium price.

Was in the local bank last year and got talking about agri loans.
    I advised them that they should be stress testing loans to start up dairy farmers at the mid 20s . Yer wan looked at me like i had two heads.

mf240 wrote: »
    I advised them that they should be stress testing loans to start up dairy farmers at the mid 20s . Yer wan looked at me like i had two heads.

That is because the banks have figures out that farmers are the only ones with equity to lend against and all the talk of repayment capacity etc. is window dressing.

If they really cared about repayment capacity they would be more interested in business interrruption, TB, labour units to take over when you break your leg... etc. etc. etc. etc.

mf240 wrote: »

Aib now stress testing loans at 26 cent I'm told

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

They've stopped running their brave adds to with the dairy farmer haha, realistically the banks can't lose, have the deeds to the farm/ large blocks of land where big loans have been taken out at 60% of their book value in alot of cases

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

kowtow wrote: »
    That is because the banks have figures out that farmers are the only ones with equity to lend against and all the talk of repayment capacity etc. is window dressing.

If they really cared about repayment capacity they would be more interested in business interrruption, TB, labour units to take over when you break your leg... etc. etc. etc. etc.

Very good point, tyred to get a small increase on bank overdraft recently but in my case have no equity as such (no land) only my cows and followers was laughed out of the place to much of a risk despite the fact my assets (livestock) if sold in the morning at bottom of the barrel prices say 1000 a cow/in calf heifer and weanlings at 500 a piece would cover all my debts

Kids glass of fookin milk.jaw nearly dropped,should of asked for the carton.must ask them if there looking for a supplier

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Is that supposed to be 4.1%f?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Brown Podzol

Kids glass of fookin milk.jaw nearly dropped,should of asked for the carton.must ask them if there looking for a supplier

And that hotel is owned by a Chinese.:D

4euro for the fooking cappuccino, the milk in that probably cost ya 2euros!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

Grand spot though, think u were paying for the ambiance as well!

Promote Cork at every opportunity, some hoor

Hmmm I may go dig out the 10year pie in the sky plan I did out for buying the 50acres beside me 2years back again, and drop the 32cent "worst case scenario" for 26cent ha. I could hardly make the figures balance at 32cent, but the bank still didnt tell me no! Guess I was lucky someone else quickly snapped up the land and put me outa my misery ha.

But the 50 acres beside you is now gone, do you think you'll get the chance again?

I love those reports and the weight that's put on them. Rabo buy no milk and therefore know nothing about where we are headed. This is some younglad out of college giving his opinion, means nothing.

Milk will rise again and this talk of mid 20's while likely you'd think by lads it was going to last forever. Decisions shouldn't be made on 1 yrs price.

I'm wondering where's the money that must have been made while price was 40c last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

But the 50 acres beside you is now gone, do you think you'll get the chance again?

I love those reports and the weight that's put on them. Rabo buy no milk and therefore know nothing about where we are headed. This is some younglad out of college giving his opinion, means nothing.

Milk will rise again and this talk of mid 20's while likely you'd think by lads it was going to last forever. Decisions shouldn't be made on 1 yrs price.

I'm wondering where's the money that must have been made while price was 40c last year?

+1.
    That high temperature doesn't have you raving....

....yet!