frazzledhome wrote: » Last year price was at a record high. Where did the money made disappear to? I hope people start to pay attention to this difficulty and not forget it. This is the real world we're in now. Stop spending money regardless of price, target p&k, ph, roads, grass utilisation and forget adding cost to getting grub into cows. Plan your SR and stock accordingly no need for machines. Breed good strong durable cows and close your ears if someone mentions yield. Yield comes with breeding and grazing with targeted supplement aswell as compact calving. All the sheds and machines can't do it. Tell the next sales rep to return when price hits 38c and if you can manage till then show him the road. The price WILL recover and that's a guarantee. We cannot predict just when.
Greengrass1 wrote: » Was a at a very refreshing walk today. Lads pushing things to the last and knew there costs inside out and werent afraid of changing tack be it sell stock planned for increasing there own herd or if opportunity presents itself take it. Really in the ball and can see how they have grown very quick
solwhit12 wrote: » Jaysus lads ye will want the quota back againðŸ˜
mf240 wrote: » No super levy this year Not shortage of fodder or grass . Hopefully weather will play ball for rest of year. Culls cows great money. Calves great money. Fert on the way down. Meal will be back by winter. Glass is half full.
RightTurnClyde wrote: » And what happens then?
frazzledhome wrote: » ???
Dawggone wrote: » Ah Lads! Quotas haven't gone a couple of months and there is a smell of shyte off this thread. Welcome to the real world. Small farms will go to the wall and the big will get bigger. It's inevitable... Maybe not now as QE has softened the blow. But sooner or later, the small will go.
mahoney_j wrote: » Agh dwag bit of a vulture in you!!,define a small farm??,been on lots of farm walks over last few years and a lot of guys if of seen milking up to say 100 cows are some of the most efficient operators you could ever meet.every acre counts,every animal counts every litre of milk counts .been on places too where lads just loaded on cows cause they had the land to and run absolute ****e operations efficiency will be key,scale would be great but not if managed correctly
Dawggone wrote: » No vulture here Mahoney. Just telling it like it is. Small dairy farms would not be on my radar. I've said many times before....be careful what you wish for... Now I'm going to be shouted down.
farmerjj wrote: » Agh sure you know best.
frazzledhome wrote: » I agree its dog eat dog but don't agree about small 100 cow farms. Irish dairy farm of the future 90-140 cows with one labour unit some relief and a laying hen. 400-500 dairies not doable here cause of land. Don't think it would be good for rural communities either
kevthegaff wrote: » Some lads milk more cows for status, i know a guy who refers to other med-large d farmers as "the big lads". This has never been discussed here, i betcha ye all know a few lads locally with this mentality
Dawggone wrote: » Maybe. Maybe not. But I'm willing to discuss...:).
frazzledhome wrote: » It's actually a discussion that needs to be had. If its only to reassure people
Dawggone wrote: » Possibly one of my better posts and not one thanks. Speaks volumes.
Dawggone wrote: » Sure, I've been gobbing on about this for some time now...
Dawggone wrote: Maybe not now as QE has softened the blow. But sooner or later, the small will go.
case885 wrote: » Can you explain how QE has softened the blow Dawg?