Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Today I saw a classic and took a pic thread! Part 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

11426720_1403351493327528_2538032298065410390_n.jpg?oh=db157e0c3713e9cc45fdf57e0868db38&oe=55F28F9C

10425421_1403351826660828_2143444022846950512_n.jpg?oh=2f1a668344d12cfa299faeae52b5a5d1&oe=562E362C&__gda__=1441690701_2f2e74f2f7fe32c0eae19326d8338e63

11393113_1403351939994150_2793701306334486940_n.jpg?oh=6934309872d485d7c96cfd926708b9fc&oe=55F2745D

11391120_1403352053327472_6695464774017341584_n.jpg?oh=1ed71765d16ea7be5ebbae7fdea5293b&oe=55E8F76E

And the cars that made the show for me; j'adore!!

11406800_1403352799994064_735971581605997367_n.jpg?oh=f1ae3eb43657ed2b5724cf23267af5e3&oe=55F90402

11391295_1403352996660711_219135319882996994_n.jpg?oh=6320e39b68f980870cfd1896a14055d4&oe=55F9A6F4

11046885_1403353053327372_35261289027761288_n.jpg?oh=c90ee926fdef1bad8eb8282f3eead567&oe=563236F9

11403385_1403353106660700_1057228762700025544_n.jpg?oh=4bf83c5886dea92485e3c7de3cae3c4b&oe=55F3577D

10521331_1403353143327363_5812975143674277683_n.jpg?oh=e8e28999c4987bec96599048f395869f&oe=55E7733A

11391231_1403353183327359_6724541903547019553_n.jpg?oh=e3e39c4f1947c8d12464c73bc0bdc71f&oe=55E6D065

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,316 ✭✭✭bonzodog2

10986517_1403357286660282_5003321573785075683_n.jpg?oh=9f1d0f972ab367c42e749e629d317b94&oe=56307B36

That's a very strange beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

Just sorting through a few of my shots from this year's show at Mosney. It wasn't a bad show, all told. The turn out was was quite something and as always and the content was excellent. I heard of the Mk1 Golf that was vandalised leaving the show and that was somewhat disheartening. I would think twice before bringing a car of my own next year as a result.

I didn't hear anything about this vandalism. What happened?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭CianDon

alastair wrote: »
    I didn't hear anything about this vandalism. What happened?

Someone deceided it would be great fun to lob a few big stones over the ditch onto the road and hit an imaculate MK1 Golf Gti on the roof and made a dirty bad ding.

Besides that, the Fuego Turbo. Oh my days :eek: Is there any car out there that has a bigger Turboooooo sticker??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,152 ✭✭✭26000 Elephants

bonzodog2 wrote: »
    That's a very strange beast.

Why couldn't he have just bought a longer trailer? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 186 ✭✭The Big Red Fella

Dont anyone know the shortina?? its been around many years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,917 ✭✭✭red sean

And still looks ridiculous!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭mb1725

351743.jpg

The prop shaft can't be more than a foot long!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Justjens

It was at Classic Car Live last year, it's no wonder they are bringing it around on a trailer now as I would imagine it's not the most comfortable yoke to drive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Lotus Elan plus 2. Sparkling in the sun and in great condition!

5pH9rw.jpg

Are the wheels usually that much into the wheel arches?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

mb1725 wrote: »
    351743.jpg

The prop shaft can't be more than a foot long!

Unless it's fwd:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭Zoo4m8

smash wrote: »
    Lotus Elan plus 2. Sparkling in the sun and in great condition!

5pH9rw.jpg

Now THATS a classic...

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,587 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dades

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Now THATS a classic...
    Love the interiors of those plus 2s... a wall of wood!

IMGP0745sml.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭rugbyman

Yesreday I saw a classic and did not take a picture. Lovely cream coloured Jensen, carlow reg , saw it just off the m50 near Coolock. Dont recall ever seeing a pic of it.As always , I can relate the story of two of them in a shed in co. Louth 25 years ago, dont know wherevthey ever went, but they did not cost much then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,367 ✭✭✭w124man

Saw a Mk1 Fiesta Festival on the M11 heading north through the Glen o the Downs this morning. No piccies cuz I was driving!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 287 ✭✭winnie the schtink

Zoo4m8 wrote: »
    Now THATS a classic...

love it! Lots
    Of
    Trouble
    Usually
    SERIOUS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

Lidl car park, Ballincollig

20150612_183011.jpg

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    Today in Arva, Cavan.

Ah here, that's no classic by any stretch of the imagination!!!

jca wrote: »
    Ah here, that's no classic by any stretch of the imagination!!!

Speak for yourself.

And how about we just leave this debate at the door now, its been done to death in the past ans we never get anywhere with it.

Speak for yourself.

And how about we just leave this debate at the door now, its been done to death in the past ans we never get anywhere with it.

Who else would I be speaking for. At this rate I can put up the aul lads 99 SDI Felicia thats disappearing into the back garden day by day...

Fabulous classic that Jetta

w124man wrote: »
    Fabulous classic that Jetta

Definitely, that super refined diesel engine really gives that classic car driving experience.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    If we all had applied that criteria to the cars of the time, every single Austin, Morris, MGB etc would have been crushed before they were 15 years of age. Now enthusiasts actually quite like them. Even the most revered of classic cars went through an "old banger" period.
    Stick up a few photos of daily driver classic cars that you come across, out and about, and we'll pass comment.

Most of them were crushed, and long before their 10th birthday never mind the grand old age of 15. I thought the word classic in the thread title actually meant classic, not some auld farmers wagon to make you misty eyed thinking of uncle Ned bringing a few ewes to the mart in 1993, in the one and only car he ever purchased(probably with some subsidy cheque). There's an aul Zeb goes into Lidl regularly in an '87 Jetta, it's as rough as a bears nether regions I wouldn't dare put it up. I also spotted a 1973 manky orange 1500 poverty spec Hunter for sale, no chance I'd ever bother photographing it either.. If it was a Humber Sceptre or even one of the more interesting badge engineered versions Singer Vogue etc. I'd be all over it, but I really don't get why people get misty eyed over workhorse dross. The most revered classics, E types etc. went through bad times mainly due to huge economic changes during their production span making them uneconomical to run and maintain but they were never ordinary run of the mill work horse cars in the first place.

Definitely, that super refined diesel engine really gives that classic car driving experience.

I had a total of five Jettas during my rep days and all clocked over 150k miles!! Loved them and would love a really good one noe

w124man wrote: »
    I had a total of five Jettas during my rep days and all clocked over 150k miles!! Loved them and would love a really good one noe

I'm not disputing their ability as a utilitarian rep mobile it's their elevation to classic status that I have difficulty with. 150k on one of them would be peanuts, with any kind of half hearted maintainence they'll hit 300,000 and beyond..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,309 ✭✭✭✭alastair

I'm not disputing their ability as a utilitarian rep mobile it's their elevation to classic status that I have difficulty with.

Pretty much every utilitarian car hits classic status, as long as it's old enough, and someone has nostalgia for the things. While I don't share the love for Morris Marinas, Hilman Hunters, Datsun Cherrys, etc, I can understand why others might. I still can't come to terms with seeing Nissan Figaros at classic shows (and I was a proud owner of a Nissan Pao), but I guess they're 25 year old cars at this stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,991 ✭✭✭el tel

And the cars that made the show for me; j'adore!!

11406800_1403352799994064_735971581605997367_n.jpg?oh=f1ae3eb43657ed2b5724cf23267af5e3&oe=55F90402

I'm pretty sure that lives near me, I've been seeing it almost every day over the last few weeks on my drive home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭Cork selfbuild

3 x Land Rover Campers parked up in Junction 14

BB155EB3-978E-4FEC-A6E6-C95758C34AC2.jpg