Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

what constitutes a social justice warrior?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 781 ✭✭✭Not a NSA agent

I often wonder, how many people have actually made the posts on this thread.
    There could be 10 people, all with multiple accounts.
    Anncoates could be Tipparetops.

No need to insult other posters

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,086 ✭✭✭TheBeardedLady

I often wonder, how many people have actually made the posts on this thread.
    There could be 10 people, all with multiple accounts.
    Anncoates could be Tipparetops.

Tell us the bleedin' answer! the suspense is killing us here!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,869 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

you question climate change= u must be questioned

I thought you wanted a debate on climate change? :rolleyes:

You cant question someone, it makes you a SJW!

A person should be free to make any claims they want, even if they go against current studies and you must not question them!

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

do you?
    climate change policies affect social issues, social justice warriors affect climate change policies.
    climate change is consider a social issue.

Ahh, I see the fundamental difference now - you think social justice warriors actually contribute something to society, thereby affecting social policy on climate change; my position is that the only thing social justice warriors contribute to the issue of climate change is an excessive amount of hot air and the clumsy carbon footprints of an awkward teenager with their protestations of the injustice and 'unfairness of it all' from their €800 iPhone 6's.

If someone is actually doing something positive about an issue to affect a change in society, then I wouldn't consider them a social justice warrior, I'd consider them a leader, because they are showing leadership, taking on the challenge of doing something about an issue rather than expecting everyone else should change to suit them 'just because', or 'it's the right thing to do', etc.

enjoy your period of left wing loony nonsense, its days are numbered.
    Actually, trends would suggest the opposite.

You should do some reading on what economists call 'creative destruction'.

Basically, as capitalism spreads education, it endows people with the vocabulary and the ability to challenge and critique any constraints on their welfare, such as oppressive work practices, unemployment, and the favourable treatment of the wealthy, and ultimately to challenge capitalism itself.

It's actually a view shared by well-known economists on both sides of the left-right divide, for what it's worth.

'Left wing loony nonsense' is here to stay. Time to invest in hemp, polyamorous dating sites, and trans-ethnic beauty parlours.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,437 ✭✭✭tritium

Like The Daily Mail, then? Preaching to the converted. People tend to consume media that matches their ideology. Personal choice. No "witch hunt". Boards might have a left-wing leaning (I'm not actually sure tbh) because most posters on here are left-wing and it's your choice to be here or not. There's plenty of forums for those who hold right-wing views that I wouldn't go near with a barge pole but I don't feel "hunted" for making that personal choice. This is not North Korea, chum.

A witch hunt or just going off on a rant that can be ignored?

Sounds like typical group behaviour to me not exclusive to leftists.

So if you're against same sex marriage, for example, you're joining those who agree with you and also ostracising those with differing views to you. Just as an example, I'm very sure I wouldn't be welcome to join the Iona Institute or to join a church choir in a Catholic Church as my ideology differs from theirs. I'm very sure I'd get shouted down if I tried to express my opinion on that horrible Red Pill forum on Reddit (not to say they're anything to do with the right-wing). I don't feel the victim of a witch hunt as a result though.

You're exaggerating tbh.

The use of SJW and hyperbolic and frankly hilarious language such as "witch hunt" when referring to overly enthusiastic university students and ranty leftists on the internet is a way of shutting down opposing opinions to your own as well by making them/us seem hysterical and bullying and putting a more sinister slant on what's really happening here - people of differing views having a (not very prooductive) argument on the internet. That's not really debate either, Mathdebater.

A simple example of sjw in action would be the recent Oxford debate on abortion that was cancelled because of threats of unspecified disruption by groups opposed to two men discussing such a topic. Said groups earnestly plead how distressing such an event might be for those they "represent" while promising unspecified bad happenings if it goes ahead...

tritium wrote: »
    A simple example of sjw in action would be the recent Oxford debate on abortion that was cancelled because of threats of unspecified disruption by groups opposed to two men discussing such a topic. Said groups earnestly plead how distressing such an event might be for those they "represent" while promising unspecified bad happenings if it goes ahead...

The iona institute have become sjws? :pac:

tritium wrote: »

Ye see, I'm not denying the existence of SJWs if you go back on my posts there, I take issue with anyone with leftist views being labelled as such as happens on Boards all the time. And I will say it again: that kind of behaviour is not exclusive to the left.

Actually, trends would suggest the opposite.

You should do some reading on what economists call 'creative destruction'.

Basically, as capitalism spreads education, it endows people with the vocabulary and the ability to challenge and critique any constraints on their welfare, such as oppressive work practices, unemployment, and the favourable treatment of the wealthy, and ultimately to challenge capitalism itself.

It's actually a view shared by well-known economists on both sides of the left-right divide, for what it's worth.

'Left wing loony nonsense' is here to stay. Time to invest in hemp, polyamorous dating sites, and trans-ethnic beauty parlours.

Is that not a paradox?

By claiming that left-wing ideologies are 'here to stay', would that not mean they would reach a point where these ideas are considered the preserve of conservative ideology? As in the ideas become ingrained in society.

I don't think left wing ideologies have ever gained any traction in society until the point where they became a right wing conservative ideology.

Marriage equality being a good example actually - the idea of monogamous marriage itself being a conservative, traditional ideology, so introducing marriage equality wasn't actually all that liberal, it was actually buying into a conservative institution and not all that revolutionary at all?

As for ideas about capitalism spreading education, that sounds more to me like a chicken and egg situation. I don't think it's capitalism spreads education at all, but rather the other way around, and it's actually social justice spread by socially conscious people that spreads education and gives people without access to education the opportunities to educate themselves that capitalism would seek to deny them.

Ye see, I'm not denying the existence of SJWs if you go back on my posts there, I take issue with anyone with leftist views being labelled as such as happens on Boards all the time. And I will say it again: that kind of behaviour is not exclusive to the left.

Oh I don't disagree, and if you look at my own posts on this you'll see I openly say as much. I just feel the parallel you drew gave too much credibility and mainstream oxygen to true sjws. To my mind their clearest parallels exists in groups like storm front, I.e. small minded bigots with a level of inflated arrogance inversely proportional to their lack of cop on or self awareness

The iona institute have become sjws? :pac:

Two sides of the one coin in some cases, the fervent certainty of the zealot , no matter how compelling the argument against them they're always right...

Is that not a paradox?

By claiming that left-wing ideologies are 'here to stay', would that not mean they would reach a point where these ideas are considered the preserve of conservative ideology?
    Progressive ideals will eventually become established, yes. They will be perceived with greater validity, and the frontiers of acceptable ideas will be broadened accordingly.

"Lefty loony ideas" is a quote from another poster, I'm just borrowing his phrase to suggest that what he describes is not dying, but is constantly being applied and rejuvenated.
    I don't think left wing ideologies have ever gained any traction in society until the point where they became a right wing conservative ideology.
    From the Peasants' revolution, through to the French revolution, through to the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and even extending into more recent issues like gay rights, I couldn't disagree more.
    As for ideas about capitalism spreading education, that sounds more to me like a chicken and egg situation. I don't think it's capitalism spreads education at all, but rather the other way around
    There's nothing chicken and egg about it. I'm not talking simply about the ability to read and write. Capitalism has increased the availability and duration of education; more families can afford to send their children to school instead of to labour, and for longer and longer. As the cycle progresses, criticism of establishments becomes more vocal, and ability to challenge inequality is strengthened.

Capitalism eats itself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

Progressive ideals will eventually become established, yes. They will be perceived with greater validity, and the frontiers of acceptable ideas will be broadened accordingly.

"Lefty loony ideas" is a quote from another poster, I'm just borrowing his phrase to suggest that what he describes is not dying, but is constantly being applied and rejuvenated.

From the Peasants' revolution, through to the French revolution, through to the civil rights movement of the 1960s, and even extending into more recent issues like gay rights, I couldn't disagree more.

There's nothing chicken and egg about it. I'm not talking simply about the ability to read and write. Capitalism has increased the availability and duration of education; more families can afford to send their children to school instead of to labour, and for longer and longer. As the cycle progresses, criticism of establishments becomes more vocal, and ability to challenge inequality is strengthened.

Capitalism eats itself.

I would argue the opposite, the evidence is inequality is increasing in economic terms in the west, whats happening is that "minority" issues have co-opted the traditional left wing.
    You mention polyamorous dating for example, whats one of the major sites used by them Ok Cupid, a site owned by the same company that own match.com and tinder, capitalism doesn't hate "alternativeness" its just another market to exploit.
    The old school leftism that established real worthwhile things like the NHS decent pay and conditions and social housing wasn't greatly concerned with being "progressive" it was concerned with helping the working (wo)man.

edit: and while we're debating capitalism my post is now an example of this since its advertising match .com with a new automatic referral link

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,116 ✭✭✭RDM_83 again

• Registered Users Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Capitalism has increased the availability and duration of education

It has played its part certainly but most education is delivered and legislated for by the state. Also education isn't necessarily wedded to Capitalism - check out literacy rates in Imperial Russia versus Soviet Russia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,465 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Climate change is accepted by 97% of climatologists, i.e. people who actually know what they're talking about.

Climate changes all the time has in the past will do in the future with or without humans about.

but aside from that if people want to see SJW go look at the whit woman being black thread.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 519 ✭✭✭tipparetops

SJW's only ever quote part of a post -
    they will pick out part of a post, put it in bold, and add some winks etc.

They are usually the kids who had the nickname ducky in school.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

anvilfour wrote: »
    The Mangina stooges of Feminazis.

Can I just say, "Feminazi Mangina Stooge and the People Who Will Never Own A Lawnmower" would be the greatest name ever for an all-girl alternative electrofunk band??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 720 ✭✭✭anvilfour

jimgoose wrote: »
    Can I just say, "Feminazi Mangina Stooge and the People Who Will Never Own A Lawnmower" would be the greatest name ever for an all-girl alternative electrofunk band??

A fine appellation! :-D

jimgoose wrote: »

Can I play the triangle?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭The Diabolical Monocle

Can I play the triangle?

We don't play the triangle anymore, we play the octagon.

The triangle symbolized the patriarchy, we feel an octagon is much less gender specific.

God help anyone in the woodwind section... :-D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

see how a thread about sjw can quickly be derailed by sjw.
    you are against gay marriage = homophobic
    you want borders controlled= racist
    you question climate change= u must be questioned

but back in the real world the right is rising across Europe.
    enjoy your period of left wing loony nonsense, its days are numbered.

It's gas.

You're very much on the far side of the bell curve.

It's the same magnitude of ideologically driven, anti-factual bull****, but from the opposite side of the political spectrum.

In the end of the day, there's lots of people who just flat out reject reality. Their political leanings come after that, but the same fallacies in reasoning are at play.

Don't mess with me man, I specialised in Fem Lit! :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,384 ✭✭✭AndonHandon

SJW meeting spot;

https://barricadeinn.squ.at

"Get a job, hippies".

SJW meeting spot;

"Get a job, hippies".

As a squatted, rent-free autonomous space, The Barricade Inn exists largely outside of the constraints imposed by capitalist society. However, until we abolish capitalism in its entirety, money is still very useful to us. Please, if you can, donate some money to us!

Cheeky bastards - "we need money to abolish capitalism" :pac:

Probably put that up from their iphones too.

Not sure what they expect to happen when money is gone. Until those damn capitalists created money there was no way to value anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,089 ✭✭✭✭P. Breathnach

You know, I rather like the idea of creating threads that appeal to extremists. They can draw up their battle lines and throw rocks at one another. Nobody gets harmed, because they are so far apart that even their best shots fall short.

The rest of us can leave them to it, and solve the world's problems in our more temperate discussions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 138 ✭✭Patrick Wheelock

SJW meeting spot;

"Get a job, hippies".

What a shower of w*nkers.

I bet Ronan Burtenshaw or Shane O'Curry know these people.