Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

Game is over lads, time to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

O Riain wrote: »
    You keep going on about Cork's injuries. What about the fact that Waterford were missing one of their top players in Pauric Mahoney who broke his shin not 4 weeks ago. Not to mention Darragh Fives and Stephen Daniels still being unable to make appearances due to injuries. All three of those boys are starters so does it not make Waterford and Cork even at least in the injuries department making your point totally invalid?[/quote
    I have answered that numerous times on previous posts have a look back
    I do respect your opinion but I disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

Orizio wrote: »
    Game is over lads, time to move on.

Your dead right. I'm going to games a hell of a long time and win lose or draw we shake hands and move on. Man up stop trying to get the last word in.

http://www.eveningecho.ie/sport/cork-footballers-without-three-key-players-for-the-clare-mfc-game/
    Key here is unlike the hurling cork have replacements imo
    Brian driscoll should be starting at half forward instead of o rourke
    Clancy injured o donughe could start
    Maguire is a loss but dinneen deane and Sean kiely are good replacement

I saw one cork media pundit predicting a huge cork win in fact correct me there was two
    Maybe cork with hurley and colm to go on goal fest could but I don't think people realise clare will break even at midfield despite talk cork will dominate here and there's a failure to realise how poor team this is in no set effective style of play, no leadership within or from the line and Cork are absolutely going through the motions this management

As I called it last week I said Histon got call up
    Terrific young player but just like white and kiely and mceoin he could be dropped just as fast and begs belief why oh why oh why he's called up when cork have huge depth defenders

The goal keeper situation is a complete and utterly joke in o shea and hurley at thirty four called up with no league training really yet price young goalkeeper with soccer background the best keeper in Cork championship so far can't get a call up despite excellent two last McGrath cups

What I think may happen if clare actually don't belive the hype with Cork and go for it will cause cork problem cork will win but usual utter nonsense interview after from cork management will talk of progress fairy tale promises, reviews and it was a good league when no it wasn't
    The league was actually bar relegation a disaster for Cork as it was false dawn after false dawn when huge defence problems were overlooked
    The interview this week imo be the same old same old stuff

It would be a disaster imo for kerry to loose to tipp and normal I go for tipp but I actually hope kerry win as if tipp won and Cork managed to win munster it buy this term another year
    I want no false dawns and I'm sick of them in Cork football
    To win munster beat kerry in kerry if not munster is meaningless
    Kerry are actually vulnerable Sunday after a week in Portugal where I hear they flogged themselves and have few injuries and there not as they always never are full peak this time of the year as clare pushed them last year so they probably will pull through but tipp will be a danger have no doubt
    Three intercounty team with three cork managers playing this week and the team with the worst cork manager out of the three is likely to win Sunday
    The irony of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭archieknox

Time to move on is right. Both counties have different avenues to travel over the next few months so lets see where we end up.
    On the u21 game next week how are ye fixed? Are ye strong or hopeful etc? We'll be thinking we're strong but we thought that last year and got blown out of it! Our away record in Cork is abysmal so I wouldn't be at all confident travelling down to Pairc Ui Rinn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

Can't disagree with you on any of that. The lack of success, the absence of role models, the loss of Kingston, the away venue, all these things make the job in hand that bit more difficult. You may well be right in that we are on a par as opposed to being ahead of the other minor contenders. But I don't think Limerick are anywhere near the team they were last year. The 2 Lynchs were the men that team was built around, both now gone. And I do think our current crop have enough about them to get over Limerick without said talisman. Mind you we won't be able to tell until the night as you never know with young fellas. Here's hoping.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Hurleratheart

Can't disagree with you on any of that. The lack of success, the absence of role models, the loss of Kingston, the away venue, all these things make the job in hand that bit more difficult. You may well be right in that we are on a par as opposed to being ahead of the other minor contenders. But I don't think Limerick are anywhere near the team they were last year. The 2 Lynchs were the men that team was built around, both now gone. And I do think our current crop have enough about them to get over Limerick without said talisman. Mind you we won't be able to tell until the night as you never know with young fellas. Here's hoping.

Outstanding post
    Well said

archieknox wrote: »
    Time to move on is right. Both counties have different avenues to travel over the next few months so lets see where we end up.
    On the u21 game next week how are ye fixed? Are ye strong or hopeful etc? We'll be thinking we're strong but we thought that last year and got blown out of it! Our away record in Cork is abysmal so I wouldn't be at all confident travelling down to Pairc Ui Rinn.

Hard to right off any team but hopeful more than strong Id say
    Injuries weakling team and have been beaten good few challenges
    You never know with 21s but I'd say if Waterford are tuned in ye. will have to much for cork

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭TyrionPower

I was sitting next to a cork man at the match who was telling me that the primary school competition was refused entry to pairc Uí rinn for their final and they had to endure played in musgrave park and CIT... Nice for the people trying to promote hurling in the schools up there... Has to be a good reason behind it I suppose but sounds kinda mad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

On the evidence so far the current limerick minors especially the players left over from last year aren't quite of the(very high to be fair) standard of last year where the Lynch's, Barry Nash, Tom Morrissey, cosgrave, Colin Ryan etc. were top class, very hard to replace all those and it's very hard to make up a 10 point difference even with Kingston out...however should be a lot closer this time and daly has had 2 months more to work with them so maybe the management can pull something out of the hat, I would be a surprised though if limerick win

I was sitting next to a cork man at the match who was telling me that the primary school competition was refused entry to pairc Uí rinn for their final and they had to endure played in musgrave park and CIT... Nice for the people trying to promote hurling in the schools up there... Has to be a good reason behind it I suppose but sounds kinda mad

Frank and sci na scol don't agree I heard and they didn't get access but luckily other grounds gave access

Liam weir gave it gave co board loads of it at recent meeting but got no answers, some talk of insurance being withdrawn if played in mud grave park

Fair play to musgrave park
    I prefer to see those games in our own grounds but needs must
    As long as kids enjoyed it prob all that matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 wackojacko11

what's the story with Lorcan McLoughlan? is he expected to make an appearance later on this year if all goes well?
    also TTM whats your opinion on the cork football? heard there's a young crowley on the panel, kevin i think? i know he's riddled with injuries but with those aside, is he capable of starting for them?

Frank and sci na scol don't agree I heard and they didn't get access but luckily other grounds gave access

Liam weir gave it gave co board loads of it at recent meeting but got no answers, some talk of insurance being withdrawn if played in mud grave park

Fair play to musgrave park
    I prefer to see those games in our own grounds but needs must
    As long as kids enjoyed it prob all that matters

I'd totally agree with you a splendid post to be fair
    Cork hurling needs a lot of work at ground level the real bread and butter of cork hurling build from the foundation up
    As you probably know there's a lot of bread and butter type fans out there so the will has all been their but to supplement it with the coaching and funding at the next levels is crucial imo
    The cornerstone essence of sustainable success has to build from the ground up and fans like yourself the real bread and butter type in they know fundamental hurling from grassroots up need a solid foundation

Rugby in Ireland beforeits so to speak bread and butter that nourishing their game before professional game relied on the strength of the club game
    The bread and butter of cork hurling imo needs strong club game and underage to thrive at senior etc

Kevin Crowley is an outstanding player with a year left at under twenty-one and is a player full of guile cohesion want desire leadership skills real awareness space and football and outstanding defender and imo he has it all if injury free and could be our nearest thing to ciarsn o sullivan and tomas o shea the great great i mean the really really great half backs of football

what's the story with Lorcan McLoughlan? is he expected to make an appearance later on this year if all goes well?
    also TTM whats your opinion on the cork football? heard there's a young crowley on the panel, kevin i think? i know he's riddled with injuries but with those aside, is he capable of starting for them?

Saw where 20 yrs old Histon and Cronin called into squad
    Those cronies great dogged players huge work rate fabolous club and underage cork players but is senior intercouny a step up to far ? Alan o Donovan of nemo is a lad with potential outstanding against kerry in 21 game

In relation to answer your questions regards cork football
    I could go for the easy option it be less hassle and say look were okay cork football was always going to struggle against the best and the league we got to a final, management are in transit new team and on any given Sunday sure with a bit luck we could challenge

Unfortunately cork football imo needs truth and honesty within
    I keep using England soccer as an example
    I love watching itv coverage not that's it's great but it shows me how lazy pundit go for the easy option don't ruffle feathers but go with the flow yet unfortunately it's bites them in the back side so to speak when in a major championship there ruthlessly exposed again

After Italy in a friendly they said we are a top four teams again over the draw
    Against Ireland it was lame excuses we are tired we had a long season we control the game
    Yet with the bigger panel and better players they were poor

No honesty within to say like all hodgson games England can't create and at best draw and that's the hall mark there term under that management and they will top a poor group goto the finals thinking there great when any top six team will beat them
    Yet itv fan club of England will never call Roy on things or have bold ruthless assessment games

Cork football is the same
    We had a league false dawns where kerry and donegal didn't care yet the ist big test dubs beat us after twelve minutes

No body calls it as it is though
    Cork football has the worst defence in the league outside kerry by two goals
    However kerry we know can defend and implementation of a system but kerry picked and chooses the games to win like Dublin and donegal
    Cork have showed no sign of an effective defence yet Dublin one year in like Cork have converted smoothly to defence style
    Cork against Dublin and in recent challenges still conceded too much
    Our attack is based on rugby league style running through crash bang and wallop and off load usually laterally or back wards when faced with a blanket defence

Kerry and Dublin by contrast play a basketball approach from defence to attack in they attacks and defend zones and alter the pace and angle of attack by fast delivery of angles long kick passing and only when they break the ist line of defence in behind do they then off load by hand pass with runners coming through the middle in to space and when it's not on they score from long distance
    Cork imo to put it honestly are way off the top teams and I feel genuinely for the players are some are being asked play a game their skills simply don't allow them fulfil imo

Saw where 20 yrs old Histon and Cronin called into squad
    Those cronies great dogged players huge work rate fabolous club and underage cork players but is senior intercouny a step up to far ? Alan o Donovan of nemo is a lad with potential outstanding against kerry in 21 game

I think all three could make it but they won't unless their properly coached and this is the huge problem at senior
    Look at how many kerry team hammered under twenty-one made the senior as they had elite coaching where cork players through no fault of their own don't improve and it's imo essentially down to poor coaching

http://www.the42.ie/patrick-horgan-cork-waterford-2151098-Jun2015/

Hoggie joins Ben o conner and Ringy as leading cork scorers of all time

Some acolade

He has potential to overtake them !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 wackojacko11

he would really want to get more involved in the game instead of relying on free's to add the tally up

http://www.the42.ie/patrick-horgan-cork-waterford-2151098-Jun2015/

Hoggie joins Ben o conner and Ringy as leading cork scorers of all time

Some acolade

He has potential to overtake them !
    He from play wouldn't tie the shoe laces of either and both those two got goals in an all Ireland final the great great really really great players do
    He's work rate is appalling most of the time and you can't play him in half forward line when the ingredients half play is hard work he won't do it

If things were not bad enough and an statics like that will really make him undroppable and imo not great going forward
    From placed ball he's up their as one of the greatest but this is hurling not American football where a lad does place kicking you take him off and then another lad does the work a hurlers must as ring said have the strength and steel within to then hurl freely
    Horgan isn't imo a patch on those players and they always performance for club wasn't good but always exceptional where Horgan club form to be fair looking at previous games is poor from play

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,018 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Very disappointed that the Sciath na Scol finals were not in Páirc Uí Rinn, bad form in my opinion! Great to see other avenues used for the games, but it is totally unacceptable, I think too many games was mentioned somewhere as an excuse! Also the City Sports for primary kids is in CIT, instead of the Páirc- obviously not available. For anyone that's ever been, it was unreal seeing hundreds upon hundreds of kids competing there. Having it in CIT will be a good experience for the athletes, but I can only hope it goes back down the Páirc in years to come as it really is a great spectacle.

Still annoyed at the state of the hurlers, both on and off the pitch, not used to being in a position of expecting to lose to Waterford.
    The footballers will - I expect have a comfortable enough day before getting their arse handed to them, again, in Killarney.

The hope foir the minors in particular gives rise to expectancy somewhat, in what is a sorry state of intercounty affairs in our county at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭Pos087

He from play wouldn't tie the shoe laces of either and both those two got goals in an all Ireland final the great great really really great players do
    He's work rate is appalling most of the time and you can't play him in half forward line when the ingredients half play is hard work he won't do it

If things were not bad enough and an statics like that will really make him undroppable and imo not great going forward
    From placed ball he's up their as one of the greatest but this is hurling not American football where a lad does place kicking you take him off and then another lad does the work a hurlers must as ring said have the strength and steel within to then hurl freely
    Horgan isn't imo a patch on those players and they always performance for club wasn't good but always exceptional where Horgan club form to be fair looking at previous games is poor from play

I don't like criticising inter county plays as they play for the love of the game and in Hoggys case I know he is down the Glen practising on his own for years first thing in the morning all year round. Their is a big difference between not working hard and not having the speed to keep up with athletic full backs. Over the past 10 years he has practically carried us on his own. We wouldn't even have been competitive without him. All our forwards are struggling this is not cause they don't care or work hard. The use of the limited ball we get is terrible. Giving cadigon a ball 3 foot over his head is no good or the amount of times we hit long ball straight into a defenders hands or into the corner where there is no one drives me nuts. These are all training issues and can be sorted. We are in a better place than people think. There is a long summer there yet.

Football team to be named Thursday night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Football team to be named Thursday night

You would want to be a genius to guess what team Cuthbert comes up with :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,775 ✭✭✭The White Feather

I only know of him from people here mentioning his name but why won't Pa O'Callagahan play with the Cork team? I would be a water man if they asked me to do it. Whatever they wanted me to do, if I could contribute some way.Though I do contribute with my wisdom here on this thread! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 417 ✭✭CORKDOUBLE

Tony Considene wrote Cork off today as a very bad team just not good enoygh at this level he said and that a third of the team are not intercounty standard ....Ger Loughnane said that Cork were in fact good on sunday and would have beaten any other Munster county ....those Clare fellas are very good in fairness !

Pos087 wrote: »
    I don't like criticising inter county plays as they play for the love of the game and in Hoggys case I know he is down the Glen practising on his own for years first thing in the morning all year round. Their is a big difference between not working hard and not having the speed to keep up with athletic full backs. Over the past 10 years he has practically carried us on his own. We wouldn't even have been competitive without him. All our forwards are struggling this is not cause they don't care or work hard. The use of the limited ball we get is terrible. Giving cadigon a ball 3 foot over his head is no good or the amount of times we hit long ball straight into a defenders hands or into the corner where there is no one drives me nuts. These are all training issues and can be sorted. We are in a better place than people think. There is a long summer there yet.

That has nothing to do with it
    In cody world on field play your critical as he proved with Walsh Carter etc
    The usual cork motto dare not critical though
    I'm sorry now but I don't care what he does empty field glen practice frees what do care about is he's performance on field play from play for club and county last year which look at the stats was appalling
    Speed is no excuse absolutely none in the club game in Cork let's be realistic
    Cronin has no speed but showed a want a desire hunger and a dogged resolve to work that Horgan did not do Sunday and it's far time the cody ethos was adopted and followed in Cork

Pos087 wrote: »

Bar two years ago from play what games as he carried us on he's own
    Let's go through them and assess them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

That has nothing to do with it
    In cody world on field play your critical as he proved with Walsh Carter etc
    The usual cork motto dare not critical though
    I'm sorry now but I don't care what he does empty field glen practice frees what do care about is he's performance on field play from play for club and county last year which look at the stats was appalling
    Speed is no excuse absolutely none in the club game in Cork let's be realistic
    Cronin has no speed but showed a want a desire hunger and a dogged resolve to work that Horgan did not do Sunday and it's far time the cody ethos was adopted and followed in Cork

I have to disagree. Horgan does work but he can't keep up with lads at this level. It's similar to why Cronin gets so much unwarranted stick.

You keep mentioning his Glen performances and more recently his game against Ballymartle as a stick to beat him with. He hit 6 points from play in that game. I don't know how much else he's expected to do.

I'd personally like to see him used like Donnacha is used in the footballers. Brought on for last 20 mins for experience and the extra bit of class when defenders are tired and the game is more open. Him getting the brunt of the criticism is very unfair though IMO.

Figsy32 wrote: »
    I have to disagree. Horgan does work but he can't keep up with lads at this level. It's similar to why Cronin gets so much unwarranted stick.

You keep mentioning his Glen performances and more recently his game against Ballymartle as a stick to beat him with. He hit 6 points from play in that game. I don't know how much else he's expected to do.

He has kept Cork in

The game was open and glen were flying
    Typical he's game
    Last ten minutes what did he do
    Nothing yet less talented hurlers McCarthy got great goal
    What did he do in the county final and semi final
    Pace has nothing to do with it
    Serious like
    Kelly king Henry and joe canning had no great pace
    Were making excuses for him
    Pace has nothing to do with attitude imo
    That comes from the legs where want desire dogged resolve doesn't