Boards Beer Mile 2015, June 13th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

davedanon wrote: »
    Sounds like you might be full at this stage, but if not, I am actually IN D24, so if you want to dump one of these other losers in favour of a convenient pick-up, that'd be just dandy...

Jaysus Dave - 'a convenient pick-up' :eek: Have some pride man !!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,062 ✭✭✭davedanon

kit3 wrote: »
    Jaysus Dave - 'a convenient pick-up' :eek: Have some pride man !!!

Beggars can't be choosers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,102 ✭✭✭Pacing Mule

What's the story with getting back to town afterwards. Luas mentioned as being more reliable than the 145 but is the Luas close enough to the track ? Would have thought it was quite a distance away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

What's the story with getting back to town afterwards. Luas mentioned as being more reliable than the 145 but is the Luas close enough to the track ? Would have thought it was quite a distance away.

Wouldn't think public transport would be a good option for you in your mankini :D

The 145 bus is handy enough, albeit not very frequent. Not sure how far the nearest Luas stop is away, but I'd imagine the bus is definitely more convenient.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,697 ✭✭✭Chivito550

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Wouldn't think public transport would be a good option for you in your mankini :D

The 145 bus is handy enough, albeit not very frequent. Not sure how far the nearest Luas stop is away, but I'd imagine the bus is definitely more convenient.

I do hills in winter right by the cinder track in Kilbogget and occasionally get the LUAS out. It's not near the track at all. It's about a 20 min walk. I tend to jog it as a warm up on the way, but not really an option after a beer mile.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,225 ✭✭✭DogSlySmile

10/15 minute walk I'd say?

351062.PNG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

It's less than a mile from the Track to the Luas at Cherrywood.
    The first year most people came to the track via Luas, I think KC met them there and everyone jogged down to the track. Having waited for ages for a bus last year, doing a cool down jog up to the Luas might be a better idea.
    I have the dublinbus app on my phone anyway so I can have a look at that after the race and decide.

yaboya1 wrote: »
    Wouldn't think public transport would be a good option for you in your "Costume of the forums choice" :D

FYP

Luas to Heuston and the 145 out would be an option for getting there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,893 ✭✭✭Hannibal Smith

I may take you up on a lift. Readdress I'll stick up directions to the track over the weekend.
    Chivito550 wrote: »
    I might go for the lift too. I'm by Marley Park, so fairly close to Dublin 24.
    Sounds like you might be full at this stage, but if not, I am actually IN D24, so if you want to dump one of these other losers in favour of a convenient pick-up, that'd be just dandy...

No bother, just let us know where's handiest to pick yas up.

If yas have all your barfing done I can do drops to the luas stop. How many are going?

Luas to Heuston and the 145 out would be an option for getting there.

Just get the 75 Dave from Firhouse to Deansgrange and I'll pick you up there. Alternatively get the 75 as far as Dundrum and the Luas from there to Cherrywood.
    Much faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,551 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

10/15 minute walk I'd say?
    You're making big assumptions about the very secret location of the beer mile stadium there.... But yeah, we walked that way for the first beer mile, and laden down with bottles, it took us around 10 minutes (maybe 20 minutes for a sprinter). ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

I'm back in....maybe* :D Ferns is cancelled due to 1500 training so what better prep than a Prosecco mile?! But ssssh don't tell coachy :D

* I reserve the right to wimp out and be BG's second-in-command mammy hair holder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,196 ✭✭✭PaulieC

good job I looked at the date again, coulda sworn this was on Friday :D

I hope to make it there, but in a documentary role. How far from the Dart is this place ? and What Dart is the shortest walk ? Killiney looks like the closest station as the crow flies...

You're making big assumptions about the very secret location of the beer mile stadium there.... But yeah, we walked that way for the first beer mile, and laden down with bottles, it took us around 10 minutes (maybe 20 minutes for a sprinter). ;)

Is that the very secret location publically posted with map directions in the OP ? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,551 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Is that the very secret location publically posted with map directions in the OP ? :)
    Yes, but it's not mentioned until the third sentence. That's called subterfuge.

PaulieC wrote: »
    good job I looked at the date again, coulda sworn this was on Friday :D

I hope to make it there, but in a documentary role. How far from the Dart is this place ? and What Dart is the shortest walk ? Killiney looks like the closest station as the crow flies...

Yeah the Killiney stop is probably closest but still a good 20 minute walk away.

Does the 7 bus goes near your Gaff? It goes right by the track (jump off at Churchview Rd at the Tesco).

P.S. Race video is mandatory for official purposes, in case any records get broken.

menoscemo wrote: »
    Yeah the Killiney stop is probably closest but still a good 20 minute walk away.

Does the 7 bus goes near your Gaff? It goes right by the track (jump off at Churchview Rd at the Tesco).

P.S. Race video is mandatory for official purposes, in case any records get broken.

The 7 is close enough, seems to stop at the RDS which is only a few minutes away. I'm a bit thrown with the mistake I made on the day though. I had cleared the decks for Friday, not sure if anything is on Saturday that I might have agreed to...

I think this beer mile in turning ye all into wimps - ye run miles upon miles week in week out & ye're stressing over a possible 20 walk :confused:

kit3 wrote: »
    I think this beer mile in turning ye all into wimps - ye run miles upon miles week in week out & ye're stressing over a possible 20 walk :confused:

every runner knows that walking is a load of sh1te

PaulieC wrote: »
    every runner knows that walking is a load of sh1te

C'mon Chivito - how about some Friday afternoon entertainment ??? :D

Hahaha, this sprinter will still end up beating about 70% of the distance runners in this event! :D

On a side note, never knew of that short cut from Cherrywood LUAS!

Right folks - as most of you will know we ran a fundraiser on the forum here back in March. At the time I optimistically stupidly stated that if we raised over €1000 I would wear a fancy dress costume of the forums choice at the beer mile. We ended up raising a staggering €1420 so I am at the mercy of the forum and also eternally grateful to you guys.

For some reason certain people have been fixated on the mankini suggestion but this was indeed just a suggestion on my part - it's not any great desire of mine. biggrin.png Some people have also expressed a very active dislike for the idea too and frankly I don't blame them at all. I wouldn't want to see me leg it around in a mankini either pacman.gif

Is there any decent suggestions from the forum that can be practically implemented / sourced by next weekend ?

Right folks - as most of you will know we ran a fundraiser on the forum here back in March. At the time I optimistically stupidly stated that if we raised over €1000 I would wear a fancy dress costume of the forums choice at the beer mile. We ended up raising a staggering €1420 so I am at the mercy of the forum and also eternally grateful to you guys.

For some reason certain people have been fixated on the mankini suggestion but this was indeed just a suggestion on my part - it's not any great desire of mine. biggrin.png Some people have also expressed a very active dislike for the idea too and frankly I don't blame them at all. I wouldn't want to see me leg it around in a mankini either pacman.gif

Is there any decent suggestions from the forum that can be practically implemented / sourced by next weekend ?

A highly regarded beer miler in Melbourne dressed up as a giant can of VB (Victoria Bitter) on one occasion. It certain fits the theme of the event.

Chivito550 wrote: »
    A highly regarded beer miler in Melbourne dressed up as a giant can of VB (Victoria Bitter) on one occasion. It certain fits the theme of the event.

Would this do?
    http://www.thecostumeshop.ie/?gclid=CjwKEAjwkcWrBRDg5u6SuPS11C0SJAChLLAHSkNAy3LH_aLK6hRT7r_1qLPEUDMAThN7jeNkBsG4fxoCYQ3w_wcB#/product/10465

They're Irish too so he could collect :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,900 ✭✭✭KielyUnusual

I'd like to see you speed walk the mile :p

BDfVm.jpg

I'd like to see you speed walk the mile :p

BDfVm.jpg

Haha. Bryan Cranston in Malcolm in the Middle. His line when the other speed-walker was videoed cheating on his technique was the equal of anything from Breaking Bad.

"Why you're nothing but a common jogger!"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

No no no... The princess one is much better :-)

I think you'd need to have raised at least €2,000 to justify the mankini so I'd say you're save there. The beer bottom is apt