Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cringy Irish events

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭keith16

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

deadybai wrote: »
    When soccer fans call themselves Mancs and Scousers despite being from Ireland.

Or calling each other Manc scum or Scouse scum. Scum how? You're both plumbers from Leixlip or something. You went to school together.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

Fair City .......let's just leave it at that :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,526 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Lisdoonvarna Matchmaking Festival

You stole my thunder!

• Registered Users Posts: 11,312 ✭✭✭✭Collie D

Absolutely. The rest of the world, including tens of thousands of Irish men, were off fighting the Germans but the 'glorious' leaders of the revolution were buying arms from and doing deals with the Germans. Yey, what a glorious thing to celebrate. It's a shameful episode in our history, not something to celebrate.

This post

• Registered Users Posts: 4,421 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

The Calor Gas Housewife of the Year towards the end when they let men enter. (man wins, is crowned housewife of the year)

• Registered Users Posts: 8,192 ✭✭✭bottlebrush

Boyzone's first appearance on the Late Late Show! Luckily, a once off event
    (oh wait........)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭RayCon

The inevitable inferiority laden "so what do you think of Ireland *please tell us we're great* ?" asked of every visiting actor, sports person, etc on every RTE chat show ever.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭Into The Blue

RayCon wrote: »
    The inevitable inferiority laden "so what do you think of Ireland *please tell us we're great* ?" asked of every visiting actor, sports person, etc on every RTE chat show ever.

When they gave Will Ferrell an Irish jersey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

newmug wrote: »
    Nobody's glossing over anything. You're right, we lost the 1916 rising. But we got most of our independance as a result. Its YOU who's doing the Paddywhackery.

Really, not glossing over anything? Hahahaha, I don't recall ever hearing any mention of the Germans when the Easter rising is discussed. But hey, keep believing in the success of it, maybe one day you'll meet the faerie folk and some leprechauns too.:D I needed a good laugh and your post provided it. :)

Bubbaclaus wrote: »
    Mothers and Fathers Matter
    IONA
    Garth Brooks
    Protesting over paying 17 cent a day for an unlimited supply of water being pumped into your house (ultimate first world problem)
    Paul Murphy
    Dustin at Eurovision
    Henry handball reaction
    Mick Wallace
    US Presidents coming to Ireland being treated like a 2nd coming of Jesus Christ
    John Waters

In fairness to Dustin, that wasn't cringeworthy -- it was parody. There's a bit of a difference. Nobody expected him to win. Everyone voted for him to go to highlight the mockery that that competition has become.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

Cringy Irish events

Probably the media circus that revolves around the LC and JC each year. For gods sake, they're just exams.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

Things in the media where people feel ashamed because Ireland fighting for it's independence or any other aspect of Ireland history.It happened no point discussing it and whinging about it anymore as you can't change the past.

Can't think of any other country in the world where people are embarassed by attempts to gain independence for their country.

People think we should have fought the Brit's on their own terms rather than being sneaky . If I was fighting someone much bigger than me on the street I'd go straight for the balls as would anybody with any sense.

Most notable example: 'Our national anthem is too violent and anti-British!'

Ignoring the fact it's not particularly violent in tone (Look at the lyrics of the French one) and it's not nearly as anti-British as the US national anthem. But of course, in these people's minds, Irish nationalism is vile and offensive in a way that that of other nations isn't.

• Registered Users Posts: 49,731 ✭✭✭✭coolhull

The way RTE. fawns over the likes of Louis Walsh, Brendan O' Carroll, or practically anyone who 'makes it' on TV over in the UK

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭Aceandstuff

c_man wrote: »
    Probably the media circus that revolves around the LC and JC each year. For gods sake, they're just exams.

The circus about the weather is worse. Not just for the exams, but any time the big yellow ball comes out! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

The last referendum

waits for almighty back lash :D

• Registered Users Posts: 3,747 ✭✭✭fleet_admiral

Politicians and Councillors walking hand in hand in a linked up line whenever a new road opens. Its worse when some brain dead culchie is wearing a big chain around his neck

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

People believing in moving statues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Ah threads for eternally embarrassed about Ireland shoe gazers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,150 ✭✭✭kumate_champ07

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭LithiumKid1976

This,

i seen this at the weekend, still cant get it out of my head...

Cringe level 10.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,707 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Every visitor of note being forced to pose awkwardly with a pint of Guinness.

Every time the likes of Wallace, Daly, Collins, Murphy or any random Shinner get to speak in our national parliament.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭tastyt

Hurling and gaa being the " best games in the world " . Am no, if they were then the whole world would be playing them.

Add to that some intercounty gaa lads being treated like gods around the place and being compared to actual professional athletes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,421 ✭✭✭major bill

tastyt wrote: »
    Hurling and gaa being the " best games in the world " . Am no, if they were then the whole world would be playing them.

Add to that some intercounty gaa lads being treated like gods around the place and being compared to actual professional athletes.

Mass brawls on the pitch infront of kids referred to as a bit of Passion :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 2,017 ✭✭✭tastyt

Patww79 wrote: »
    Someone wasn't picked much for the under 14's?

Ha, proved my point exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭partyguinness

1. The Rose of Tralee
    2. St Patrick's Day
    3. Retards calling it 'Paddy's Day'
    4. The entire Midlands
    5. The border counties
    6. Pretty much all of Connaught
    7. 'Ireland's Call'
    8. Enda Kenny
    9. Most of our local yocal gombeen politicians.
    10. The Guinness marketing department.
    11. Brendan O'Carroll
    12. Twink
    13. Gay Byrne
    14. Terry Wogan
    15. Travellers

• Registered Users Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

RayCon wrote: »

You never hear any uk presenter asking if a foreign celeb likes Britain or if they tried British beer yet or if they have any British ancestors.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Lads belting out the Boys of Kilmichael/Come out you Black and Tan or *insert name of rebel come all ye* in the pub whilst wearing Premiership tops.