Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Kovu wrote: »
    Somehow the neighbour had built up five calves to dehorn and tag for me to do as I was helping during his test today. Had the calves all penned together and was fierce proud of himself......incl three white ch hfs that could be triplets looking at them.
    Arsebiscuits. I hope I tagged them right!!
    ^^^
    :D:D:D
    That's one i haven't heard before.

I think i'm going to adopt that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

^^^
    :D:D:D
    That's one i haven't heard before.

I think i'm going to adopt that one.

:eek::eek::eek:

Give me your Irish badge!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,693 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Here here

Would you believe I missed ALL the Father Ted episodes as i didn't have a telly for years in college. I watch the odd one now and again though:o

Can i keep my pasport though? I need it later in the month:pac:

Would you believe I missed ALL the Father Ted episodes as i didn't have a telly for years in college. I watch the odd one now and again though:o

Can i keep my pasport though? I need it later in the month:pac:

Depends.....where ya going

Reggie. wrote: »
    Depends.....where ya going
    Barcelona, for a soccer tournament with the second lad.

He expects to be signed by Barca.

He'll be surprised when he doesn't.......and his dad does:p

Barcelona, for a soccer tournament with the second lad.

He expects to be signed by Barca.

He'll be surprised when he doesn't.......and his dad does:p

Only if I can come too? I'm house trained and I only need to be kept on a leash in built up places. :p

Aaaaaaaaand we're back to 50 Shades again....

Pffft I never left it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

Pffft I never left it!

No wonder there's not a stich of baling twine in leitrim

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Met a lad from school at the traffic lights in the town. He's after picking up a 12 Opel Insignia today.... Isn't it well for a 21yr old driving a 3yr old car seeing as I'm happily driving a 13 yr old yoke!
    Madness!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Reggie. wrote: »
    No wonder there's not a stich of baling twine in leitrim

If you use your imagination, you can do a lot with net wrap.:)

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Lololololol :pac:

tumblr_inline_n19w783L4A1qkyfep.jpg

Nekarsulm wrote: »

Ooooh nek ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

Lololololol :pac:

tumblr_inline_n19w783L4A1qkyfep.jpg

I wasn't thinking of Miss Haivisham, to be honest.....:D
    (Is that Mo from Ros na Run?)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭onyerbikepat

Just in from calving the last cow. First time I ever had a calf coming with one of the front legs down. I moved the cow in the trailer this evening from some land a mile away, so maybe that had something to do with it.
    God him out no bother once I turned up the leg. A fine STQ belgian blue bull. God those AI Belgian blues sure are easy calving compared to the Charolais or even the Limousin.
    Lovely night out too, full moon and no wind.

Just in from calving the last cow. First time I ever had a calf coming with one of the front legs down. I moved the cow in the trailer this evening from some land a mile away, so maybe that had something to do with it.
    God him out no bother once I turned up the leg. A fine STQ belgian blue bull. God those AI Belgian blues sure are easy calving compared to the Charolais or even the Limousin.
    Lovely night out too, full moon and no wind.
    Cloudy and windy here in the city

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,400 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

2 days with no internet, house is clean:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭have2flushtwice

Im bak to work next wk, its going to be some shock to the system!

Had an ai at the far farm today was left repairing a bit of fencing while waiting.
    Two hours fencing on rushy ticky land= I AM COVERED IN BLEEDIN' TICKS.
    I could even see them crawling up my trousers in the van on the way back.
    Stopped in to inject a calf for a fella and his wife let a little scream out as I was drinking tea, four wee black ticks merrily making their way up my arm! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Had an ai at the far farm today was left repairing a bit of fencing while waiting.
    Stopped in to inject a calf for a fella and his wife let a little scream out as I was drinking tea, four wee black ticks merrily making their way up my arm! :pac:

Story of my life!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

Is there a way of clearing ticks off ground?
    We only ever had ticks in one field that we we have rented for the first few years and I don't know what got rid of them

ganmo wrote: »
    Is there a way of clearing ticks off ground?
    We only ever had ticks in one field that we we have rented for the first few years and I don't know what got rid of them

Probably getting rid of the rushes would help, there's a lot of bog and trees/scrub ground on one side. I'd say I walked through a nest of them, all I've found so far have been the same size.

Ya should have given yourself an auld dose aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Odelay

http://www.hse.ie/eng/health/az/L/Lyme-disease/
    Just be careful with ticks, especially if deer roam the area.

No deer around here at least! I keep meaning to wear one of the cat tick/flea collars as a bracelet but never remember to buy one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

Was there not some mention of donkeys (in regard to ticks)
    in the donkey thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,400 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

No deer around here at least! I keep meaning to wear one of the cat tick/flea collars as a bracelet but never remember to buy one

Saw this one today

Was there not some mention of donkeys (in regard to ticks)
    in the donkey thread?

Jaysus the ticks would almost be preferable to a velvet lugs.