Farming Chit Chat sticks it to six.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,975 ✭✭✭Connemara Farmer

Kovu wrote: »
    No deer around here at least! I keep meaning to wear one of the cat tick/flea collars as a bracelet but never remember to buy one

Don't need deer to get lymes disease, the ex got it here and there aren't deer for miles.

Hot in this weather but wellingtons are great for keeping them off ya, boots are crap because the tick hangs off any vegetation and can grab on too easily to trousers etc.

Rushes, get rid.

Think doing the lambs with vector is keeping them off me, not good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Just be careful of tick bites, lymes disease is spread by ticks. Not common in Ireland though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Weils disease is easy spread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,979 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

I said wrote: »

Associated with stagnant water in particular, where it's spread via rats urine.

Wouldn't be a nice ailment to pick up by either man or beast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,693 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Take this test/risk calculator if you dare.

http://www.ubble.co.uk/

Claims to predict your likihood of dying in the next 5 years. Over 40s only.

Lied about my age to enter it and scored an age of 21 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,397 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Reggie. wrote: »

my ubble age is 29 and my risk of dying in the next 5 years is 0.2%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,292 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

whelan2 wrote: »

Mine is 34, and my risk of dying in next five years is 0.6%
    Good job there is no question
    Are you employed in 1) Farming
    2) Fishing
    3) Mining industry

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,824 ✭✭✭Qualitymark

Couple of random questions for yiz farmers, sparked by a train journey across the country:
    • You'll see a beautiful field, grass like parkland, and in the centre a tiny grove of three or five trees, carefully mown-around. What's that about? Looks lovely!
    • When groups of cows are just sitting around relaxing, and to a certain extent when they're grazing, the whole group seems to be pointed at one cow. Who is she? And why don't sheep do this - they're more grouped in twos and threes.
    • What's that deep-blue-green crop that's growing at the moment?

1 could be the site of an ancient ring fort
    2 She is the herds IFA union rep.
    3 Silage, or a cereal crop, probably cereal, .

whelan2 wrote: »

Mine was the same 0.2% you sure you ain't a teenager running around letting on to be an auld one ;)

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    3 Silage, or a cereal crop

No.3 could be arable silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Base price

3 Silage, or a cereal crop, probably cereal, .
    :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,414 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Mine was the same 0.2% you sure you ain't a teenager running around letting on to be an auld one ;)

Ubble age 36 , 5 year risk of 0.7%

Damn it, I'm useless at statistics but am I 3.5 times more likely than Reggie to die in the next 5 years :eek:

_Brian wrote: »
    Ubble age 36 , 5 year risk of 0.7%

Damn it, I'm useless at statistics but am I 3.5 times more likely than Reggie to die in the next 5 years :eek:

On the plus side, you are unlikely to be shot at. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭A cow called Daisy

Mine said "I'm very sorry for your trouble" and told me to contact my solicitor and give all to someone called Reggie. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,414 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

On the plus side, you are unlikely to be shot at. :D

You'd be surprised, it gets a bit crazy about here :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

Don't need deer to get lymes disease, the ex got it here and there aren't deer for miles.
    I said wrote: »

Ye trying to tell me something lads?? :pac:

You're a walking, talking, ticking time bomb :eek:

Christ don't say that over in Politics, they'll say I'm on a Kamikaze mission to blow up the Arás or something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Christ don't say that over in Politics, they'll say I'm on a Kamikaze mission to blow up the Arás or something.

Who the hell put you in charge of the 'NAH NAH NAH, I READ A BOOK BOW DOWN BEFORE ME' brigade?! Or did they think having a livestock background would prepare for dealing with large volumes of poo. :pac:

I tend to stay out of that forum now, some of them won't need to bring a stick hillwalking, they can just pull the rod out of their ass :D

Wonders if that'll get me in trouble.

Ah, meh....

Blackgrass wrote: »
    Who the hell put you in charge of the 'NAH NAH NAH, I READ A BOOK BOW DOWN BEFORE ME' brigade?! Or did they think having a livestock background would prepare for dealing with large volumes of poo. :pac:

It was a belated Christmas present for stealing too much coke at the hooker party :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I tend to stay out of that forum now, some of them won't need to bring a stick hillwalking, they can just pull the rod out of their ass :D

Wonders if that'll get me in trouble.

Ah, meh....

If Kovu thanked it yer safe enough I'd say!

I wasn't all that worried either way, off to do battle with three pet lambs :D Think I'm winning that one :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,743 ✭✭✭ganmo

great mornin here, car decided it wanted today off so its parked up wating to get towed
    phone charger fell apart so stuck here waitin to hear when the trucks coming.
    hurrah for landlines!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

It was a belated Christmas present for stealing too much coke at the hooker party :(

The trick is coke at the stripper party, amphetimines and 'performance enhancing drugs' at the hookers :rolleyes:. :D

Don't give him ideas! There's enough loonoes over there already
    Blackgrass wrote: »
    The trick is coke at the stripper party, amphetimines and 'performance enhancing drugs' at the hookers :rolleyes:. :D

Ah...see this is where I went wrong. I put the coke on the hookers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,471 ✭✭✭naughto

U have to put the coke on the hookers how else can u snorte it off her ass

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,487 ✭✭✭Charliebull

naughto wrote: »
    U have to put the coke on the hookers how else can u snorte it off her ass

dont snort, blow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,397 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

how many days do you inect a lame animal for? weanling, lame on front foot has been injected for 4 days would that be enough, getting pen/strep