If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

This is defo true, especially the passenger seat!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Incidentally - speaking of the Pulsar - I sat into one at the Ploughing championships - thought it seemed like a nice enough car to actually sit into - with a nice driving position and decent visibility.

Skoda Superb aside - its probably got one of the nicest driving positions ive found in a modern car - and id actually consider one on that basis alone. The current model Toyota Corolla and the Hyundai i40 both have pretty dire/horrible driving positions imo.

Haven't actually seen one since then however - are they actually selling any??????

Looked like a proper hatchback to me too - albeit not exactly the most stylish of hatchbacks obviously

Still reckon the Pulsar was a mess up/missed opportunity by Nissan though

This is defo true, especially the passenger seat!

LHD. Not valid here :P

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Christ I just finished projecting my work in June, worst case scenario is 30 days of solid work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Bpmull wrote: »
    For anyone that's into older low mileage car finds. I have a neighbour that has a 98 micra from new irish one a few small marks of the body but nothing major inside is like it came out of the factory yesterday I mean Id say there wasn't so much as a bottle of water drank in the car. I looked at the odometer today for the craic 41k miles :eek:

I love cars like that. I know of a 98 Polo that has 25k miles on from new and has been serviced every year. Still on its original owner. Parked indoors at all times and cleaned once a week regardless of use.

Stheno wrote: »
    Christ I just finished projecting my work in June, worst case scenario is 30 days of solid work!

If you were as well organised as me you could take the next 3 months off :pac:

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

ba_barabus wrote: »
    If you were as well organised as me you could take the next 3 months off :pac:

Ah yes teacher? I'm self employed

Jaysus Eamon Dunphy had me shedding a tear with his tribute to Bill O Herlihy on the Late Late :(

Motoring related, just got myself a spaceball gear stick and alarm module (mines fecked) for a great price on Adverts. Have a new wheel bearing ordered too. Front drivers one is on the way out

Ah yes teacher? I'm self employed

Yep. Part time work full time pay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 706 ✭✭✭Simonigs1.0

Yeah my gf finished up today now until end of August/ september. Dead handy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

A wine Volvo S60. I'll be passing Adare again in an hour or so

I'll keep an eye out for you. I'm in a wine focus.

Going looking at 1 series in the morning with the mother, how do I convince her she doesn't want another a3?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

There were some right lunatics on the road in Cavan today!

I was on the roads of Cavan today.......:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Old diesel wrote: »
    Incidentally - speaking of the Pulsar - I sat into one at the Ploughing championships - thought it seemed like a nice enough car to actually sit into - with a nice driving position and decent visibility.

Skoda Superb aside - its probably got one of the nicest driving positions ive found in a modern car - and id actually consider one on that basis alone. The current model Toyota Corolla and the Hyundai i40 both have pretty dire/horrible driving positions imo.

Haven't actually seen one since then however - are they actually selling any??????

Looked like a proper hatchback to me too - albeit not exactly the most stylish of hatchbacks obviously

Still reckon the Pulsar was a mess up/missed opportunity by Nissan though

The Skoda Superb really is a superb car (pardon the pun :D). A relative of mine has an automatic one that I took for a spin, very nice interior but the car is huge!

I hate the seating position in the newer type Toyota Corolla. It almost feels as if you are just sitting on the floor, it doesnt feel like a seat atal - if you get what Im saying :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

The Skoda Superb really is a superb car (pardon the pun :D). A relative of mine has an automatic one that I took for a spin, very nice interior but the car is huge!

I hate the seating position in the newer type Toyota Corolla. It almost feels as if you are just sitting on the floor, it doesnt feel like a seat atal - if you get what Im saying :confused:

That's how a car should be.
    I like to sit into a car, not on top of it.

I'm an Elise>Rang Rover type of guy.

But yeah, the Note is supercharged. :pac:
    I have it because I'm a curtesy car driver for the mini marathon, so if anyone's running it, I'll drop you to the start line and drop you home after. :)

I'll keep an eye out for you. I'm in a wine focus.

Going looking at 1 series in the morning with the mother, how do I convince her she doesn't want another a3?

Do sure. I'll keep an eye out too. I'm the guy who overtakes EVERYTHING :pac:

Also folks, spanners and screwdrivers in Lidl this week. Spanners are grand. Not sure about the screwdrivers. I'm buying them anyway along with the diamond file set, tin snips, punch, knife and that fancy ass plunger. Those work clothes could be handy. You can never have enough of assorted cord. Do I need another ladder? Fcuk Lidl anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

ba_barabus wrote:
    Yep. Part time work full time pay

Whisht, pipe down, you'll only draw out the teacher bashers! Nobody wants those! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Also folks, spanners and screwdrivers in Lidl this week. Spanners are grand. Not sure about the screwdrivers. I'm buying them anyway along with the diamond file set, tin snips, punch, knife and that fancy ass plunger. Those work clothes could be handy. You can never have enough of assorted cord. Do I need another ladder? Fcuk Lidl anyway.

Going to lidl on weeks like that is just dangerous I always end up with a lot of stuff I don't need have to try avoid the place at this stage :) although we don't have a set of files like that :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Lidl are lethal alright.

Im still recovering from a 4 figure mechanic bill and waiting on new software to arrive for car.

Can't wait :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

Got that screwdriver set for a freind. Pretty good for a tenner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,444 ✭✭✭Dartz

Ran out of petrol in traffic on the N3 yesterday. Not too far from an Esso, but getting out and pushing is never a fun experience. Especially in rush-hour traffic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

Dartz wrote: »
    Ran out of petrol in traffic on the N3 yesterday. Not too far from an Esso, but getting out and pushing is never a fun experience.

I remember a few months ago getting stuck in a really bad jam on the M50.

At the front of the traffic was a woman in a Megane getting pushed by the Gardai :pac:

Pov06 wrote: »
    I remember a few months ago getting stuck in a really bad jam on the M50.

At the front of the traffic was a woman in a Megane getting pushed by the Gardai :pac:

Well, that's a Megane. If it's a Series-II that's normal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Shurre knock off the rx and restart every few minutes to save fuel.

Be grand like...

Ran out of petrol in traffic on the N3 yesterday. Not too far from an Esso, but getting out and pushing is never a fun experience. Especially in rush-hour traffic.

Did any helpful people blow their horns to help?

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Did any helpful people blow their horns to help?

Yes. A a busdriver indignant at having his private lane blocked.

attachment.php?attachmentid=34404&d=1368678428&thumb=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

After owning that pos that was the Saab 96 my heart now goes out to anybody who breaks down. I always try to give a hand

Yep same here even if it's just to check if they need to make a call

Carefull now, sure everyone broke down at the side of the road is a serial killer or a rapist! Only once had a break down. In a corolla of all things. When i say break down my freind burnt out the clutch acting the bollix, up the wicklow mountains of all places. Had to get it towed out by a farmer in a tractor and another tow of a freind as far as naas. It flatened out there so I could limp it home. As far as it got there below. Trapped between 2 steep hills! 240k miles on her and the only hassle it ever gave.

3309utc.jpg

The universal joint on the drive shaft of a van I had before snapped on the motorway one Friday evening and the shaft shot its way down the motorway like a rocket. It honestly could have killed someone. I was shaking for hours afterwards. A car pulled in full of lads on their way to a stag and one of them decided to go look for the drive shaft on the m20! Absolutely no stopping him despite my best efforts. He found it anyway and the avensis they were in towed me off the motorway to a friends business who had a replacement for me. Strangers can be sound/bat shìt crazy.