If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Will never forget the one time the S60 badly left me up **** creek without a paddle.

Lunchtime of a busy saturday headford road roundabout car conks in left lane just before roundabout blocking half the traffic coming from that side of town.

30 minutes of people beeping me to remind me my car is blocking the left turn lol.

I cringe thinking back

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I broke down on a roundabout due to a fuel issue with the focus had 1/4 tank but might as well of been empty I drove it of the roundabout on the starter motor granted I wouldn't do that to a car I actually liked as its bad practice and I wasn't moving it far.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Bringing a car for NCT tomorrow - what do I have to bring with me?

Apart from myself and the car, of course :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Bringing a car for NCT tomorrow - what do I have to bring with me?

Apart from myself and the car, of course :p

Licence, VLC and a small calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

License/photo ID, log book to be safe and monies...

Edit: Woops didn't see dukes response there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Anyone know if there is an Italian car run near Newry? I've been passed by some tasty cars on the M1

CianRyan wrote: »
    That's how a car should be.
    I like to sit into a car, not on top of it.

I'm an Elise>Rang Rover type of guy.

But yeah, the Note is supercharged. :pac:
    I have it because I'm a curtesy car driver for the mini marathon, so if anyone's running it, I'll drop you to the start line and drop you home after. :)

I'm the same first thing I do is jack the seat down to the last I hare having a high seat most newer cars even with the seats let down the last they are still a bit high. Also if I had the seat up in a lot of cars my head would be touching the roof as I kind of have a long upper body and shortish legs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Bpmull wrote: »
    I'm the same first thing I do is jack the seat down to the last I hare having a high seat most newer cars even with the seats let down the last they are still a bit high. Also if I had the seat up in a lot of cars my head would be touching the roof as I kind of have a long upper body and shortish legs.

Why did this picture come to mind :P
    GgkWgMs.jpg

No just slightly I still have the seat one notch of being fully back in the Megane so there not that short granted megane would not have a massive amount of room although I had the seat in the golf as far back as it would go too.

Now I have a picture in my head of a young fella blaring techno/drum n bass/trap music at full tilt, bass to the max and hood up with a hoodie slouch, kroozin shoutin and cheerin at all the byors in the city with the biyyys....!

You know I had a car not three months ago where repositioning the seat meant unbolting it and bolting it in again, in your preferred position :pac:

dgt wrote: »
    Now I have a picture in my head of a young fella blaring techno/drum n bass/trap music at full tilt, bass to the max and hood up with a hoodie slouch, kroozin shoutin and cheerin at all the byors in the city with the biyyys....!

You just seem to want to have a bad picture of me in your head :pac: sure front fogs and parking lights on all 4 windows down radio upto it's max some yoke.

You know I had a car not three months ago where repositioning the seat meant unbolting it and bolting it in again, in your preferred position :pac:

You would have wanted to be sure the position was ok so :pac: disaster having to do that for every driver.

You just seem to want to have a bad picture of me in your head :pac: sure front fogs and parking lights on all 4 windows down radio upto it's max some yoke.

Sure I had an Avensis one evening and was doing the exact same thing... Some craic hai :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

What car was that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Bpmull wrote:
    No just slightly I still have the seat one notch of being fully back in the Megane so there not that short granted megane would not have a massive amount of room although I had the seat in the golf as far back as it would go too.

Jaysus you must be a tall fecker. I put the seat down a bit, and don't have the back of the seat dead straight up, always have a slight slant on it. I always have the steering column down as far as it can go, ie, closer to my knees/thighs.

No that's the thing I'm average height at best 6ft1 im sure if I was driving a passat or mondeo I wouldn't have the seat back to its limit at all. I have to have the back of the seat very straight can't have it slanted back much at all. Steering wheel rake up as far as it goes or Id hit my knees of it and reach in or and half way never full out near me.

What car was that?

56 year old Austin A35

Was everyone the same height back then :pac: ah no Id say it was a cool car.

16934578398_c08810541c_z.jpg

I have no interior pics off hand but however in the name of Christ 5 people were expected to fit into the thing is a mystery

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm five eight seat usually at maximum height but as far back as possible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

I remember seeing a Morris Minor a few years ago - and couldn't believe how small it was in the back seat.

Clearly a matter of expectations - you squeezed in to the tight space back in the 50s/60s - and that was it.

Does go a long way to explaining why the classic Mini was seen as ingenious in its use of space for its size though - afaik

In saying that - as is the case now - if you had a bigger car you had more space.

Friend of one of my brothers has an Austin Cambridge Estate - 1960s vintage - which is fairly roomy inside for passengers (more comfortable on the road then I was expecting too). But that's (obviously) a bigger car then an A35 or a Minor

Old diesel wrote: »
    I remember seeing a Morris Minor a few years ago - and couldn't believe how small it was in the back seat.

Clearly a matter of expectations - you squeezed in to the tight space back in the 50s/60s - and that was it.

Does go a long way to explaining why the classic Mini was seen as ingenious in its use of space for its size though - afaik

In saying that - as is the case now - if you had a bigger car you had more space.

Friend of one of my brothers has an Austin Cambridge Estate - 1960s vintage - which is fairly roomy inside for passengers (more comfortable on the road then I was expecting too). But that's (obviously) a bigger car then an A35 or a Minor

What gets me about the Mini is - while its use of space is clever, it isn't exactly fit for comfort with four up inside. Not near as much as the Ado16 anyway, which is based on the original Mini. Mine used to take myself and three friends quite some distances in exceptional comfort (granted it was a Wolseley, it was built for comfort).

The A35's rear bench is absolutely tiny, I have no idea how or why they even made a 4 door model. It is a much smaller car than a Minor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm five eight seat usually at maximum height but as far back as possible

Pretty much the opposite of me so, I'm also 5 8 seat all the way to the floor but close enough to the wheel and back of the seat very straight. Never got the slanted seat thing!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

What gets me about the Mini is - while its use of space is clever, it isn't exactly fit for comfort with four up inside. Not near as much as the Ado16 anyway, which is based on the original Mini. Mine used to take myself and three friends quite some distances in exceptional comfort (granted it was a Wolseley, it was built for comfort).

The A35's rear bench is absolutely tiny, I have no idea how or why they even made a 4 door model. It is a much smaller car than a Minor

Not familiar with the Ado 16 - I know what they are - but have never looked at one in the flesh - so not familiar with their levels of space and comfort.

They look a bigger car then a Mini though - which would explain why 4 people fit more comfortably into one.

I suppose my point is that the Minor and A35 - if you apply them as the typical standard of the era - that's why the Mini looks good (for its size) for space.

Yet the Mini itself looks tiny in all areas by the standards of modern cars because standards moved on.

Im probably missing the point with bad arguments though - so apologies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,146 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Sit in the back of a 911 and you'll know about a tight squeeze!

Old diesel wrote: »
    Not familiar with the Ado 16 - I know what they are - but have never looked at one in the flesh - so not familiar with their levels of space and comfort.

They look a bigger car then a Mini though - which would explain why 4 people fit more comfortably into one.

I suppose my point is that the Minor and A35 - if you apply them as the typical standard of the era - that's why the Mini looks good (for its size) for space.

Yet the Mini itself looks tiny in all areas by the standards of modern cars because standards moved on.

Im probably missing the point with bad arguments though - so apologies

Nah, I get what you are saying. The Ado16 has a slightly longer wheelbase than the Mini too but underneath they are the same car. I'm a bit biased towards the '16 myself, never really got why the Mini was always seen as the better car, it really isn't :P

I'm not denying the Mini was groundbreaking, it was, but I like to think that Bmc just improved it vastly when they released the Ado16 a few years later

I know it's sheer laziness on my part, but I only just checked the oil in the car the other day (wednesday). Wasn't even planning on doing it. Was topping up the washer fluid when i decided to do it to kill a bit of time.

There was a slight little dribble of oil (if you could even describe it as that) at the very, very bottom of the dip stick. I'd say it covered about 3-4mm on the dipstick (way below the 'low' mark). I was shocked.

Car had shown no signs of needing anything. Wasn't over heating, no strange noises, bonnet area didn't even seem particularly warm after a drive.

I had 1 litre left of the 5 litre bottle of oil i had there, so I threw that in to it. The car (Mk1 Focus estate) takes about 4 litres in total. Haven't really been in the car since, but have a lengthy drive ahead of me tomorrow, so gonna fly over to Halfords and fire a bottle of their generic 5w30 into it (the 5w30 in it already is castrol, but i don't think mixing them really matters, does it?).

In fairness to the car, in the last six months it's done just above 13,000km I'd say, and not a whimper out of it. A fair ould goer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-530d/9516611

Interesting hearse to say the least.

Taxed at 102 a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

How is that taxed at €102?

Checked motortax and sure enough 102

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,350 ✭✭✭Sobanek

What baffles me is who said a 4dr saloon can be a hearse???