If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,519 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

beertons wrote: »
    Lads and lassies. Noob question. What do eye put on the black bits on car(door handles, bumpers, etc) to shine them up. Heading to Galway next week with the lads and I want it looking well.

For quick shine but doesn't last black to black or auto glym bumper care.

Go onto detailingshed.com for something a little stronger and will last up to a year.
    Quartz stuff can't think of rest of name.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Lads and lassies. Noob question. What do eye put on the black bits on car(door handles, bumpers, etc) to shine them up. Heading to Galway next week with the lads and I want it looking well.

The lads over on the detailing section recommend car pro PERL you will probably only get it on the detailing shed website I know they stick it. I plan on getting it. Otherwise I'd your in a hurry just pick something up in halfords it won't last but would be fine for a few days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Thought you were dead. Thanks for resurrecting yourself!

Ah yeah, been having a bit of a time of it lately so im more or less dealing with the important stuff now
    Big Nasty wrote: »
    Pulling the box outta a Swedish yoke! :D

The innuendos that were had today were priceless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I think it is called mascara.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I think it is called mascara.

Damn it. Quoted too many times to edit it.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'll pop in to auto care tomorrow and see what they have.

Welcome back pickles. I went into Newbridge upholstery yesterday, upon your recommendation. There's a 4 week waiting list with them, but they gave me the number of a guy in Calverstown. He's redoing the seat on the car Saturday morning. Happy days.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

I'll pop in to auto care tomorrow and see what they have.

Welcome back pickles. I went into Newbridge upholstery yesterday, upon your recommendation. There's a 4 week waiting list with them, but they gave me the number of a guy in Calverstown. He's redoing the seat on the car Saturday morning. Happy days.

Ah lovely! at least you got it sorted, I'm not back as such but it's something sure for the time being

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

or you could save money and use peanut butter (smooth) works even better than most products specifically for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

or you could save money and use peanut butter (smooth) works even better than most products specifically for this

Tried the peanut butter technique and it never worked for me. Just ended up making a mess really.

works for me and a few others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

It will leave a nice smell too. ;)

it doesnt ;)

works for me and a few others

That's interesting.

It didn't work for me on numerous occasions, so I just did the normal thing and went out and bought proper trim gel. Problem solved. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Theres something very unappealing about rubbing peanutbutter into your car/ hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ah yeah, been having a bit of a time of it lately so im more or less dealing with the important stuff now

So we're not important?.......... Dick

166man wrote: »
    That's interesting.

It didn't work for me on numerous occasions, so I just did the normal thing and went out and bought proper trim gel. Problem solved. :)

I have that as well.

when it comes to cars you do anything but normal

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

This is a funny board. Do yous lot say I should be rubbing peanut butter on my car? Sure the cattle would have it aten.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Stheno wrote: »
    He's old

At least I didn't have to buy an auto to save my dodgy hip :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

166man wrote: »
    That's interesting.

WD 40 ;)

Anyone with an off road bike knows how good it is for keeping your plastics shiny.

This is a funny board. Do yous lot say I should be rubbing peanut butter on my car? Sure the cattle would have it aten.

you should do what you want

• Closed Accounts Posts: 282 ✭✭No Voter And Proud

you should do what you want

Oh but that is what I do follow my one true path in life.
    However that doesn't really address the peanut issue

What is the issue you are having?

brilliant! oh lol

Just to be clear, I was being sarcastic. 5 seconds Ill never get back reading that "funny" response

OSI wrote: »
    That's why you rub the plastic in peanut butter, so the cows will lick it off the trim. The combination of the roughness of a cows tongue and the shine and seal properties of it's saliva act in a similar fashion to doing a wet polish with a DA polisher.

ma-nigga.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,585 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Seems a load of cars had their side windows put in on my road last night. Thank feck I parked in the driveway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Seems a load of cars had their side windows put in on my road last night. Thank feck I parked in the driveway.

Scumbags. I wonder would windshield cover sort that or is it restricted to just the windshield (I'm guessing not)...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭UnknownSpecies

OSI wrote: »
    A lot of policies state that the Windscreen cover covers all glass. Windscreen cover is pretty much a legacy marketing term at this stage for most policies. Although it's worth checking your policy, wouldn't be surprised if there are one or two still cheaping out and only providing actual windscreen cover.

That's exactly what I was wondering. Good reminder to check our own policies I suppose.

I have that as well.

when it comes to cars you do anything but normal

Classic.

I'd prefer to not be normal with my choices of cars anyway. There's no fun in comforming with everyone else and driving a misery spec Toyota, as a car enthusiast anyway. :pac:

In other news, 156 working well these days. 166 to have timing belts replaced et al next week too so I'll have that on the road again too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

I'm due a few trailing arm bushings soon i can feel movement.

I also see adapters to run 911 discs and calipers up front. 4 Piston setup would be wicked. .

YbFocus wrote: »
    I'm due a few trailing arm bushings soon i can feel movement.

I also see adapters to run 911 discs and calipers up front. 4 Piston setup would be wicked. .

That seems a common mod on quite a few cars these days, seen quite a few with Porsche callipers and larger discs. Definitely worth while, you can't beat good brakes!