If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

H4 bulbs cobbled together in a shed in shenzen from resistors and many small leds?

I be surprised if they were anything more than glorified parking lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

H4 bulbs cobbled together in a shed in shenzen from resistors and many small leds?

I be surprised if they were anything more than glorified parking lights.

also after a little while some of the less break and look awful when one side is bright and the other isn't.

I'm not 100% up to date on current led headlights, but IMHO
    a) even if they were bright enough they would be even worse than chinese HIDs because the hot spot of the bulb would be in the wrong place altogether for replacing filament bulbs

b)anything bright enough to replace filament bulbs would need a good driver circuit similar to a HID ballast, and a hefty heat sink.

c) not a hope for €8!

Those ebay jobs might do if you wanted to turn fogs into kinda DRLs.

Purely my amateur opinion. If someone has a set and can prove otherwise I'll be happy to admit I was wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Oh my micksgarage order came this morning nothing major air filter and bulbs.
    I got a 5% discount code for my next order and an Eau de mick :)

10F1B4FF-58C8-4266-BE46-864BAE6679C1_zpscykgecms.jpg

The air filter was literally identical to what was in it the only single difference was the one that was in it had a renault stamp beside the Mann filter stamp same part number everything. New filter from renault garage 26 euro micks garage 13.90. maybe if they were different brands but when they are identical it makes no sense to buy from the dealer.

DBE7CCF7-E1B0-413A-BF56-F6B126A58D33_zpsm3fdi50s.jpg

My favourite bulbs the must have if you do any sort of decent amount of night time driving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Okay, I'll stay away from the LED's. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Pulled the box off the 9-5 this morning, took off the old (new) slave and found a rubber seal had disintegrated away, also a locking pin was snapped in the gearbox by one of the tow people giving the reason why it was locked up :o

Nearly there now though should be back in normality by saturday :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

RIP Erik Carlsson :(

"Carlsson på taket"

241o28m.jpg
    106dp9d.jpg
    scaled.php?server=685&filename=mediaul.jpg&res=medium

giphy.gif

Do you know you can buy brand new Rolls Royce Phantom hearse "recreations" with mk4 Golf lights too

Whaaaat? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Nearly there now though should be back in normality by saturday

Thought you were dead. Thanks for resurrecting yourself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Pulled the box off the 9-5 this morning, took off the old (new) slave and found a rubber seal had disintegrated away, also a locking pin was snapped in the gearbox by one of the tow people giving the reason why it was locked up :o

Nearly there now though should be back in normality by saturday :D

Pulling the box outta a Swedish yoke! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 Bolomaster

That looks horrid!

Edit: Why does quick reply not quote automagicially? :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

Big Nasty wrote: »
    Pulling the box outta a Swedish yoke! :D

Damn. You got there before me.

A fine contender for a mini camper conversion :pac:

Oh dear... same page mentions a rodius hearse.

A fine contender for a mini camper conversion :pac:

I've seen a few funeral vehicles in Portugal, converted hiaces - transportation for deceased and family all in one...

pred racer wrote: »

You're getting sloppy, lad...

Edit..Apostrophe incredibly important!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Did the new Civic type R really lap the Nuremberg in 7:50? If so that is faster than a GTR and a Porche 911 Turbo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,066 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

pred racer wrote: »

Nobody likes sloppy seconds! :p

Speak for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

I've seen a few funeral vehicles in Portugal, converted hiaces - transportation for deceased and family all in one...

LOL, Reminds me of this.. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

I have a friend that sat his driving test in a hearse they were going to put an empty coffin in the back but didn't in the end he said the look of the testers face was priceless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,242 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

out of all the headlights in all the world they could have used, i mean come on

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

He's old

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Bpmull wrote: »
    I have a friend that sat his driving test in a hearse they were going to put an empty coffin in the back but didn't in the end he said the look of the testers face was priceless.

Jaysus. That must have been deadly.

:o

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Lads and lassies. Noob question. What do eye put on the black bits on car(door handles, bumpers, etc) to shine them up. Heading to Galway next week with the lads and I want it looking well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm