Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Sunday Game Thread

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 10,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭marco_polo

Antrim now get to play the Ulster Championship? Feck that.

Its a standalone championship now though, so has no bearing on All Ireland progression

• Closed Accounts Posts: 204 ✭✭TyrionPower

Shane Curran will be on the panel tonight, should be interesting....

You would think so but he isn't very interesting on the radio, sounds like a boring teacher who swallowed a dictionary

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,346 ✭✭✭✭homerjay2005

Curran looks like a child with Adhd the way he is swivelling himself around in that chair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Curran doesn't seem to want London in the Connacht championship apparently playing them is beneath a team of Roscommons stature.

It's lovely that he has such contempt for emigrants trying to keep the games alive.

Looked to be a fairly decent bend in one of the cross bars in Ruislip aswell

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,540 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Curran was a bit harsh on London, it's not like Roscommon beat them by 20 points, but apart from that I think he was interesting enough.

RTE must be stuck if Curran is all that they can get.

The worst analyst that's ever been on it, the man is shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Davys Fits

I thought Curran was full of Bulls...t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 677 ✭✭✭Cheese Wagstaff

Davys Fits wrote: »
    I thought Curran was full of Bulls...t

He couldn't be bothered naming one single Limerick player in his analysis...

"The forward takes on his man and puts it over the bar."

"Number 22 cuts inside, over the bar."

"Poor decision making by the number 14."

It's the little things that make a good analyst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,221 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Curran doesn't seem to want London in the Connacht championship apparently playing them is beneath a team of Roscommons stature.

It's lovely that he has such contempt for emigrants trying to keep the games alive.

Looked to be a fairly decent bend in one of the cross bars in Ruislip aswell

That's the typical arrogance of the Rossies now that people are telling them they might be able to win something this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,853 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

He couldn't be bothered naming one single Limerick player in his analysis...

"The forward takes on his man and puts it over the bar."

"Number 22 cuts inside, over the bar."

"Poor decision making by the number 14."

It's the little things that make a good analyst.

Jesus Christ, that's absolutely pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭ciarriaithuaidh

Curran was fairly poor and I expected it given what I've heard from him in the media previously. His diatribe against London was bizarre. They put up a very creditable performance against a division 2 team when they themselves were missing a half dozen players. Quite a bizarre attitude.

Sick to the back teeth of saying this but whoever makes the hiring decisions for analysts and co-commentators in RTE Sport (for GAA) needs firing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,221 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

Curran was fairly poor and I expected it given what I've heard from him in the media previously. His diatribe against London was bizarre. They put up a very creditable performance against a division 2 team when they themselves were missing a half dozen players. Quite a bizarre attitude.

Sick to the back teeth of saying this but whoever makes the hiring decisions for analysts and co-commentators in RTE Sport (for GAA) needs firing.

But he is only one of these special guest analysts I assume, just like Coulter was last week.
    So hopefully he is not "hired"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

But he is only one of these special guest analysts I assume, just like Coulter was last week.
    So hopefully he is not "hired"

funny, but the hurling analysts are usually very good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39 Tornbrook

did anyone hear Shane Curran mention a 'vertical' pass into the forwards? I've never heard of a vertical pass in my life, what does it even mean?

Ciaran Whelan mentioned that Cavan should have some good young players coming from the Mac rory cup team, they are 17 and 18 year olds, so they might help the minor team, but hardly the senior squad.

Rte pundits arent trying too hard with the research.

I though the likes of Philp Jordan and Toney Mc Entee were really good in recent years.

To be honest wolly parkinson seems to have as much insight and knowledge as any of these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Mehapoy

Tornbrook wrote: »
    did anyone hear Shane Curran mention a 'vertical' pass into the forwards? I've never heard of a vertical pass in my life, what does it even mean?

Ciaran Whelan mentioned that Cavan should have some good young players coming from the Mac rory cup team, they are 17 and 18 year olds, so they might help the minor team, but hardly the senior squad.

I though the likes of Philp Jordan and Toney Mc Entee were really good in recent years.

To be honest wolly parkinson seems to have as much insight and knowledge as any of these lads.
    If say the only players they mentioned by name in the analysis after the limerick/Clare football game was Gary Brennan and podge Collins! The rest were the limerick 13 or the Clare wing forward...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

Some good insight offered at times.

One of Dowling's frees yesterday had great "purchase" on it.
    Probably many at the game didn't even pick up on that (even Dowling himself probably)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

nice_guy80 wrote: »
    funny, but the hurling analysts are usually very good

I thought the ex-Roscommon goalkeeper was very disrespectful towards London. "Roscommon will have learnt absolutely nothing from this win"... and that they only have a decent team every 35 - 40 years. Basically said it was a waste of time having London (and, presumably, New York) in the championship. I can understand his point but I think it was unnecessary. It gives lads who have had to emigrate a chance to stay in touch with the GAA back home and it gives a, tenuous, international link to the sport. Plus a Roscommon man has a nerve complaining about the perceived weakness of other teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Tornbrook wrote: »

I guess a vertical pass is one kicked parallel to the sidelines rather than an angled pass.
    It's about time RTE brought in an actual proper Gaelic Football statistical analyst. Either one of the well known bloggers or someone who has worked with county teams. Alternatively a well known technical coach.
    RTE didn't even comment on James ODonoghue being the most accurate forward from play by a freakishly large margin. He shot 70% from play when the next best was less than 50%!!! When would you ever hear of a 20% margin of scoring accuracy over next best competitor in any reasonably competitive sport.
    He had a mini streak of 1-15 from 20 attempts at one stage with the wides being very close efforts (goalie saves etc.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,639 ✭✭✭willabur

Hurling lads are miles ahead of the footballers and have been for quite some time.

Yesterday was a nadir for Football analysis. First of all Brolly with his just plain nasty agenda against Cavan. He has an almost steadfast distain for the county and despite the evidence in front of his eyes of Cavan playing a much more expansive game of football, he still wouldn't or maybe couldn't analyse the game on its own merits which makes him unfit for the job. In fairness to Tomas O'Se he called the game pretty well considering he was probabaly only watching it on a tv rather than being at the game itself. Cost cutting in RTE

The Sunday Game last night was even worse again. Curran was talking claptrap. Vertical Balls? Monaghan won by a single point in a game that had 31 scores. How could cavan score 15 times without playing the ball vertically. Having been at the game Monaghan were dropping men back far more than Cavan yet what was shown on TV was only the Cavan lads dropping back to cover one of the best 15s in the game (would be pretty stupid not to do that now) as if Cavan were the only team doing it. Whelans comments about the under age players from minors and pats not making an impact also made no sense because those lads are 16-19 years of age. As a previous poster alluded this was ill researched. McStay was the only one to make some sense last night.

Currans comment on London was very bad also - if we are ruling out counties than cannot win games then we will be reducing the competition to a just a handful of counties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,467 ✭✭✭Very Bored

willabur wrote: »
    Currans comment on London was very bad also - if we are ruling out counties than cannot win games then we will be reducing the competition to a just a handful of counties.

Including his own Roscommon, some might say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭RoscommonTom

brolly should bebshamed of himself with what he said, no manners at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Hesh's Umpire

No one I know takes Brolly seriously. He's a clown, a Gaelic football version of Eamon Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

No one I know takes Brolly seriously. He's a clown, a Gaelic football version of Eamon Dunphy.

He makes some very valid points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭Comic Book Guy

That's the typical arrogance of the Rossies now that people are telling them they might be able to win something this year.

Like the division 2 league title?

Nobody in Ros is looking past a dangerous tie against Sligo who won't fear us one bit.

Just to echo previous posters, I thought Curran was extremely disrespectful to London with his comments. There is a great ex pat community there doing Trojan work and they fully merit their championship place. It's wasn't as if Ros hockeyed them either!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

London are better than a few other counties imho

so we are all agreed, Shane Curran should never be left near a live TV camera again. i was so perplexed at his constant swinging on the chair while he was talking, that i couldnt actually understand what he was trying to say. when he stopped moving (maybe Des gave him a kick under the table) what came out of his mouth was absolute garbage.

a few emails or complaints to RTE wouldnt go astray.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,460 ✭✭✭megadodge

Very Bored wrote: »
    Including his own Roscommon, some might say.

Only if they were utterly clueless about current/recent football form.

RTE must be stuck if Curran is all that they can get.

The worst analyst that's ever been on it, the man is shocking.

Without doubt the worst analyst ever is Pat Spillane - guest or regular.

His singular contribution after all these years is the ultra-juvenile term 'puke football'. That's it.

Utterly pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,103 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

megadodge wrote: »
    Only if they were utterly clueless about current/recent football form.

That didn't seem to bother him when he was going off on one about London. Presumably the bar is that you must be good every 34 years or less. Whatever is needed to keep roscommon in his definition of teams that matter

I think you missed my point.

I was referring to a poster who reckoned Roscommon are a team that can't win games.

I have no opinion on Shane Curran's analysis, because I didn't see/hear it.