The "Today I did something to my bike" thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,387 ✭✭✭lennymc

sv1000, starter motor is spinning, bike isnt cranking. I havent looked too much into it as I was heading off to work, might take a look when I get home tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

lennymc wrote: »
    sv1000, starter motor is spinning, bike isnt cranking. I havent looked too much into it as I was heading off to work, might take a look when I get home tonight.

Have you been trying to start it with a weak battery lately?

battery is fine (AFAIK) - it's on a tender when it's not in use. I will throw a meter across it when I get home, but it's only about a year old. The fuel pump is priming, lights don't look dimmer than normal, and there is no relay click.

My over-reactionary 'die bike, die' post may have been a bit premature. Turns out it was a loose relay. Phew.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,670 ✭✭✭✭CJhaughey

lennymc wrote: »
    My over-reactionary 'die bike, die' post may have been a bit premature. Turns out it was a loose relay. Phew.
    Step away from the matches.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,923 ✭✭✭Wossack

Slowly coming together now.. (zx6)

Swingarm swapped for a better condition one (very cheap one from ebay, and it was in great nick). New swingarm spindle - the one that came out was pretty horrific... and stunk for some reason lol. Had a second from a job lot of parts I bought ages back - never worked out what it was, till I took the old one out hah

Swapped rear shock for 07/08 one (same seller as above with the swingarm, very cheap - came from germany I think), and cleaned and re-greased linkages

Wheels powdercoated metallic red - has some mad name, 'candy apple rosso red' or something, very pleased with the result (thanks tallaght powdercoat). Theyve some pics up on their facebook page I think, but really dont do it justice

New wheel bearings, captive spacers, and since I had to cut the chain for swingarm swap above, new chain & sprockets, and new stainless sprocket nuts

swapped rear caliper for a better condition zx10 one, and general tidy

nearly back together, so pics shortly...

couldnt get the front sprocket off though unfort.. reckon will need to get it running and swing by a tyre place to have them zap it with an impact. Have a breaker bar, but rear brake doesnt stop the wheel, and I dont want to put anything through the wheel, in case I knacker the new powdercoat (which would be just typical..)

funny now I think of it... all the above stemmed from a slight squeak when I was pushing the bike into the garage one day lol. Feckin expensive squeak! Bet its not even fixed it lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 208 ✭✭KTR1C

Fitted a new higher touring (1.6 over stock) seat to my Diavel yesterday, I'm 6ft4 so need every extra inch.

On a side note, does anyone have any experience with getting the likes of a Ducati serviced in Wales or Northern Ireland ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

KTR1C wrote: »
    On a side note, does anyone have any experience with getting the likes of a Ducati serviced in Wales or Northern Ireland ?
    Robbie McGrath in MotoTechnic is your only man & he's only up the road from D12 KTR1C ;)

http://mototechnic.ie/

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Robbie McGrath in MotoTechnic is your only man & he's only up the road from D12 KTR1C ;)

http://mototechnic.ie/

I've heard he's great but I have a warranty I need to protect for the next 2 years so have to go to a dealer.

Billy at MillSport Ducati in Ballymoney would be your next best option IMHO ;)

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Billy at MillSport Ducati in Ballymoney would be your next best option IMHO ;)

My next port of call ;) I dropped him an email asking for prices. Its either them or Woods in North Wales. They're about an hour from the ferry.

Have you any experience with Billy or Millsport ?

My next port of call ;) I dropped him an email asking for prices. Its either them or Woods in North Wales. They're about an hour from the ferry.

Have you any experience with Billy or Millsport ?
    No but a friend of mine from Coleraine has & he cannot speak anything but good about him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Evening to myself, so fitted the R&G crash bungs that came last week. Some delightful bricking it going at bits of the bike with a hole saw. Knew those LIDL f clamps would come in handy some day.

3q45WdR.jpg
    UsLoivv.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

gerrowadat wrote: »
    Evening to myself, so fitted the R&G crash bungs that came last week. Some delightful bricking it going at bits of the bike with a hole saw. Knew those LIDL f clamps would come in handy some day.

3q45WdR.jpg
    UsLoivv.jpg

I taught you would not have drill or make any holes if you got the specific kit for you bike????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,230 ✭✭✭gerrowadat

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    I taught you would not have drill or make any holes if you got the specific kit for you bike????

Depends on the bike. Most faired bikes or other bikes that don't have exposed engine bolts do need drilling, I think R&G have the instructions for each model on the site so you can tell. They also sell hole saws :-)

For the diversion it's just a small plastic cowling in front of the engine bolt that needs drilling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,266 ✭✭✭Richard tea

Might aswell start the fork polishing while im waiting on other parts to arrive. Today I removed the front wheel. Im not going to remove the forks completely because I reckon I can do a decent job on them without removing them. For some reason I had it in my head that the weight of the bike would be more to the rear but it aint. Ive strapped up the front to keep it stable. Im not 100% happy its stable so Ill get the polishing done and wheel refitted asap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,569 ✭✭✭The Don

I'm doing a valve clearance at the moment but I'm having trouble finding shims. I can only find shims in increments of 0.05mm. Does anyone know where I would find shims which have 0.01mm increments?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

The Don wrote: »
    I'm doing a valve clearance at the moment but I'm having trouble finding shims. I can only find shims in increments of 0.05mm. Does anyone know where I would find shims which have 0.01mm increments?

Wemoto maybe? If you can find the part number you can do a search on there by part number. What make of bike is it?

DubVelo wrote: »
    Wemoto maybe? If you can find the part number you can do a search on there by part number. What make of bike is it?

It's a Fazer 600 foxeye. As far as I know shims are pretty generic and used on a lot of other engines (7.8mm). I checked wemoto, ebay, etc but they all only have 0.05mm increments. A guy on ebay told me some brand called HotCams are the dominant brand these days and that's why it's difficult to find other sizes.

I can use the 0.05mm increment ones if needs be but since the allowed clearance tolerance is a range of .09mm and I'd like to be on the 0.3-0.5mm end of the range.

yea usually in 0.05mm increments. If you want to splash out, honda ones come in 0.025 increments I believe

typical size is 7.48mm, typo above I reckon?

Ok thanks. Yeah that was a typo, they're 7.48mm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Some more minor maintenance on the Bandit today
    • Rear caliper clean and rebuild - Seals / Pads / Nipples / Pins
    • Change front and rear brake fluid
    • Change clutch fluid - Stuff was almost black
    • Replaced the 8 rubber / copper washers on head bolts that were leaking after last valve clearance adjustment

IMAG0192.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Wonda-Boy

Tzardine wrote: »
    Some more minor maintenance on the Bandit today
    • Rear caliper clean and rebuild - Seals / Pads / Nipples / Pins
    • Change front and rear brake fluid
    • Change clutch fluid - Stuff was almost black
    • Replaced the 8 rubber / copper washers on head bolts that were leaking after last valve clearance adjustment

IMAG0192.jpg

Looks more sterile then Intel....lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Wonda-Boy wrote: »
    Looks more sterile then Intel....lol

A tidy home is a happy home. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 543 ✭✭✭DubVelo

The Don wrote: »
    It's a Fazer 600 foxeye. As far as I know shims are pretty generic and used on a lot of other engines (7.8mm). I checked wemoto, ebay, etc but they all only have 0.05mm increments. A guy on ebay told me some brand called HotCams are the dominant brand these days and that's why it's difficult to find other sizes.

I can use the 0.05mm increment ones if needs be but since the allowed clearance tolerance is a range of .09mm and I'd like to be on the 0.3-0.5mm end of the range.

Wemoto only listed the 0.05mm ones on the page for my bike, but when I searched with the part numbers they did also have the 0.025mm ones from Honda. There's a box down the page to search with an OEM part number.

Today I polished up my forks. Some lads here were interested to find out how I got on with the polishing kit so here are the results. I think it worked out great considering I never done it before and never even removed the wheel before. I used wet&dry sand paper starting at 80, 180, 400, 800 & 1000. The 80 & 180 sandpaper was bought in the pound shop so it fell to pieces very fast. The other sizes were bought in a motor factors and lasted ages. It took me a good 6 hrs in total and I still have to refit the wheel etc etc. One bit of advice I would give is to wear eye protection. When I came into the house I noticed my face was grey and my eyes are slightly sore now. Must be the flick back from the drill. http://www.metalpolishingsupplies.co.uk/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭goodlad

Looks great man! seeing how long it takes makes me want to just powder coat mine.

goodlad wrote: »
    Looks great man! seeing how long it takes makes me want to just powder coat mine.

True enough but thats the bulk of it now. Hopefully it will be a quick maintenance polish every few weeks from now on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,047 ✭✭✭✭blade1

True enough but thats the bulk of it now. Hopefully it will be a quick maintenance polish every few weeks from now on

10 minutes maintenance every so often will keep them nice and shiney!
    Some difference,eh?