If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

I actually laughed at that for some reason. Passing three times.

Ya I laughed at his stupidity.

Anyone know if there was a vintage mini meet or something on in the west on Saturday. Met at least 30 of the old timers going out of Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Also just to ad to the vans were mini buses type with black tinted windows really dark, so obviously holding people.

Still don't know why we had to pull in to the side of the road when we were traveling towards them. And such a garda presence

Heard a story there of a lad passing some sort of garda safety van thing. It was night time, he was going slow, but as he passed the camera flashed at him, passed back again wondering what was up, tax etc was in order, going uber slow again, it flashed, he had to pass again in order to continue his journey, again the flash. Wasn't until a few weeks after he got a fine and 6 penalty points.... because he had no seatbelt on! Done him for the 3 times he passed the van. Goes to show how these rigs can pick up on smaller details. Fool for not having the seatbelt on in the first place!

If I had a euro for the amount of times I heard that story I'd have at least a tenner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,951 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

If I had a euro for the amount of times I heard that story I'd have at least a tenner

most likely false too.

i go past these vans (both gatso and garda) on a regular basis and have never been flashed or gotten a fine for not wearing a seat belt.

(vehicles not fitted with seat belts thus not wearing one.)

most likely false too.

i go past these vans (both gatso and garda) on a regular basis and have never been flashed or gotten a fine for not wearing a seat belt.

(vehicles not fitted with seat belts thus not wearing one.)

They're only for speed. Nothing else

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Ah one of these stories doing the rounds... I see. More fool me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Heard a story there of a lad passing some sort of garda safety van thing. It was night time, he was going slow, but as he passed the camera flashed at him, passed back again wondering what was up, tax etc was in order, going uber slow again, it flashed, he had to pass again in order to continue his journey, again the flash. Wasn't until a few weeks after he got a fine and 6 penalty points.... because he had no seatbelt on! Done him for the 3 times he passed the van. Goes to show how these rigs can pick up on smaller details. Fool for not having the seatbelt on in the first place!

New X-ray van is it? Knew he wasn't wearing a seatbelt while driving away from the van... /facepalm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

Also just to ad to the vans were mini buses type with black tinted windows really dark, so obviously holding people.

Still don't know why we had to pull in to the side of the road when we were traveling towards them. And such a garda presence

Prince Charles will be having a visit to Ireland - maybe something connected with that????

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Woohoo new car is ready serviced and ncted

Seen a Citroen Cactus this morning

Nice looking thing - but the one I saw had rear privacy glass - not sure how good they look without it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

Old diesel wrote: »
    Seen a Citroen Cactus this morning

Nice looking thing - but the one I saw had rear privacy glass - not sure how good they look without it

I see loads of the everyday, they must be selling really well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

CianRyan wrote: »
    I see loads of the everyday, they must be selling really well.

I thought that too when the Kia Soul came out. Was seeing one everywhere... doubt I see more than one a month now.

Has anyone here actually driven a C4 Cactus - perhaps hired one on a trip to the continent or something?????

The 17,795 entry level looks interesting - but its down as a pure tech 75 or something which sounds to me like its only 75 bhp.

(its 17,795 according to Citroen Irelands website)

I realise obviously that its probably the basic stripped out version at the entry level price.

Edit - it seems Citroen can indeed let you download a pdf - they say they want you to leave you details first - but I just downloaded it without doing so.

Obviously they assume most people wlll just fill out the form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Prince Charles will be having a visit to Ireland - maybe something connected with that????

Could be, that's tomorrow apparently

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

The pure tech 75 is a 1.2 3 cylinder engine, they also do a turbo version with 110bhp.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The pure tech 75 is a 1.2 3 cylinder engine, they also do a turbo version with 110bhp.

Nice one - thank you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Has anyone here actually driven a C4 Cactus - perhaps hired one on a trip to the continent or something?????

The 17,795 entry level looks interesting - but its down as a pure tech 75 or something which sounds to me like its only 75 bhp.

(its 17,795 according to Citroen Irelands website)

I realise obviously that its probably the basic stripped out version at the entry level price.

Edit - it seems Citroen can indeed let you download a pdf - they say they want you to leave you details first - but I just downloaded it without doing so.

Obviously they assume most people wlll just fill out the form

When I was collecting my car the salesman / guy who owns the garage is over the Citroen garage they have renault too and a few others all owned by the same brothers. Anyway I was asking him and he said in general citroen are becoming a decent brand but the need a better range and all the models including vans need to be a few thousand cheaper. He said dacia and renault are such an easy car to sell in comparison. He said the best Citroen for selling is the 7 seater Picasso they are selling very well. Anyway you either love or hate the cactus they are very cool inside with all the digital display.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭RandomAccess

I've seen a few Cacti? around Dublin, very nice car, the headlights or driving lights look great though I think the real headlights are concealed below them.

Today I saw a very high spec Audi A7 and it had Matrix LED front lighting with a kind of tacky looking sweep motion on the turn signal.
    Bit of a chav looking feature, possibly a distraction I would wager too. Won't be long before the roads are like Piccadily circus

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Bpmull wrote: »
    When I was collecting my car the salesman / guy who owns the garage is over the Citroen garage they have renault too and a few others all owned by the same brothers. Anyway I was asking him and he said in general citroen are becoming a decent brand but the need a better range and all the models including vans need to be a few thousand cheaper. He said dacia and renault are such an easy car to sell in comparison. He said the best Citroen for selling is the 7 seater Picasso they are selling very well. Anyway you either love or hate the cactus they are very cool inside with all the digital display.

I'm fairly undecided about the cactus yet, to me the tail lights look like they're off a 1980's general purpose vehicle....

To me Citroen were always decent. Just a lot of the eejits who had them originally didn't know how to look after them. The rest who ran them down were muppets listening to bigger barstool muppets. To me anyway

Absolutely loved the old Citroens, pre picmyasso and the likes without funny suspension... The Xantia had such soft suspension you could have your sticky toffee pudding and eat it without spilling it on yourself on a bumpy road, best of all it had a d-turbo, a mighty car! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Biggest regret was selling the Xantia HDi. fantastic motor. Magic carpet ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Graham 1324

Do people actually like the cactus I think they are very ugly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

Citroen DS5 in that stunning purple colour is one of the best looking Citroens in recent years. I'd totally drive one....

NBQ0Qp.jpg

Such class.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Do people actually like the cactus I think they are very ugly

I do! It's different and not afraid to be. Citroen of old.

Looks like it's a good competitor to the likes of the Skoda Yeti

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Not car related at all but..... I became a father yesterday :)
    Still hasn't hit me entirely but my God I love this little girl of mine :)
    Need to get the fecking cot set up now seeing as she came earlier than expected

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

bear1 wrote: »

Congrats :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Congrats, as a side note; usually when people have their first child logic goes out the window and they suddenly feel the need to go out and buy a people carrier, just incase you get that urge I can reassure you a normal car is just fine. I have been there.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,391 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Congrats. A daddy is a girl's first love. And you're the only guy who'll never break her heart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Congrats bear1. Hope that thesis comes with isofix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Congratulations bear :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,962 ✭✭✭✭joujoujou
    Unregistered Users

[...] I became a father yesterday :)
    [...]

Congrats! :D