If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Could be worse my mum did 10k euro worth of damage to a Santa Fe crawling out of our driveway and hit a tractor but the crash actually happened in our drive. So she says that she has never had a crash on the road before :pac: I must try and find a picture of It, it was wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

they look cool but not the most PC cars in the world with a paint job like that :pac:.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭JoeA3

OSI wrote: »
    SWEET JESUS!!

Yep! There's no such thing as a "cheap" body work job. Certainly no such thing as cheap "and" good. If you have a protected no claims bonus it might be worth going that route.

Anyone good with air con? Is an air con dryer worth replacing? 30 euro for one. Are there any other consumables in an air con system? Have to replace the comperssor anyway so just want to do it all together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

So as mentioned in the post a picture thread thought Id update here. I mentioned a convertible had been bought. Myself and Ded Zebra and QV have invested in this...

wtqKA4.jpg

CLK320 auto. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Interslice wrote: »
    Anyone good with air con? Is an air con dryer worth replacing? 30 euro for one. Are there any other consumables in an air con system? Have to replace the comperssor anyway so just want to do it all together.

Do you want an aircon compressor?

dgt wrote: »
    Do you want an aircon compressor?

If it's handy that would be great ye. I can get one but would have to pull it out of a 147 my mate has for breaking in work. Going to do the AC, oil sevice, timing belt and the rocker cover leak together next week. Rocker cover and sump bung are pissin out a litre every 500 miles between them :cool:.

I have one here somewhere loose :D have you the tools for the belt? At least you dont have to worry about a balance belt :D

Deadly. Want to try and do the lot in one day. Fairly busy with college. The lad my mate works for has the tools for it alright. Seems handy enough with just the one belt, the one benefit of not getting the 2 litre :D. There's a noise from that side that could be a tensioner so between that and the leaks I need to get on it. Belt itself looks like it would do another 50k miles. Need to make a shopping list. Coolant oil etc. Might do the ARB bushings to while I'm at it. Some sort of backroad only knock from the subframe area that I haven't figured out so might just throw parts at it until it goes away. The wishbones and track rods look and feel fine. It's a bit rolly in the tight corners so I'm guessing is the bushes or the drop links.

Deadly. Want to try and do the lot in one day. Fairly busy with college. The lad my mate works for has the tools for it alright. Seems handy enough with just the one belt, the one benefit of not getting the 2 litre :D

Still need the cam locks.... Yet you don't lock the crank! The aux belt is a fiddly f*cker to put back if you're not used t it :p
    There's a noise from that side that could be a tensioner so between that and the leaks I need to get on it. Belt itself looks like it would do another 50k miles.

Belt will probably do another 150k miles if the truth be known. The tensioners and pump won't go anywhere near that though... That's why they break if not changed on time! :(
    Need to make a shopping list. Coolant oil etc. Might do the ARB bushings to while I'm at it. Some sort of backroad only knock from the subframe area that I haven't figured out so might just throw parts at it until it goes away. The wishbones and track rods look and feel fine. It's a bit rolly in the tight corners so I'm guessing is the bushes or the drop links.

That bolded part is a wanker of a job... I would say it's your top wishbones causing the knocking. The done thing is to get new wishbones and polybush them. Stheno, 166man and qv can tell you similar stories!

The lads were saying access is tight alright. Couldn't even see them when I'd a quick look last week :o. Will be going down the polybush route wherever I can. Plan to use Meyle HD joints too as stuff goes. Should keep her going straight for a while. Suspension is tight enough in general so i'll tip away at other things first. Knock is only happening on the bumpiest of the roads around here. You know yourself ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Anybody know anything about Nilfisk power washers. Turns on and makes the normal noise, but just won't suck the water, no pressure coming at all? It's not blocked at the gauze at the front.

The lads were saying access is tight alright. Couldn't even see them when I'd a quick look last week :o. Will be going down the polybush route wherever I can. Plan to use Meyle HD joints too as stuff goes. Should keep her going straight for a while. Suspension is tight enough in general so i'll tip away at other things first. Knock is only happening on the bumpiest of the roads around here. You know yourself ;)

Drop the subframe and rack has to stay put. The gear cables can become tangled too. But its the clamps that are the real wanker, they're spot welded and a right pain to separate without mutilating the clamp somehow. Burn the rubber out and risk having the clamp go into shcutter in no time. Plus it's a pig to slip the bush in (is not what she said..... )

We don't have roads just joined up potholes at best :D

Drop the subframe and rack has to stay put. The gear cables can become tangled too. But its the clamps that are the real wanker, they're spot welded and a right pain to separate without mutilating the clamp somehow. Burn the rubber out and risk having the clamp go into shcutter in no time. Plus it's a pig to slip the bush in (is not what she said..... )

We don't have roads just joined up potholes at best :D

That sounds like serious ball ache. Must have a look at them first. Sounds like the type of bush best left alone unless you really have too :pac:. Whats the story with the belt then. Is there any decent how too's online? The lads will give me a few pointers but I'll have to do it myself. Want of do it anyway. Never done a DOHC before.

They sure are a bollox to do!

Belt: Not difficult, just a few extra bits to remove. You need a decent set of ribe keys, the cam locks, tensioner setting tool and a sprocket holder. Set the crank to the 9 o clock position once the pulley is removed (lines there to line up) They say to use a dial float but I find a good welding rod is fine (I'm too cheap for that and use the metal from a wiper blade). The tensioner is toothed and an arrow has to line up. I always set them ever so slightly tighter as they loosen up over time (remember doing one that was practically untensioned :eek:) loosen both sprockets to allow the belt to slip on easier. The waterpump can be tight to get out, just don't damage anything on removing it.

Don't get 1.6 blocks as they're different!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Belt: Not difficult, just a few extra bits to remove. You need a decent set of ribe keys, the cam locks, tensioner setting tool and a sprocket holder. Set the crank to the 9 o clock position once the pulley is removed (lines there to line up) They say to use a dial float but I find a good welding rod is fine (I'm too cheap for that and use the metal from a wiper blade). The tensioner is toothed and an arrow has to line up. I always set them ever so slightly tighter as they loosen up over time (remember doing one that was practically untensioned :eek:) loosen both sprockets to allow the belt to slip on easier. The waterpump can be tight to get out, just don't damage anything on removing it.

Does the variator need doing as well?

Stheno wrote: »
    Does the variator need doing as well?

Only if it sounds like a JTD on cold startup

Cheers that sounds alright. Should do me with a bit of head scratching thrown in. Plan to start it early in the morning anyway so I'll not be in any sort of rush. Send us a PM if you find that compressor and I'll spin up to you. Can grab the one out the 147 if it's gone AWOL. Didn't look look like a long job to just rip it out.

Only if it sounds like a JTD on cold startup

So far so good! Only strange noise I get is a whisle the first 5- 10 times you press in the clutch after a stone cold start. Sounds like a very mild wastegate/dump valve whistle type sound :confused:. Happens in every gear. Drive it up gently to no more than 2500 rpm, hit the clutch and pewww!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,013 ✭✭✭davycc

Selling my e36 already :D
    looking to get back into a terrios/jimny or another small hot hatch:D

Im a bit weird like that ;)

and I know its slightly overpriced :pac:

http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/other-bmw/1997-bmw/8025447

davycc wrote: »
    Selling my e36 already :D
    looking to get back into a terrios/jimny or another small hot hatch:D

Im a bit weird like that ;)

and I know its slightly overpriced :pac:

http://www.adverts.ie/car/bmw/other-bmw/1997-bmw/8025447

Looks tidy man. Thought you'd get 1600 for it?
    Oh and swap for large brown wheelie bin? Yours looks a little small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,718 ✭✭✭Hal1

I taught this was a great idea if you have limited garage space.
    My four post ramp is mobile and moves on wheels when I need it too so cars go from that onto racking...

52B46369-1EE5-42B9-B3DE-4C00F9FDE29D-13688-0000080D3F99A50E_zps1dbd263c.jpg

574E779C-B963-4CE1-B4F9-5107698B2329-13688-0000080D348632E0_zps0c77dc03.jpg

F03B0F40-1CF6-4051-B06B-15D3F6E3AD22-15087-000008F9A2E696FD_zps68e28f46.jpg

All secured by these when moving a car.
    68E0C88A-F373-461A-8661-C598804DD331-15087-000008F98464B303_zpse0f7e389.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

That's limited garage space? I can barely squeeze a single car into ours, and its a struggle to get out of the car then :pac:

Looks tidy man. Thought you'd get 1600 for it?
    Oh and swap for large brown wheelie bin? Yours looks a little small.

thanks im unsure about the price but id be happy with 1600 seeing its these have almost cult status:pac:

our brown bin is in mint condition only used for a few weeks literally thanks to a mix p between landlord and the waste company;)

make me an offer lol

That's limited garage space? I can barely squeeze a single car into ours, and its a struggle to get out of the car then :pac:

What's that fatty :p.

Ohh not really a fan of slammed cars, but this looks really good to me.

IMG_4202.jpg

cant beat an imperial blue ford:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Me when i get my car back next week...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Heard a story there of a lad passing some sort of garda safety van thing. It was night time, he was going slow, but as he passed the camera flashed at him, passed back again wondering what was up, tax etc was in order, going uber slow again, it flashed, he had to pass again in order to continue his journey, again the flash. Wasn't until a few weeks after he got a fine and 6 penalty points.... because he had no seatbelt on! Done him for the 3 times he passed the van. Goes to show how these rigs can pick up on smaller details. Fool for not having the seatbelt on in the first place!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Heard a story there of a lad passing some sort of garda safety van thing. It was night time, he was going slow, but as he passed the camera flashed at him, passed back again wondering what was up, tax etc was in order, going uber slow again, it flashed, he had to pass again in order to continue his journey, again the flash. Wasn't until a few weeks after he got a fine and 6 penalty points.... because he had no seatbelt on! Done him for the 3 times he passed the van. Goes to show how these rigs can pick up on smaller details. Fool for not having the seatbelt on in the first place!

I actually laughed at that for some reason. Passing three times.

Taking about garda. I was on the way into Galway today on the headford road just outside Galway. Loads of garda on motorbikes flying along heading towards me waving everyone into the side of the road. There was also a few garda cars and then a good few black vans with a white sheets of A4 with numbers on them. Anyone know what was going on?