If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Ive used these guys before and the work was really good, send them pictures and they can give you a rough quote.
    http://www.hillsidecarspray.com/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

These kinda ad's give me headaches

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/bmw-3-series-bmw-323i-se-touring-auto-s/9410424?offset=8

Well thats one way of putting it.. :D:D

It's a nice car though... apart from the automatic gearbox.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

That's not that awful bad OSI, very little paint damage, that dent should pop out fairly handy. Annoying all the same I bet!

Always the women, eh :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Err issue number 562... Noticed today when it started raining that at idle the windshield wipers were moving a bit slow.
    Revved the engine a bit and the they sped back up.
    Thought feck it anyway until I got into the underground garage and noticed that the lights dim if the revs go down and back to normal if the engine is revved.
    So 2 possibilites, battery is dying (Haven't changed it since I got it) or the alternator is dying - I wonder which one it will be :/
    Car starts up fine and no electrical anomilies in the car itself.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Congrats bpmull well wear

@osi :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You should be able to pull out the big dent with your GoPro mount. I've seen it done!

Awful thing to happen, man!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

My mothers car was dropped in today to be fixed costing 1500 euro ish and will be done in about a week and a half which she needed as she wanted it back before she went on holiday.

It getting a new wheel bearing too as its making noise since. So not the cheapest but it will be done right at least. Nothing worse than a bad spray job to ruin a car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

OSI; Ever Ready crash repair was who I used when I had some rust on mine. The work was fantastic, and Brian was great to deal with. Based in Ballsbridge. Worth a call.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Osi am I imagining that you've used the same mechanic as mine in the past?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

bear1 wrote: »
    Err issue number 562... Noticed today when it started raining that at idle the windshield wipers were moving a bit slow.
    Revved the engine a bit and the they sped back up.
    Thought feck it anyway until I got into the underground garage and noticed that the lights dim if the revs go down and back to normal if the engine is revved.
    So 2 possibilites, battery is dying (Haven't changed it since I got it) or the alternator is dying - I wonder which one it will be :/
    Car starts up fine and no electrical anomilies in the car itself.

My car does this as well. The idle is around 600 RPM so the headlights will dim a bit.

This makes sense since the alternator isn't spinning fast enough.

I don't see a problem with it anyway. You don't need bright headlights when you're not moving. When you're moving the revs are higher than idle so it's not an issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Can't Drive ST until oil filter housing is replaced next week.

I think i am going a little bit mad driving the misfiring 1.4 Octavia, getting into the Isuzu NPR at work seems like a rare treat afterwards.

Woe is me :(

Also my 4 Goodyear Eagles arrived from Openeo today (2 weeks late) won't be using them again, grr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,940 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Pov06 wrote: »
    My car does this as well. The idle is around 600 RPM so the headlights will dim a bit.

This makes sense since the alternator isn't spinning fast enough.

I don't see a problem with it anyway. You don't need bright headlights when you're not moving. When you're moving the revs are higher than idle so it's not an issue.

Have a point there, but I would have thought that if the battery/alternator was working 100% then the engine idling shouldn't affect the rate of electricity.
    I'm not good with electronics :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Can't Drive ST until oil filter housing is replaced next week.

What happened the filter housing? Have had a nightmare recently myself after one specialist losing an important part of filter housing and another failing to repair it correctly as requested.

Don't know if damage has been done either through oil not being filtered over a couple thousand kms, or through brief running with idle oil pressure problems.

Nasty squeal when it was started earlier today. Belts or camshaft. .. hmmmm...

Ah well hope for it yet, if it was the bmw/psa engine it would be completely fubared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What happened the filter housing? Have had a nightmare recently myself after one specialist losing an important part of filter housing and another failing to repair it correctly as requested.

Don't know if damage has been done either through oil not being filtered over a couple thousand kms, or through brief running with idle oil pressure problems.

Nasty squeal when it was started earlier today. Belts or camshaft. .. hmmmm...

Ah well hope for it yet, if it was the bmw/psa engine it would be completely fubared.

They rupture and make a whistling noise when it happens from extra pressure of a hard driven standard car or modified car.

If it's driven on boost it will damage the cam seals and eventually engine will lose oil and lead to oil starvation as an extreme case.

OSI wrote: »
    Cheers for the suggestions, I'll give em a go.

I think the dent will be pretty straightforward, my main worry is that it has pinched at the door frame, either way I don't think it'd trouble any competant body shop. Just looks like **** :-/

Stheno, I did ask you for his details before alright when I couldn't drive as I didn't want to send someone on a cross country drive to George. Ended up doing exactly that anyway :pac:

Shame dunno if you remember the reapray I got on my gtv it was through him and referall vis mechanic only

Seen a 2004 scenic with a GT-Line badge stuck on the front grill just why. It looked beyond stupid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Shur the Honda dealer in tip usually has GTI badges on the back and front all the 1.4 civic hatchbacks for sale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

OSI wrote: »
    Ya know, I have 2 of those suction mounts, and I still went and bought a bloody suction puck from Halfords. Never even entered my head, d'oh!

Ouchee :(

Try walter caldwell, great panel beater out my neck of the woods

Still unsure about ohs job so on track for the accord

Anyway with the recall this week I'm inclined to ask the seller to deal with that too whether it's checking its needed or sending it in so I get a car needing nothing
    sound good?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Stheno wrote: »
    Still unsure about ohs job so on track for the accord

Anyway with the recall this week I'm inclined to ask the seller to deal with that too whether it's checking its needed or sending it in so I get a car needing nothing
    sound good?

You'd can check the VIN online and see if it's needed. Also I'd much prefer to drop it into Honda myself and know it was done.

Fair poinr

They rupture and make a whistling noise when it happens from extra pressure of a hard driven standard car or modified car.

If it's driven on boost it will damage the cam seals and eventually engine will lose oil and lead to oil starvation as an extreme case.
    F**k that for a laugh, is the new part revised to prevent that or is it a constant threat?

Seriously disappointed with the experience on her car. Would have been better off sending it to a tyre fitters for a service. I sent it to specialist so they would spot any of the specific issues before they became big issues. Shur they couldn't even manage an oil filter.

Be doing it myself from now on.

Just drove through one of the worst organised checkpoints I've ever seen. One of the busiest junctions in West Limerick, cars all over the shop including garda cars, the fuzz trying to look at 2 windscreens at once, idiot bike cop trailing up and down the line of traffic as people are attempting to turn right across oncoming traffic and a massive tailback. I'm NCTless too but the sound garda was happy with the text message with the date. Took a good 10 mins to get through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭ShaunieVW

Been on the Isle of man now for 3 or so hours, have spotted many 911's( one gt3) a Ferrari 599 in convoy with a Ferrari FF, lots of hot hatches everywhere also, I love this place spent most summers here in my teens!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,113 ✭✭✭Gavman84

F**k that for a laugh, is the new part revised to prevent that or is it a constant threat?

Seriously disappointed with the experience on her car. Would have been better off sending it to a tyre fitters for a service. I sent it to specialist so they would spot any of the specific issues before they became big issues. Shur they couldn't even manage an oil filter.

Be doing it myself from now on.

Affects the earlier ST mk2 cars I think. There is a modified part that will be fine once changed. One of the known items with the car like most models they have something that breaks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,306 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Just drove through one of the worst organised checkpoints I've ever seen. One of the busiest junctions in West Limerick, cars all over the shop including garda cars, the fuzz trying to look at 2 windscreens at once, idiot bike cop trailing up and down the line of traffic as people are attempting to turn right across oncoming traffic and a massive tailback. I'm NCTless too but the sound garda was happy with the text message with the date. Took a good 10 mins to get through

Came across one recently; just a cop on foot in his navy jacket and the trusty notebook.

Out on the newtown road in Maynooth. Must have gotten bored at the station.

They've been out in force round Carbury/Derrinturn recently. Many many checkopints including armed RSU Gardai.

All to do with this I reckon
    http://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/garda%C3%AD-in-co-kildare-station-warned-of-threats-gra-says-1.2196955

Normally a very quiet area.

Gavman84 wrote: »
    Affects the earlier ST mk2 cars I think. There is a modified part that will be fine once changed. One of the known items with the car like most models they have something that breaks.
    For sure theye all have their own quirks, in my case I thought I was paying extra for specialist knowledge and experience and ability to source the correct part even if it is difficult to find...

As long as your mechanic is aware of the ST situation and doesn't just nod and smile and completely ignore you pointing out the differences in filter housings. Or just toss out "spare" bits.

At this stage I don't give a sh1t about the hassle and foul ups as long as the engine isn't damaged.

So was looking over a few things on the car firstly I properly measured the thread depth 8mm barum tyres on the back which going on that are basically new two Pirelli p7 on the front 7mm so overall more thread than I thought it had :)

Anyway all the lights are working except one number plate light which got me thinking should I replace like with like or throw in a set of LED I'm not sure they would suit it or not but they suit the newer focus that have them from the factory.

So yay or nay on putting in LED number plate light ?

Also I need to buy a decent car phone charger for my iPhone 6 anyone any recommendations I'm sick of buying cheap ones that break so I might just go into halfords and get a Belkin or similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Bpmull wrote: »

Also I need to buy a decent car phone charger for my iPhone 6 anyone any recommendations I'm sick of buying cheap ones that break so I might just go into halfords and get a Belkin or similar.

Tbf I paid about a tenner for one in the applegreen services on the m1 just outside Dundalk some time last year and its still going strong. I just leave it in the glove box when not in use

I can't say I've ever got one from apple green but ive had ones of ebay before and they would work a month or two and then break.