Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

Timmaay wrote: »
    6.50/ton for quarry stuff if you can find it locally , you'd want graded stuff for the top though.

Keep meaning to call into local lad to see his stuff. Seen in used to put in a roadway on a piece of land locally that was reclaimed. Looking at it I reckon it would be good enough for finished surface too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Forgot to say its topless :):)
    Has to say before DarraghHaven

LOL - and built over slats :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Forgot to say its topless :):)
    Has to say before DarraghHaven

hey frazz, most things are better topless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Keep meaning to call into local lad to see his stuff. Seen in used to put in a roadway on a piece of land locally that was reclaimed. Looking at it I reckon it would be good enough for finished surface too

Shale if you can source it locally is the only Job for finishing of roadways, 804 is grand for awhile till it gets wore and the pebbles start coming up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 823 ✭✭✭degetme

Have grass to cut for bales. Clear of nitrogen and three percent sugars. Planned on cutting after dinner today and Bale after cows tomorrow evening. All plans put to a stop from the old fella cause it's too early and the weather isn't there. I give up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭mayota

stanflt wrote: »
    Yes oldest brother

Well done to him, came across good on the radio, very driven.

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Shale if you can source it locally is the only Job for finishing of roadways, 804 is grand for awhile till it gets wore and the pebbles start coming up

Good to know. Dad is on about getting 2" to down but might be no good if what you say will happen. Dearer too buying stone like that that has gone through a grader

degetme wrote: »
    Have grass to cut for bales. Clear of nitrogen and three percent sugars. Planned on cutting after dinner today and Bale after cows tomorrow evening. All plans put to a stop from the old fella cause it's too early and the weather isn't there. I give up!

Tell me about it. And we have the gear. Won't get a chance to knock ours till Thursday I reckon

Will its to lash rain Thursday so it don't look good in our area.

sorry yes your right. Tomorrow to be fine Thursday and Friday looking like rain alright.
    not stuck for grass either way. Stocked at 4 and grass still getting away from us

sorry yes your right. Tomorrow to be fine Thursday and Friday looking like rain alright.
    not stuck for grass either way. Stocked at 4 and grass still getting away from us

Just over three to the hectare here. Wanted to Bale those paddocks to make better quality stuff and not have more bulk when we've plenty silage leftover. Wanted to cut the meal down too over few weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭delaney001

How many here have plate coolers? Are they a good job, what temp does milk exit them at? What ratio of flow of water do you need for them, I've heard 1:1.5 milk : water. Do you use the hot water to preheat the boiler or how do you make use of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

In or around 40 acres pitted since three this evening. Another bit to be finished off in the morning. Should be pulling on covers after lunch tomorrow. Three bags 10-10-20 going out on Friday after rain Thursday. Was going to put out urea as well but reading blackgrass' s posts splitting would seem to give a better return so will probably wait a fortnight to put that out with the June blanket spread. Stocked at 5 and have baled 15% of grazing area in the past three weeks. Just about on top of growth rates. First of the aftergrass will be grazed after the weekend.

Did you graze that forty acres? Did you use a additive?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Tell him its not fit to cut. He will have you out cutting it:D

Did you graze that forty acres? Did you use a additive?

Haven't used additives since the nineties. The forty was all grazed once. What is left to pick up was grazed twice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Got 40% of the first cut pitted by 9:30 this evening. All grazed once. The rest will come in around the end of next week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Baled this evening. 3 bales per acre. Mowed and tedded after lunch yesterday and again before lunch today. Rowed up a 3 today and baled at 5, gorgeous stuff really dry

mf240 wrote: »
    Tell him its not fit to cut. He will have you out cutting it:D

The funny thing is he admitted it was fit to cut.

Jaysus I must be a ****e farmer.......no silage made yet :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

cow down in cubicle shed this morning, got her out with scraper and lifted her to paddock

Jaysus I must be a ****e farmer.......no silage made yet :D:D

Just finished.

fair play, is this later than other years?

Great piece on farm fragmentation in teagascs magazine.
    man in laois gettingserious money out of the business

whelan2 wrote: »

About normal.

Just finished.

Completely finished now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

whelan2 wrote: »

Saw micheal doran writing about six degrees soil temperature in waterford in early feb, we didn't get it till mid march.....be hard to have it as early here...I presume you're the same

rangler1 wrote: »
    Saw micheal doran writing about six degrees soil temperature in waterford in early feb, we didn't get it till mid march.....be hard to have it as early here...I presume you're the same
    will take 2 weeks for the ground to dry out here, normally cut first cut on june bank holiday weekend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Completely finished now.
    Your lucky there's rain on the way and next week is to be fairly broken.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Your lucky there's rain on the way and next week is to be fairly broken.

That's why we mowed on Monday. Expected cutting date anyway. There was the possibility of a small amount of rain on Monday evening but we decided to chance it. There were a few drops around 8o'clock but that was it. One other customer of our contractor cut but I think a couple of others bottled it. They'd have got away clean if they'd gone ahead.