Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

cjpm wrote: »
    Help a brother out!! ;)

Went grass measuring this evening, however not sure what % dry matter to assume.

Grass was dry when weighing, and it hasn't rained in 24 hours.

Thanks in advance!

15-16%
    Follow pasturebase on twitter. They put up dry matter/growth rates from moorepark once or twice a week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,720 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

orm0nd wrote: »
    got same response here, sales rep spent a good while adding up and phoned the nutritionist at the mill , with my yields and figures

anyhow came back to me with the response , your'e getting 2.6kgs solids per day, spending €20 per ton extra on meal is most likely not going to put any extra money in your pocket

it seems I agree with Teagasc for once :rolleyes:
    http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/my-milk-fat-has-dropped-in-the-last-two-weeks-should-i-be-worried/

@ M_J , DG are €77 per roll for wrap don't know the brand , arrabawn rep was telling a neighbour he is inundated with inquiries since last Thur hasn't sold 1 roll though

On my herd size with bf at 3.8 versus sub 3.6 roughly 18 euro per day as well as healthier cow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

stanflt wrote: »
    Quoted 74 from Glanbia with even haggling

Pink stuff is 81 from dairy gold

Must go back and haggle so. Tbf lad behind counter said he couldn't take much off price but the business manager could get us a deal

cjpm wrote: »
    Help a brother out!! ;)

Went grass measuring this evening, however not sure what % dry matter to assume.

Grass was dry when weighing, and it hasn't rained in 24 hours.

Thanks in advance!
    Used 16 here. Tried 14 on sone paddocks but reakon 16 was a fair call when I eye balled before cutting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Maby he was too lazy to do a bit of research....nutritionist in roches feeds very helpful and progressive without been a pushy sales man.

None of them seem to know much about it, I had lads from Roches and Brett's in the yard, neither had heard of megafat before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭visatorro

Another batch weaned. Won't be out till next week I'd say weather to ****

how'd you get on with the new calving pens you put in the old house this spring? would you change anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Poor milk price + high beef price =

U.S. Dairy Cow Slaughter during week ending 4/25 totaled 55,900 head, +14.3% vs same week last year http://t.co/xjUa2Aiaxy

visatorro wrote: »
    how'd you get on with the new calving pens you put in the old house this spring? would you change anything?

They were grand but they won't suit next yr. Lost 2 heifers from cows calving in dry cow shed. We need a bay or 2 of a shed where we can take out springers too a few days before calving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,855 ✭✭✭visatorro

planning a big job here regards calving pens and calf rearing area. has anyone a make shift office in calving area, for tags iodine etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

planning a big job here regards calving pens and calf rearing area. has anyone a make shift office in calving area, for tags iodine etc?
    have a shelf in the dairy with tags,taggers, iodine,gloves, diary and notebook on it. Once its kept tidy its fine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Ameila

We have a box with a lid fixed to the wall outside the calving box with everything in it.
    We write on the inside of the lid with a white board marker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

night spent in a&e hydrosan powerder in the eye, nasty thing, gave myself a fright will be using goggles from now on!!

as the eye doctor said water water and water only cure for chemicals in the eye he said the amount of people who do nothing and go straight to hospital is frighting i got enough water on to save eye

night spent in a&e hydrosan powerder in the eye, nasty thing, gave myself a fright will be using goggles from now on!!

as the eye doctor said water water and water only cure for chemicals in the eye he said the amount of people who do nothing and go straight to hospital is frighting i got enough water on to save eye
    You were lucky.
    I remember a relation yrs ago mixed hydroSan and some other detergent when he was washing a bulk tank. Burnt the lungs off himself. Took a while to revover

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭stanflt

Good dairy topic on rte radio one at 10.30 with Sean o rourke

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

When we did it we made seperate room. It has a door from yard and doors into calving pens and forward calver area.

We put in a jax, shelving, counter top, sink and small electric heater.

All calving equip, tags, cal mag, flutter valve, stomach tubes etc stored here. It's about 12*12. Any bigger and you'll fill it with all sorts of shyte

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

Did they flush it out ?
    I got gypsum plaster in the eye a couple of months ago and spent the night getting 9 litres of water flushed through the eye with a baxtard of a contact lense .
    Sore dose

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Poor milk price + high beef price =

U.S. Dairy Cow Slaughter during week ending 4/25 totaled 55,900 head, +14.3% vs same week last year http://t.co/xjUa2Aiaxy
    At a meeting the other night and they were saying that a lot of forward bought feed and forward sold milk contracts were coming to an end and that US cow numbers were due to fall because of that too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

That sounds v serious, and scary. I was told before the best thing to use in that situation to wash out acid is actually the milk from the tank. I thought water only activated it more. Was told this by an advisor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

When we did it we made seperate room. It has a door from yard and doors into calving pens and forward calver area.

We put in a jax, shelving, counter top, sink and small electric heater.

All calving equip, tags, cal mag, flutter valve, stomach tubes etc stored here. It's about 12*12. Any bigger and you'll fill it with all sorts of shyte

That sounds Comfier than my house, is it available for rental for summer holidays!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

That sounds Comfier than my house, is it available for rental for summer holidays!!

Careful now or you could find yourself on a busmans holiday very quick I'd say

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Is Bill one of your Clan?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,792 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

interesting piece, fair play to Bill:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Forgot to say its topless :):)
    Has to say before DarraghHaven

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,808 ✭✭✭stanflt

Is Bill one of your Clan?

Yes oldest brother

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

That sounds v serious, and scary. I was told before the best thing to use in that situation to wash out acid is actually the milk from the tank. I thought water only activated it more. Was told this by an advisor.

never herd of that before dono how id get the milk out in a hurry without loosin the tank i would hav stuck my head in if i thou it would hav helped,
    ya put a few drips up, full of water i think, i didnt ask
    dono the doc said water is the only thing,
    if you dont get water on it straight away it will keep burning, i was going to go to bed when it happened twas so sore he said eye would hav bn burned out by morning lucky i went to a&e big thanks to doc n nurses
    can easily happen taking a scoop out of any bag wit chemicals so be careful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

never herd of that before dono how id get the milk out in a hurry without loosin the tank i would hav stuck my head in if i thou it would hav helped, ya put a few drips up, full of water i think, i didnt ask dono the doc said water is the only thing, if you dont get water on it straight away it will keep burning, i was going to go to bed when it happened twas so sore he said eye would hav bn burned out by morning lucky i went to a&e big thanks to doc n nurses can easily happen taking a scoop out of any bag wit chemicals so be careful

Was always told that water only spreads a chemical burn. In work we use a product called Diphoterine. It nutrilises the chemical brilliant stuff. Never a mark after it. Very expensive stuff though.

Mulumpy wrote: »
    Was always told that water only spreads a chemical burn. In work we use a product called Diphoterine. It nutrilises the chemical brilliant stuff. Never a mark after it. Very expensive stuff though.

Would eye wash be better than water so?

What sort of money is a load of filling for cow roads costing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

What sort of money is a load of filling for cow roads costing?

6.50/ton for quarry stuff if you can find it locally , you'd want graded stuff for the top though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

Would eye wash be better than water so?

Ya especially if it's liquid