If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

The Restaurant Recommendation Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,132 ✭✭✭✭pwurple

sporina wrote: »
    oh come one - this is so typical of cork - places like barrack st and mccurtain st have massive potential - people need to sprawl - there is more to cork that OP st and pana and the french quarter

Ah yeah, but it is handier alright when stuff is on the central island. Just for buses and dodging the bucketting rain by bouncing from pub to pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭sporina

pwurple wrote: »
    Ah yeah, but it is handier alright when stuff is on the central island. Just for buses and dodging the bucketting rain by bouncing from pub to pub.

oh come on - how can a place prosper if everything were to remain central

shame on you

Sporina, cop on - no need for that comment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

I don't think there's any 'shame' to be had in wanting things to be close by, but I do agree with the point that the city is growing and you will find a sprawl occurring and that's a good sign.

We got parking just after Summer Hill luckily but Penrose Quay has parking there I believe, you'll always have a short jaunt but there's umbrellas too lads :D

One other thing is with White Rabbit being close to Summer Hill - that's not a huge stroll from Alberts Quay where the offices are going in. Could be good trade to be had there, I'm sure if the offices do well then we'll see a demand for more businesses around that area which would be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,612 ✭✭✭evilivor

oh come one - this is so typical of cork - places like barrack st and mccurtain st have massive potential - people need to sprawl - there is more to cork that OP st and pana and the french quarter

The owners of Isaacs were told they were mad when they were opening on MacCurtain street 20 years - it was a graveyard. That's still going and, I think, there's a nice vibe on the street now with some fine eateries (and the best pizza in the city). If they can get the new road layouts right it will be very accessible with the city bikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,035 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

This!
    And apart from that Cork people seem to have avery ddistorted comprehension of distance.
    That White Rabbit place is probably about 4 minutes walk (if that) from the Statue on Patrick's Street. Either lots of Cork people are spectularly lazy or just don't understand how small our city actually is.

I live near Shandon. I once timed how long it took me to walk to Tom Barry's on Barack Street. 12 minutes!12 minutes from one edge of the centre across town to another edge. That's how small the centre is.
    If you think McCurtain Street is "a bit out of town" you are either very very lazy or have some sort of spacial awareness disorder.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

Yeah I'm used to walking from one end of the city to the other all the time to different pubs and restaurants, and the longest walk you'd have is 15 mins. And that would get you from Goldbergs to the Liberty Grill! Cork really is a small, accessible city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭mrpdap

Anyone been to La Dolce Vitae?

Italian place near St Finbars.

mrpdap wrote: »

My wife has been a few times.
    She likes it and she knows good food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,181 ✭✭✭✭rob316

mrpdap wrote: »

Its excellent the pasta is so good. Portion size is kinda small so go for 3 courses. Lovely pizza there too.

I tried Box Noodle again - it's where The Ambassador Chinese restaurant was.
    I had been there previously and had an issue with one of their dishes. I emailed them about it and got a very prompt, lengthy reply assuring me that they were addressing my issues and asking me to return to try the dish again.
    I did.
    They really had changed and vastly improved the dish. It was good this time - still a little sweet for my taste but way, way better.

Fair play to them for accepting feedback well and acting on it.

I will return:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Ollie111

Thanks for the Goldberg recommendation. Ate there today and it was really good. Good menu and excellent service. Eggs benedict a big hit. Just a drizzle of hollandaise which was ideal. Pulled lamb bap went down well with my other half. Nice atmosphere there too. I'll be back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 563 ✭✭✭-Toppy-

Ollie111 wrote: »
    Eggs benedict a big hit. Just a drizzle of hollandaise which was ideal.

SOLD! What time do they open at :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,248 ✭✭✭sporina

Ollie111 wrote: »
    Any suggestions for an early lunch in town tmrw pls?

your welcome

glad you enjoyed it

oh come on - how can a place prosper if everything were to remain central

shame on you

Hey, i wouldn't avoid it or anything. Gallaghers is on mccurtain street and it's one of my favouite places. Sextant would be another one. But I'll admit that on a torrential windy winter night, I have said "feck that" and gone to a place nearer my bus stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,434 ✭✭✭northgirl

Hey, i wouldn't avoid it or anything. Gallaghers is on mccurtain street and it's one of my favouite places. Sextant would be another one. But I'll admit that on a torrential windy winter night, I have said "feck that" and gone to a place nearer my bus stop.

gotta agree with you on this one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 40 dubby1978

What do people think of Burritos and Blues on Paul St.?

dubby1978 wrote: »
    What do people think of Burritos and Blues on Paul St.?

I liked the food they do upstairs. Slight bugbear of mine that it was served on timber boards #wewantplates

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Equally, I've gone to places closer to where I live (that are not in the city center) on a torrential night. It's great having good places to get food spread around the city. Sure, it won't suit everyone but there's plenty to go around to cater for all :)

Also, regardless of the weather, sometimes it's just nice to have a short stroll to a nice cafe for lunch that doesn't mean we have to go into the city center.

Bacchus wrote: »
    Equally, I've gone to places closer to where I live (that are not in the city center) on a torrential night. It's great having good places to get food spread around the city. Sure, it won't suit everyone but there's plenty to go around to cater for all :)

Also, regardless of the weather, sometimes it's just nice to have a short stroll to a nice cafe for lunch that doesn't mean we have to go into the city center.

Choosing to eat in your locality, if you have that choice is very different to considering somewhere less than a 5 minute walk from Patrick's Street "a bit far out of town".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭Bacchus

Choosing to eat in your locality, if you have that choice is very different to considering somewhere less than a 5 minute walk from Patrick's Street "a bit far out of town".

I do not disagree with that at all. I was only providing an additional benefit of having places outside of the city center - i.e. people that don't want to walk IN to town have nice options close to them. I'm all for having a few little streets around the outskirts of the town that provide good quality services. It's not all about Patrick, Washington & OP street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,495 ✭✭✭✭leahyl

This!
    And apart from that Cork people seem to have avery ddistorted comprehension of distance.
    That White Rabbit place is probably about 4 minutes walk (if that) from the Statue on Patrick's Street. Either lots of Cork people are spectularly lazy or just don't understand how small our city actually is.

I live near Shandon. I once timed how long it took me to walk to Tom Barry's on Barack Street. 12 minutes!12 minutes from one edge of the centre across town to another edge. That's how small the centre is.
    If you think McCurtain Street is "a bit out of town" you are either very very lazy or have some sort of spacial awareness disorder.

I have absolutely no problem walking anywhere but when it's an absolutely horrendous night with torrential rain and I have heels on I prefer to stay on the island - I don't normally go to many of the pubs on McCurtain Street. It's just my opinion.

Oh and also, cop on with the smart comments - absolutely no need for it. All you had to say was that you didn't think it was very far out of town. I am certainly not lazy and do not have "some sort of spacial awareness disorder".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

Yeah jesus revolu that's a bit harsh and actually a very rude comment to make yous should smack yourself in the head for that one

I for one would love if there were more nice restaurants walking distance from home..

Milly33 wrote: »

I for one would love if there were more nice restaurants walking distance from home..

What has that to do with any of my comments?

Another poster's and I were reacting to a comment suggesting that Mc Curtain Street is somehow not city centre. This is an attitude that I've come across over and over again in Cork. So many people think if a venue isn't on Patrick Street, Oliver Plunkett or Grand Parade that it is somehow perceived as"a bit out of town" when the venue may be only 3 minutes walk from Patrick's Street. It is a false perception and doesn't relate to actual distances involved.

Milly33 wrote: »
    Yeah jesus revolu that's a bit harsh and actually a very rude comment to make yous should smack yourself in the head for that one

Milly33 please report a post if you have a problem with it - do not respond on a thread - thanks.

Ok let's move on now with more restaurant recommendations, I'm sorry I said anything....

Let's get back on topic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,385 ✭✭✭✭D'Agger

Not a restaurant as such but a café well worth checking out - D's Delights in Blackrock (Just before Blackrock Church travelling from town towards where the Sunday morning market takes place at the pier.

Stumbled across their instagram recently and popped in there with my parents for some coffee and a few treats. Would highly recommend, lovely feel/vibe to the place, Van Morrisson playing in the background, good coffee and dear god the candy was unreal :eek:

Instagram here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,663 ✭✭✭Milly33

reported sorry jes true back on subject... Thanks for that D D'agger haven't heard of this place might take a wonder down there for coffee at the weekend..

D'Agger wrote: »
    Not a restaurant as such but a café well worth checking out - D's Delights in Blackrock (Just before Blackrock Church travelling from town towards where the Sunday morning market takes place at the pier.

+1. Nice cake in there.

D'Agger wrote: »

Stumbled across their instagram recently and popped in there with my parents for some coffee and a few treats. Would highly recommend, lovely feel/vibe to the place, Van Morrisson playing in the background, good coffee and dear god the candy was unreal :eek:

Instagram here

Their facebook page has some seriously amazing photos of cakes :eek: Can't wait to try there some time soon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,514 ✭✭✭bee06

I ordered cupcakes from there a while ago as they had a group on offer running and they were amazing. Really interesting flavour options and they were all very tasty.