********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Cousins bought a 2011 golf in the beginning of March, paid 14.5k. 3 weeks after buying it, one night, a drunk driver crosses the white line and crashes right into the golf, and along the side of it. Car was written off. Insurance company gave them an up! as a temp car. After 3 weeks though, they wanted 150p.w for it. So they gave it back, naturally enough! Family were carless for a few weeks, but they have a van so not too bad. Insurance company got back to them and would only pay 12k for the car, because that's what they reckon it's worth. Tonight they picked up their new 11 golf, which had to be a lower spec, due to the loss of money. Can someone explain how is it, just, fair or right for this family to be down 2.5k because of the actions of a drunk driver, completely out of their control. Scandalous!!

dgt wrote:
    Wouldn't be the local beatties in camlough would it

Do ye have any new ish cars?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Do ye have any new ish cars?

Newest ford is an 06 focus if you're looking ford parts :p

Newest yoke is a 12 peugeot 3008

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Cousins bought a 2011 golf in the beginning of March, paid 14.5k. 3 weeks after buying it, one night, a drunk driver crosses the white line and crashes right into the golf, and along the side of it. Car was written off. Insurance company gave them an up! as a temp car. After 3 weeks though, they wanted 150p.w for it. So they gave it back, naturally enough! Family were carless for a few weeks, but they have a van so not too bad. Insurance company got back to them and would only pay 12k for the car, because that's what they reckon it's worth. Tonight they picked up their new 11 golf, which had to be a lower spec, due to the loss of money. Can someone explain how is it, just, fair or right for this family to be down 2.5k because of the actions of a drunk driver, completely out of their control. Scandalous!!

Is it not on the basis of what the industry value of the up was?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Sorry to hear that, Noccy. After all that money they cash in... terrible. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

166man wrote: »
    @BP.

If I were you I'd stop stressing over this. It won't do anything.

I'd go down to the dealer when you have tme next and discuss it in person and also inspect the car yourself.

Make a judgement call on if you want to stick with it and go from there.

Your money, your call.

I mean look I spent 2 hours inspected it and drove it 3 times its everything I want. After this other one for a few days I really like them and would be very happy to own them they are a nice quiet comfy car with alot of extras and features. The way I see it I have this on insured and they put on the mudflaps etc which I asked for. I mean by walking away from the car the only way I see it is me loosing I have to spend time and money looking for another equivalent car that will cost most I'll end up paying more money to insuranve to change the reg and car details.

I mean they are dealing with it fairly ah!t although they gave me a car straight away no arguments or questions asked and the salesman did look genuinely annoyed that the keys were gone/ car wasn't ready. Now I can give them the benefit of the doubt and let it play out till the end of this week because let's face it I'm loosing out on nothing as I'm working anyway. I'm going to ring Thursday morning and see what the story is and I need to be firm and see what the story is.

Hopefully it's not a case that has the lad got his hands on it again and flipped it into a ditch and it's currently up on a jig with them trying to straighten the chasis :eek: :pac:

Sure I suppose all you can do is laugh rather than cry.

Stheno wrote:
    Is it not on the basis of what the industry value of the up was?

Of the golf do ya mean? I know that's how they calculate their prices alright, but still, if you can't get back what you paid for a car just a few weeks before, then that's bad form!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,499 ✭✭✭Interslice

dgt wrote: »
    Wouldn't be the local beatties in camlough would it :D

Was more than likely kilcock as they always have a hape of alfas there

Your man there is into his alfas someone was telling me. I've to go up for a spot light and a steering wheel. Tried a steering wheel off a 146 lying up here but no joy. The rear wiper off them doesn't fit either. This might be tricky to get SH I think. Leather is all torn on the steering wheel i have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,925 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Of the golf do ya mean? I know that's how they calculate their prices alright, but still, if you can't get back what you paid for a car just a few weeks before, then that's bad form!

Sort of... also means they overpaid initially.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

They didnt have to accept the insurance companies first offer.

Sort of... also means they overpaid initially.

They might have paid enough, but it was a 2.0 highline. Now they bought a 1.6 comfortline. I would be livid if it was me!

They didnt have to accept the insurance companies first offer.

Ohh that they didn't. Accident was the end of March, they were fighting day and night this past 5 weeks with them! Eventually had to give in. Insurance companies will always come out on top.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,685 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Bpmull wrote: »
    I mean look I spent 2 hours inspected it and drove it 3 times its everything I want. After this other one for a few days I really like them and would be very happy to own them they are a nice quiet comfy car with alot of extras and features. The way I see it I have this on insured and they put on the mudflaps etc which I asked for. I mean by walking away from the car the only way I see it is me loosing I have to spend time and money looking for another equivalent car that will cost most I'll end up paying more money to insuranve to change the reg and car details.

I mean they are dealing with it fairly ah!t although they gave me a car straight away no arguments or questions asked and the salesman did look genuinely annoyed that the keys were gone/ car wasn't ready. Now I can give them the benefit of the doubt and let it play out till the end of this week because let's face it I'm loosing out on nothing as I'm working anyway. I'm going to ring Thursday morning and see what the story is and I need to be firm and see what the story is.

Hopefully it's not a case that has the lad got his hands on it again and flipped it into a ditch and it's currently up on a jig with them trying to straighten the chasis :eek: :pac:

Sure I suppose all you can do is laugh rather than cry.

So you don't know the damage even

Are you nuts?

I mean we are talking about a run of the mill super mini here

Move Ion, now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,978 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Interslice wrote: »
    Your man there is into his alfas someone was telling me. I've to go up for a spot light and a steering wheel. Tried a steering wheel off a 146 lying up here but no joy. The rear wiper off them doesn't fit either. This might be tricky to get SH I think. Leather is all torn on the steering wheel i have.

Well if you want you can horde a lot of my collection of parts.

146 wheel won't work... A Bravo one will but will look desperate :p

Need the room, parts clearout!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,564 ✭✭✭JoeA3

All this stress and aggro over a Renault Megane with over 100k on the clock and multiple sets of keys? Move on and buy something (anything) else.

JoeA3 wrote: »
    All this stress and aggro over a Renault Megane with over 100k on the clock and multiple sets of keys? Move on and buy something (anything) else.

Eh you must mean no set of keys:D

@stheno the garage does a car of the week every week and knock money of the car for the week. The one I bought just happened to be car of the week which it was on the website before I enquired they didn't make it up. We struck a deal with them giving me 500 euro extra of the price and them fixing up the body work and mechanics. So it's not like they automatically dropped 2k but I'm saying to get an equivalent one of main dealer would be 2k more maybe 1.5k on a good day.

Engine is completely dry the car starts runs stops fine panel caps are good all around paint matches up all glass is original renault and matches. No sign of crash damage in front or back. They have a full renault main dealer service history for it which they don't have for any of the others. Original matching number plates front and back.

I mean I spent 2 days looking at it. It doesn't look dodgy or a lemon to me and I don't think it suddenly became one just because he caught it on a high path / stone and that's the only way you could damage the sill like that not in a collision. I mean theres a difference between being fussy and trying to avoid a lemon and then being paranoid.

The situation with the keys is annoying but doesn't ultimately make the car a rough one.

We should rename this thread "the mystical megane and its missing keys"!! :pac:

Just to clarify ive seen the damage the bit about it being flipped was a joke. The damage is one foot of light indentation from the sill being caught on a path no damage to any panels.

Also it's a 4 year old diesel with 65k miles and full service history the engine is hardly on its last legs.

Anyway probably no more point talking about it till I here more as I don't want to be taking over this thread with it either. I should have just bought that 1.4 golf and saved myself a lot of hardship.

good one over my mates workshop today. he couldn't get a '10 citreon picasso 1.6hdi to start today after changing the fuel filter. An hours prickin about with a half dead battery and stuff later, we gave it a shot of a can of lynx into the intake and she fired up straight away, smellin lovely!

Interslice wrote: »
    good one over my mates workshop today. he couldn't get a '10 citreon picasso 1.6hdi to start today after changing the fuel filter. An hours prickin about with a half dead battery and stuff later, we gave it a shot of a can of lynx into the intake and she fired up straight away, smellin lovely!

Had the same problem with my focus. The lack of a fuel lift pump or priming bulb by the manufacture is a beyond idiotic move.

There is a priming bulb at the back on this yolk. Completely useless. You could squeeze it all day it does nothing. The fuel filter is sealed too. They mus have some special gear in the main dealers or something. Awkward aul job. The renault's are a piece of piss. Priming bulb and bleed nipple do their job quick enough even with an empty filter.

Why does everything have to be clocked people can't leave the clocks alone :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,830 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

Why does everything have to be clocked people can't leave the clocks alone :mad:

Your new one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,146 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Just to clarify ive seen the damage the bit about it being flipped was a joke. The damage is one foot of light indentation from the sill being caught on a path no damage to any panels.

Also it's a 4 year old diesel with 65k miles and full service history the engine is hardly on its last legs.

Anyway probably no more point talking about it till I here more as I don't want to be taking over this thread with it either. I should have just bought that 1.4 golf and saved myself a lot of hardship.

Christ chap, get money back and walk. I wouldn't touch it. I know, I know, we all just want to drop it, but I just can't believe all this...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭Old diesel

YbFocus wrote: »
    Bp man I can't understand why you were giving out and when we join in to say what a ****ty situation it is you immediately defend them?
    Weird attitude man, they really are using your way too relaxed nature for their own benefit.
    Like everyone says here, there's probably another 10,000 of those exact cars in the country, you shouldn't feel tied to them in any way.
    I'd break the deal long ago, not be waiting on them.

They (the garage) seem to be going at a snails pace in sorting it out when instead they should be falling over themselves to get it sorted ASAP.

Give em to the end of the week - if the cars not ready - deals off.

Buy that burgundy Corolla of the bangernomics thread to tide you over for a month or 3 - while your looking for something off an outfit ready to sell and who won't mess you about.

Youd NORMALLY expect that they knowing your dad/family - would mean BETTER service. But this lot seem to take it for granted you will go ahead with the deal.

Time to shake them out of complacency - plenty more cars out there.

George Dalton on here is actually in the business of selling cars as well as fixing them afaik. Might be worth a shout - have never dealt with him - but have only ever heard lots of GOOD things about him

Your new one?

Well apparently there was 137,500 km on it after 2 years which to me just seems wrong and that it's more like 85k km but according to the sheet it is. It was the only reading for the car so nothing to prove it wrong or right. I'm going to get them to send me the history and see can I check for 85k km around and that time. Tbh I find it hard to believe there is upwards of 200k km on it.

Anyway - heres the Corolla from the bangernomics thread

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/96-toyota-corolla-xli-sal-/9161568?offset=4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Old diesel wrote: »
    Anyway - heres the Corolla from the bangernomics thread

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/96-toyota-corolla-xli-sal-/9161568?offset=4

You'd never think, that there is 189,000 miles on that... :eek:

job seeker wrote: »
    You'd never think, that there is 189,000 miles on that... :eek:

It looks like a nice car for sure

Elephant 26000 put it up on the bangernomics thread - I said id fire it up for BP - gives him another option on a temporary basis.

Cut the ties with the other garage - and find something from somewhere else - but still have wheels.

Probably worth seeing whats out there in the Renault dealer network too