If the Nazis had won WW2...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Shannon757 wrote: »
    Have you tried Superquinn sausages?:eek:

Alas I have not tasted the legend yet, Superquinn was always a rarity in the west.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

The Nazis were a defragmented group containing moderates and extremists who were kept unified by a strong, charismatic leader with clear objectives. After Hitler's death and without a comparable successor, they probably would have broken into different political parties.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

LadyAthame wrote: »
    Not something to be proud of really.

Not something to feel either way. Nazis weren't primarily "white nationalists" but primarily extreme German nationalists. Hatred of Slavs and Jews was not replicated with hatred of Asians like Japan, or Turks, who were actual or historically German allies. They did feel superior to blacks and non-Europeans but so did white America and most Europeans. But it wasn't a major part of their propaganda.

Modern neo-Nazis are white racists which is why they exist in Russia. For a while that confused me -- it was as if Irish white nationalists adopted the symbolism of Cromwell or Ulster unionists -- but neo-nazzism has become a white nationalist movement divorced from its anti-Slavic past. It's still anti Semitic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

Boards mods would not be banning people for giving out about "de romanians" as the people often mis-named as such would probably not be so visible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,847 ✭✭✭✭Shannon757

Xenji wrote: »
    Alas I have not tasted the legend yet, Superquinn was always a rarity in the west.

You have not lived my friend:D

They had quiet a few skirmishes with France over the years beforehand and also North as well as West and South. Being Celtic would have made no difference whatsover.

They had no plans to exterminate the French. Nor the Danish. Nor Norway, nor other western countries they invaded ( replacing the leadership yes). They planned to replace all of Eastern Europe with Germans, leaving a rump group of slaves at most, and started doing that during the war.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭I swindled the NSA

Boards.ie would be called platen.de but the nach stunden forums existence would be short lived owing to an inability to recruit moderators because all suitable candidates would be too busy attending to their duties in the Irland regiment of the Waffen SS :pac:

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

Boards.ie would be called platen.de but the nach stunden forums existence would be short lived owing to an inability to recruit moderators because all suitable candidates would be too busy attending to their duties in the Irland regiment of the Waffen SS :pac:

und warum ist das ein Problem - damit bin Ich perfekt fur die rolle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,793 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

There would be loads of Vichy and Quisling mods to take their place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

Alas I have not tasted the legend yet, Superquinn was always a rarity in the whest.

that's better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,793 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

that's better?

That wurst.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 793 ✭✭✭LadyAthame

That wurst.
    Bratwurst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,428 ✭✭✭cml387

Apart from the excellent Fatherland by Robert Harris, I would also recommend SS-GB by Len Deighton and of course The King In The High Castle by Philip K Dick.

Go away and read those few (there are others ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭ygolometsipe

LadyAthame wrote: »
    Bratwurst

very bold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 981 ✭✭✭Stojkovic

Well for a start the Nazis and by definition WWII and the Americans put a stop to British and French (and other) colonial genocide and brutality.

The fact it was replaced by something else is beside the point.

Maybe the point should be what if Nazi Germany didnt happen in the first place ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭Boreas

Better, in my opinion, than 'Fatherland' is Philip K Dick's 'Man in the High Castle'. There is also a TV version being produced by Amazon, the first episode is available online and is really good.

If you really want to think about a world where the Nazis won you have to think about what win means. If Germany and the UK had struck a peace deal after the fall of France, leaving Hitler a free hand in Russia for example that's very different to the Germans defeating the UK and USA in 1946 say. I find it hard to imagine German invading and occupying the USA.

Personally I think a convincing argument that a German victory in WWI would have been better can be made but nothing good would have come from a Nazi victory.

Interesting fact generally forgotten about WWII. Vichy France essentially became an axis ally and France's colonial armies sided with the axis. It wasn't reported at the time and has disappeared down the memory hole mostly since but France's army in Syria and the Levant fought against the Allies. That was a choice they made, the colonial French army could have decided that the Vichy regime wasn't legitimate and reported to de Gaulle, or surrendered or refused to fight with the occupiers of their country.

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Syria–Lebanon_Campaign

To be fair the free French did fight against them and some of the prisoners taken after the Vichy troops lost changed sides, but not all.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 9,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manach

On the French, I'd disagree. Wikipedia is not your friend. Instead if you read say the bios of De Gaulle you will see quoted numerous active support of the Free French clause. On the German side, a recent reading of Von Luck's Panzer Commander showed how well these French fought against the Germans: both in the Africa theatre as well in the liberation of their homeland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,208 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Prepare to be disappointed.

Thats also what I say to girls just before I pull down my pants

Cienciano wrote: »
    Prepare to be disappointed.

Thats also what I say to girls just before I pull down my pants

You don't have to disrobe to eat sausages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 564 ✭✭✭ChunkyLover54

Lord Haw Haw would have enjoyed a long and successful career in broadcasting...a bit like Gay Byrne or Terry Wogan.

Schindlers List would have had a laugh track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Ah now, don't rely on google translate.

Boards.ie would be rather brett.ge (.ge like Germania) or forum.ge (forum being the German word for internet message board) and after hours rather feierabend.ge. That is, if public opinions are allowed at all.

And I encountered many a mod who is overeager to attend, well, to their duty of overeager modding ... ;)

Apart from the mindgames "what if" (as mentioned before, "Fatherland" is a brilliant novel about exactly that) I'm still amazed about the fascination Irish and British people have about Hitler and the Nazis.
    It seems you don't have the faintest idea about the impact that Nazi regime has up to now on Europe and mainland Europeans (see the Irish morons wearing Hitler masks in Prague).

It wasn't all "'Allo, 'Allo" and it wasn't all "Dad's Army", ye know.

It was a totalitarian regime which eliminated everyone and everything big time. Much like modern time nutcases who claim to have a political agenda.

Apart from that, a bit of regulation and efficiency wouldn't do any harm, especially regarding the cowboys over here doing jobs they don't have the faintest idea about ... :pac:

Manach wrote: »
    On the French, I'd disagree. Wikipedia is not your friend. Instead if you read say the bios of De Gaulle you will see quoted numerous active support of the Free French clause. On the German side, a recent reading of Von Luck's Panzer Commander showed how well these French fought against the Germans: both in the Africa theatre as well in the liberation of their homeland.

Are you saying the Vichy French didn't fight the allies? They certainly did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,712 ✭✭✭YFlyer

The Hoff would save us.

You watched that car program on BBC2 tonight?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,152 ✭✭✭noway12345

We would be speaking German and there would be many defending the Germans no matter what they did to the Jews and others. Just the same as now with the Brits. We're all speaking English and even though the British wiped out millions in Ireland, India and eslsewhere, you still have many here who think they're a fine bunch of lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,961 ✭✭✭indioblack

noway12345 wrote: »
    We would be speaking German and there would be many defending the Germans no matter what they did to the Jews and others. Just the same as now with the Brits. We're all speaking English and even though the British wiped out millions in Ireland, India and eslsewhere, you still have many here who think they're a fine bunch of lads.

Well, if it offends you so much, go and learn another language.
    Do you dislike the British today? Because that's what your post infers.
    By that logic you should feel the same towards present-day Germans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭RichFTW

hitler had an Irish cousin, the Irish were cast in a good light in the German propaganda. Celtic races were respected. don't see why we'd have been gassed. Taken over and run as worker ants sure, but we're that now anyway.

(also Ireland was a Vatican asset so we'd have a good chance of surviving so long as el padre played ball)

I remember hearing a while back that Hitler thought we were the descendants of some lost tribe of Israel and so wanted to wipe us all out as part of the whole Jew hating thing. Possibly one of his mad ideas towards the end of his time that he developed which was contrary to the original Nazi party line. Although I don't think the Nazi party line was that Celtic races were respected, more so that we were less worthless than other races.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

Stojkovic wrote: »
    Well for a start the Nazis and by definition WWII and the Americans put a stop to British and French (and other) colonial genocide and brutality.

The fact it was replaced by something else is beside the point.

Maybe the point should be what if Nazi Germany didnt happen in the first place ?

But it didn't stop the Americans doing the exact same in the South Pacific..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭the immortals

Ve vud talk like zis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

Go to Copenhagen and find out.

They are very fond of their flag and it's cross motif would morph into a swastika quite nicely. Their royal sites are guarded by armed soldiers a la buckingham palace. They have this big star shaped fortress in the middle of the city complete with armed soldiers, very wolfenstein. Pretty much the only non aryan looking people I saw there were some nigerian prostitutes roaming the nightlife area. They also seem to think that anyone who isnt a dane is somehow inferior.