If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,485 ✭✭✭Donnelly117

Mondello are doing 20 minutes on track for 30 euros, its a new thing they are offering during open track days. You just show up on the day and pay, might be of interest to a few on here that always wanted to do one but didnt want to stress their cars as a full day or half day might do. Maybe get a few of us together and can make it a group event.

Out of interest, what kinda of damage/ wear is one likely to do in 20 mins on a track? I know you could blow it up, but I mean more tyres, brakes, clutch etc? Or would a well maintained car survive 20 hard minutes without much trouble?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

Mickgarage 10% off all stock just order by midnight tomorrow minimum order 40 euro use code 'EXTRA10'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,669 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Mondello are doing 20 minutes on track for 30 euros, its a new thing they are offering during open track days. You just show up on the day and pay, might be of interest to a few on here that always wanted to do one but didnt want to stress their cars as a full day or half day might do. Maybe get a few of us together and can make it a group event.
    347027.jpg

166man do you want to scare people again :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Out of interest, what kinda of damage/ wear is one likely to do in 20 mins on a track? I know you could blow it up, but I mean more tyres, brakes, clutch etc? Or would a well maintained car survive 20 hard minutes without much trouble?

With all track driving you will be putting stress on Tyres and brakes however 20 mins on a track is fine and wont cause any damage unless your car is suffering from an already existing serious issue, We were out for just over 20 minutes a time when I was there and no issues from anyone's cars after almost 100km on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,086 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

If the Corolla didn't need a heap spent on it next week I'd totally have rocked up to this

166man wrote: »
    Had it been myself, I'd have looked at something like a 2002/2003 E39 525D auto. Pick up a good SE for about €1500, or an MSport for closer to €2k.

Drive it down to Valdas here in Dublin and leave it with him for the week. Spend €1k on it doing whatever it needs, get it tested and tax it for three months and it owes you less than €3k.

Enjoy the comfort, full leather, most of the toys and 40mpg.

Oh and pocket the other €5k and stick it in the credit union, building up a good history for yourself.

That to me, makes complete sense.

Firstly I get what your saying about the money of course it would be better sitting in a credit Union account than tied up in a car. But when it comes to cars I just tend to lash momey at them when buying them but then it's one of the very few things I spend any great amount of money I don't drink or smoke whatsoever never have.

It's kind of hard to try and get my point accross but obviously there are loads of older cars Id love to own but not as my sole car. My plan has always been to keep a decent standard but reliable car through college and then when I'm out of college and have a job sort a shed out and get a weekend car and something to properly mess around with and learn about cars on Id love that.

But for now I just want something that gets me where I need to go and is comfortable and reliable. Something I worry about servicing brakes tyres on and the odd small thing. And with the best will in the world it would it would be foolish to think you could buy a 12 year old and that it will never cause any issues whatsoever. Now I know 4 or 5 year old cars can have loads of issues but probability wise they will be more reliable as most components are far newer and not as worn.

I still don't think I've got accross the right point I was trying to make but anyway your point of view does make sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Nissan Tiida?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Nissan Tiida?

Actually one of the lads has one in college the parents got him as obviously he wouldn't buy one himself good yoke for tipping around infairness that's about it though.

Ah the car I have bought has been guessed correctly at this stage actually last Thursday or Friday I said on here about a feature it has that seriously narrows it down and almost makes it obvious what I bought as its a fairly rare thing on cars well becoming more common in the last 2 or 3 years. I'm not talking about tyre size or gearshift indicators or anything like that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Decided to change the front end of the focus last week, had this grille lying around. Don't know whether to change it back or leave it as it is?

Before

2e2fg2b.png

After

1zvpm61.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

After! After after!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Before looks better in my opinion, but you might have a different one, and it is your car after all so go with which ever one you like.

I think I prefer the before but the after makes it standout more. Can you get the chrome surround for the before grill for the mk1.5 like the ones you see on the mk2 I was going to get one for mine back when I had it.

Bpmull wrote: »
    I think I prefer the before but the after makes it standout more. Can you get the chrome surround for the before grill for the mk1.5 like the ones you see on the mk2 I was going to get one for mine back when I had it.

Ya I know what you mean, don't think so, haven't researched them much, but I've never stumbled across one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

Hard to tell from those pictures. Any chance of a higher quality after pic?

At the end of the day, it's still up to you though.

GvidoR wrote: »
    Hard to tell from those pictures. Any chance of a higher quality after pic?

At the end of the day, it's still up to you though.

No ha, my camera skills are quite limited!

Will leave it as it is for a while and see if I get bored.

Actually the surrounds on the fogs look well did you only recently put them on it ?

The silver thingymajigs is it?

Yep I assume there not standard I've never noticed them on any other ones.

No they're standard, the whole thing comes as one, the black surround too, if you can see it. They're st fog lights, as opposed to the standard glass ones.

Dirty looking chunk taken out of the bumper under the left fog. Car was started in gear and it jumped forward, hitting a stone in the rockery which is on the drive. Chunk just broke off. Seems like it was damaged before, there's a mesh kind of netting behind it.

Tried touching it up for the time being, but it just keeps washing off. Must get some fillers and paint mixed up during the summer and see how well I can do it. That's the beauty of an older car, you don't mind trying things out on them yourself. Not a hope I'd do anything like that with the mondeo though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,994 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I'm in Miami for the week and have a Mustang convertible as a rental. It's fairly rudimentary on the inside and not enough leg room for me. I couldn't drive with my right knee bang up against the dash all the time. That said, it's moving pretty well with good acceleration. The engine is very well muffled although there's plenty of road/wind noise with the top up (as oppose to nice engine sounds). The base model is a v6 but I think this one is the 2.3 turbo inline 4 (based on engine sound and performance). Can't actually get the bonnet open but will check before I hand it back.

The Canary yellow Camaro SS beside it was 4 times the rental cost. I suspect it would only have been 3 times as much fun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Marcusm wrote: »
    I'm in Miami for the week and have a Mustang convertible as a rental. It's fairly rudimentary on the inside and not enough leg room for me. I couldn't drive with my right knee bang up against the dash all the time. That said, it's moving pretty well with good acceleration. The engine is very well muffled although there's plenty of road/wind noise with the top up (as oppose to nice engine sounds). The base model is a v6 but I think this one is the 2.3 turbo inline 4 (based on engine sound and performance). Can't actually get the bonnet open but will check before I hand it back.

The Canary yellow Camaro SS beside it was 4 times the rental cost. I suspect it would only have been 3 times as much fun.

Joys of America, everything is cheap there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

166man do you want to scare people again :pac:

Again? Whatcha talkin about fool?
    Firstly I get what your saying about the money of course it would be better sitting in a credit Union account than tied up in a car. But when it comes to cars I just tend to lash momey at them when buying them but then it's one of the very few things I spend any great amount of money I don't drink or smoke whatsoever never have.

It's kind of hard to try and get my point accross but obviously there are loads of older cars Id love to own but not as my sole car. My plan has always been to keep a decent standard but reliable car through college and then when I'm out of college and have a job sort a shed out and get a weekend car and something to properly mess around with and learn about cars on Id love that.

But for now I just want something that gets me where I need to go and is comfortable and reliable. Something I worry about servicing brakes tyres on and the odd small thing. And with the best will in the world it would it would be foolish to think you could buy a 12 year old and that it will never cause any issues whatsoever. Now I know 4 or 5 year old cars can have loads of issues but probability wise they will be more reliable as most components are far newer and not as worn.

I still don't think I've got accross the right point I was trying to make but anyway your point of view does make sense.

But that's why I suggested a 525D. They're a reliable, robust engine. Assuming the turbo is ok and there's history, which there should be at that price then it should be alright.

Spending €1k with Valdas should have one of these more or less sorted. And if needs more then throw another few hundred at it. Bring someone who knows cars or buy off a forum and you shouldn't have hassle.

I understand your logic, but you're paying an awful lot of money for a boggo spec 1.5 Dacia at the end of the day, in order to get a degree of reliability.

From what I can see, it doesn't make sense, and by the looks of things, doesn't make much sense to many other posters either...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

No ha, my camera skills are quite limited!

Will leave it as it is for a while and see if I get bored.

I know someone with similar grille. But it's black or body coloured - way better IMHO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,473 ✭✭✭YbFocus

Mr. 166man,

Your view stated previously in this thread two posts ago perfectly reflects my opinion also.

Good day sir!

See the way I see it ive actually saved money. I mean an equivalent spec same year mileage mk6 golf would be 7k euro more focus would be several k more. When it comes down to it I wasnt putting a whole lot more with it to go from an older small engined petrol and it was worth the extra to me.

Anyway I see and respect both your views but at the end of the day it's bought now and I have no regrets. I can afford it and think it's a good deal for what it is and with this I could easily drive it for three years if I want which is handy as it means I won't be in this same position in a years time changing my car if I don't want to be.

See the way I see it ive actually saved money. I mean an equivalent spec same year mileage mk6 golf would be 7k euro more focus would be several k more. When it comes down to it I wasnt putting a whole lot more with it to go from an older small engined petrol and it was worth the extra to me.

Anyway I see and respect both your views but at the end of the day it's bought now and I have no regrets. I can afford it and think it's a good deal for what it is and with this I could easily drive it for three years if I want which is handy as it means I won't be in this same position in a years time changing my car if I don't want to be.

I don't doubt you got a good deal, on it. For what it is, I'd say you paid a reasonable price, and let's be honest, the cheaper tax and diesel economy is a nice addition.

However, when I older and have silly bills to pay I may end up in something like that, when I need a safe, reliable, economical car. When I'm 22 though, I'll stick to my V6's/inline sixes and the occasional V12...! :D

166man wrote: »
    I don't doubt you got a good deal, on it. For what it is, I'd say you paid a reasonable price, and let's be honest, the cheaper tax and diesel economy is a nice addition.

However, when I older and have silly bills to pay I may end up in something like that, when I need a safe, reliable, economical car. When I'm 22 though, I'll stick to my V6's/inline sixes and the occasional V12...! :D

Looks like im doing it the other way around. I guarantee I'll have something a bit quicker by the time I'm 22 probably a Clio 197 :) but getting one now and paying 4-5k insurance would hardly be a wise move I need more ncb and to be a small bit older.

€4-5k insurance? That's more than likely because in the eyes of the insurance company a Clio 197 is a hardcore road car, which to be fair, in some ways it is.

However, I was 21 last year and with 1/2 years experience got insured for the year on an E39 525i Msport for roughly the same you are paying on a Dacia.

FN also proves this, with him being able to get quotes on an E39 sixer. Granted I'm only using one example but there you have it.

Make of it what you wish, I'm only giving my opinion, but a 12 year old car can be as reliable as a 4 year old car, just make sure you buy the right one.

@166man I didn't realise you'd get such competitive quotes on insurance on cars like that. Tbh I've always had a shoft spot for the car I bought since they came out even if they are not the most popular car ever all that can be a good thing too. So it's not like I went in seen this random car and said oh cheap tax cheap insurance good economy I'll take that one there is a bit more to it than that. I learned to drive in the previous model and loved it there was always something about it I just never got in any other car this kind of quirkiness or not afraid to be different with some of its looks features.

I would completly agree I could drive out of the garage and 10 things could go wrong but that's just the risk you take with every car. Also Id hate to be thought off as some kind of a reg plate snob because I'm not and would happily buy an older car if it suited my needs upto now remember the newest car I ever had was my first car the focus and golf were both a year older. Anyway look it unfair and pointless to go on for pages of comments when I both thing we see wher each person is coming from to an extent.

Ah yeah shure look shure listen, by all means enjoy your new car, I wasn't trying to come across like that at all, just showing that there are other option!

Can't say I'll agree with your financial reasoning though, as it doesn't compute.

If you don't buy a Clio 197 for your 22nd I'll never let you forget it though...! :D