If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

********Motors Chat - Round 8 ********

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,378 ✭✭✭pred racer

GvidoR wrote: »
    Actually I might get a new car tomorrow. I'm very very tempted. My father had a quick look at it already, it's not very far away and is cheap. :P

Don't really want to give too much away until I get it though, but you're welcome to have a guess.

Citroen 2cv? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭job seeker

Actually I might get a new car tomorrow. I'm very very tempted. My father had a quick look at it already, it's not very far away and is cheap. :P

Don't really want to give too much away until I get it though, but you're welcome to have a guess.

Is it definitly a vag... :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,031 ✭✭✭Bpmull

There was a Toyota Auris for sale in Kilkenny last week on carzone.. Not on it at the moment.. Coincidence? ;)

I never seen that one. I deliberately didn't go to any toyota garages as I knew I would walk out a auris and going by what's said here they have their problems.

Probably well out of my budget anyway was it a 12 reg ? I said to myself before I sold my golf that whatever I buy I am not getting into debt for so what I've bought I can afford to pay for, insure and tax for the years and that's the way I want it it's going to be an expensive week :pac: . As the way things are gone now you could easily walk into a car garage and walk out with a brand new car on Pcp you'd be shocked how easy it is to get approved for them.

I got my insurance cert today I'm the post couldn't believe I got it so quick I paid for it yesterday :eek: so at least I'll have a full window leaving the garage anyway :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭GvidoR

job seeker wrote: »
    Is it definitly a vag... :p

Maaaaaaaybe :P

It's a mk5 golf 1.4 isn't it :D

You bought one just to spite me :pac:

MK5 is far too new.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Got a smile and NOD from a Garda with a speed gun as i slowed for 60 zone and he got a spit of flame.

"HOWYA GARD"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 893 ✭✭✭mhackett102

Can any of the Limerick posters here recommend a garage or dealership in Limerick that sell 2nd hand cars (As old as 9 or 10 yr old)?

Im going to Limerick on Saturday and I'll have a few hours to spare to Im thinking about looking around for a new car - and I dont want to be walking into some dodgy salesmans yard, as I have heard of one or two :pac:

Can any of the Limerick posters here recommend a garage or dealership in Limerick that sell 2nd hand cars (As old as 9 or 10 yr old)?

Im going to Limerick on Saturday and I'll have a few hours to spare to Im thinking about looking around for a new car - and I dont want to be walking into some dodgy salesmans yard, as I have heard of one or two :pac:

You'll have been to every county in Ireland soon looking at cars :) ah no it's a good way to be infairness at least you'll get a decent car that your happy with at the end of it I suppose it's worth putting in the leg work.

Did you try barlos in tipp they have 2 fords and a Nissan garage in tipp you'd imagine they'd have a good bit of secondhand stuff coming in unless it all goes to the trade. I've dealt with barlos kilkenny brand for servicing and parts and they are sound out my dad has bought jeeps and vans of them in the past and all there staff are very good.

Bpmull wrote: »
    You'll have been to every county in Ireland soon looking at cars :) ah no it's a good way to be infairness at least you'll get a decent car that your happy with at the end of it I suppose it's worth putting in the leg work.

Did you try barlos in tipp they have 2 fords and a Nissan garage in tipp you'd imagine they'd have a good bit of secondhand stuff coming in unless it all goes to the trade. I've dealt with barlos kilkenny brand for servicing and parts and they are sound out my dad has bought jeeps and vans of them in the past and all there staff are very good.

Something to burn a few hours down I guess :p and to get more of an idea of what car I actually want! Last week it was an Audi A3 1.9tdi, this week was a Ford Focus 1.6tdci, who knows what it could be next week :pac:

I've always been close to Barlo's here in Thurles. I know a few of the mechanics and the salesman very well but 90% of their stock are within 5 yr old and new - They do trade out their older cars but out to various garages so its hard to keep track.

Anyhow, be nice to see what some of the garages and dealerships are like in Limerick :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Private sale.

Something to burn a few hours down I guess :p and to get more of an idea of what car I actually want! Last week it was an Audi A3 1.9tdi, this week was a Ford Focus 1.6tdci, who knows what it could be next week :pac:

I've always been close to Barlo's here in Thurles. I know a few of the mechanics and the salesman very well but 90% of their stock are within 5 yr old and new - They do trade out their older cars but out to various garages so its hard to keep track.

Anyhow, be nice to see what some of the garages and dealerships are like in Limerick :)

What about a corolla 1.4 d4d 05 or 06 or so great car nippy engine. We had a 06 Corolla van 1.4 d4d and it was a great van lovely to drive very economical and comfortable.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Private sale.

Will have to if needs be - but I have heard far too much horror stories about private sales from the likes of donedeal.

Bpmull wrote: »
    What about a corolla 1.4 d4d 05 or 06 or so great car nippy engine. We had a 06 Corolla van 1.4 d4d and it was a great van lovely to drive very economical and comfortable.

It was a strong contender until insurance quotes came back..

I wouldnt mind but I was after test driving a very clean 3dr one in grey with alloys and a spoiler on the back. I fell in love with it and almost had it bought as it was at a very good price.

I can't think of any dodgey dealers in Limerick city these days, one maybe (the county is a different story) and they were everywhere at one point. You're not really spoiled for choice in terms of 9/10 year old cars from a dealer here to be honest. Limerick motor centre (Hyundai) and Lyons (Ford) have a big selection of used cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭toastedpickles

Will have to if needs be - but I have heard far too much horror stories about private sales from the likes of donedeal.

I dont get this latest obsession with going to dealers, I've had more issues with dealers to put me off them for life, if you go do your research and bring a mechanic along, get it checked over then you'l be grand, yeah you won't have a warranty or whatever else they say they give, but sure by the time you have problems your "warranty" is going to mean fcuk all anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,295 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Donedeal has some hidden gems, i got my car for 7500 almost 3 years ago, not bad for a 5 year old car at the time.

Guy was sick of timewasters and just wanted rid, only 38k miles

That being said i did get "caught" with a sick volvo that cost me 1200+ to put right

I can't think of any dodgey dealers in Limerick city these days, one maybe (the county is a different story) and they were everywhere at one point. You're not really spoiled for choice in terms of 9/10 year old cars from a dealer here to be honest. Limerick motor centre (Hyundai) and Lyons (Ford) have a big selection of used cars.

I'll make sure to check the two of them out. Thanks :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,327 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Far more dodgy dealer threads to be fair, you're fairly clued into cars, you have plenty people here to give you pointers.
    You're not somebody who needs a dealer in a 10 year old car.

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Far more dodgy dealer threads to be fair, you're fairly clued into cars, you have plenty people here to give you pointers.
    You're not somebody who needs a dealer in a 10 year old car.

You do have a point in fairness. If I decide to go looking at private cars, rather than dealer cars, then what are the main things I should be looking for? (i.e. NCT, Full service history?)

Just the amount of stories I hear about people buying cars privately and the car ends up being a heap of sh1te or the car isnt in their driveway the next morning.

Colm, or anyone from Limerick - would you know who THIS dealer is?

All the ad's on donedeal are saying that he is a private dealer, but 12 out of his 15 ad's seem to be in a car sales yard?

Colm, or anyone from Limerick - would you know who THIS dealer is?

All the ad's on donedeal are saying that he is a private dealer, but 12 out of his 15 ad's seem to be in a car sales yard?

http://m.jandgcarsales.ie/index.php

Thats elm motors old yard. I never trust a "dealer" that only has a mobile number or a cash4cars service.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Mondello are doing 20 minutes on track for 30 euros, its a new thing they are offering during open track days. You just show up on the day and pay, might be of interest to a few on here that always wanted to do one but didnt want to stress their cars as a full day or half day might do. Maybe get a few of us together and can make it a group event.
    347027.jpg

Isn't that your Chaser in the pic, Chris?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,972 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

oh yeah...hadnt noticed at all;)

I think they chose this picture as it was a good mix of cars, German, french, Italian and Japanese all in the one picture.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

http://m.jandgcarsales.ie/index.php

Thats elm motors old yard. I never trust a "dealer" that only has a mobile number or a cash4cars service.

He used to be on dock road next to enterprise cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,569 ✭✭✭166man

YbFocus wrote: »
    Yeah but in that case are you not spending 10k to save 1k?
    each to their own etc but i can't see the sense man.

Had it been myself, I'd have looked at something like a 2002/2003 E39 525D auto. Pick up a good SE for about €1500, or an MSport for closer to €2k.

Drive it down to Valdas here in Dublin and leave it with him for the week. Spend €1k on it doing whatever it needs, get it tested and tax it for three months and it owes you less than €3k.

Enjoy the comfort, full leather, most of the toys and 40mpg.

Oh and pocket the other €5k and stick it in the credit union, building up a good history for yourself.

That to me, makes complete sense.

He used to be on dock road next to enterprise cars.

Oh that was him? I remember another dealer on that end of the dock rd but never knew the name. Forgot about enterprise too. I'd get a ban if I gave my opinion of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,540 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Speaking of limerick, took a car to an indy "specialist" today. Jesus wept.
    I ignored the advice of a respected poster here in favour of a petrol head I know IRL and it looks like it will be a costly and stressful mistake.
    Hopefully we can clear some silly stuff up tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭String