Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Price- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

blackdog1 wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind getting those prices myself. The fact that you get prices 3 months in advance is huge. Here we don't know until a week before the cheque hits the account. Makes forward planning difficult.

What are your gang paying Atm Blackdog?

They can easily give a price 3 months in advance because they have a range of product that they sell to the 500million local inhabitants in Europe...
    When your grass produced, premium product, gets dumped onto the world milk powder markets, then you have to live with what all that entails...
    I don't want to go over old ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,186 ✭✭✭blackdog1

Dawggone wrote: »

They can easily give a price 3 months in advance because they have a range of product that they sell to the 500million local inhabitants in Europe...
    When your grass produced, premium product, gets dumped onto the world milk powder markets, then you have to live with with what all that entails...

I don't know they haven't told us yet for this month...........30.5 base last month can't see that improving .

blackdog1 wrote: »
    I don't know they haven't told us yet for this month...........30.5 base last month can't see that improving .

Is that including VAT?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

When your grass produced, premium product, gets dumped onto the world milk powder markets, then you have to live with what all that entails...

Not trying to be obtuse here dawg but how do they manage to sell fresh/consumer products across borders? Speaking on a purely personal level I don't like most dairy product generally available in other countries, even though they're basically the same different production methods and different local tastes mean that for me these products just aren't as appealing. So how does your processor manage? Glanbia and it's predecessors sunk huge money into developing consumer products and lost their shirt on most of them hence the change to a BtoB model with the exception of the protein supplements which aren't sold on the basis of taste. Does your processor dry milk and ship it to where it's wanted within its international business for further processing to local tastes or are they producing fresh consumer products with a genuine cross border appeal in France?

I'm astounded that Glanbia sunk money into developing new products for no return. Kerrygold is a huge success globally.
    Going back 30 years France was the leader in cheese and wine. Not now. I would rate Irish cheese to be an outstanding product that can outdo any French cheese. Smoked Gubeen is my absolute favourite...
    My crowd make many different cheeses/ice creams and to a lesser extinct yogurt. They make baby formula for the Chinese market in a new plant that is a JV with a Chinese company.
    There is no fresh liquid milk market only that uht shyte.
    I'm really amazed that Glanbia failed to market some product in Europe. Maybe the marketing was lacking because Irish product is seen to be premium. Irish beef likewise.
    I suppose that a home market 70 million people helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

I'm astounded that Glanbia sunk money into developing new products for no return. Kerrygold is a huge success globally.
    Going back 30 years France was the leader in cheese and wine. Not now. I would rate Irish cheese to be an outstanding product that can outdo any French cheese. Smoked Gubeen is my absolute favourite...
    My crowd make many different cheeses/ice creams and to a lesser extinct yogurt. They make baby formula for the Chinese market in a new plant that is a JV with a Chinese company.
    There is no fresh liquid milk market only that uht shyte.
    I'm really amazed that Glanbia failed to market some product in Europe. Maybe the marketing was lacking because Irish product is seen to be premium. Irish beef likewise.
    I suppose that a home market 70 million people helps.

Leerdammer cheese was the epitome of it. A new winter milk pricing scheme was introduced to secure year round supply and n the end we simply couldn't do it right. There was always a problem with the consistency of what was produced. You are probably right about marketing the budgets may have been spent in the wrong areas. Then again the marketing budgets may simply have been too small. There's a well aired story around here about flahavans launching a marketing drive twenty years ago. They thought they were going to see a big return from their spend. The big cereal brands responded by spending flahavans annual marketing budget in a couple of weeks to counter their campaign. Incumbents don't roll over.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

Not trying to be obtuse here dawg but how do they manage to sell fresh/consumer products across borders?

If I remember correctly it was Bavarian Dairy farmers who pushed Italy over the line into the Euro - they didn't want to be paid in lire and they engineered (or turned a blind eye to, depending on who you believe) the enormous municipal debt swap which hid the true state of the Italian economy and allowed them to meet the convergence criteria.

Not sure how much Bavarian milk goes to Italy either then or today but must have been some significant skin in the game to let that go by.

Not now. I would rate Irish cheese to be an outstanding product that can outdo any French cheese.

Not sure about *any* French cheese but I do think we are beginning to get it where cheese is concerned.

Although that could change rapidly if rest of the dairy industry succeeds in labelling raw milk as a dangerous poison which is only safe once it has been stored for eleven days, boiled to with an inch of it's life, homogenised, denatured and preferably turned into powder.

Milked out wrote: »

Three forecasts - $1500, $2200 near term, and "basically stable" in that article.

All of which are plausible.

Although I'm not sure that the weather is a principle cause of in-elasticity in dairy markets, fixed costs, cows per man, time from birth to cluster would all be more obvious factors.

kowtow wrote: »
    If I remember correctly it was Bavarian Dairy farmers who pushed Italy over the line into the Euro - they didn't want to be paid in lire and they engineered (or turned a blind eye to, depending on who you believe) the enormous municipal debt swap which hid the true state of the Italian economy and allowed them to meet the convergence criteria.

Not sure how much Bavarian milk goes to Italy either then or today but must have been some significant skin in the game to let that go by.

Sounds very like the Greek convergence into Euro.

kowtow wrote: »

Not sure about *any* French cheese but I do think we are beginning to get it where cheese is concerned.

Although that could change rapidly if rest of the dairy industry succeeds in labelling raw milk as a dangerous poison which is only safe once it has been stored for eleven days, boiled to with an inch of it's life, homogenised, denatured and preferably turned into powder.

There are some "boutique" Irish cheeses that could take on the world. Why can't that be married to bigger processors and replicate? Lack of investment in R&D is an issue methinks.
    Regulations on raw milk are a mindset. While the "americana" type-Dettol-line of sterilised food prevails, then all is lost.

Taste must be the absolute.

And yes there are some fine French cheeses...but not all that many.

Milked out wrote: »

Like Irish weather forecast...."mixed bag".

Any of the above could come to be...or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,804 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

glanbia to hold milk price at 30.5cpl for march , april and may including co-op support

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

whelan2 wrote: »
    glanbia to hold milk price at 30.5cpl for march , april and may including co-op support

so is it 30.5 for april & may. Fair play to them if that's the case, and giving the prices 2months in advance is a good development, it would be a good move if they could continue that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,168 ✭✭✭milkprofit

Is that not a drop of 1c
    The co op support is our own money

glanbia milk cheques are in account a day early:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Noting in my yet just checked with Ulster bank....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭jaymla627

jaymla627 wrote: »
    i'm with ulster bank and its there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,725 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Arrabawn milk price unchanged for March milk at 32.086 vat inc.jaysus were getting dizzy up here looking down on the rest of ye !!!!.2.5 cent ahead of glanbias 29.5 cent

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Arrabawn milk price unchanged for March milk at 32.086 vat inc.jaysus were getting dizzy up here looking down on the rest of ye !!!!.2.5 cent ahead of glanbias 29.5 cent

What's DG,s price

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭Mulumpy

The biggest worry in Arrabawn is how we're gonna cope with all the milk in a few years when all the deserters come back with the tail between their legs. Ha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,309 ✭✭✭atlantic mist

fair play holding price for the three months, positive response to us signing the supply contracts

little worried about these price supports from coop, what happens when they sell all the shares and use up the money, the original plan was to hold the shares at level to provide a dividend from, which in effect should support our milk price better as coming from higher margin business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

mahoney_j wrote: »

Aye,They have a deal with strathroy I understand and have 20 New suppliers off glanbia in my neck of the woods
    The plot thickens

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Aye,They have a deal with strathroy I understand and have 20 New suppliers off glanbia in my neck of the woods
    The plot thickens

I'll be headhunted soon so ha!

when is the other half cent bonus on 2014 milk being paid out by glanbia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

farmerjj wrote: »
    What's DG,s price

30.4 c/l for march

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68 ✭✭farmer lad

Sam Kade wrote: »
    30.4 c/l for march

Dairygold Paying no bonus for 2014 milk. Plus there well behind the west co ops in the milk league this month!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,725 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Arrabawn price held at 32.086 vat inc for April milk,.put that in yer pipe and smoke it!!!!