Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,851 ✭✭✭visatorro

talking to the neighbour I by my Fr stock bulls off and he was saying bulling heifers were making 1000 euro. If this is accurate its along way from the panic before Christmas was incalf heifer were only making 1100. was milking this evening thinking to myself I should always a shed free to avail of bargains like there was. I was wrong myself where I predicted there would be a surplus of stock. maybe will be 2017 before this happens and market is satured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭johnny122

Cow with droopy ears this eve not much milk still eating may have a scour. Any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,788 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

johnny122 wrote: »
    Cow with droopy ears this eve not much milk still eating may have a scour. Any ideas?
    vet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,538 ✭✭✭trixi2011

visatorro wrote: »
    talking to the neighbour I by my Fr stock bulls off and he was saying bulling heifers were making 1000 euro. If this is accurate its along way from the panic before Christmas was incalf heifer were only making 1100. was milking this evening thinking to myself I should always a shed free to avail of bargains like there was. I was wrong myself where I predicted there would be a surplus of stock. maybe will be 2017 before this happens and market is satured
    they were defiantly making close to 1000 for quality high ebi at target weights above my budget unfortunately were very scarce according to a lad who was looking for a batch for a start up farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,128 ✭✭✭jaymla627

trixi2011 wrote: »
    they were defiantly making close to 1000 for quality high ebi at target weights above my budget unfortunately were very scarce according to a lad who was looking for a batch for a start up farm.

Ai rep who I deal with also sources dairy stock for people had to give 1250 for bulling heifers recently for a new entrant

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Cows done calves fed, early start. U10 rugby match in Dublin at 10 am last if the season. Early start only warmed the bed:(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 735 ✭✭✭Blackgrass

Cows done calves fed, early start. U10 rugby match in Dublin at 10 am last if the season. Early start only warmed the bed:(

But the young lads would be more inclined to remember the days daddy was at their games vs days he wasn't. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

jaymla627 wrote: »
    Ai rep who I deal with also sources dairy stock for people had to give 1250 for bulling heifers recently for a new entrant

That new entrants wants his head checked or someone is telling fibs.
    that's pure stupid money.
    Lads must be sitting money if they pay that for bulling heifers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,718 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Mad money all right but market dictates price and always a premium for quality

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Mad money all right but market dictates price and always a premium for quality
    traditionally what sort of price would maiden heifer from your type of stock make?

I'd rather pay 1250 for a pedigree heifer with good records and breeding then 800 for something of a stock bull, why shouldn't a good quality dairy heifer be valued at this money considering in 9 -10 months time she will be milking away paying herself back.
    A good lm heifer bought for breeding will make €1250 all day long and the suckler lad will have too wait two years and hopefully get a €1,000 for a weaning at the end of it all going well, a good heifer in the same period will easily give 900 kg of milk solids over the same period worth over €3,500 now tell me again why a lad would want his head checked if he was paying 1250 for good quality maiden heifers

traditionally what sort of price would maiden heifer from your type of stock make?

700 to 900 at 14/15 months depending on breeding ,solids ebi.considering it costs 1500 to get a heifer to the parlour that'd be minimum you'd want at that stage

I'd rather pay 1250 for a pedigree heifer with good records and breeding then 800 for something of a stock bull, why shouldn't a good quality dairy heifer be valued at this money considering in 9 -10 months time she will be milking away paying herself back.
    A good lm heifer bought for breeding will make €1250 all day long and the suckler lad will have too wait two years and hopefully get a €1,000 for a weaning at the end of it all going well, a good heifer in the same period will easily give 900 kg of milk solids over the same period worth over €3,500 now tell me again why a lad would want his head checked if he was paying 1250 for good quality maiden heifers
    It really does depend on what type of heifer were bought to be fair some of the highest ebi heifers in Ireland could be bought for 1400/1500 incalf in the back end. Most likely there true value wasn't being recognised, pedigree high genetic merit Holstein heifers are a whole different ball game

It's a totally different ball game now with quotas gone, only for milk prices falling 2,000 euro would easily be got for even average cows now, anyone with cows/heifers to cash in when and if milk price goes back up will nearly be able to name his price

fair play to the lad who got that money.
    But I know if at least 30 maidens that I could have bought in last month all sold between 750 to 850. All top class heifers bred off ai for yrs.
    Someone got robbed or wasnt looking hard enough

fair play to the lad who got that money.
    But I know if at least 30 maidens that I could have bought in last month all sold between 750 to 850. All top class heifers bred off ai for yrs.
    Someone got robbed or wasnt looking hard enough

Breeding ,solids ,yields ????at a cost of 1500 to get heifer to parlour and at 750 the man that reared her to stage who put in most work would barely break even.if I was offered 8/900 euros for any of mine I'd be getting shot of worst of them.have a heap of heifer calves this year and had 2 guys asking if I'd sell some ,I named my price at 500 euros .pedigree registered,will be genotyped,high ebi ,Ai bred and all records and vaccinations complete .jays statement earlier about when milk price rebounds and milking stock getting very dear is on the ball.a lot of guys also don't breed their own replacements and buy in what they need which is nuts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Breeding ,solids ,yields ????at a cost of 1500 to get heifer to parlour and at 750 the man that reared her to stage who put in most work would barely break even.if I was offered 8/900 euros for any of mine I'd be getting shot of worst of them.have a heap of heifer calves this year and had 2 guys asking if I'd sell some ,I named my price at 500 euros .pedigree registered,will be genotyped,high ebi ,Ai bred and all records and vaccinations complete .jays statement earlier about when milk price rebounds and milking stock getting very dear is on the ball.a lot of guys also don't breed their own replacements and buy in what they need which is nuts
    A neighbour does that and he has a simple system. All AA, calves sold at a month old and in-calf heifers bought in late in the year. One batch of animals on grass and no stress.

It suits him but might not suit all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I think the replacement stock market will largely remain a buyers market moving forward, esp if the UK boys keep buying our stock. Most dairy farmers are in general happy to bump out afew extra heifers every year, they can then be very selective on which heifers too keep, and which to sell, as well as this it means never having to buy in stock, with the disease risk etc. This will be particularly true for farmers stocked high on the milking block (most...), every single cow needs to carry her weight, if you have the choice of 2 heifers coming into the milking block you can pure in the best one and sell the poor one, this could be easily the difference in 500 quid in milk sales. This obviously helps maximises your profit per milking block acre, which will be the KPI of choice for many farms moving forward where grazing land is the limiting factor.

Yep all would happily been given super stock and farmers were very happy with price they got

If he's reading this thread me may not be so happy!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Anyone know when the April milk period ends for Glanbia? Are we on a 4 or 5 week this year? Usually tells you on agrilink but nothing so far.

Timmaay wrote: »
    Anyone know when the April milk period ends for Glanbia? Are we on a 4 or 5 week this year? Usually tells you on agrilink but nothing so far.
    2nd may

passing through freedoms country today. Had a great feed in o donnachas in Kilmeadon there now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

passing through freedoms country today. Had a great feed in o donnachas in Kilmeadon there now

The only reason this should be in the Dairy Thread is if you had a glass of milk with the grub? :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Mrs charliebull is from that parish afair.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,088 ✭✭✭farmerjj

With all the talk of the high prices maiden heifers are making,what would average Friesian heifer calves make?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,409 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I saw nice fr heifers march born bred off pb stock bull genuine herd make €250
    nice maiden heifers 320-350 kg made 700 -780
    Top drawer maiden heifers upto 380 kg made €900
    Generally any maiden heifer would make€2 a killo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭WheatenBriar

Piece on BBC radio 4's today programme this morning on dairy farming in the UK.
    They reported from Monmouthshire where dairy farmers are going out of business due to a milk price below the cost of production.
    The outlook for milk price is poor with more and more farmers there just shutting up shop.

Quite a depressing piece given so much money being spent here in Ireland on expansion.
    Meanwhile here in Ireland,I was told of a set up not a million miles from me with a brand new milking parlour,a new tractor and this same farmer owes his vet 25k and is not paying it :eek: he apparently isn't able to
    There's a lot of crazy stuff going on that's just not being talked about.
    Don't go mad people

Piece on BBC radio 4's today programme this morning on dairy farming in the UK.
    They reported from Monmouthshire where dairy farmers are going out of business due to a milk price below the cost of production.
    The outlook for milk price is poor with more and more farmers there just shutting up shop.

Quite a depressing piece given so much money being spent here in Ireland on expansion.
    Meanwhile here in Ireland,I was told of a set up not a million miles from me with a brand new milking parlour,a new tractor and this same farmer owes his vet 25k and is not paying it :eek: he apparently isn't able to
    There's a lot of crazy stuff going on that's just not being talked about.
    Don't go mad people

The parlour and tractor where probably rolled into a 20 year loan with a nice chuck of land put up as colleteral.
    Their was a greenfield farm set up over around Kildare on rented tillage ground taking 200 plus euro a acre with well over 700,000 spent already on just parlour, roadways,water,grass and fencing no accommodation on farm as yet with the lad running it putting up a farm he inherited as collateral.
    Their's some crazy things be done alright by a small percentage of lads, have to laugh at lads thinking they will be given any leeway by banks paying back these loans if things go tits up re milk price currently getting alot of hassle of bank for putting a loan repayment of by just 3 months even though I contacted them two months before loan was due saying I would need some leeway regards loan for that one payment

whats wrong that you have to jump through hoops to get a small loan and lads are getting massive money thrown at them like that? I would be interested to know what banks these guys are with