Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I've actually never really understood that as a kid. Why exactly does he do it? How does he become more powerful than Vader could ever imagine? Did he do it so Luke would despise Vader rather than considering joining him?

I always assumed he did it to prevent Luke from trying to rescue him.

I've actually never really understood that as a kid. Why exactly does he do it? How does he become more powerful than Vader could ever imagine? Did he do it so Luke would despise Vader rather than considering joining him?

I've always been of the mind that he probably wasn't going to escape and that he needed to distract Vadar whilst Luke got away and to ensure that Vadar didn't figure out who Luke was until Luke had at least some chance to figure out his place in the universe.

Remember that by the start of Empire, Vadar knew who Luke was and was looking for him as much if not more than he was pursuing the Rebels.

Obi-wan wanted Luke to be exposed to Jedi training so that he could handle Vadar, and it's no co-incidence that Yoda's training centred on his awareness of Vadar as a primary antagonist. In fact if you recall the conversations between Yoda and Obi-wan, they were almost training him specifically to challenge Vadar and perhaps the Emperor, which is why by the start of Jedi Luke has become extremely adept in combat.

Whilst Obi-wan would have known who Leah was, based on movies 1,2 and 3, this wasn't suggested to be known to him in 4 and indeed the rescuing of Leah was most likely an accident, albeit perhaps guided by Obi Wan (though this is never suggested).

In terms of becoming more powerful, I presume he is referring to becoming a controlling presence amongst what is left of the Jedi (Luke, Leah, Ganda..Yoda) or else he it is simply more distraction so Luke could do a runner. Mostly I'd say it was Lucas leaving the story open for Alec McGuiness to have a greater role in the squeals that ultimately they didn't run with but yeah:

TLDR - he needed to distract Vadar for long enough to allow Luke to escape, but also to minimise the chances that Vadar would identify Luke through their link within the force, or, it was a plot device that wasn't used to it's full extent in later movies.

I've always been of the mind that he probably wasn't going to escape and that he needed to distract Vadar whilst Luke got away and to ensure that Vadar didn't figure out who Luke was until Luke had at least some chance to figure out his place in the universe.

Remember that by the start of Empire, Vadar knew who Luke was and was looking for him as much if not more than he was pursuing the Rebels.

Obi-wan wanted Luke to be exposed to Jedi training so that he could handle Vadar, and it's no co-incidence that Yoda's training centred on his awareness of Vadar as a primary antagonist. In fact if you recall the conversations between Yoda and Obi-wan, they were almost training him specifically to challenge Vadar and perhaps the Emperor, which is why by the start of Jedi Luke has become extremely adept in combat.

Whilst Obi-wan would have known who Leah was, based on movies 1,2 and 3, this wasn't suggested to be known to him in 4 and indeed the rescuing of Leah was most likely an accident, albeit perhaps guided by Obi Wan (though this is never suggested).

In terms of becoming more powerful, I presume he is referring to becoming a controlling presence amongst what is left of the Jedi (Luke, Leah, Ganda..Yoda) or else he it is simply more distraction so Luke could do a runner. Mostly I'd say it was Lucas leaving the story open for Alec McGuiness to have a greater role in the squeals that ultimately they didn't run with but yeah:

TLDR - he needed to distract Vadar for long enough to allow Luke to escape, but also to minimise the chances that Vadar would identify Luke through their link within the force, or, it was a plot device that wasn't used to it's full extent in later movies.

Really? Had he fought on then Luke would have tried to help him and there's no way he'd have survived that. To me Obi-Wan knew he was dead and decided to sacrifice himself to make sure Luke didn't do anything stupid and get himself killed.

I figure there was an element of "let's leave this mysterious line in at the end" so people would speculate and want more.

• Administrators Posts: 55,145 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

This conversation is surreal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

awec wrote: »
    This conversation is surreal.

Well, it is a conversation about a fictional fantasy sci-fi saga... ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Zzippy wrote: »
    Well, it is a conversation about a fictional fantasy sci-fi saga... ;)

You mean Leinster beating Toulon?

:):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Wang King wrote: »
    You mean Leinster beating Toulon?

:):)

Give this man a cookie!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Anyone here go to England for work?

Did you apply from Ireland or how did you go about it?

Thinking about it myself at the moment and while I've moved around the Island of Ireland for jobs England seems like a really big step.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I did. I had a job here before moving, but I know others who didn't. Often if a friend is interested I'll put them up for a week so they can head around and apply.

It was a great move for me but then I got a little lucky perhaps.

I find it hard to hire people here now. I'm not sure if it's just where I am or a greater indication of the standard of the labour market. There are plenty of jobs for the right people over here.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Yeah when I look at the jobs websites over there I do see some pretty interesting roles.

So you applied from Ireland for the job, am I reading that right?

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Yeah when I look at the jobs websites over there I do see some pretty interesting roles.

So you applied from Ireland for the job, am I reading that right?

Well I was approached but there'd be nothing to stop anyone applying while being in Ireland. If you have an address you can use in the UK it might make things a little easier.

Yeah a friend of mine applied from Ireland but others I know have moved over and then started looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

image_zpswl8zvopn.jpg

This gave me a good chuckle

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

I got Leinster.

The holy mortifying shame of it.

Though I didn't know any of the father ted characters nor any of the movies at the end.

To any of you calling me a traitor, I got MUNSTER

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,078 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Got Leinster.. I feel dirty
    I got Leinster.

The holy mortifying shame of it.

Though I didn't know any of the father ted characters nor any of the movies at the end.

Ah here, How'd ya not know Graham Nortons character ? :O

wp_rathead wrote: »
    Got Leinster.. I feel dirty

Ah here, How'd ya not know Graham Nortons character ? :O

I knew it was Graham Norton but that's it. My Father Ted knowledge doesn't extend beyond Ted, Dougal, Jack and Doyler.

You should call Father Larry Duff about it.

And you think getting Leinster as your province is shameful!? And do you not know The Van? My God man, were you kept in a box for your entire childhood and teenage years? :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,958 ✭✭✭✭RuggieBear

i've never seen the Van...nor the snapper nor the Commitments
    all seemed far too prole for me...

molloyjh wrote: »
    And you think getting Leinster as your province is shameful!? And do you not know The Van? My God man, were you kept in a box for your entire childhood and teenage years? :eek:
    Tell us what province you got molloy...

When Molloy does it he just gets a picture of Tony Ward sticking up his middle finger

molloyjh wrote: »

Me and you aren't the same generation molloy. ;)

When Molloy does it he just gets a picture of Tony Ward sticking up his middle finger

It's actually a gif of him shaking his head....

I got Leinster surprisingly.

Are you from a generation that died out before Father Ted and the Van were released? If not, there's absolutely no excuse.

Ah but still.....Father Ted!? I know English lads younger than you who practically can recite entire episodes off by heart.
    RuggieBear wrote: »
    i've never seen the Van...nor the snapper nor the Commitments
    all seemed far too prole for me...

Proper Leinster fan so I see. :D

I had to lookup what "prole" meant.