Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Jeremy Clarkson suspended

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

kylith wrote: »
    I'd have thought you'd be using TG as a shopping list. "Ah, a Bugatti, must get one of those. Hmmm, the new Audi doesn't look great, won't bother with that".

I don't need some loud-mouthed bore driving a car around a track while chuckling and laughing away to himself to inform my car purchasing decisions. There are a number of excellent car review websites that are far more informative. A good test drive will also give you a feel for the car. Oh, and I'd never even think of buying an Audi. BMW man all the way. A superior marque in every way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,197 ✭✭✭Eutow

I don't need some loud-mouthed bore driving a car around a track while chuckling and laughing away to himself to inform my car purchasing decisions. There are a number of excellent car review websites that are far more informative. A good test drive will also give you a feel for the car. Oh, and I'd never even think of buying an Audi. BMW man all the way. A superior marque in every way.

Now, I see why. The cock-o-metre episode. Tsk Tsk. See, Top Gear is informative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

DeadHand wrote: »
    When you, bizarrely, shoehorn Jimmy Saville into a conversation about Jeremy Clarkson, you are making a comparison between the two.

But don't worry! You then developed a sense of perspective and compared him to, er, Idi Amin and Charles Manson. Oh, and his supporters to the followers of those two "men".

Anyway, glad you put down the Guardian long enough to join us on this Sunday afternoon. We'll enjoy you while you're here as I imagine you'll shortly be off to recycle your old pairs of sandals and track down racism/sexism where it isn't and dutifully report it to the relevant thought police.
    Calling someone in the workplace a "Lazy Irish C*nt" is ok in your mind then as long as its said by one of your heros and only Guardian readers could possibly be offended by it ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

What, a poor mans Merc? Tch tch tch tch....
    You do realise what being a bimmer driver in high level German finance generally means, don't you? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭DeadHand

tipptom wrote: »
    Calling someone in the workplace a "Lazy Irish C*nt" is ok

No, it isn't. I never said it was. Nor is it a crime that puts him on a par with Jimmy Savile, Idi Amin and Charles Manson.
    in your mind then as long as its said by one of your heros

I wouldn't describe him as my hero by any stretch. I just find him refreshingly chaotic in an increasingly sterile, inoffensive media world.
    and only Guardian readers could possibly be offended by it ?

No, but it helps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,555 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

No, it isn't. I never said it was. Nor is it a crime that puts him on a par with Jimmy Savile, Idi Amin and Charles Manson.

I wouldn't describe him as my hero by any stretch. I just find him refreshingly chaotic in an increasingly sterile, inoffensive media world.

No, but it helps.

Nobody put him on par with Jimmy Saville, Idi Amin, or Charles Manson.

I find your inference there er .. refreshingly chaotic :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭tipptom

Nobody put him on par with Jimmy Saville, Idi Amin, or Charles Manson.

I find your inference there er .. refreshingly chaotic :confused:
    Seems it could be a good defence buzzword for solicitor's all over the country when they are defending bullies found guilty of unprovoked racist assaults.

"Mlud,we seek community service for my client as he was only being"refreshingly chaotic" when he assaulted the victim last Saturday night while drunk" and a lot of like minded people like him.

Seems it could be a good defence buzzword for solicitor's all over the country when they are defending bullies found guilty of unprovoked racist assaults.

"Mlud,we seek community service for my client as he was only being"refreshingly chaotic" when he assaulted the victim last Saturday night while drunk" and a lot of like minded people like him.

Indeed,indeed, one would indeed wonder are these people who try to defend Clarksons behaviour and refer to him as 'refreshingly chaotic' secretly getting their kicks from his boorish behaviour and wishing they could carry on the same way,cocking a snoop at the fundamental laws of the land,and behaving like insensitive boors in foreign countries all on taxpayers shekels, the 'donut lads' of the past decade spring to mind, harmless but mindless idiots who loved making noise and trying to draw attention to themselves.

Someone with a degree in sociology will get a PhD out of this stuff:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

BMW man all the way. A superior marque in every way.
    Nothing says "I deal drugs to kids" quite like a BMW, eh?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Billy86 wrote: »

Now that's like saying all truck drivers murder prostitutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

What? Your post makes absolutely no sense, Billy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Shep_Dog

If Jeremy Clarkson did not exist, it would be necessary to invent him.

Nobody put him on par with Jimmy Saville, Idi Amin, or Charles Manson

Actually, you did in your righteous PC fury.

Almost choked on your organic, free trade muesli you did.

Seems it could be a good defence buzzword

It's two words.

Indeed,indeed, one would indeed wonder are these people who try to defend Clarksons behaviour and refer to him as 'refreshingly chaotic' secretly getting their kicks from his boorish behaviour and wishing they could carry on the same way,cocking a snoop at the fundamental laws of the land,and behaving like insensitive boors in foreign countries all on taxpayers shekels, the 'donut lads' of the past decade spring to mind, harmless but mindless idiots who loved making noise and trying to draw attention to themselves.

Someone with a degree in sociology will get a PhD out of this stuff:p

A sadly black and white way to look at things. You either submit totally to the "Clarkson is the devil" dogma of the handwringers or you are yourself a hooligan.

What a beige chap you are!

A sadly black and white way to look at things. You either submit totally to the "Clarkson is the devil" dogma of the handwringers or you are yourself a hooligan.

What a beige chap you are!

Let's keep this discussion civil, shall we.

Bottom line, Clarkson stepped over the mark,supported up by a stratum of society which, apparently, supports that kind of behaviour.

The obvious results followed,most civilised people would accept that this lad was way out of order working for a state funded corporation.

Let's see if the private sector is prepared to sink huge funds into a seriously damaged concept.

What? Your post makes absolutely no sense, Billy.

To put it another way, there is a distinct lack of class to a BMW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

To put it another way, there is a distinct lack of class to a BMW.

New money. :rolleyes:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Let's make this clear, shall we, so even the rabid Clarkson bashers can understand this.
    It is perfectly possible to still like him as a person, but condemn his actions on the day.
    Example: (I hope this doesn't strain your poor, little, one-dimensional brains too much)
    "I think Clarkson is an amusing and entertaining broadcaster and he created a lot of entertaining shows. However I don't think that hitting his producer is alright and the BBC had not choice in letting him go. I hope he will make more entertaining programs in the future. We're all human and all of us have made mistakes, it's not like he raped children or committed mass murder"
    This is opposed to the sort of Bogeyman approach by some of the more rabid and foam-dripping posters. Their analysis seems to be more like: "Oh my God! He hit someone! He's Histories Greatest Monster! Let's gather out pitchforks and torches and throw him into a dungeon and tell our children terrifying nursery rhymes about him!".
    One approach takes a more nuanced and intelligent kind of mind, can you spot which one? You are, of course, entitled to your opinion. And I am entitled to call you a moron for it. Thanks and good night.

Unless of course you can honestly say that you have never in your entire life lost the rag and screamed at someone, behaved impatiently, became pushy or just in general acted like a jerk.
    If you haven't and you have been reasonable, patient and unfailingly polite, you are a freak and I hope I will be many, MANY miles away when you finally blow.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

I don't share the hate for Clarkson either - always found him to be just a messer, probably not really as bad as he tried to come across. He is coming out of this incident as fairly ok too (unlike some of his utterly drooling fans).

But when did it become "PC" to object to thumping someone and calling them a "lazy Irish [or anything] cuntt"? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

I don't share the hate for Clarkson either - always found him to be just a messer, probably not really as bad as he tried to come across. He is coming out of this incident as fairly ok too (unlike some of his utterly drooling fans)

Dgfybfyhhdsd045+65

*wipes drool from keyboard*

I agree, ol' clarky boy is coming out on top :) the legend.

But when did it become "PC" to object to thumping someone and calling them a "lazy Irish [or anything] cuntt"? :confused:
    Generally you will find people who lack intelligence love to fling around talking points and/or phrases because they struggle to think for themselves, or at the very least to articulate their opinions. 'PC' is probably the prime offender, on AH at least... my favourite example being when someone was giving out about a car being 'PC' (not even a hybrid car or anything of the sort... think it might have been a standard Toyota). :pac:

Basically, 'PC' on AH doesn't mean 'politically correct' so much as 'something I do not like'. It's equal parts amusing and worrying.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭Tarzana2

Let's make this clear, shall we, so even the rabid Clarkson bashers can understand this.
    It is perfectly possible to still like him as a person, but condemn his actions on the day.
    Example: (I hope this doesn't strain your poor, little, one-dimensional brains too much)...

One approach takes a more nuanced and intelligent kind of mind, can you spot which one?

Ah here. :pac::D

The abuse of a subordinate is not a very admirable quality, and if you saw somebody abusing someone like that right in front of you, I'm guessing you wouldn't think much of them. It's bully boy behaviour.

I love the ham-fisted attempt to insult the intelligence of anyone who is seriously put off Clarkson because of this very unsavoury event.

Up there with someone earlier in the thread claiming one needed to be on a higher plane of intelligence to enjoy the programmes the decidedly middlebrow James May presents. :D:D:D

Come on, Dr., you're better than this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,570 ✭✭✭Mint Aero

Oh dear. The jizz circle is off again :D

Mint Aero wrote: »
    Oh dear. The jizz circle is off again :D

Nah, the jizz circle all thanked this post:

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=95063421&postcount=2535

Generally you will find people who lack intelligence love to fling around talking points and/or phrases because they struggle to think for themselves, or at the very least to articulate their opinions.

Reminds me of:

"Excuse me, but "proactive" and "paradigm"? Aren't these just buzzwords that dumb people use to sound important?"

:pac::pac::pac::pac:

Tarzana2 wrote: »

It was a bloody good post. Why shouldn't it be thanked?

True too.

So much hate and intolerance for Clarkson and those who refuse to join in the mob pillioring of the man. All this despite the fact he admitted that he was wrong (he was) and attempted to apologise.

He's been compared to mass murderers by the more excitable among his critics here and anyone who refuses to join in the gleeful group condemnation has been subjected to fairly sniffy comments and implications about their level of intelligence, tolerance of violence and place in society.

This despite the fact not one poster here has claimed his actions were right and acceptable.

His actions were blown out of all proportion.

Yet, anyone pointing out this fact is painted here as some kind of thug and promoter of violence in full approval of Clarkson's actions.

It was a bloody good post. Why shouldn't it be thanked?

:D Shocking.

Tarzana2 wrote: »
    :D Shocking.

Far superior to your own aggressively smug but ultimately empty contributions at least.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,353 ✭✭✭Cold War Kid

Far superior to your own aggressively smug but ultimately empty contributions at least.
    How are they empty? Seems like you're just saying that purely because they're in disagreement with you.

The level of emptiness of some of the posts that are in agreement with you is a sight to behold.